Baikal Ice and Snow around the Lake: What Sports to Do on Baikal in Winter
Baikal Ice and Snow around the Lake: What Sports to Do on Baikal in Winter
© Photo: Key To Baikal
December, 23

Baikal Ice and Snow around the Lake: What Sports to Do on Baikal in Winter

The climatic and technical conditions of the Baikal region there are perfectly suitable for skiing. Skiing season lasts from mid-November to mid-May.

Freeride

Beginning from 2006, there is a tradition of celebrating World Snowboard Day on December 23 wherever snow falls. Of course, this applies to the Baikal region because the thickness of the snow layer reaches 4-6 meters here. And this condition is the best for all kinds of freeriding.

Freeride means snowboarding or skiing outside the prepared ski piste. The slopes of Khamar-Daban are a real paradise for freeriders: only a freerider, his or her snowboard, dizzying speed and boundless expanses of snow. And all this is supplemented with a good adrenaline buzz, especially due to the fact that the possible length of a ski run makes up from 1 to 10 kilometers, and the elevation difference ranges from 600 to 1200 meters!

The most popular and famous Baikal place for extreme freeriding on snowboards and snowmobiles is situated on the southern coast. This is the Mamai Mountain (height: 1600 m).

Mamai is located at a distance of 11 km from the coast of Lake Baikal, a drop makes up 600 meters, the length of the slopes ranges from 1 to 3 kilometers. The forest on the slopes is scarce or absent, snowfalls are frequent: therefore, there always remains an untouched snow field where it is possible to leave the first imprint.

There is another opportunity for freeriders on the northern coast of Lake Baikal - Davan. This is a mountain pass in the area of Northern Baikal near of the village of Goudzhekit,  at a distance of 25 km from the town of Severobaikalsk and 500 kilometers away from Irkutsk. The skiing season starts here in the beginning of March and lasts for a little more than a month - until mid-April. The elevation difference is 1000-1100 meters, the length of the route makes up 6-7 kilometers. The place has relatively gentle slopes for beginners and steep ones for advanced skiers. An additional bonus of Davan includes hot mineral springs where you can bask amidst the snow in the open air.

Helicopter Skiing and Alpine Skiing

 What Sports to Do on Baikal in Winter@Там, где снег и горы: зимние виды спорта на Байкале
What Sports to Do on Baikal in Winter
© Photo: AdobeStock
© Photo: AdobeStock
© Photo: AdobeStock
© Photo: AdobeStock
© Photo: AdobeStock
© Photo: AdobeStock
© Photo: AdobeStock
© Photo: AdobeStock
© Photo: AdobeStock
© Photo: AdobeStock
© Photo: AdobeStock
© Photo: AdobeStock
© Photo: AdobeStock
© Photo: AdobeStock

In addition to freeride, you can also try heli-ski on Lake Baikal: this is an unforgettable kind of alpine skiing and snowboarding on the slopes of the mountains, only you are delivered to the top by helicopter. Flat-topped mountains are convenient for helicopter landings. MI-8MTV helicopter delivers the fans of extreme sports to the gorge of the Mamai River, the areas of the Osinovsky Bald Mountain, Taltsinsky peak and other slopes of the Khamar-Daban Ridge.

Those who prefer standard ski slopes can visit the Sobolinaya Mountain - a picturesque ski resort on the southern coast. The mountains are covered with snow from November to May and attract outdoor enthusiasts, those who love fresh frosty air and beautiful mountain landscapes. The Sobolinaya Mountain is characterized by a mild climate: air temperature in winter does not drop below –  10-15 ° C, and the snow layer gets as thick as two meters. Besides, there are twelve certified ski runs with a drop of up to 479 meters.

Ice Boating

Not only Baikal snow is popular, local ice where transitions of different duration are arranged is also pretty famous. Ice boating develops at a good pace, there are various tourist and sports forms of ice boating: upon a strong helping wind, the speed of an iceboat can reach 100 km/h, which enables sportspeople to travel long distances along winter Baikal.

Ice boat travels on Baikal ice are an excellent preparation for boat trips of the highest difficulty in the drifting ice of the North, because Baikal offers a complete set of considerably difficult ice obstacles: open and closed cracks, hummock fields that cannot be bypassed (one can only break through them), air holes and sections of thin ice, severe climatic conditions and winds of various directions.

Bicycles

In recent years, long ice skiing, skating or biking trips from the south of Lake Baikal - from the village of Kultuk, to the north - to Severobaykalsk, have gained popularity. This route is especially popular with cyclists. In late March, the ice surface becomes rough, snow deposits becomes harder, which allows people to move around on bicycles without special studded tires.

Winter Baikal makes an indelible impression. At the end of winter, powerful movement of ice is oberved, so separate hummocks can exceed human height. Hummocky fields attract the attention of photographers with unusual piles of sparkling ice. The mirror surface of Baikal ice and amazing blue color of splinters of ice blocks dazzle all visitors. Outstanding transparency of ice makes it possible to see the bottom near the coast and take a look into the black mysterious depths of the lake.

Tell friends
Related articles
Baikal Ice and Snow around the Lake: What Sports to Do on Baikal in Winter

The area of the Baikal Mountains in winter receives around 5-6 meters of snowfall, so winter sports is one of the favorite tourist activities this time of year.

Baikal Ice and Snow around the Lake: What Sports to Do on Baikal in Winter

We proceed with introducing the surprising villages of Lake Baikal to you. The subject of this article will be the village of Khor-Tagna that was included into the list of “The Most Beautiful Villages and Towns of Russia” in 2019. This place is really amazing. “Key to Baikal” will tell you why you should visit Khor-Tagna and its surroundings.

Baikal Ice and Snow around the Lake: What Sports to Do on Baikal in Winter

Baikal caves are among the favorite places to visit for everyone coming to Lake Baikal. Today we will tell you about the Chasovnya Cave, which was home to the people of the Iron Age and the volunteers of the Great Baikal Trail who constructed a new eco-trail there several years ago.

На байкальском льду и прибайкальском снегу: каким спортом заняться зимой на Байкале
На байкальском льду и прибайкальском снегу: каким спортом заняться зимой на Байкале
© Фото: Первый Байкальский
23 декабря #зима_на_Байкале

На байкальском льду и прибайкальском снегу: каким спортом заняться зимой на Байкале

В Прибайкалье сложились оптимальные климатические и технические условия для горнолыжного спорта. Сезон катания длится с середины ноября до середины мая.

Фрирайд

23 декабря с 2006 года везде, где выпадает снег, принято отмечать Всемирный день сноуборда. И конечно, Прибайкалье не могло остаться в стороне, ведь толщина снега здесь достигает 4-6 метров. А это самое лучшее для всевозможного фрирайда.

Фрира́йд (freeride) – катание на сноуборде или горных лыжах вне подготовленных трасс, переводится как «свободное движение» или «свободная езда». Склоны Хамар-Дабана – настоящий рай для фрирайдеров: только человек, его сноуборд, головокружительная скорость и бескрайние пространства снега. И все это приправлено хорошей дозой адреналина, тем более что возможная продолжительность спусков здесь составляет от 1 до 10 километров, а перепады – от 600 до 1200 метров!

Самое популярное и известное на Байкале место для экстремального фрирайда на сноубордах и снегоходах расположено на южном побережье. Это гора Мамай (высота 1600 м).

Мамай находится в 11 км от берега Байкала, перепад высот 600 метров, длина спусков от 1 до 3 километров. Лес на склонах редкий или вообще отсутствует, часты снегопады – поэтому всегда найдется нетронутое снежное поле, на котором удастся оставить первый след.

На северном побережье Байкала есть другая возможность для фрирайдеров – Даван. Это горный перевал на Северном Байкале в окрестностях поселка Гоуджекит в 25 км от города Северобайкальска и в 500 километрах от Иркутска. Сезон катания здесь начинается с начала марта и продолжается чуть больше месяца – до середины апреля. Перепад высот 1000-1100 метров, длина трассы – 6-7 километров. Есть как протяженные относительно пологие спуски для фрирайдеров-новичков, так и крутые кулуары для продвинутых спортсменов. Дополнительным бонусом Давана являются горячие минеральные источники, в которых можно погреться среди снега прямо под открытым небом.

Хели-ски и горнолыжки

Там, где снег и горы: зимние виды спорта на Байкале@Там, где снег и горы: зимние виды спорта на Байкале
Там, где снег и горы: зимние виды спорта на Байкале
© Фото: AdobeStock
© Фото: AdobeStock
© Фото: AdobeStock
© Фото: AdobeStock
© Фото: AdobeStock
© Фото: AdobeStock
© Фото: AdobeStock
© Фото: AdobeStock
© Фото: AdobeStock
© Фото: AdobeStock
© Фото: AdobeStock
© Фото: AdobeStock
© Фото: AdobeStock
© Фото: AdobeStock

Кроме фрирайда на Байкале можно опробовать и хели-ски (heli-ski) – это незабываемое катание на горных лыжах и сноубордах со склонов гор с подъемом на вершину на вертолете. Плосковершинные горы удобны для вертолетных посадок. Вертолет МИ-8МТВ доставляет любителей экстремальных спусков в ущелье реки Мамай, районы гольца Осиновского, пика Тальцинского и на другие склоны хребта Хамар-Дабан.

Для любителей обычных оборудованных горнолыжных трасс есть гора Соболиная – живописный горнолыжный курорт на южном побережье. Покрытые снегом с ноября до мая горы притягивают любителей активного отдыха, свежего морозного воздуха и прекрасных горных пейзажей. Гора Соболиная отличается мягким климатом: температура зимой не понижается здесь ниже – 10-15°С, а снеговой слой достигает двухметровой толщины. И все это – на двенадцати сертифицированных трассах с перепадом высот до 479 метров.

Буерный спорт

Большой популярностью пользуется не только байкальский снег, но и лед, по которому устраиваются ледовые переходы разной длительности. Хорошо развивается и имеет значительные туристические и спортивные формы развития и буерный спорт: при сильном попутном ветре буер может развивать скорость до 100 км/час, что позволяет путешествовать по зимнему Байкалу на внушительные расстояния.

Путешествия на буерах по байкальскому льду представляют собой отличную подготовку к походам высших категорий сложности в дрейфующих льдах Севера, ибо на Байкале есть полный комплект ледовых препятствий немалой трудности: открытые и закрытые трещины, поля торосов, которые не обойти и через которые приходится прорубаться, пропарины и участки тонкого льда, суровые климатические условия с набором ветров различных направлений.

Велосипеды

В последние годы стало популярным на лыжах, коньках или велосипедах совершать длительные путешествия с юга Байкала, от поселка Култук, на север – до Северобайкальска. Особенно популярен этот маршрут у велосипедистов. В конце марта лед становится шершавым, наносы снега затвердевают, что позволяет передвигаться на велосипедах без специальной шипованной резины.

Зимний Байкал оставляет неизгладимое впечатление. В конце зимы происходит мощная подвижка льда, и отдельные торосы могут превышать рост человека. Торосистые поля привлекают внимание фотографов необычным нагромождением сверкающего льда. Зеркальный байкальский лед и удивительная голубизна на сколах ледяных глыб поражают всех приезжающих. Исключительная прозрачность льда позволяет видеть дно вблизи берега и заглядывать в чернеющие таинственные глубины озера.

РАССКАЗАТЬ ДРУЗЬЯМ
Читайте также
На байкальском льду и прибайкальском снегу: каким спортом заняться зимой на Байкале

Мы вновь знакомим вас с необычными деревнями Байкала. На этот раз Первый Байкальский расскажет о селе Онгурён — далеком и диком месте, в котором кончается цивилизация и начинается первозданный Байкал и где была построена первая экоэлектростанция.

На байкальском льду и прибайкальском снегу: каким спортом заняться зимой на Байкале

В своем видеоблоге путешественник Гарет Леонард пробует уху и навещает байкальских нерп на Ушканьих островах...

На байкальском льду и прибайкальском снегу: каким спортом заняться зимой на Байкале

Мы продолжаем знакомить вас с необычными деревнями Байкала. Героем этой статьи стал поселок Мишелёвка и окружающие его места. Первый Байкальский расскажет, почему в глухой тайге стали делать лучший в мире фарфор и зачем здесь построили крепость.

На байкальском льду и прибайкальском снегу: каким спортом заняться зимой на Байкале

Зимой в Прибайкальских горах выпадает до 5-6 метров чистейшего снега. Идеальные условия для любителей зимних видов спорта.

×
Хотите знать, где у нерпы санаторий?

Читайте нас в Яндекс Дзен

Хочу!

Больше не показывать