Tankhoy - the Capital of the Baikal Reserve
Tankhoy - the Capital of the Baikal Reserve
© Photo: Key to Baikal
April, 29

Tankhoy - the Capital of the Baikal Reserve

We continue to introduce you to unusual villages of Baikal. This time our article will be dedicated to the village of Tankhoy in the southern part of Lake Baikal. “Key to Baikal” will tell you why it is worth coming here and why you should not forget to take the camera...

 

A Town and a Station

The name of the village is explained in different ways: according to one version, this word means “a wet place”: truth be told, these places actually have the largest amount of precipitation on Baikal. According to the second version, Tankhoy means “a curve, a bend”. The terrain around Tankhoy is really tortuous. Both versions can be truthful, but there is one thing uniting them: Buryat etymology of the word “Tankhoy”.

This place could avoid becoming famous, but for the construction of the Trans-Siberian Railway. Moreover, it was originally planned to call the station “Sokol” (“Falcon”). Several villages emerged near the station. In 1899, they began to build a pier for steamships, besides, they constructed a harbor for an icebreaker ferry. Prior to the construction of the Circum-Baikal Railway, the giant “Baikal” ferry icebreaker took trains here.

The station itself was officially founded in 1904. After the trains began to regularly pass through the station, the village of Tankhoy began to rapidly grow. You can still see the buildings of early XX century there. For example, the remains of port buildings, two water towers and a number of civic buildings in the village.

A car road also passes through Tankhoy, which made the settlement an important logistics center in the middle of the way between Irkutsk and Ulan-Ude from the very beginning.

New Life

Baikal State Natural Biosphere Reserve was founded in 1969. Tankhoy became its central manor. This fact radically changed the life of the village.

The reserve was originally designed as a part of a chain of specially protected natural areas that were supposed to protect the ecosystem of Baikal. Now almost the entire coast of Baikal is protected, including its southern part. In some way, the opening of the reserve was supposed to compensate for the negative activities of the Baikal Pulp and Paper Mill. However, the main task is the protection of undisturbed cedar forests even now.

The reserve occupies the central part of the Khamar-Daban Range and goes to the southeastern coast of Lake Baikal.

More than a thousand species of higher vascular plants grow there; and about 70% of the territory is covered with forests. Some of these plants are included into the Red Book of Buryatia, several of them are listed in the Red Book of the Russian Federation. There are ten endemic species, including the endemic of the Khamar-Daban Range - Swertia baicalensis, a beautiful plant from the gentian family with dark purple flowers, found mainly on alpine meadows. 90 species of trees and shrub plants grow there.

Many animals are protected, such as otter, wild boar, roe deer, elk, brown bear and, of course, sable. These places are not crowded by people and are covered with forests; therefore, the Baikal Biosphere Reserve manages to preserve this diversity of species. In addition to large animals, birds also live here: wood-grouse, black kite, Siberian jay, rock ptarmigan, and crested honey hawk. In the reserve you can also find such species as Japanese tree toad, moor frog, swift lizard.

1288 species of insects, 366 species of fungi, and many other animals and many other things live and exist in the Baikal Biosphere Reserve. The Reserve has many natural wonders worth to be looked at. Let alone picturesque mind-blowing local views.

Simple Life of Tankhoy Village@Simple Life of Tankhoy Village
Simple Life of Tankhoy Village
Warning: Illegal string offset 'total' in /home/m/mdrealwx/1baikal/public_html/core/cache/includes/elements/modsnippet/58.include.cache.php on line 48 Notice: Uninitialized string offset: 0 in /home/m/mdrealwx/1baikal/public_html/core/cache/includes/elements/modsnippet/58.include.cache.php on line 48

The reserve has created excellent conditions for eco-tourism, and Tankhoy is the starting point for a travel through the reserve. A modern visitor’s centre “Reserved Baikal” was built here not long ago: the center offers the possibility of comfortable living and stunning views from large stained glass windows. In addition to an interesting environmental exhibition, the visitor’s center also has an interesting historical and memorial complex dedicated to the history of Tankhoy and the Baikal ferry. This complex includes a station house with expositions inside, military carriages of early XX century, a memorial pillar dedicated to the Beijing-Paris motor rally and many things more.

The reserve is equipped with ecological paths with wooden flooring for people with disabilities. The routes pass through cedar forests, lead to mountain lakes and waterfalls, to the places where animals live in their natural habitat. Do not forget to take a camera for wildlife photography.

How to Get There? Where to Live?

Tankhoy is equidistant from two large cities - Irkutsk and Ulan-Ude. Travel time will be about the same in both cases. The most proper way to get to Tankhoy will be going by rail from the eponymous station. Thus, you have a chance to plunge into the atmosphere of the early XX century.

The village has many guest houses, as well as hotels. In addition, do not forget about the new visitor’s center where you can get all the information you need.

Tell friends
Related articles
Tankhoy - the Capital of the Baikal Reserve

Baikal caves are among the favorite places to visit for everyone coming to Lake Baikal. Today we will tell you about the Chasovnya Cave, which was home to the people of the Iron Age and the volunteers of the Great Baikal Trail who constructed a new eco-trail there several years ago.

Tankhoy - the Capital of the Baikal Reserve

We wrote a lot about the fact that Evenki cuisine is based on meat-eating culture. Despite this, vegetables, berries and herbs were definitely a huge part of the diet of ancient inhabitants of Lake Baikal. At the same time, they were completely puzzled by yeast bread, because they baked their bread only with the use of vegetable flour...

Tankhoy - the Capital of the Baikal Reserve

“Key to Baikal” proceeds with traveling to mountain residuals of the majestic Olkhinskoye plateau.

Танхой — столица Байкальского заповедника
Танхой — столица Байкальского заповедника
© Фото: Первый Байкальский
29 апреля

Танхой — столица Байкальского заповедника

Мы продолжаем знакомить вас с необычными деревнями Байкала. На этот раз героем нашей рубрики станет поселок Танхой в южной части озера. «Первый Байкальский» расскажет, почему сюда стоит приехать и для чего пригодится фотоаппарат…

 

Поселок и станция

Название поселка трактуется по-разному: согласно одной версии, это слово значит «мокрое место» – и действительно, в этих местах выпадает самое большое количество осадков на Байкале. По второй версии, Танхой – это «излучина, изгиб». Местность в районе Танхоя и вправду извилиста. Обе версии претендуют на достоверность, но объединяет их именно бурятская этимология слова «Танхой».

Это место могло и не стать известным, если бы не строительство Транссибирской магистрали. Более того, первоначально станцию планировалось назвать «Сокол». Возле станции возникло сразу несколько поселков. В 1899 году начали строить пристань для пароходов, а затем и гавань для парома-ледокола. До постройки Кругобайкальской железной дороги сюда отвозил составы гигантский паром-ледокол «Байкал».

Сама станция была официально основана в 1904 году. После того как через станцию начали регулярно ходить составы, стал стремительно расти и сам поселок Танхой. До сих пор здесь можно увидеть постройки начала XX века. Например, остатки портовых построек, две водонапорные башни и еще ряд гражданских зданий в поселке.

Через Танхой также проходит и автомобильная трасса, что с самого начала делало поселок важным логистическим центром на середине пути между Иркутском и Улан-Удэ.

Новая жизнь

В 1969 году был основан Байкальский государственный природный биосферный заповедник. Танхой стал его центральной усадьбой. Это в корне изменило жизнь поселка.

Заповедник изначально проектировался как часть цепочки особо охраняемых природных территорий, которые должны были защитить экосистему Байкала. Сейчас почти все побережье Байкала находится под защитой, в том числе и южная его часть. В какой-то мере открытие заповедника должно было компенсировать негативную деятельность Байкальского целлюлозно-бумажного комбината. Но основной задачей и сейчас является охрана ненарушенных кедровых лесов.

Заповедник занимает центральный участок горного хребта Хамар-Дабан и выходит к юго-восточному побережью озера Байкал.

В нем растет больше тысячи видов высших сосудистых растений, а лесами покрыто около 70% территории. Часть из этих растений входят в Красную книгу Бурятии, несколько – в Красную книгу РФ. Эндемиков насчитывается десять видов, в том числе эндемик хребта Хамар-Дабан – сверция байкальская, красивое растение с темно-фиолетовыми цветами из семейства горечавковых, встречающееся в основном на высокогорных лугах. Здесь произрастает 90 видов древесных и древесно-кустарниковых растений.

Под охраной здесь находятся такие звери, как выдра, кабан, косуля, лось, бурый медведь и, разумеется, соболь. Эти места немноголюдны и лесисты, поэтому в Байкальском биосферном заповеднике удается сохранить такое видовое разнообразие. Кроме крупных животных, здесь обитают птицы: глухарь, черный коршун, кукша, тундряная куропатка, хохлатый осоед. В заповеднике можно также встретить такие виды, как дальневосточная квакша, остромордая лягушка, живородящая ящерица.

В Байкальском биосферном заповеднике живут 1288 видов насекомых, растет 366 видов грибов и еще много кого и много чего. Здесь действительно есть, на что стоит посмотреть. Не говоря уже о пейзажах, поражающих воображение.

Новая старая жизнь: Танхой и его окрестности@Новая старая жизнь: Танхой и его окрестности
Новая старая жизнь: Танхой и его окрестности
© Фото: Антон Климов
© Фото: Антон Климов
© Фото: Антон Климов
© Фото: Антон Климов
© Фото: Антон Климов
© Фото: Антон Климов
© Фото: Антон Климов
© Фото: Антон Климов
Танхой — столица Байкальского заповедника
© Фото: Антон Климов
© Фото: Антон Климов
© Фото: Антон Климов
© Фото: Антон Климов
© Фото: Антон Климов
© Фото: Антон Климов

В заповеднике созданы прекрасные условия для экологического туризма, и Танхой является местом старта для путешествия по заповеднику. Не так давно здесь был построен современный визит-центр «Байкал заповедный» с возможностью комфортного проживания и потрясающими видами из больших витражных окон. В визит-центре, помимо замечательной экологической выставки, есть интересный историко-мемориальный комплекс, посвященный истории Танхоя и Байкальской переправе. В этот комплекс входят станционный дом с экспозициями внутри, воинские вагоны начала XX века, памятный столб, посвященный автопробегу Пекин – Париж, и многое другое.

Заповедник оборудован экологическими тропами с деревянными настилами для людей с ограниченными возможностями здоровья. Маршруты проходят по кедровым лесам, ведут к горным озерам и водопадам, к местам обитания животных в естественной среде. Так что не забудьте взять фотоаппарат для фотоохоты.

Как добраться? Где жить?

Танхой равноудален от двух крупных городов – Иркутска и Улан-Удэ. Время в пути будет примерно одинаково. Самым правильным способом будет добраться в Танхой железной дорогой до одноименной станции. Таким образом, у вас есть шанс погрузиться в атмосферу начала XX века.

В поселке есть множество гостевых домов, а также гостиницы. Кроме того, не забывайте про новый визит-центр, в котором можно получить всю необходимую информацию.

РАССКАЗАТЬ ДРУЗЬЯМ
Читайте также
Танхой — столица Байкальского заповедника

Мыс Кобылья Голова встречает всех, кто отправляется на Ольхон через паромную переправу. Рассказываем, кто придумал ему такое название и какие его части обязательно стоит увидеть во время путешествия.

Танхой — столица Байкальского заповедника

По данным статистики, два последних года на Байкал приезжало по миллиону туристов. Отдых на озере становится не только популярнее, но и стремительно расширяет географию - сюда приезают со всего мира.

Танхой — столица Байкальского заповедника

Сегодня у нас необычный материал, над которым трудились сразу две команды: Первый Байкальский, а также путешественник и владелец канала «Даль светла» Станислав. В середине августа он отправился в десятидневное путешествие по Приморскому хребту — одной из самых недооцененных, но несомненно поражающих своей красотой достопримечательности Байкала.

×
Хотите знать, где у нерпы санаторий?

Читайте нас в Яндекс Дзен

Хочу!

Больше не показывать