Ups and Downs of Fate: Italians at Baikal
© Photo: Key To Baikal
July, 26

Ups and Downs of Fate: Italians at Baikal

Italians came to the coast of the distant, completely unfamiliar Baikal in order to build the Circum-Baikal Railway at the invitation of the Department of Railways of the Russian Empire.

Siberia has always been an exceptionally international region with people of different nationalities getting along well with each other. Undoubtedly, Italian diaspora is surprising for a region with such severe climate, nevertheless, Italians were fully-fledged inhabitants of Baikal region situated so far from their homeland.

Italian Masonry within the “Golden Buckle” of the Trans-Siberian Railway

Italians came to the coast of the distant, completely unfamiliar Baikal in order to build the Circum-Baikal Railway at the invitation of the Department of Railways of the Russian Empire.

It was no accident that they were invited. Italian builders have been considered the best masons and mosaicists since ancient times: they were born masons with great stone-cutting skills. Who else could be entrusted to build walls of stone? Above all, Italians had done great work on many railway stations in the European part of Russia, in the Caucasus, during the construction of bridges across Volga and Yenisei.

It should be remembered that late 1880s were characterized by extraordinary poverty of Northern Italy, so its residents massively left to work in other countries.

Many representatives of different nationalities worked on the construction of the Circum-Baikal Railway: Russian, Polish, Ukrainian, Albanian speech was diluted by Italian language. New surnames were heard in Russian province: Andreoletti, Floriani, Rizzolatti ... According to various sources, the Italian colony included up to one thousand people.

Masonwork on the retaining walls, portals of tunnels and galleries required accuracy and good taste, so it was entrusted to the Italian emigrants.

Everything was unusual for them, first of all, the primeval local land itself with its severe climate, without any stationary houses. Therefore, they had to live in tents and barracks.

The labor itself was incredibly difficult: rock falls, landslides, the absence of minimum safety and medical care. However, the work and behavior of the Italian builders were different from the habits of their Russian colleagues. Italians did not indulge in absenteeism, put forward no weekend and holiday requirements, and, most importantly, they almost did not drink any alcohol. In addition, many Italian workers persistently studied Russian language, memorizing fancy foreign words and phrases.

 Correspondingly, they were paid more money. Italians received 4 roubles, whereas Russians received 1 rouble 50 kopecks each for performing identical tasks. So that you could understand price range, we clarify that the subsistence minimum of an adult man working at the Siberian mines who spent as much money as he wanted, did not exceed 90 kopecks. Therefore, 4 roubles were a very worthy amount even for a family.

Masonry was completed by early August 1904. However, the Russian-Japanese war broke out already at the beginning of this year, and all foreigners were taken away from the railway that was an important strategic object.

Thus, the skillfully made arches and walls of tunnels, arches, cordons of finely polished stone remained as mementos for the residents of Siberia. On some of the portals you can see hewn construction dates: 1902 - 1904.

Italian Photography in Irkutsk

After the end of construction, the Italians faced the issue of organizing their future fate. And many of them were in no hurry to return to their homeland, they decided to settle in Irkutsk, even married Russian women. During several decades, Italian families were “intergrown” into the life of the city; they opened stores, photo studios, cinemas.

In early 20th century, Irkutsk was considered to be a fairly “advanced” city: the latest achievements of technology, especially of photography, were widespread there. Local photography market was compared with that of Odessa; in fact, the necessary equipment was delivered from Odessa.

The photographers Gustav Enne and Romuald Kaupe arrived in Irkutsk in 1905. Giovanni Minisini was a student of Gustav Enne: Giovanni’s father with his family remained in Irkutsk after participating in railway construction works. Giovanni became the owner of a photography studio located in a historic building on the 3rd Soldatskaya Street of Irkutsk built in 1870s (now: 11 Gryaznova Street).

The Minisini family photography studio was considered incredibly luxurious for that time: mirrors in beautiful frames, armchairs decoroated with silk, carpets. The studio was very popular among the residents of Irkutsk. The pictures taken here were also marvelous; today they allow us to see a lot of faces of a bygone era.

Soon the Soviet Union has abolished the new economic policy, private entrepreneurship almost ceased to exist, so the Minisini family left to Italy, leaving the house of their former photo studio to the city residents.

Antonio Donatello: from a Provincial Circus Actor to a Businessman

Фото

Another notable Italian figure around Lake Baikal is Antonio Michele Donatello. He did not belong to the builders of the Circum-Baikal Railway; instead, he began his career as a circus performer. Antonio became greatly interested in the new business - photography and cinema, so he traveled around the country until he reached Irkutsk.

The residents of Irkutsk have always been interested in technical novelties. New exhibitions, cinemas were opened in the city; special lectures on photography were delivered. Donatello began to think about building his own premises for showing films and put this idea into practice. A city legend says that he laid out his own name – “Don Othello” - with white marble on the pavement in front of the entrance to his first cinema.

He was also the creator of the first private film studio in Irkutsk: it was located at his apartment in the building where the “Electroillusion” cinema was opened in 1908.

The show case of the “Illusion” demonstrated photos dedicated to hottest topics, newest films.

Donatello established good relations with foreign representatives of the film industry, thanks to it; he constantly updated the repertoire of his cinema. However, his main merit, the so-called “highlight” of the Irkutsk cinema, can be considered his interest in documentary films dedicated to local issues: these films were most probably made by Antonio himself. Local historians suggest that Don Othello most likely was the first camera operator in Irkutsk. He performed his film shoots with a heavy camera on a tripod during daylight in sunny weather. From 1908 to 1919, Donatello’s film studio produced more than 20 various films.

Unfortunately, only the names of those films have been preserved. Donatello left Russia in early 1920s, taking his creative works to Harbin, so these were lost in the foreign land.

Postscriptum

The fate of the Italian diaspora in Irkutsk has ended tragically. Some of them left Russia in early 1930s after the abolition of the new economic policy in the USSR. Those who refused to obey the new policy were deported from Irkutsk in 1937. And in 1938, some of those who remained in Siberia due to mixed marriages were arrested as political prisoners and killed.

Tell friends
Related articles
Ups and Downs of Fate: Italians at Baikal

The Professor of Irkutsk State University, Doctor of Biological Sciences Fedor Eduardovich Reimers spent his entire life working on plant physiology. He began as a simple teacher, later becoming a Director of the Siberian Institute of Plant Physiology and Biochemistry and a corresponding member of the Academy of Sciences of the USSR.

Ups and Downs of Fate: Italians at Baikal

Christmas days have come: it’s time to burn candles and ask Gogol’s spirit about daily issues. Key to Baikal informs you about the rite of fortune-telling that existed on Baikal a couple of centu-ries ago.

Ups and Downs of Fate: Italians at Baikal

Not only Siberian peoples considered the bear to be the Master of the Taiga, but namely Siberians turned their attitude to the bear into a cult. Moreover, this cult played an important role in the rites of hunting magic and everyday life.

Ups and Downs of Fate: Italians at Baikal

It turns out that elderly people did not always enjoy the care and respect of their relatives and tribesmen. An old woman who was doomed to die of hunger not to be a burden for her tribe was fed the best meal for the last time and dressed in white clothes, like for a wedding...

Превратности судьбы: итальянцы на Байкале
© Фото: Первый Байкальский
5 мая 2022 #кбжд #история

Превратности судьбы: итальянцы на Байкале

Итальянцы и Байкал? Нет, речь пойдет не об европейских туристах, а о строительстве КБЖД. Именно итальянцы построили большую часть дороги. Как они появились на озере и какие новинки привнесли в Сибирь?

Сибирь всегда была необычайно интернациональным краем, где спокойно уживались люди разных национальностей. Конечно, для сурового региона итальянская диаспора – некое несоответствие, но итальянцы в начале XX столетия были вполне себе полноправными жителями такого далекого от их родины Байкала.

Итальянская кладка в «золотой пряжке» Транссиба

На берега далекого, абсолютно чужого, неведомого Байкала строить Кругобайкалку итальянцы поехали по приглашению Департамента путей сообщения Российской империи.

Обращение к ним было неслучайно. Издавна итальянские строители считались самыми лучшими каменотесами и мозаичниками, у которых «чувство камня» было в крови. Кому же еще доверить каменную выкладку?! Ко всему, итальянцы прекрасно показали себя на многих железнодорожных участках европейской части России, на Кавказе, при строительстве мостов через Волгу и Енисей.

Здесь следует вспомнить, что конец 80-х годов XIX столетия характеризовался невероятным обнищанием северной Италии, и ее жители в массовом порядке уезжали на заработки в другие страны.

На сооружении Кругобайкальской железной дороги трудилось множество представителей разных национальностей, и к русской, польской, украинской, албанской речи прибавилась итальянская. Зазвучали и совсем непривычные для русского трудящегося человека фамилии – Андреолетти, Флориани, Риццолатти… По разным данным, итальянская колония насчитывала до тысячи человек.

Точности и хорошего вкуса требовала каменная кладка на подпорных стенках, порталах тоннелей и галерей, что и возложили на плечи выходцев из итальянского королевства.

Все было здесь для них непривычно, и, в первую очередь, сама земля – первобытная, с жестким климатом, без какого-либо стационарного жилья. Поэтому размещаться приходилось в палатках, балаганах, бараках.

Сам труд был невероятно тяжелым: камнепады, обвалы, отсутствие минимальной техники безопасности и медицинской помощи. Но работа и поведение итальянских строителей отличались от обычаев их русских сотоварищей. Для них нехарактерны были прогулы, требования выходных и праздничных дней, и, главное, они практически не пили. В придачу, многие итальянские рабочие упорно учили русский язык, запоминая диковинные слова и фразы.

Соответственно, платили им больше. При выполнении идентичных заданий итальянцы получали по 4 рубля, а русские – 1 рубль 50 копеек. Чтобы был понятен порядок цен, уточняем, что на сибирских приисках прожиточный минимум взрослого мужчины, не отказывающего себе в чем-либо, не превышал 90 копеек. Поэтому даже для семейных 4 рубля – очень достойная сумма.

Кладка закончилась к началу августа 1904 года. Но уже в начале этого года разразилась русско-японская война, и всех иностранцев убрали с железной дороги – важного стратегического объекта.

А на память сибирякам остались мастерски выполненные своды и стены тоннелей, арки, кордоны из прекрасно шлифованного камня. И на отдельных порталах можно увидеть вытесанные даты строительства: 1902 – 1904.

Итальянская фотография в Иркутске

После окончания строительства перед итальянцами встал вопрос об устройстве своей дальнейшей судьбы. И многие не стали торопиться с возвращением на родину, а решили обосноваться в Иркутске, даже вступали в брак с русскими женщинами. На несколько десятков лет итальянские семьи «вросли» в жизнь города, открывая магазинчики, фотоателье, кинотеатры.

Иркутск в начале ХХ века считался довольно «продвинутым» городом, в котором были широко распространены последние достижения техники, особенно фотографической. Фоторынок сравнивали с Одесским, и, собственно, из Одессы доставлялось соответствующее оборудование.

В 1905 году в Иркутск приехали фотографы Густав Энне и Ромуальд Каупе. К Энне и поступил в ученики Джованни Минизини, отец которого после участия в железнодорожных строительных работах вместе с семьей остался в Иркутске. Занятие фотографией было в то время довольно выгодным делом, и скоро из ученика Джованни превратился во владельца собственной фотографии, расположенной в историческом здании по 3-й Солдатской улице Иркутска постройки 1870-х годов (ныне улица Грязнова, 11).

Семейное ателье Минизини считалось, по меркам того времени, невероятно шикарным: зеркала в красивых рамах, обшитые шелком кресла, ковер. Оно было очень популярно среди иркутян. Великолепными были и сделанные здесь фотографии, которые сегодня позволяют увидеть множество лиц давно ушедшей эпохи.

Вскоре в СССР закончилась новая экономическая политика, резко начало сворачиваться частное предпринимательство, и семья Минизини уехала в Италию, оставив горожанам дом, где располагалось фотоателье.

Антонио Донателло: из провинциального циркача в бизнесмена

Фото

Еще один заметный итальянец на Байкале – Антонио Микеле Донателло. Он не принадлежал к когорте строителей Кругобайкальской железной дороги, а начинал свою карьеру как циркач. Невероятно заинтересовавшись новым тогда делом – фотографией и кинематографом, Антонио постепенно перемещался по стране, добравшись и до Иркутска.

Жители Иркутска всегда проявляли интерес к техническим новинкам. В городе открывались новые выставки, кинотеатры, читались специальные лекции по фотоделу. Донателло задумался о строительстве собственного помещения для показа кинофильмов и воплотил эту идею в жизнь. Городская легенда гласит, что перед входом в свой первый кинотеатр он выложил на тротуаре белым мрамором собственное имя: Дон Отелло.

Он был и создателем первой частной киностудии в Иркутске, которая находилась при его квартире в доме, там же, где в 1908 году был открыт кинотеатр «Электроиллюзион».

В витринах «Иллюзиона» выставлялись снимки на злободневные темы, демонстрировались новинки кинопроката.

Донателло установил хорошие связи с зарубежными представителями киноиндустрии, благодаря чему постоянно обновлял репертуар. Но главной его заслугой, «изюминкой» Иркутского кинематографа можно назвать интерес к документальному кино на местные темы, которое сам Антонио и снимал. Краеведы предполагают, что, скорее всего, Дон-Отелло был первым в Иркутске оператором. Свои съемки он проводил тяжелой камерой на штативе-треножнике при дневном свете в солнечную погоду. С 1908 по 1919 год киностудия Донателло подготовила более 20 разнообразнейших кинолент.

К сожалению, сохранились только названия. Уезжая в начале 20-х годов из России, Донателло вывез в Харбин и свои творческие работы, затерявшиеся на чужбине.

Постскриптум

Судьба итальянской диаспоры в Иркутске закончилась трагически. Часть из них, после ликвидации новой экономической политики в СССР, в начале 30-х годов покинула Россию. Тех, кто не последовал по этому пути, в 1937 году депортировали из Иркутска. А в 1938 году некоторых, оставшихся из-за смешанных браков в Сибири, репрессировали и расстреляли.

РАССКАЗАТЬ ДРУЗЬЯМ
Читайте также
Превратности судьбы: итальянцы на Байкале

30 января Леониду Гайдаю исполняется 100 лет. Его судьба тесно связана с Иркутском: здесь он вырос, окончил школу, работал в театре и придумал свою знаменитую троицу. Кто подсказал ему образы Труса, Балбеса и Бывалого? Для чего режиссер использовал керосин на съемках? Проверьте себя без помощи Google!

Превратности судьбы: итальянцы на Байкале

Только представьте: если бы все буряты верили в приметы, то они не могли бы есть буузы каждый день, греть ноги у костра и выбирать детям красивые имена. Об удивительных табу «Первый Байкальский» спросил у настоящего шамана

Превратности судьбы: итальянцы на Байкале

Пока все вокруг делятся оригинальными рецептами оливье, мы решили обратиться к блюдам, которые вы точно не увидите на новогоднем столе. Это бурятские деликатесы из субпродуктов. Рассказываем, что из этого является слабостью шеф-повара Энтони Бурдена и вдохновением рэпера Хаски