The Good Genius of Irkutsk - Vasily Basnin
The Good Genius of Irkutsk - Vasily Basnin
© Photo: Key To Baikal
June, 05

The Good Genius of Irkutsk - Vasily Basnin

There are people whose lives affect many others and permanently change the usual course of life. Vasily Nikolayevich Basnin was hits kind of person — the Irkutsk art patron and friend of the Decembrists. Our new text from the section “The Lives of Great People of Baikal” will be devoted to him.

This year we celebrate the 220th anniversary since the birth of Vasily Nikolayevich Basnin, a merchant, philanthropist, art patron, booklover, collector of engravings, amateur botanist, public figure, member of the Russian Geographical Society...

One of the richest Irkutsk philanthropists was born into the family of peasants

The surname of the Basnins is widely known not only in Irkutsk. One of the most worthy representatives of this family, Vasily Nikolayevich, was born in 1799 and continued the merchant traditions already in the fourth generation. The way of his ancestors to wealth was an example of how hard work can make a dream of a better life come true. At the end of the 17th century, Vasily Nikolayevich's great-grandfather, Maksim, an ordinary peasant from Kholmogory, settled in the village of Orlinga (upper reaches of the Lena River). And his great-grandson already had the opportunity to get an excellent education, not only in Moscow, but also abroad (England). Prosperity did not turn him into a mercantile businessman, on the contrary, Vasily Nikolayevich was characterized by progressive views, rare decency in affairs  and in everyday communication, courage (it will just suffice to mention helping the Decembrists and friendship with them), admiration for art and science, and incredible love for the Siberian land.

“Our Good Genius”

This was how the Decembrists deservedly called Vasily Nikolayevich, whose close relations began in 1833 at the Petrovsky Plant (a village in Transbaikalia where the Decembrists were sent for penal servitude), where Basnin came intentionally to supply the “state criminals” with all necessary things. He continued to help Decembrists in Irkutsk as well. When lending money to the Decembrists, Vasiliy Nikolayevich did not expect that they will be returned; however people who had been living and developing, for the most part, in the atmosphere of the northern capital, needed intellectual support as much as they needed funds. The merchant threw the doors of his home open for the settlers: there they could, among other things, get acquainted with the latest literary novelties. As remembered, Vladimir Raevsky - a writer and a Decembrist - stayed at Basnin’s house for several weeks both for the sake of reading and for the sake of communicating with Vasily Nikolayevich.

A large library and collection of engravings of Basnin demanded systematization. Borisov brothers and A.Z. Muravyov were involved in compiling the catalog. The art collection of Basnin also included the works by Decembrist artists, here one should pay special attention to the two albums ordered by Basnin from Petr Borisov and Andrey Borisov for money. Petr, a skillful watercolor painter, painted plants, birds, animals and insects of Eastern Siberia, and Andrey, a skillful bookbinder, turned the drawings into magnificent publications.

And even after the Decembrists departed from Irkutsk and its surroundings, Basnin continued to exchange letters with some of them.

Serving the Irkutsk Society

Фото

One of the obituaries V.N. Basnin (he died in Moscow in 1876) said that “he was well-educated thanks to his extraordinary desire for reading and innate remarkable curiosity and energy”. These qualities of Basnin rendered really invaluable services for Irkutsk, as follows:

- a unique library collected from rare editions and book novelties was open to all city residents. When he left for Moscow, a part of the Basnin’s collection was left for the Theological Seminary free of charge. Since 1918 these books have been stored in the library of the Irkutsk State University;

- an amateur orchestra organized by Vasily Nikolayevich, gave public performances for citizens;

- the merchant financially supported several urban orphanages, was the main trustee of the Irkutsk Orphan’s House (the first Siberian women's institution for orphans), donated to city churches, donated money to support Irkutsk students in Moscow;

- after Basnin’s departure from Irkutsk, a free hospital for the poor and a pharmacy were created in his house.

Natural Passion for Research

Vasily Nikolayevich was an amazingly versatile and devoted person. He was sure to succeed in virtually every business. He was seriously interested in botany and gardening.

Getting addicted to collecting herbariums and making up, first of all, a herbarium of Dahurian flora, Basnin unexpectedly came across a plant that was unfamiliar to science. The famous botanist N.S. Turchaninov who respected Vasily Nikolayevich for his asceticism and passion for botany described this plant in his scientific works, giving the name “Nymphae Basniniana” to the newly discovered beautiful water lily.

Basnin was also a pioneer in undertaking the experiments on the acclimatization of plants in the severe natural conditions of the Baikal region. In fact, he became the ancestor of gardening in Eastern Siberia. Describing the results of his successful attempts to adapt fruit trees to the local climate and publishing a book on gardening, Basnin tried to get his compatriots interested in breeding flowers, fruits, and vegetables.

And when Vasily Nikolayevich got excited with meteorology, he treated his new activity so responsibly that he had been observing the weather for many years, recording the data in a special climate journal. Subsequently, it became clear that his notes contained the most important scientific material, since no one had done such work so thoroughly and for so long a period as Basnin did.

“Basnins’ Garden”

The Garden of Basins is truly an amazing phenomenon in the life of Irkutsk in the mid-19th century. It was founded in 1834 by the father of Vasily Nikolayevich for family use, and thanks to the younger Basnin it turned into a favorite public place for Irkutsk people. The residents of the city who were tired of the winter cold were enjoyed walking under green exotic plants. There were wonderful samples of flora in the greenhouses, including sour orange, coffee tree, Japanese camellias, and double-flowered cherries. The garden also had such plants as apples, pears, plums, peaches, tangerines, oranges, grapes and even pineapples! A total of more than 120 different plant species from all continents “lived under one roof” in that farden.

According to the description of contemporaries, the Garden of Basnins in many ways complied with the criteria of a botanical garden, representing a collection of documented plants with labels in Russian and Latin. At the same time, the garden was also a favorite resting place of Irkutsk people, where many people were walking, especially nannies with children.

However, the story of the “Irkutsk miracle” ended in 1879, when a great fire destroyed the center of the city, including the greenhouses and the building of the “Basnins’ Garden” located next to the Tikhvinskaya Square.

We really want to remind you that once a street in the center of Irkutsk was deservedly called Basninskaya, in honor of Vasily Nikolayevich...

Tell friends
Related articles
The Good Genius of Irkutsk - Vasily Basnin

We continue to acquaint you with the outstanding villages of Lake Baikal. This article will be dedicated to the village of Kachug. This place was inhabited by people many thousands of years ago. “Key to Baikal” will tell you about the traces left here by the ancient people and why it is better to come here in September.

The Good Genius of Irkutsk - Vasily Basnin

National costume is a code for modern people. It helps to perceive and understand the past of a nationality, its traditions and features of self-actualization. Let alone the special energy conveyed by hand-made things. “Key to Baikal” tells you about the peculiarities of the costume of the ancient people who lived around Lake Baikal and about the way the lake influenced their fashion...

The Good Genius of Irkutsk - Vasily Basnin

A dinner or a lunch for the ancient peoples of Lake Baikal was not just a meal, but an entire rite with its own rules and traditions. “Key to Baikal” will tell you how to cook Tungus-style meat and how the eating habits of the ancient people of the lake changed depending on the season.

The Good Genius of Irkutsk - Vasily Basnin

The waters of the only sea lake on the planet have always required respectful attitude. Baikal does not fit into the framework of being “good or bad”. It is just indifferent to human lives and can easily take them away as a sacrifice…We will tell you a story about this in our new horror article.

Добрый гений Иркутска Василий Баснин
© Фото: Первый Байкальский

Добрый гений Иркутска Василий Баснин

Есть люди, чьи жизни затрагивают многие другие и навсегда меняют привычный ход вещей. Именно таким был Василий Николаевич Баснин — иркутский меценат и друг декабристов. О нем — наш новый текст из рубрики ЖЗЛ Байкала.

В этом году исполняется 220 лет со дня рождения Василия Николаевича Баснина – купца, благотворителя, мецената, библиофила, коллекционера гравюр, ботаника-любителя, общественного деятеля, члена Русского географического общества…

Один из самых богатых иркутских благотворителей – выходец из крестьян

Фамилия Басниных широко известна не только в Иркутске. Один из достойнейших представителей этого рода, Василий Николаевич родился в 1799 году и продолжил купеческие традиции уже в четвертом поколении. Путь его предков к богатству был примером того, как упорный труд может сделать мечту о лучшей жизни реальностью. Еще в конце XVII века прадед Василия Николаевича, Максим, обычный холмогорский крестьянин, поселился в селе Орлинга (верховье реки Лена). А его правнук уже имел возможность получить великолепное образование, причем не только в Москве, но и за границей (Англия). Достаток не сделал его меркантильным дельцом – наоборот, Василий Николаевич характеризовался прогрессивностью взглядов, уникальной порядочностью и в делах, и в обыденном общении, смелостью (чего стоит только помощь декабристам и дружба с ними), преклонением перед искусством и наукой, невероятной любовью к земле сибирской.

«Наш добрый гений»

Именно так заслуженно величали Василия Николаевича декабристы, близкие отношения с которыми начались в 1833 году в Петровском заводе (село в Забайкалье, где находились на каторге декабристы), куда Баснин приехал специально, чтобы снабдить «государственных преступников» всем необходимым. Помощь продолжилась и в Иркутске. Ссужая декабристам деньги, Василий Николаевич не рассчитывал на их возврат, но для людей, сформировавшихся, в большинстве своем, в атмосфере северной столицы, не менее важной была интеллектуальная поддержка. Купец открыл для поселенцев двери своего дома, где они могли, в том числе, познакомиться с последними литературными новинками. По воспоминаниям, Владимир Раевский – писатель, декабрист – на несколько недель останавливался у Баснина и ради чтения, и ради общения с Василием Николаевичем.

Обширная библиотека и коллекция гравюр Баснина требовали систематизации. К составлению каталога были привлечены братья Борисовы и А.З. Муравьев. В художественном собрании Баснина были представлены и работы художников-декабристов, среди которых следует особо обратить внимание на два альбома, заказанных за деньги Басниным Петру и Андрею Борисовым. Петр, искусный акварелист, создал изображения растений, птиц, животных и насекомых Восточной Сибири, а умелый переплетчик Андрей оформил рисунки в великолепные издания.

И даже после отъезда декабристов из Иркутска и его окрестностей Баснин продолжил, с некоторыми из них, обмен письмами.

Служение иркутскому обществу

Фото

В одном из некрологов В.Н. Баснина (умер в Москве в 1876 году) было записано, что он «умственно развился благодаря необыкновенной охоте к чтению и врожденной замечательной любознательности и энергии». Для Иркутска эти качества Баснина оказали воистину неоценимые услуги:

– уникальная библиотека, собираемая и из редких изданий, и из книжных новинок, была открыта для всех жителей города. Уезжая в Москву, часть собрания Баснин безвозмездно оставил Духовной семинарии. С 1918 года эти книги хранятся в библиотеке Иркутского государственного университета;

– любительский оркестр, организованный Василием Николаевичем, давал публичные представления для горожан;

– купец материально поддерживал несколько городских сиротских приютов, был главным попечителем Иркутского Сиропитательного дома (первое в Сибири женское учебное учреждение для сирот), жертвовал на городские храмы, давал средства на поддержание иркутских студентов в Москве;

– после его отъезда из Иркутска в доме Баснина была устроена бесплатная лечебница для бедных и аптека.

Природная страсть к исследованиям

Василий Николаевич был потрясающе разносторонним и увлекающимся человеком. И практически в любом деле его ожидал успех. Он серьезно интересовался ботаникой и садоводством.

Пристрастившись к сборам гербария и составляя, в первую очередь, гербарий даурской флоры, Баснин совершенно неожиданно «наткнулся» на незнакомое науке растение. Известный ученый-ботаник Н.С. Турчанинов, уважающий Василия Николаевича за его подвижничество и страсть к ботанике, описал это растение в своих научных трудах, присвоив открытой красивой водной лилии название «Нимфея басниниана», или Нимфея Баснина.

Баснин был и первопроходцем в начинании проведения опытов акклиматизации растений в жестких природных условиях Прибайкалья. Он, фактически, стал родоначальником садоводства в Восточной Сибири. Описывая результаты своих удачных попыток адаптации плодовых культур к местному климату и выпуская книгу по садоводству, Баснин старался заинтересовать разведением цветов, фруктов, овощей своих земляков.

А когда Василия Николаевича заинтересовала метеорология, он столь ответственно отнесся к новому делу, что много лет вел наблюдение за погодой, фиксируя данные в специальный климатический журнал. Впоследствии стало ясно, что его записи содержат важнейший материал для науки, так как до Баснина так скрупулезно и такой длительный срок подобным никто не занимался.

«Баснинский сад»

«Сад Басниных» – это воистину удивительное явление в жизни Иркутска середины XIX века. Заложенный в 1834 году отцом Василия Николаевича для семейного пользования, он, благодаря младшему Баснину, превратился в любимое публичное место иркутян. Горожане, устав от зимних холодов, с удовольствием совершали променад под зеленью экзотических растений. В оранжереях встречались поразительные образцы флоры, среди которых и чудный померанец, и кофейное дерево, и японские камелии, и махровые вишни. Росли здесь яблоки, груши, сливы, персики, мандарины, апельсины, виноград и даже ананасы! Всего «под одной крышей» проживало более 120 различных видов растений – представителей всех континентов.

По описанию современников, «Сад Басниных» во многом соответствовал критериям ботанического сада, представляя собой коллекцию документированных растений с этикетками на русском и латинском языках. Одновременно он был и любимым местом отдыха иркутян, где собиралось много гуляющих, особенно няни с детьми.

Но история «иркутского чуда» закончилась в 1879 году, когда гигантский пожар уничтожил центр города, а с ним и расположенные рядом с Тихвинской площадью оранжереи и строения «Баснинского сада».

Очень хочется напомнить, что когда-то одна из центральных улиц Иркутска заслуженно называлась Баснинской, в честь Василия Николаевича…

РАССКАЗАТЬ ДРУЗЬЯМ
Читайте также
Добрый гений Иркутска Василий Баснин

В конце прошлого года документальный канал RТД (Russia Today Documentary) выпустил фильм «Как стать шаманом». Первый Байкальский публикует видео для своих читателей.

Добрый гений Иркутска Василий Баснин

Профессор Иркутского государственного университета доктор биологических наук Федор Эдуардович Реймерс всю свою жизнь занимался физиологией растений. Начинал он простым учителем, а впоследствии стал директором Сибирского института физиологии и биохимии растений и член-корреспондентом АН СССР.

Добрый гений Иркутска Василий Баснин

На дворе святочные дни — время жечь свечи и вопрошать дух Гоголя о насущном. Пер-вый Байкальский рассказывает, каким был ритуал гадания на Байкале пару веков назад.

Добрый гений Иркутска Василий Баснин

Предновогодняя суета, казалось бы, не меняется из года в год: нарядить елку, подготовить все к празднику, который придет в полночь, под бой курантов загадывать заветные желания; шампанское, конфетти, бенгальские огни... Привычные нам радостные хлопоты. Но интересно — а как встречали Новый год иркутяне сто с лишним лет назад? Какие традиции с тех пор сохранились, а какие утрачены?

×
Хотите знать, где у нерпы санаторий?

Читайте нас в Яндекс Дзен

Хочу!

Больше не показывать