Protecting Baikal: the History of the Baikal Nature Reserve

Protecting Baikal: the History of the Baikal Nature Reserve

© Photo: Key To Baikal
Today our colleagues and good friends from the Baikal State Natural Biosphere Reserve are celebrating the anniversary of their institution. We congratulate our colleagues and tell our readers about the history of one of the most beautiful reserves of our country.

On September 26, 2019 people celebrate the 50th anniversary of the foundation of the Baikal State Natural Biosphere Reserve situated on the lands of the Republic of Buryatia and covering both the mountain areas of Khamar-Daban and the coast of Great Baikal.

Such a long name of the reserve is not accidental. The complexity and relevance of the problems of nature conservation in late 20th century were gradually perceived by the governments of the majority of states and international organizations.

The Council of Ministers of the RSFSR approved the decision of the Main Administration of Hunting of the RSFSR to organize the Baikal State Nature Reserve in 1969.

In early 1970s, a series of programs were adopted at the UN level; the participants of these programs outlined the idea of ​​creating biosphere reserves for the purpose of preserving natural ecosystems and genetic uniqueness of biological species of the fauna with each species being the result of the long-term process of evolution. The idea also included the works on the study and monitoring of the natural environment on these territories and in adjacent areas, transforming them into some reference areas of certain natural zones with a thorough study of possible consequences of human activities. One of the ways to create biosphere reserves included the use of the already existing protected areas.

The Baikal Reserve successfully “fit” into the above-mentioned concept, and in 1986 it was included into the international system of biosphere reserves, having become a reference territory for assessing the impact of aeroindustrial emissions on forest ecosystems where the protection of unbroken cedar forests was recognized the most important task.

Today, the reserve is not only an integral part of the UNESCO World Network of Biosphere Reserves, but also a World Baikal World Heritage Site, as well as member of the International Alliance of Protected Areas since November 2018.

Perseverance, Labor and Common Sense

A logical result of active scientific study of Lake Baikal in the 20th century was the fact that scientists expressed a thought about the urgent need to protect the unique nature of Lake Baikal and its coast, which was the easiest to implement within the framework of allocating some of these lands to the reserve. It is believed that the initiators of this rather important process were the representatives of the Irkutsk State University who thoroughly knew these places where they walked many times during their botanical expeditions.

The fateful moment for drawing attention to this sore point was August 1958. They began to actively and ardently discuss a number of topics directly related to the fate of Lake Baikal at a conference on the development of the productive forces of Eastern Siberia held in Irkutsk. These topics included the project of deepening Angara, which could lower the level of the lake by 5 meters and have a destructive effect; the construction of pulp and paper mill and its negative impact on the nature of the region; as well as the creation of a reserve within the 15-kilometer coastal zone - as a response to the intention to involve the resources of Lake Baikal into large-scale economic use.

After that an absolutely open campaign for the protection of Lake Baikal began, which was extremely unusual for the post-Stalin Soviet country. It will just suffice to mention the headings of articles in March, April, and May 1959 in the “Literaturnaya Gazeta” newspaper after the publication of the article by the writer Franz Nikolayevich Taurin titled “Baikal Must Be a Reserve” therein on February 10: “Predicting All Impacts”, “Preserving the Flora of the Baikal Region”, “We Require to Turn Lake Baikal into a Reserve”...

Фото

Particular attention should be given to the signatories: academicians, professors, writers...

... Besides, the authorities reacted in the way that was impossible to even imagine five years ago: they prepared an official response to the newspaper, thus the public learned that “the USSR State Planning Committee of the USSR familiarized itself with the speeches of scientists and experts in “Literaturnaya Gazeta” and considered their proposals on the need to protect the fauna and flora of Lake Baikal to be correct”.

Scientists, writers, journalists were unable to win back then, and they simply could not hope that this would really come true. But a certain compromise was reached: the production of cord from Baikal paper pulp was transferred farther - behind the Urals; besides, the pulp and paper plant began to build the most advanced waste treatment facilities for that time; the issues of the lake’s were noticed by academic and university scientists.

 

The Steps on Creation of the Baikal State Reserve

The next step was the proposal of the researcher of Lake Baikal, scientist, writer Oleg Kirillovich Gusev and the well-known biogeographer, doctor of sciences, conservation expert Andrei Aleksandrovich Nasimovich about the creation of an environmental structure on the lake, which was completely new for the USSR: they proposed to create a national park, whereas our country, unlike western countries, had only nature reserves and reserves at that time.

This idea was further developed in 1965, when Innokenty Petrovich Gerasimov, the most prominent scientist, academician, creator of a fundamentally new scientific school of constructive geography, returned to its implementation. His research was aimed at nature transformation and the rational use of natural resources under the conditions of a socialist economy. Therefore, it was not surprising that the applied aspect, not the environmental one, was the most important: Gerasimov voiced the idea of ​​creating a “natural factory park” that would make it possible to use such a valuable resource as the purest waters of the lake for high-tech industrial processes. The scientist insisted on recognizing the area of ​​the Baikal Basin a zone with a special regime of the use of water, land and forests, and strict regulation of economic activity. The implementation of such complex tasks could only be accomplished by a specialized national park.

The design project of the territory protected by the state became a reality in late 1960s. On July 5, 1968, the Council of Ministers of the Buryat Autonomous Soviet Socialist Republic adopted the Decree No. 247 “On the organization of the Baikal State Reserve on the territory of the Buryat Autonomous Soviet Socialist Republic”. This document was approved at the level of the RSFSR in September of the following year.

An opinion is expressed that the Baikal pulp and paper plant put into operation in the autumn of 1966 was the catalyst of that activities; because the harm of the plant to the lake’s ecosystem was already clear even then.

The borders of the reserve were expanded, and its status was changing. Since 1985, the management of the Kabansky Nature Game Reserve, (Altachaevsky Game Reserve from 2011) has been transferred to the Baikal State Natural Biosphere Reserve.

To Protect the Sacred Sea, its Coast, Waters and Forests...     

Protecting Baikal: the History of the Baikal Nature Reserve

The main goal of the reserve was proclaimed protecting the unique ecosystem of the Baikal region, and, first of all, its virgin cedar forests - already at the time of the reserve’s creation. Therefore, it is quite logical that complex multidirectional tasks were formed, in relation to the real activities on preserving the unique natural ensemble of the South Baikal region, and monitoring natural processes that are not affected by humans, as well as educating the population, forming environmental awareness and attracting people’s attention to the protection of nature.

Nowadays, as half a century has passed, the Baikal State Nature Biosphere Reserve still is an example of rational and careful conservation of species and biological diversity, the richest flora and fauna, its separate invaluable representatives, environmental monitoring, testing and implementing environmental management methods that cause no harm to the region’s ecological system...

The documents of title regulating all the aspects of the life of the Baikal State Natural Biosphere Reserve contain a clearly defined list of the main objects of protection:

- the mountain-taiga complex of Central Khamar-Daban with its northern and southern slopes and spurs, as well as the southern coast of Lake Baikal with Baikal terraces;

- dark coniferous taiga, fir forests, subalpine meadows, tundra - on the northern slope, light coniferous taiga, steppe areas - on the southern slopes;

- typical southern taiga mountain fauna;

- rare species of plants and animals (about 70 species, including black stork, osprey, crested honey hawk, golden eagle, Pallas' sea eagle, white-tailed eagle, demoiselle...).

We can continue by adding colors to this picture, telling you about the beauty of mountain rivers that are born in mountain lakes and merge with Lake Baikal; about the richest flora combining typical species and relics, many of which could have originated in the Preglacial Age; about the grass as high as 2.5 meters and poplars as thick as four girths...

We also should not forget about the fauna. Bears are the largest of all animals in the reserve, sables are the “fluffy gold of Russia”, there are also shy roe deer, powerful moose, awe-inspiring boars...

Protecting by Educating

To prevent the extinction of plants and animals, destruction of ecosystems, and, accordingly, the biosphere, the employees of reserve spend a large share of their time on environmental education, using the invaluable potential of ecological tourism for this purpose.

According to a tradition, free access for visitors to biosphere reserves is limited, and in some places it is strictly prohibited. However, since 2010, the Baikal Reserve has become a participant in the experiment on the development of educational ecological tourism.

Needless to say, the greater part of the places of mass visits have been moved outside the boundaries of the conservation area itself, and the procedure for visiting it has been regulated by special rules. At the same time, all the conditions for a comfortable stay of guests have been created.

These include a new, modern visitors’ center, open-air expositions, and eco-tourist complexes. The reserve also conducts ecological and educational tours. 22 newly made routes have become extremely popular: they are supplied with well-equipped ecological trails that are suitable for all, including people with disabilities.

This type of tourism is available to all of us. Its main value lies in the fact that when you live so close to nature, in communion with it, with the assistance of experienced staff of the Baikal Reserve, you cannot but start thinking about the necessity of an extremely careful attitude to natural riches.

Tell friends
Related articles
Protecting Baikal: the History of the Baikal Nature Reserve

Academician Okladnikov believed that the name of the Kika River (with the emphasis on the second syllable) was derived from the Turkic “green river”. This is the name of one of 336 rivers flowing into Lake Baikal.

Protecting Baikal: the History of the Baikal Nature Reserve

Why should one remember about an ordinary hare - the animal with the nickname “squint-eye” that is considered a coward?

Protecting Baikal: the History of the Baikal Nature Reserve

A specially protected natural monument of regional significance – “Anglichanka” Rock – is situat-ed in Selenginsky district of Buryatia. Now it is known as an observation deck with a picturesque view of the Selenga and Spassky Cathedral dated by the 18th century. However, in 1818-1841, Protestant preachers lived here. Key to Baikal explored how the life of the missionaries was con-nected with the rock, what kind of girl was wandering around it and what the London missionary society had to do with it.

Protecting Baikal: the History of the Baikal Nature Reserve

The name of the valley originated from local “Bargut” which means “outskirts, wilderness”. It was a name of Mongolian tribe that used to inhabit the valley.

Защищая Байкал: история Байкальского заповедника

Защищая Байкал: история Байкальского заповедника

© Фото: Первый Байкальский
Сегодня день рождения у наших коллег и хороших друзей — Байкальского государственного природного биосферного заповедника. Мы поздравляем коллег и рассказываем об истории одного из самых красивых заповедников нашей страны.

26 сентября 2019 года исполняется 50 лет с момента образования Байкальского государственного природного биосферного заповедника, который раскинулся на землях Республики Бурятия и охватывает как горные участки Хамар-Дабана, так и побережье Великого Байкала.

Такое достаточно длинное название у заповедника неслучайно. Сложность и острота проблем охраны природы во второй половине ХХ столетия постепенно стала восприниматься и правительствами большинства государств, и международными организациями.

Совет Министров РСФСР в 1969 году утвердил решение об организации Байкальского государственного заповедника Главохоты РСФСР.

В начале 70-х годов на уровне ООН был принят ряд программ, участники которых оформили идею создания биосферных заповедников (резерватов) с целью сохранения природных экосистем и генетической неповторимости биологических видов животного мира, где каждый – итог долговременного процесса эволюции. Замысел включал и проведение работ по изучению и мониторингу природной среды на этих и близлежащих территориях, превращение их в некие эталонные участки определенных природных зон с доскональным исследованием возможных последствий человеческой деятельности. Один из путей создания биосферных заповедников предусматривал использование уже существующих охраняемых территорий.

Байкальский заповедник удачно «вписался» в данную концепцию и в 1986 году вошел в международную систему биосферных заповедников, став эталонной территорией для оценки воздействия аэропромвыбросов промышленности Южной Сибири на лесные экосистемы, в которых защита ненарушенных кедровых лесов признана важнейшей задачей.

И сегодня заповедник – не только составная часть Всемирной сети биосферных резерватов ЮНЕСКО, но и объект Всемирного природного наследия «Озеро Байкал», а с ноября 2018 года – член Международного альянса особо охраняемых природных территорий.

Упорство, труд и здравый смысл

Активное научное изучение Байкала в ХХ столетии вполне логично привело ученых к мысли о назревшей необходимости защиты неповторимой природы озера и его побережья, что более всего возможно в рамках выделения границ «заповедности» для этих земель. Считается, что зачинателями этого крайне важного процесса были представители Иркутского государственного университета, досконально знавшие данные места, «исхоженные» во время ботанических экспедиций.

Знаковым в привлечении внимания к такому наболевшему вопросу стал август 1958 года. На конференции по развитию производительных сил Восточной Сибири, проходившей в Иркутске, одновременно очень горячо и активно начали обсуждать ряд тем, напрямую связанных с судьбой Байкала. Среди них – проект углубления Ангары, способный губительно снизить уровень озера на 5 метров; строительство целлюлозно-бумажного производства и его отрицательное влияние на природу региона; и, как ответ на стремление «втянуть» ресурсы Байкала в масштабное хозяйственное использование, обсуждалось также создание заповедника в пределах 15-километровой зоны побережья.

Фото

А потом началась абсолютно непривычная для постсталинской советской страны открытая кампания по защите Байкала. Чего только стоят заголовки статей в марте, апреле, мае 1959 года в Литературной газете, появившиеся после публикации в ней 10 февраля материала писателя Франца Николаевича Таурина «Байкал должен быть заповедником»: «Предвидеть все последствия», «Сохранить флору Прибайкалья», «Просим сделать озеро Байкал заповедником»…

Отдельного внимания заслуживают подписанты: академики, профессора, писатели.

…И реакция властей, которую еще пять лет назад невозможно было представить: официальный ответ в редакцию газеты, из которого общественность узнала, что «Госплан СССР, ознакомившись с выступлениями ученых и специалистов в “Литературной газете”, считает правильными их предложения о необходимости охраны фауны и флоры озера Байкал».

Победить ученым, писателям, журналистам тогда не удалось, да и надеяться, что это случится реально, не приходилось. Но был достигнут определенный компромисс: производство корда из байкальской целлюлозы было отнесено за Урал; на целлюлозном комбинате начали сооружать самые «продвинутые» для того времени очистные сооружения; вопросы безопасности озера попали под наблюдение и академической, и вузовской науки.

 

Шаги по созданию Байкальского государственного заповедника

Следующим шагом стало предложение исследователя Байкала, ученого, писателя Олега Кирилловича Гусева и известного биогеографа, доктора наук, специалиста в области заповедного дела Андрея Александровича Насимовича создать на озере абсолютно новую для СССР природоохранную структуру – национальный парк, тогда как в нашей стране, в отличие от Запада, на тот момент были только природные заповедники и заказники.

Дальнейшее развитие эта идея получила в 1965 году, когда к ней вернулся виднейший ученый, академик, создатель принципиально новой научной школы конструктивной географии Иннокентий Петрович Герасимов. Направление его исследований было нацелено на преобразование природы и рациональное использование природных ресурсов в условиях социалистической экономики. Поэтому неудивительно, что на первом месте был все-таки не экологический, а прикладной момент, когда Герасимов озвучил мысль создать «природный парк-комбинат», который позволял бы применить такой ценный ресурс, как чистейшие воды озера, для высокотехнологических промышленных процессов. При этом он настаивал на признании участка бассейна Байкала зоной с особым режимом использования вод, земель и лесов, и строгой регламентацией здесь хозяйственной деятельности. Реализация столь сложных задач была под силу только специальному национальному парку. 

Проект оформления охраняемой государственной территории стал реальностью в конце 60-х годов. 5 июля 1968 года Совет Министров Бурятской АССР принял Постановление № 247 «Об организации на территории Бурятской АССР Байкальского государственного заповедника». Этот документ был подтвержден на уровне РСФСР в сентябре следующего года.

Высказывается мнение, что своеобразным катализатором данного мероприятия стало введение в эксплуатацию осенью 1966 года Байкальского целлюлозно-бумажного комбината, вред которого для экосистемы озера был понятен уже тогда.

В 1985 году к заповеднику присоединился Кабанский заказник, а в 1985 году –Алтачейский.

Для защиты священного моря, берегов его, вод и лесов…

Защищая Байкал: история Байкальского заповедникаУже на момент создания заповедника основной целью определили защиту уникальной экосистемы Прибайкалья и, в первую очередь, ее девственных кедровых лесов. Поэтому вполне логично сформировались и комплексные разнонаправленные задачи, связанные и с реальной деятельностью по сбережению неповторимого природного ансамбля Южного Прибайкалья, и с наблюдением за протекающими здесь природными процессами, не подвергающимися воздействию со стороны человека, и с воспитанием населения, формированием у него природоохранных знаний и привлечением к защите природы.

Сегодня, спустя полвека, Байкальский государственный природный биосферный заповедник продолжает оставаться примером рационального и бережного обеспечения сохранности видового биологического разнообразия, богатейшего растительного и животного мира, его отдельных бесценных представителей, экологического мониторинга, испытания и реализации не наносящих ущерба экологической системе региона методов рационального природопользования.

В правоустанавливающих документах, регулирующих все стороны жизнедеятельности Байкальского государственного природного биосферного заповедника, четко зафиксирован перечень основных объектов охраны:

– горно-таежный комплекс Центрального Хамар-Дабана с его северными и южными склонами и отрогами и южное побережье Байкала с прибайкальскими террасами;
– темнохвойная тайга, пихтарники, субальпийские луга, тундры – на северном склоне, светлохвойная тайга, степные участки – на южных склонах;
– типичная южнотаежная горная фауна;
– редкие виды растений и животных (около 70 видов, в том числе черный аист, скопа, хохлатый осоед, беркут, орлан-долгохвост, орлан-белохвост, красавка).

А дальше картину можно только расцвечивать, рассказывая о красоте горных рек, рождающихся в горных озерах и сливающихся с Байкалом; о богатейшем растительном мире, где, наряду с типичными видами флоры, вольно чувствуют себя и реликты, многие из которых могли возникнуть еще в доледниковую эпоху; о травах в 2,5 метра вышиной и тополях толщиной в четыре обхвата…

Нельзя забыть и о фауне. Медведи – самые большие из всех животных заповедника, соболя – пушистое золото России, пугливые косули, мощные лоси, грозные кабаны…

Защищая, обучай

Предотвращая исчезновение растений и животных, уничтожение экосистем и, соответственно, биосферы, сотрудники заповедника значительную часть времени уделяют работе по экологическому просвещению, используя для этого бесценный потенциал экологического туризма.

Традиционно свободный доступ посетителей в биосферные заповедные зоны ограничен, а в некоторые места совсем запрещен. Но с 2010 года Байкальский заповедник стал участником эксперимента по развитию экологического познавательного туризма.

Вполне понятно, что большинство пунктов массового посещения вынесены за границы собственно заповедной территории, а порядок ее посещения урегулирован специальными правилами. Но при этом созданы все условия для комфортного пребывания гостей.

Это и новый, современный визит-центр, и экспозиции под открытым небом, и эколого-туристические комплексы. Заповедник также проводит эколого-познавательные туры. Крайне популярными стали и 22 проложенных маршрута, обеспеченные прекрасно оснащенными, в том числе и для людей с ограниченными возможностями, экологическими тропами.

Такой вид туризма доступен для всех. Основная его ценность заключается в том, что так близко, «вживую» общаясь с природой, при содействии опытных помощников из числа сотрудников Байкальского заповедника, человек не сможет не задуматься о необходимости крайне бережного к ней отношения.

РАССКАЗАТЬ ДРУЗЬЯМ
Читайте также
Защищая Байкал: история Байкальского заповедника

Когда замерзает озеро? Как долго держится лед? Какие называются разновидности байкальского льда? Все ответы в наглядной инфографике Первого Байкальского

Защищая Байкал: история Байкальского заповедника

Многие люди, живущие вдоль берегов Байкала, верят в его сверхъестественную силу. Порой озеро считают чуть ли не живым организмом или порталом в другой мир. В канун Дня всех святых мы вспомнили одну страшную легенду...

Защищая Байкал: история Байкальского заповедника

Если открыть дома кран на полную мощность, стакан воды наберется за 1 секунду. Чтобы наполнить таким образом озеро Байкал, пришлось бы не выключать воду 4,5 млрд лет.

Защищая Байкал: история Байкальского заповедника

Почему росомаху называют обжорой? Как выглядит «хостел» для черношапочных сурков? Сколько еды может унести за щеками бурундук? Правда ли, что ондатра ест под водой, не открывая рта? Интересные факты о животных, обитающих на восточном берегу Байкала.