Georg Gmelin: the First Ethnographer of Baikal
Georg Gmelin: the First Ethnographer of Baikal
© Фото: Первый Байкальский
August, 12

Georg Gmelin: the First Ethnographer of Baikal

The 310th anniversary of the birth of the talented German naturalist, botanist, ethnographer, researcher of Eastern Siberia Johann Georg Gmelin is celebrated on August 12 of this year. In addition, his book about the local residents of Lake Baikal was strictly forbidden in tsarist Russia...

300 years ago, scientists could be characterized by an incredible scope of knowledge, without dividing the scientific field into separate topics. Gmelin was no exception and achieved excellent results in any industry that he was interested in back then.

He defended his thesis research in Medicine in Germany, having arrived in the capital of the Russian Empire as a Professor of Chemistry, joining the academic detachment of the Second Kamchatka Expedition as a botanist; when he described his travels throughout Siberia, Gmelin gained a reputation of a diligent historian, ethnographer, and outstanding writer.

Gmelin and the Second Kamchatka Expedition

Johann Gmelin came to St. Petersburg at the age of 18, in 1727; already in 1731 he became a full-fledged member of the St. Petersburg Academy in the rank of Professor of Chemistry and Natural History. A year later, the formation of the Second Kamchatka expedition began: the expedition was led by the legendary Vitus Bering. It was aimed at a comprehensive study of the distant Siberian and Far Eastern regions and the search for ways to Japan and America; it consisted of several detachments, including the Academic one - it had to study the Siberian resources, climate, and life of indigenous peoples. Gmelin spent almost 10 years on that trip.

During these years, he went along the route from Yaroslavl to Kazan, Tobolsk, Semipalatinsk, Ust-Kamenogorsk, Tomsk, Yeniseisk, Irkutsk and Yakutsk.

Gmelin in Irkutsk

There are no exact data on the dates of stay of Johann Georg in Irkutsk.

According to some sources, the members of the Academic detachment reached Irkutsk on February 18, 1735. Starting from here and going along the sleigh road, Gmelin, Miller, draftsman Lyursenius, translator Yakhontov and student Gorlanov crossed Baikal to get to Selenginsk. They spent spring and summer on getting acquainted with the lands beyond Baikal (Kyakhta, Chita, Nerchinsk); and travelers returned to Irkutsk in the last week of September.

Documentary evidence has been preserved about their stay in Irkutsk in the handwritten chronicle of the city: “The gentlemen Prof. Gerard Friedrich Miller, Doctor Ivan Georg Gmelin with attendants arrived in Irkutsk”. The document also provides information about their occupation: “Miller wrote out data from the archive and asked the old-timers about the things described by him, whereas Dr. Gmelin gathered herbs”.

Then Gmelin and Miller left Irkutsk to Lena and reached Yakutsk, but never reached Kamchatka. They returned to Irkutsk through the Kirensky prison - from that place they repeatedly traveled to the Buryat villages for the purpose of ethnographic observations.

The researchers finally left the city on August 2, 1738.

How Gmelin Studied the Baikal Region

Gmelin conducted incredibly diverse research in the fields of botany, geology, geography, history, ethnography.

Фото

Botany. Johann Gmelin spent a lot of time on studying Siberian flora and fauna; as a result, he published a the multi-volume work titled “The Flora of Siberia”.

Geology: During his trips around the Baikal region, he managed to collect materials on the geology and mineralogy of the Angara River; but I want to emphasize Gmelin’s interest in the issues of seismic activity on Lake Baikal that was expressed in the collection of information about earthquakes around the lake. J.G. Gmelin was the first to elucidate the manifestations of seismic events in the region before 1840s. In fact, he was also the first to record the impressions of locals on the earthquake as of October 1734 observed in the city and its surrounding, “on the heels of the disaster”: “The most powerful of these seismic events ... were perceived in Irkutsk: chimneys were knocked over and bells were ringing on their own”.

Modern scientists note that the data extracted from the notes of Gmelin make it possible to identify several earthquakes on the eastern coast of Lake Baikal that have been absent in modern catalogs.

Geography. The initial scientific image Eastern Siberia were formed based on the works of Gmelin. He described Baikal, explored the lower reaches of the Selenga River, followed the Angara up to Bratsky prison, having familiarized himself with the peculiar river rapids.

Ethnography. The main historical and ethnographic data obtained during the ten-year expedition were generalized by Gmelin in the four-volume work titled “A Journey through Siberia” that can be called his travel diary. That was where serious difficulties began. The author did not receive any official permission of the Russian authorities for publication, although he managed to convey a true picture of Siberian life to the reader; as one of the researchers wrote recently, “he depicted the Siberian way of life that was notorious for the incredible bribery of the tsarist administration that robbed local population - with his usual sense of humor”. The authorities considered the book to be “obscene” and containing “blasphemy against the Russian people and Russia”. The book was not translated into Russian.

According to the opinion modern ethnographers, “personal observations and data collected by Gmelin make it possible to consider him to a pioneer in the scientific study of the ethnography of the Evenki people”. The scientist described of their camps, raw-hide tents (chums), boats, lifestyle features, the process of making tattoos, and even military traditions.

The name of Gmelin in the Baikal region has been preserved not only in the surname on the gable of the Local History Museum, but also in the name of one of the most common trees of the Baikal coast - Gmelin larch (Larix gmelinii).

Tell friends
Related articles
Georg Gmelin: the First Ethnographer of Baikal

We continue to acquaint you with the outstanding villages of Lake Baikal. This article will be dedicated to the village of Kachug. This place was inhabited by people many thousands of years ago. “Key to Baikal” will tell you about the traces left here by the ancient people and why it is better to come here in September.

Georg Gmelin: the First Ethnographer of Baikal

National costume is a code for modern people. It helps to perceive and understand the past of a nationality, its traditions and features of self-actualization. Let alone the special energy conveyed by hand-made things. “Key to Baikal” tells you about the peculiarities of the costume of the ancient people who lived around Lake Baikal and about the way the lake influenced their fashion...

Georg Gmelin: the First Ethnographer of Baikal

A dinner or a lunch for the ancient peoples of Lake Baikal was not just a meal, but an entire rite with its own rules and traditions. “Key to Baikal” will tell you how to cook Tungus-style meat and how the eating habits of the ancient people of the lake changed depending on the season.

Georg Gmelin: the First Ethnographer of Baikal

The waters of the only sea lake on the planet have always required respectful attitude. Baikal does not fit into the framework of being “good or bad”. It is just indifferent to human lives and can easily take them away as a sacrifice…We will tell you a story about this in our new horror article.

Георг Гмелин: первый этнограф Байкала
Георг Гмелин: первый этнограф Байкала
© Фото: Первый Байкальский

Георг Гмелин: первый этнограф Байкала

12 августа исполнится 310 лет со дня рождения талантливейшего немецкого натуралиста, ботаника, этнографа, исследователя Восточной Сибири Иоганна Георга Гмелина. А еще его книга о местных жителях Байкала была строжайше запрещена в царской России…

300 лет назад ученые отличались невероятной широтой знаний, не разделяя научное поле на отдельные участки. Гмелин не стал исключением, достигая прекрасных результатов в любой отрасли, которой на тот момент интересовался.

Диссертационное исследование в Германии он защитил по медицине, приехав в столицу Российской империи работал профессором химии, в состав академического отряда Второй Камчатской экспедиции вошел как ботаник, а описав свои путешествия по Сибири, открылся как скрупулезный историк, этнограф и замечательный литератор.

Гмелин и Вторая Камчатская экспедиция

В 1727 году 18-летний Иоганн Гмелин приезжает в Петербург и уже в 1731-м становится действительным членом Петербургской Академии в звании профессора химии и натуральной истории. А через год начинается формирование Второй Камчатской экспедиции, руководил которой легендарный Витус Беринг. Организованная для всестороннего исследования далекого Сибирского и Дальневосточного региона и поиска путей к Японии и Америке, она состояла из нескольких отрядов, в том числе и Академического, которому предстояло заняться изучением сибирских богатств, климата, жизни коренных народов. В путешествии Гмелин пробыл почти 10 лет.

За эти годы он прошел по маршруту от Ярославля до Казани, Тобольска, Семипалатинска, Усть-Каменогорска, Томска, Енисейска, Иркутска и Якутска.

Гмелин в Иркутске

О датах пребывания Иоганна Георга в Иркутске абсолютно точных данных нет.

По некоторым источникам, члены Академического отряда добрались до Иркутска 18 февраля 1735 года. Отсюда, по санному пути, Гмелин, Миллер, рисовальщик Люрсениус, переводчик Яхонтов и студент Горланов перебрались через Байкал в Селенгинск. Весна и лето ушли на знакомство с землями за Байкалом (Кяхта, Чита, Нерчинск), а в последней декаде сентября путешественники вновь вернулись в Иркутск.

О пребывании в Иркутске сохранилось документальное свидетельство в рукописи-хронике города: «Прибыли в Ыркуцк господа профессор Герард Фридрик Миллер, дохтор Иван Георг Гмелин со свитою». Дает представление документ и о роде их занятий: «Миллер выписывал из архива и спрашивал старожилов ко описыванной истории, а доктор Гмелин збирал травы».

Отбыв из Иркутска на Лену и добравшись до Якутска, на Камчатку ни Гмелин, ни Миллер не доехали. Через Киренский острог они возвратились в Иркутск, откуда неоднократно ездили в бурятские селения для проведения этнографических наблюдений.

2 августа 1738 года исследователи окончательно покинули город.

Как Гмелин изучал Прибайкалье

Гмелин провел невероятно разнообразные исследования в ботанической, геологической, географической, исторической, этнографической областях.

Фото

Ботаника. Много времени Иоганн Гмелин потратил на изучение сибирской флоры и фауны, издав впоследствии многотомный труд «Флора Сибири».

Геология. В поездках по Прибайкалью ему удалось собрать материалы по геологии и минералогии Ангары, но особенно хочется подчеркнуть интерес Гмелина к проблемам сейсмичности на Байкале, выразившийся в сборе информации о землетрясениях в районе озера. Именно И.Г. Гмелин впервые осветил проявления сейсмических событий в регионе до 40-х годов XVIII века. Первым, фактически по «свежим следам», он, на основе рассказов местных жителей, записал их впечатления о наблюдавшемся в городе и его окрестностях землетрясении октября 1734 года: «Наиболее сильные из этих событий… ощущались в Иркутске: они опрокидывали печные трубы и заставляли звонить колокола».

Современные ученые отмечают, что извлеченные из записок Гмелина сведения позволяют выделить несколько землетрясений на восточном берегу Байкала, в современных каталогах отсутствующих.

География. На основе трудов Гмелина формировались первые научные представления о Восточной Сибири. Он описал Байкал, исследовал низовья Селенги, по Ангаре проследовал до Братского острога, ознакомившись со специфическими речными порогами.

Этнография. Основные историко-этнографические сведения, полученные в десятилетней экспедиции, Гмелин обобщил в четырехтомном «Путешествии по Сибири», который можно назвать дневником его странствий. И вот здесь начались серьезные сложности. Не получив официального разрешения российских властей на публикацию, автор донес до читателя подлинную картину сибирской жизни, и, как писал недавно один из исследователей, «с присущим ему юмором изобразил существующие в Сибири порядки, славившиеся неслыханным взяточничеством царской администрации, грабившей местные народы». Властями книга была признана «непристойной» и содержащей «хулу на русский народ и Россию». На русский язык книга переведена не была.

По мнению современных этнографов, «личные наблюдения и собранные Гмелиным данные позволяют считать его пионером научного изучения этнографии эвенкийского народа». Ученый сделал описания их становищ, чумов, лодок, особенностей образа жизни, процесса создания татуировок и даже военных традиций.

Имя Гмелина в Прибайкалье сохранилось не только в буквах фамилии на фронтоне Краеведческого музея, но и в названии одного из самых распространенных на берегах Байкала деревьев – лиственнице Гмелина.

РАССКАЗАТЬ ДРУЗЬЯМ
Читайте также
Георг Гмелин: первый этнограф Байкала

Рассказываем, какой омуль предпочитают коренные байкальцы, и учим готовить рыбу… «с душком». Да-да, вы не ошиблись, именно этому рецепту научились древние буряты у… медведя.

Георг Гмелин: первый этнограф Байкала

Готовы пощекотать нервы? Мы решили заглянуть в прошлое и узнать, кто такие черные шаманы Байкала и при чем здесь «духи-людоеды»…

Георг Гмелин: первый этнограф Байкала

Изобретенный в Китае при династии Сун и вновь придуманный в Европе в XII – XIII веках, компас не был известен аборигенам байкальских берегов — эвенкам (тунгусам) и бурятам. Но они умудрялись прекрасно обходиться и без него...

Георг Гмелин: первый этнограф Байкала

Бурятские орнаменты и узоры несут в себе древнюю сакральную символику. Они рассказывают о верованиях и образе жизни древнейших людей Байкала.

×
Хотите знать, где у нерпы санаторий?

Читайте нас в Яндекс Дзен

Хочу!

Больше не показывать