Exotic Baikal Fish, or How Bears Taught Buryats to Cook Omul
© Photo: Key To Baikal
November, 18

Exotic Baikal Fish, or How Bears Taught Buryats to Cook Omul

We tell you about the way the indigenous people of Baikal prefer to eat omul, and teach you to cook fish with a “high flavor”. Yes, you get it right, we mean it, and the ancient Buryats borrowed this recipe from...bears.

Фото

A unique “trademark” of Baikal and Baikal cuisine is omul (Baikal cisco) - a small fish from the whitefish family. There is an inaccurate belief that this species can be found only in this great lake. No, omul is found in many Siberian rivers and in the coastal zone of northern seas. Another thing is that the fans of gastronomic specialties prefer the taste of Baikal omul, believing that the “flair” of the fish is explained by its habitat - extraordinarily pure Baikal water.

Moreover, there is a legend that omul flesh has unique properties that can cure any serious illness. For this, one should just touch the patient’s lips with the tail of a freshly caught fish.

Which Kind of Omul do Indigenous Residents of the Baikal Region Prefer?

The residents of the Baikal region who have a good knowledge of fish prefer salted omul best of all; it can be prepared in the two most common ways. The first one is the so-called “peasant” version and the second is fermentation. In the first case, the gutted fish is salted; in the second case the whole headed fish is used.

The most refined taste, according to gourmets, belongs precisely to the salted unpicked omul “with a high flavor”; its flesh has the most delicate consistency and an extremely unusual smell, which many people simply call “rotten”.

But this uniqueness of fragrance is the very sign of a delicious dish. The main thing here is to know when to stop to get omul with namely “high flavor”.

It is believed that in ancient times this kind of salted fish was a kind of cure for scurvy for the indigenous population of the coast.

The properties of fermentation are used not only for cooking fish dishes. We should remind you that fermentation is the process of changing food by microorganisms when their enzymes destroy the constituent elements of a food product. When people ferment cabbage for the winter or cook any sour-milk product, this is also fermentation, but, of course, without an obvious rotten smell.

All residents of the Baikal region know about “omul with a high flavour”, but this dish is not very common, because many perceive it as a spoiled product, with a horrible smell and flesh falling from the bones.

“Fragrant” Dishes Around the World

Exotic Baikal Fish, or How Bears Taught Buryats to Cook Omul

Fish dishes with a specific smell are not only a Baikal invention. They are valued and considered a decent delicacy in many countries.

One of the common delicacies in Sweden is the famous “surströmming” – fermented herring. The recipe of its preparation that is connected with saving salt is pretty similar to cooking Baikal omul “with a high flavour”. There is also a Vietnamese version of “nuok mam” sauce made from the anchovies fermented in a barrel.

On top of all other things, this kind of food is considered useful from a medical point of view, because it protects blood vessels from atherosclerosis and reduces blood pressure.

Bear’s Recipe

The bear has always been considered a spirit animal of the indigenous peoples of the Baikal region - the Buryats and Evenks (Tunguses). Therefore, it is often claimed that there is a direct relationship between the eating habits of bears and the Buryat recipes of cooking fish.

When a bear has a successful fishing, it never eats the catch right away. The animal puts its catch into a pit, covers it with branches and waits for the rotten small to appear. And the Buryats of Lake Baikal who have been eating fish according to the “bear’s recipe” generation after generation, could not even imagine that this kind of fish would once be considered a masterpiece of gastronomy!

There is a traditional Buryat technology for making “fragrant” omul that has not changed at all until present day. The “correct” omul “with a high fragrance” is prepared only in a barrel. Gutted washed fish is slightly salted, placed in prepared containers, and then the barrel is buried in the ground or left in a cold cellar. In spring this fish already has not only an extremely unpleasant smell, but also a unique taste, and is fully ready for use.

Of course, cooking on such an industrial scale is absolutely unnecessary for one family today. Moreover, today it is difficult to catch fresh omul in Baikal in a legal way, due to the ban on this kind of fishing. However, there is an alternative.

How to Cook Fish with a “High Fragrance”

You will need fresh fish - pike, dace, grayling, whitefish, and Siberian roach. You can use one fish or several species, depending on your wish.

Large fish should be gutted,  then remove the gills and cut the flesh into pieces (an optional requirement).

You should take coarse-ground salt, but in such amount to make slightly salted fish. The fish is placed in a container selected for salting and storage (a pan, a bucket, a flask...) and pressed by a weight.

The container with fish is put into a room (a porch, a storeroom, a shed) with air temperature ranging from 15 ° to 20 ° C and is kept there for 2-3 days. During this time, salt solution is released and the fish acquires a very unusual fragrance.

After that you can put the container in the cellar with air temperature ranging from 0 to + 1 ° C, thus the fish continues to accumulate its peculiar smell. But if there is no such possibility, you can put the fish in the freezer.

There is also a very simple recipe if you just want to try this exotic dish. Gut the omul trunk, gently pour some coarse salt on it, wrap it in parchment or simply oil-soaked paper and leave it in the refrigerator (but not in the freezer!). The fish is also fermented under such conditions!

Feel free to toy around with these recipes. Enjoy your meal!

Tell friends
Related articles
Exotic Baikal Fish, or How Bears Taught Buryats to Cook Omul

The Professor of Irkutsk State University, Doctor of Biological Sciences Fedor Eduardovich Reimers spent his entire life working on plant physiology. He began as a simple teacher, later becoming a Director of the Siberian Institute of Plant Physiology and Biochemistry and a corresponding member of the Academy of Sciences of the USSR.

Exotic Baikal Fish, or How Bears Taught Buryats to Cook Omul

Christmas days have come: it’s time to burn candles and ask Gogol’s spirit about daily issues. Key to Baikal informs you about the rite of fortune-telling that existed on Baikal a couple of centu-ries ago.

Exotic Baikal Fish, or How Bears Taught Buryats to Cook Omul

Not only Siberian peoples considered the bear to be the Master of the Taiga, but namely Siberians turned their attitude to the bear into a cult. Moreover, this cult played an important role in the rites of hunting magic and everyday life.

Exotic Baikal Fish, or How Bears Taught Buryats to Cook Omul

It turns out that elderly people did not always enjoy the care and respect of their relatives and tribesmen. An old woman who was doomed to die of hunger not to be a burden for her tribe was fed the best meal for the last time and dressed in white clothes, like for a wedding...

Экзотическое блюдо Байкала, или как буряты у медведя омуль готовить научились
© Фото: Первый Байкальский

Экзотическое блюдо Байкала, или как буряты у медведя омуль готовить научились

Рассказываем, какой омуль предпочитают коренные байкальцы, и учим готовить рыбу… «с душком». Да-да, вы не ошиблись, именно этому рецепту научились древние буряты у… медведя.

Фото

Своеобразной «визитной карточкой» Байкала и байкальской кухни является омуль – небольшая рыба из семейства сиговых. Существует не совсем верное убеждение, что водится он только в этом великом озере. Нет, омуль встречается и во многих сибирских реках, и в прибрежной зоне северных морей. Другое дело, что любители гастрономических изысков выделяют вкус именно байкальского омуля, полагая, что «изюминку» ему придает само место обитания – необыкновенно чистая байкальская вода.

Ко всему, существовала легенда, что мясо омуля отличается уникальными свойствами, позволяющими исцелить от любой тяжелой болезни. Для этого достаточно прикоснуться к губам больного хвостом свежевыловленной рыбы.

Какой омуль предпочитают коренные байкальцы?

Жители Байкала, прекрасно разбираясь в рыбе, более всего почитают соленый омуль, который готовят двумя наиболее распространенными способами. Это так называемый «крестьянский» вариант и метод культурного посола. В первом случае солится выпотрошенная рыба, во втором – целая тушка.

Наиболее утонченным вкусом, по мнению гурманов, отличается именно соленый поротый омуль «с душком», мясо которого, нежнейшее по консистенции, имеет крайне непривычный запах, который многие люди называют просто – «тухлятина».

Но эта неповторимость аромата как раз и есть признак деликатесного блюда. Главное здесь – определить меру, чтобы омуль был именно «с душком».

Считается, что такая рыба в давние времена была своеобразным лекарством от цинги у коренного населения побережья.

Свойства ферментации используются не только при создании рыбных блюд. Напоминаем, что ферментация – это процесс изменения пищи микроорганизмами, когда их ферменты разрушают составные элементы продукта. Когда хозяйка квасит на зиму капусту или готовит любой кисломолочный продукт – это и есть ферментация, но, конечно, без явного запаха гниения.

Все жители Байкала знают про «омуль с душком», но общеупотребляемым блюдом он не является, так как многие воспринимают его как испорченный продукт, с отвратительным запахом и отваливающимся от костей мясом.

«Душистые» блюда мира

Экзотическое блюдо Байкала, или как буряты у медведя омуль готовить научилисьРыбные блюда со специфическим запахом не являются сугубо байкальским изобретением. Они ценятся и считаются достойным лакомством во многих странах.

Одним из распространенных деликатесов Швеции можно назвать знаменитый «сюрстрёмминг» – подтухшая селедка. Рецепт ее приготовления, связанный с экономией соли, очень похож на создание байкальского омуля «с душком». Есть и вьетнамский вариант соуса ныок мам, приготовленный из перебродивших в бочке анчоусов.

Подобного рода продукция, ко всему, считается полезной с медицинской точки зрения, так как защищает сосуды от атеросклероза и снижает давление.

Медвежий рецепт

Медведь всегда считался тотемным животным коренных народов Прибайкалья – бурят и эвенков (тунгусов). Поэтому зачастую проводится прямая связь между пищевыми привычками косолапого и бурятскими рецептами приготовления рыбы.

Когда мишка удачно порыбачит, он никогда не съедает добычу сразу. Пойманную рыбу он стаскивает в яму, закрывает ветками и дожидается, когда у нее появится запах разложения. И буряты Байкала, из поколения в поколение употребляющие рыбу по «мишкиному рецепту», и предположить не могли, что когда-то подобная рыба станет считаться гастрономическим шедевром!

Существовала традиционная технология заготовки «душистого» омуля, абсолютно не изменившаяся у бурят и поныне. «Правильный» омуль «с душком» готовится только в бочке. Потрошенная вымытая рыба слегка подсаливается, укладывается в подготовленную тару, а затем бочку зарывают в землю или оставляют в холодном погребе. Весной рыба с крайне неприятным душком, но неповторимым вкусом полностью готова к употреблению.

Естественно, для одной семьи такие промышленные масштабы сегодня абсолютно не нужны. Тем более что и свежий омуль достать сегодня на Байкале законным способом из-за запрета лова сложно. Но есть и альтернативный вариант.

Как приготовить рыбу «с душком»

Берется свежая рыба – щука, елец, хариус, сиг, сорога. По желанию возможен моновариант или ассорти.

Крупную рыбу следует обязательно выпотрошить, удалить жабры и разрезать на куски (факультативное требование).

Соль следует брать крупного помола, но в таком количестве, чтобы рыба получилась малосольной. Рыбу укладывают в выбранную для засола-хранения емкость (кастрюля, ведро, фляга…) и прижимают гнетом.

Заготовка выставляется в помещение (веранда, кладовка, сарай), где температура колеблется от 15° до 20 °C, и выдерживается 2–3 дня. За это время выделяется рассол, и рыба приобретает тот самый необычный аромат.

После емкость можно поставить в погреб, где температура колеблется от 0 до +1°C и рыба продолжает накапливать свой своеобразный запах. Но если подобной возможности нет, можно положить рыбу в морозилку.

Есть и совсем простой рецепт, если вам просто хочется попробовать это экзотическое блюдо. Тушку омуля выпотрошить, слабо присолить крупной солью, завернуть в пергаментную или просто промасленную бумагу и оставить в холодильнике (не в морозильной камере!). При таких условиях рыба также ферментируется!

Экспериментируйте. И приятного аппетита!

РАССКАЗАТЬ ДРУЗЬЯМ
Читайте также
Экзотическое блюдо Байкала, или как буряты у медведя омуль готовить научились

В конце прошлого года документальный канал RТД (Russia Today Documentary) выпустил фильм «Как стать шаманом». Первый Байкальский публикует видео для своих читателей.

Экзотическое блюдо Байкала, или как буряты у медведя омуль готовить научились

Профессор Иркутского государственного университета доктор биологических наук Федор Эдуардович Реймерс всю свою жизнь занимался физиологией растений. Начинал он простым учителем, а впоследствии стал директором Сибирского института физиологии и биохимии растений и член-корреспондентом АН СССР.

Экзотическое блюдо Байкала, или как буряты у медведя омуль готовить научились

На дворе святочные дни — время жечь свечи и вопрошать дух Гоголя о насущном. Пер-вый Байкальский рассказывает, каким был ритуал гадания на Байкале пару веков назад.

Экзотическое блюдо Байкала, или как буряты у медведя омуль готовить научились

Предновогодняя суета, казалось бы, не меняется из года в год: нарядить елку, подготовить все к празднику, который придет в полночь, под бой курантов загадывать заветные желания; шампанское, конфетти, бенгальские огни... Привычные нам радостные хлопоты. Но интересно — а как встречали Новый год иркутяне сто с лишним лет назад? Какие традиции с тех пор сохранились, а какие утрачены?

×
Хотите знать, где у нерпы санаторий?

Читайте нас в Яндекс Дзен

Хочу!

Больше не показывать