The Fellow of the Night: Bats at Lake Baikal
© Photo: Key To Baikal
August, 31

The Fellow of the Night: Bats at Lake Baikal

International Bat Night is celebrated during the last weekend of August in many countries of the world, including Russia. Not many people probably adore these representatives of chiropterans. Nevertheless, these animals have something in common with dolphins and maintain the delicate natural balance...

The name of these animals is translated from Russian literally as “flying mice” - they are named this way for their small size and squeaking sounds uttered by them, similar to those produced by real mice. But this name is the most “innocent” of all. People invented many unpleasant nicknames for bats! A vampire, an undead, a long-eared... However, such an attitude was largely “provoked” by the looks and lifestyle of bats. Strange large membranes looking like wings, a feeble little body unevenly covered with fur, a small head with large prominent ears, a pig's snout, several rows of small sharp teeth with prominent fangs... Don’t forget the animal’s habit to be active in the dark, and hide in secluded places during the daytime, to sleep upside down in a “suspended” state, the bat’s keenest hearing ability and many other things: thus the negative image has been created.

However, it does not correspond to what really happens in nature: bats destroy insects that are harmful to humans, participate in the pollination of some plants and are completely harmless to humans.

Legends, horrible beliefs and superstitions that have been attributed to bats since ancient times, so due to these prejudices: people saw intimidating evil creatures instead of small unusual animals, which led to the fight of people against them. Their habitat at Baikal decreased due to fires and deforestation.

A Full-fledged Representative of the Baikal Fauna

Фото

Scientists draw attention to the unique “survival ability” of bats in almost any place where they can get, probably only except for the zone of permanent snow. The conditions of the coast of Lake Baikal that are rather severe do not frighten these small mammals. 8 species of these animals are found in the Pribaikalsky National Park, whereas 11 species are observed in the entire Baikal region. They belong to 5 genera with the following self-explanatory names: common bats, long-eared bats, tube-nosed bats, large bats, particolored bats.

They can be found everywhere the coast of the lake, including the slopes of the mountain ridges that reach the upper borders of the forest, in the taiga, almost on all the islands of Baikal.

The most common of all species is birdlike noctule. This species is generally characterized by living near rivers and lakes, and in the vicinity of Baikal: it is most often seen near rocky coast sections and bays.

8 species of bats prefer to live in the region all year around, for which they choose the caves Mechta (near the Maloye More Strait, to the south, near the village of Sakhyurt) and Okhotnichya (near the village of Bolshoye Goloustnoye).

Just like anywhere in the world, Baikal bats require special care – this is due to the influence of natural disasters and the negative impact of the human factor: for example, intrusive tourists force bats to leave their homes. It is no coincidence that fraternal myotis and whiskered bat, Ikonnikov's bat and large tube-nosed bat (Murina hilgendorfi Peters) are listed in the Red Books of Irkutsk Oblast and the Republic of Buryatia.

The Structure of the Bat’s Body

Bats are the only mammals that can move in the air. Wings can be different, so the structure of bats’ wings is completely different from that of birds, not least because they are not literally wings, but wide leathery membranes between the animal’s limbs. They connect the legs of the bat, and a wing is a “membrane” stretched between the “hand” with very long fingers on one side and the “leg” and tail on the other side. All five fingers of the hind limb have no membranes and enable the animal to effortlessly hang upside down and grab different objects, if needed.

These wings make the bat seem big, because their size exceeds that of the body itself.

It is interesting that the wings not only help the animal to fly, but also are a kind of blanket preserving heat. Bats wrap in their wings during cold periods or when they hang upside down during their sleep.

Baikal bats are small in size and weight. The weight of the most popular birdlike noctule ranges from 6.5 to 14 grams, and the rare whiskered bat weighs from 4 to 9 grams. The color of the fur is also different: birdlike noctule has rather even, relatively light grayish-brown fur, and the whiskered bat, accordingly, has brownish-red fur.

Some interesting facts about bats:

- they lead a nocturnal lifestyle, therefore, their eyesight is poor, adapted to the dark, and there is no strong need for eyesight;

- they possess a rare ability to ultrasonic echolocation, which is also used only by dolphins. It is believed that a special body part of bats emits waves sent around the animals. The waves are reflected from different surfaces; this allows the animal to feel free in the environment;

- they can communicate with each other and even sing songs sometimes, according to scientists’ opinion;

- they are able to fly tens of kilometers at a speed of up to 15-20 km/h, without stopping and resting, performing aerobatic maneuvers;

- they prefer to take off not from the ground, but from a position “head first”, falling from a height, spreading their wings and gaining speed under the influence of gravity;

- they can run on the ground quite fast, move on steep surfaces and the ceilings – of course on the condition that their wings are folded;

- bats living together in the same colony usually belong to the same species;

- they feed on moths, bugs, and their larvae, spiders, and some species living in Latin America suck blood. However, all the bats of the Baikal region are insectivores;

- bats are heterothermal animals: at rest their body temperature can drop pretty low - only a few degrees higher than the air temperature. With the onset of cold weather, they hide in inaccessible places and begin to hibernate; the hibernation in the Baikal region lasts for almost six months - from late September to late spring.

As a result of such features of bats’ lifestyle, these animals are extremely vulnerable; at last this fact has attracted public attention to the problem of their extinction.

Tell friends
Related articles
The Fellow of the Night: Bats at Lake Baikal

Academician Okladnikov believed that the name of the Kika River (with the emphasis on the second syllable) was derived from the Turkic “green river”. This is the name of one of 336 rivers flowing into Lake Baikal.

The Fellow of the Night: Bats at Lake Baikal

Why should one remember about an ordinary hare - the animal with the nickname “squint-eye” that is considered a coward?

The Fellow of the Night: Bats at Lake Baikal

A specially protected natural monument of regional significance – “Anglichanka” Rock – is situat-ed in Selenginsky district of Buryatia. Now it is known as an observation deck with a picturesque view of the Selenga and Spassky Cathedral dated by the 18th century. However, in 1818-1841, Protestant preachers lived here. Key to Baikal explored how the life of the missionaries was con-nected with the rock, what kind of girl was wandering around it and what the London missionary society had to do with it.

The Fellow of the Night: Bats at Lake Baikal

The name of the valley originated from local “Bargut” which means “outskirts, wilderness”. It was a name of Mongolian tribe that used to inhabit the valley.

Спутница ночи: летучие мыши на Байкале
© Фото: Первый Байкальский
31 августа 2019 #животные

Спутница ночи: летучие мыши на Байкале

Мало кто находит очарование в летучих мышах. Тем не менее у них есть нечто общее с дельфинами и они поддерживают тонкий природный баланс…

Летучими мышами они наречены за соответствующие размеры и за писк, похожий на звуки, издаваемые серыми собратьями. Но это еще самое «невинное» имя. Какие только нелицеприятные прозвища не придумывал для них человек! Вампир, нетопырь, ушан… Такое отношение «спровоцировали», во многом, и внешность, и образ жизни летучих мышей. Странные большие перепонки, похожие на крылья, неравномерно покрытое шерсткой тщедушное тельце, маленькая головка с крупными, торчащими ушами, свинячий нос-пятачок, несколько рядов мелких острых зубок с выделяющимися клыками… Добавьте сюда предпочтение жить в темноте, а днем скрываться в укромных местах, сон вниз головой в «подвешенном» состоянии, острейший слух и многое другое – и отрицательный образ готов.

Но в природе все совсем не так: летучие мыши уничтожают вредных для человека насекомых, участвуют в опылении ряда растений и совершенно безвредны для человека.

Поэтому издавна вокруг летучих мышей возникали легенды, страшные поверья и приметы, и данные предрассудки, заставляющие видеть вместо маленьких необычных животных зловещую нечисть, приводили к борьбе людей с ними. На Байкале ареал их обитания сокращался из-за пожаров и вырубки лесов.

Полноправный представитель байкальской фауны

Фото

Ученые отмечают уникальную «приживаемость» летучих мышей практически в любом месте, куда они могут добраться, за исключением, пожалуй, зоны вечных снегов. Не пугают этих мелких млекопитающих и довольно суровые условия берегов Байкала. В Прибайкальском национальном парке встречается 8 видов этих животных, тогда как во всем Байкальском регионе – 11. Они относятся к 5 родам с очень интересными названиями: ночницы, ушаны, трубконосы, кожанки, двухцветные кожаны.

На побережье озера, включая склоны хребтов, доходящие до верхних границ леса, в тайге, практически на всех островах Байкала их можно обнаружить повсеместно.

Самая распространенная – восточная. Для этого вида, в принципе, характерно обитание вблизи рек и озер, а на Байкале ее более всего замечают около скалистых берегов и заливов.

Для круглогодичного проживания 8 видов летучих мышей облюбовали пещеры Мечта (Малом море, к югу, недалеко от села Сахюрта) и Охотничья (недалеко от села Большое Голоустное). 

Как и во всем мире, байкальские летучие мыши требуют особого бережного отношения и из-за последствий природных неурядиц и негативного воздействия человеческого фактора, где, например, туристы своей назойливостью заставляют рукокрылых покидать насиженные места. Неслучайно длиннохвостая и усатая ночницы, ночница Иконникова и сибирский трубконос занесены в Красные книги Иркутской области и Республики Бурятия.

Как устроено тело летучей мыши

Летучие мыши – единственные млекопитающие, обладающие способностью передвигаться в воздухе. Но крылья крыльям рознь, и летательный аппарат мышей кардинально отличается от подобного у пернатых, хотя бы потому, что это не крылья в буквальном смысле, а широкие кожистые перепонки между конечностями зверька. Они соединяют лапки мыши, где крыло – это «пленка», растянутая между «рукой» с очень длинными пальцами с одной стороны и «ногой» и хвостом – с другой. Все пять пальчиков задней конечности свободны от перепонки и устроены так, что их хозяйка может без усилий повисать вниз головой и, при необходимости, цепляться за разные предметы.

Такое крыло и придает мышке основной размер, так как превосходит объемы собственно ее тельца.

Интересно, что крылья не только помогают животному летать, но и являются своеобразным одеялом, сберегающим тепло. Им летучие мыши укутываются в холодный период или когда висят вниз головой во время сна.

Летучие мыши Байкала – небольшие по размеру и весу. Масса самой популярной восточной ночницы – от 6,5 до 14 грамм, а одной из редких, усатой, 4 – 9 грамм. Отличается и цвет меха: у восточной он довольно ровный, сравнительно светлый серовато-бурый, а у усатой, соответственно, ярко коричнево-рыжий.

Несколько интересных фактов о летучих мышах:

– ведут ночной образ жизни, поэтому зрение слабое, приспособленное к темноте, и сильной потребности в нем нет;

– обладают редчайшей способностью к ультразвуковой эхолокации, которая есть только у дельфинов. Считается, что особый орган мышей излучает волны, отправляемые ей вокруг себя. Отражаясь от поверхностей, волны позволяют животному свободно чувствовать себя в окружающем мире;

– могут общаться друг с другом и даже иногда поют песни, как утверждают ученые;

– способны без остановки и отдыха пролетать десятки километров со скоростью до 15-20 км/час, выполняя фигуры высшего пилотажа;

– предпочитают взлетать не с земли, а с позиции «вниз головой» падают с высоты, расправляют крылья и набирают скорость под действием силы тяжести;

– бегают по земле, причем довольно ловко, передвигаются по отвесным поверхностям и потолку – естественно, при условии сложенных крыльев;

– проживают совместно в одной колонии, как правило, особи одного вида;

– питаются мотыльками, жуками, их личинками, пауками, а в Латинской Америке есть виды, сосущие кровь. Но все летучие мыши Байкальского региона – насекомоядные;

– являются гетеротермными животными, у которых в покое температура может снижаться так, что становится всего на несколько градусов выше, чем окружающая среда. С наступлением холодов прячутся в малодоступных местах и погружаются в спячку, которая в Прибайкалье длится практически полгода, с конца сентября до конца весны.

В силу подобных особенностей образа жизни летучие мыши крайне уязвимы, что наконец-то привлекло внимание к проблеме их исчезновения.

РАССКАЗАТЬ ДРУЗЬЯМ
Читайте также
Спутница ночи: летучие мыши на Байкале

Когда замерзает озеро? Как долго держится лед? Какие называются разновидности байкальского льда? Все ответы в наглядной инфографике Первого Байкальского

Спутница ночи: летучие мыши на Байкале

Многие люди, живущие вдоль берегов Байкала, верят в его сверхъестественную силу. Порой озеро считают чуть ли не живым организмом или порталом в другой мир. В канун Дня всех святых мы вспомнили одну страшную легенду...

Спутница ночи: летучие мыши на Байкале

Если открыть дома кран на полную мощность, стакан воды наберется за 1 секунду. Чтобы наполнить таким образом озеро Байкал, пришлось бы не выключать воду 4,5 млрд лет.

Спутница ночи: летучие мыши на Байкале

Почему росомаху называют обжорой? Как выглядит «хостел» для черношапочных сурков? Сколько еды может унести за щеками бурундук? Правда ли, что ондатра ест под водой, не открывая рта? Интересные факты о животных, обитающих на восточном берегу Байкала.