Nikolai Turchaninov - the Discoverer of Baikal Plants
© Photo: Key To Baikal
July, 03

Nikolai Turchaninov - the Discoverer of Baikal Plants

His fate is truly amazing, and his contribution to the study of the rich flora of Baikal region is invaluable. Therefore, the surname of Nikolai Stepanovich Turchaninov (1796 - 1863) was carved on the frieze of the building of the Irkutsk Regional Museum, alongside with the medallions with the names of the most famous discoverers of the Siberian region...

A graduate of Kharkiv University with a degree of Candidate of Science in Physics and Mathematics, a financial official who came to serve in Irkutsk from the capital, a State Counselor, a Corresponding Member of the Imperial Academy of Sciences, a “scientist traveling between Altai and the Eastern Ocean”, an outstanding Russian botanist, florist and classifier, the largest researcher of the flora of Eastern Siberia. All these features that sometimes seem incompatible are characteristic of one person for whom botany was originally just a hobby.

Service in Irkutsk and Serving the Land of Siberia

From 1814 to 1828, Nikolai Stepanovich worked in St. Petersburg, first at the Ministry of Justice, and then at the Financial Ministry. Already living in the capital, he tried to combine his bureaucratic career with scientific activities in the field of his main hobby - botany. There are known facts of his cooperation with the Botanical Garden and Moscow Society of Naturalists.

However, according to the general opinion of the researchers, Turchaninov's creative nature was mostly disclosed at the time when he worked in Irkutsk (from 1828 to 1837); a part of that time he officially worked a financial official at the Office of the Governor-General of Eastern Siberia.

Nikolai Stepanovich arrived in Irkutsk at a rather young age, he was 32 then, but he already was an experienced botanist and florist, without any biological education.

The city was chosen not by mere chance. This was an advice of the Director of the Imperial Botanical Garden of St. Petersburg, Friedrich Ernst Ludwig Fischer (Russians called him Fyodor Bogdanovich), a German botanist and gardener who was drea,omg of creating a botanical garden in Irkutsk and who saw Turchaninov as its future Director. The archive of the Russian Academy of Sciences has preserved the corresponding entry about Nikolai Stepanovich: “An admirer of science who wanted to get a position of Director of the Irkutsk Botanical Garden that was to be open there”.  By the way, Turchaninov managed to fulfill his wish, although indirectly. After all, he was the one who captivated the merchant Basnin with the practical implementation of the idea of a “botanical garden”. 

Irkutsk is a very special chapter in Turchaninov’s biography. He lived there a total of 9 years, during 5 of them he was engaged only in his favorite work - botany.

Although Irkutsk was the second largest city in Siberia, it can be called quite small by modern standards: it had only 16–18 thousand inhabitants. There was no scientific institutions back then, and Nikolai Stepanovich was engaged in research work under the auspices of the St. Petersburg Botanical Garden and Academy of Sciences; he was elected a corresponding member of the Academy in 1830. At the same time he was appointed to a position with an extremely fancy name: “a scientist traveling between Altai and the Eastern Ocean” (from 1830 to 1835). The Academy paid him a salary, as well as gave money for expeditions. During the rest of the time, Turchaninov financed his scientific journeys at his own expense.

Turchaninov devoted his free time not only to botany, but also to the study of invertebrate animals of Siberia.

The initial routes in the vicinity of Irkutsk were rather short at first, gradually they increased, covering the areas around Baikal and the territory of Dahuria (Transbaikalia and the west of the Amur Region). For instance, Nikolai Stepanovich managed to get to the territory of Mongolia through the passes in the Eastern Sayan Mountains; crossed the Baikal Range; passed along the Barguzin River up to its very source. Turchaninov traveled along the banks of Angara and walked more than 100 km along the Yakutskoye highway on foot.

After returning to public service, he continued his research during summer holidays, mainly working with the vegetation of the southern coast of Lake Baikal.

The expeditions of Turchaninov expeditions were not always easy, but they certainly were extremely useful for the botany of Siberia.

Namely in Irkutsk he wrote his famous fundamental work “The Baikal and Dahurian Flora” that was later awarded the Demidov Prize (a non-state prize in the Russian Empire given to the scientists who made an outstanding contribution to the development of science).

The Contribution of Turchaninov to the Botany of Siberia

Nikolai Turchaninov - the Discoverer of Baikal PlantsThe “The Baikal and Dahurian Flora” was published in separate editions over the course of 16 years (1842–1857) by the Bulletin of the Moscow Society of Naturalists. This work contains a description of almost 1.5 thousand plant species, 170 of these were new at that time. The most part of the described plants were collected by the author himself.

The most remarkable, undoubtedly, is Tridactylina kirilowii, a monotypic “Baikal aster” (a monotypic genus is a genus containing only one plant species) that has long been considered endemic to the southern coast of Baikal. 

 

Tell friends
Related articles
Nikolai Turchaninov - the Discoverer of Baikal Plants

The Professor of Irkutsk State University, Doctor of Biological Sciences Fedor Eduardovich Reimers spent his entire life working on plant physiology. He began as a simple teacher, later becoming a Director of the Siberian Institute of Plant Physiology and Biochemistry and a corresponding member of the Academy of Sciences of the USSR.

Nikolai Turchaninov - the Discoverer of Baikal Plants

Christmas days have come: it’s time to burn candles and ask Gogol’s spirit about daily issues. Key to Baikal informs you about the rite of fortune-telling that existed on Baikal a couple of centu-ries ago.

Nikolai Turchaninov - the Discoverer of Baikal Plants

Not only Siberian peoples considered the bear to be the Master of the Taiga, but namely Siberians turned their attitude to the bear into a cult. Moreover, this cult played an important role in the rites of hunting magic and everyday life.

Nikolai Turchaninov - the Discoverer of Baikal Plants

It turns out that elderly people did not always enjoy the care and respect of their relatives and tribesmen. An old woman who was doomed to die of hunger not to be a burden for her tribe was fed the best meal for the last time and dressed in white clothes, like for a wedding...

Николай Турчанинов — первооткрыватель байкальских растений
Николай Турчанинов — первооткрыватель байкальских растений
© Фото: Первый Байкальский

Николай Турчанинов — первооткрыватель байкальских растений

Его судьба воистину удивительна, а вклад в изучение растительного богатства Прибайкалья — неоценим. Поэтому фамилия Николая Степановича Турчанинова (1796–1863) высечена на фризе здания Иркутского краеведческого музея, среди медальонов с именами наиболее известных первооткрывателей Сибирского края…

Выпускник Харьковского университета со степенью кандидата физико-математических наук, финансовый чиновник, приехавший в Иркутск на службу из столицы, статский советник, член-корреспондент Императорской Академии наук, «ученый-путешественник между Алтаем и Восточным океаном», выдающийся русский ботаник, флорист и систематик, крупнейший исследователь флоры Восточной Сибири. И все эти, порой несопоставимые черты, – характеристика одного человека, для которого ботаника изначально была просто увлечением, хобби.

Служба в Иркутске и служение земле Сибирской

С 1814 по 1828 годы Николай Степанович работал в Санкт-Петербурге, сначала в Министерстве юстиции, а затем финансов. Уже в столице он старался совмещать карьеру чиновника с научной деятельностью в сфере своего основного увлечения – ботаники. Известны факты его сотрудничества с Ботаническим садом и Московским обществом испытателей природы.

Но более всего, по общему убеждению исследователей, раскрылась творческая натура Турчанинова в то время, когда он работал в Иркутске (с 1828 по 1837 годы). Официально часть этого периода он числился в должности финансового чиновника в ведомстве генерал-губернатора Восточной Сибири.

В Иркутск Николай Степанович приехал еще довольно молодым, в возрасте 32 лет, но уже опытным ботаником и флористом, при этом не имевшим никакого биологического образования.

Город был выбран неслучайно. Его посоветовал директор Императорского ботанического сада в Санкт-Петербурге Федор Богданович Фишер, немецкий ботаник и садовод, мечтающий создать в Иркутске ботанический сад и видевший в роли его руководителя именно Турчанинова. В архиве Российской Академии наук сохранилась соответствующая запись о Николае Степановиче: «Любитель науки, предполагавший получить место директора ботанического сада в Иркутске, который там собирались открыть». И свое желание Турчанинов сумел реализовать, пусть и опосредованно. Ведь именно он «заразил» купца Баснина воплощенной на практике идеей «ботанического сада». 

Иркутск – совершенно особая страница в биографии Турчанинова. Из прожитых здесь 9 лет 5 он занимался только любимым делом – ботаникой.

Иркутск, хотя и являлся вторым по величине городом Сибири, по современным меркам был совсем небольшим – всего 16 – 18 тысяч жителей. В нем отсутствовали какие-либо научные учреждения, и исследовательской работой Николай Степанович занимался под эгидой Санкт-Петербургского ботанического сада и Академии наук, членом-корреспондентом которой он был избран в 1830 году. Одновременно его назначили здесь на должность, которая именовалась крайне затейливо, – «ученый путешественник между Алтаем и Восточным океаном» (с 1830 по 1835 годы). Из Академии он и получал жалованье, а также деньги на проведение экспедиций. Все остальное время свои научные путешествия он финансировал за собственный счет.

Свободное время Турчанинов отдавал не только ботанике, но и изучению беспозвоночных животных Сибири.

Первоначальные, довольно короткие маршруты в окрестностях Иркутска постепенно увеличивались, захватывая участки вокруг Байкала и территорию Даурии (Забайкалье и запад Приамурья). Например, дважды через перевалы в Восточном Саяне Николай Степанович попадал на территорию Монголии; переваливал через Байкальский хребет; прошел реку Баргузин вверх до самых ее истоков. Путешествуя по берегам Ангары, Турчанинов пешком преодолел более 100 км по Якутскому тракту.

Вернувшись на государственную службу, он во время летних отпусков продолжал свои исследования, в основном занимаясь растительностью южных берегов Байкала.

Экспедиции Турчанинова не всегда были легкими, но всегда необычайно полезными для ботаники Сибири.

И именно в Иркутске он написал свой знаменитый фундаментальный труд «Байкало-Даурская флора», за который получил Демидовскую премию (негосударственная премия в Российской империи для ученых, внесших выдающийся вклад в развитие наук).

Вклад Турчанинова в ботанику Сибири

Фото

«Байкало-даурская флора» выходила в свет отдельными выпусками на протяжении 16 лет (1842–1857) в Бюллетене Московского общества испытателей природы. В этой работе содержится описание почти 1,5 тысяч видов растений, из которых новыми в то время были 170. Большинство описанных растений собраны самим автором лично.

Самым замечательным, бесспорно, является Тридактилина Кирилова – монотипная «байкальская астра» (монотипный род – род, содержащий только один вид растений), долгое время считавшаяся эндемиком южного побережья Байкала. 

Ученые отмечают, что «Байкало-даурская флора» не утратила своей научной ценности до сих пор и заложила основы целенаправленного изучения растительного мира Байкальской Сибири.

В честь Н.М. Турчанинова названо не менее 21 вида сибирской флоры.

 

РАССКАЗАТЬ ДРУЗЬЯМ
Читайте также
Николай Турчанинов — первооткрыватель байкальских растений

Наш новый материал из рубрики «ЖЗЛ Байкала» — о «самом лохматом сотруднике заповедной системы». Именно так называл себя Семен Устинов.

Николай Турчанинов — первооткрыватель байкальских растений

Мы продолжаем знакомить вас с необычными деревнями Байкала. Героем этой статьи станет поселок Качуг. Это место, которое было населено людьми многие тысячи лет назад. Первый Байкальский расскажет, какие следы здесь оставил древний человек и почему сюда лучше приезжать в сентябре.

Николай Турчанинов — первооткрыватель байкальских растений

Национальный костюм — это код для современного человека. Он помогает почувствовать и понять прошлое народа, его традиции и особенности самосознания. Не говоря уже об особой энергетике, которую передает вещь, изготовленная вручную. Первый Байкальский рассказывает об особенностях костюма древних жителей Байкала и как озеро влияло на моду…

Николай Турчанинов — первооткрыватель байкальских растений

Ужин или обед для древних народов Байкала — это не просто прием пищи, а целый обряд со своими правилами и традициями. О том, как приготовить мясо по-тунгусски и как менялись обычаи питания древних людей озера в зависимости от времени года, рассказываем на Первом Байкальском.

×
Хотите знать, где у нерпы санаторий?

Читайте нас в Яндекс Дзен

Хочу!

Больше не показывать