Baikal is the Birthplace of the First Civilian School of Siberia
Baikal is the Birthplace of the First Civilian School of Siberia
© Фото: Первый Байкальский
July, 16

Baikal is the Birthplace of the First Civilian School of Siberia

The need for opening a school of navigation and geodesy in Irkutsk was undoubtedly more than three centuries ago: one of the most strategic objects for shipping and study – Baikal – was located near the city.

There are many interesting documents in the collection of the Irkutsk Regional Museum of Local History, including the distribution list of the Irkutsk Navigation School dated by 1772.

This educational institution (under different names) existed in the city from 1745 to 1835. It can be considered the first civilian, not religious, school in the capital of Eastern Siberia that laid the foundation for the initial vocational training of navigators and surveyors-mapmakers.

The Reasons for the Creation of a Navigation School in Irkutsk

Baikal is the Birthplace of the First Civilian School of Siberia

The purpose of creating a specialized school becomes pretty clear, if we recall the meanings of the words “navigation” and “geodesy”. The first is derived from the Latin “navigo”, which means “sailing on a ship”, i.e., in general terms, this science explains the basics of routing and ship handling. The second word means “land surveying”, or the science studying the size of the Earth and the shapes of its surface, which was extremely important for making plans and geodesic maps.

Now let's recall that the idea of ​​Emperor Peter I concerning the development of Russian territories was still being implemented even after the death of the Sovereign. The implementation of the plans of the II Kamchatka Expedition and the secret Nerchinskaya Expedition required a large number of various specialists - navigators, boatswains, shipbuilders, surveyors... Otherwise, who would study the unknown Siberian lands, develop the Pacific Ocean, make maps of new lands? And the specialists were needed right there, on site, and as quickly as possible.

The Captain Commander of the Russian fleet Vitus Bering expressed his thoughts about the creation of navigation schools in the east of the country.

Irkutsk turned out to be an extremely convenient strategic point. The city was engaged in managing the vast territories of Eastern Siberia; it was the center that “let through” the expeditions sent to the north by the authorities, it played the role of a new big trading point: first of all, it was connected with the need to provide food for the garrisons, fortresses and jails located along the north-eastern coast.

Above all, Baikal was located close to the city, and, therefore, the experts were urgently needed both for the development of navigation on the lake, and for the recording of grasslands and arable land.

The need for opening a school of navigation and geodesy in Irkutsk caused no doubts.

The Twists and Turns of almost a Century of History

The institution under the name of the School of Navigation and Geodesy was actually opened in Irkutsk on August 1, 1754. According to historians, its building, a wooden one-storey log building of a barrack type was then situated outside the city limits, in the area of ​​the so-called Soldatskaya Sloboda  (“Soldier’s Quarter”). The surroundings contained newly built houses of ordinary people, shops, a house of a battalion commander and soldiers’ barracks, a new prison fort and a hospital with a Russian bath and a kitchen, as well as a garden. If you try to link this place to modern reality, then it will be situated on the crossroad of Lenina, Karla Marksa and Marata streets.

The educational program was extremely extensive for that time: arithmetics, drawing, geometry, trigonometry, geography, astronomy, shipbuilding, navigation, painting, and even foreign languages.

One of the first teachers the Irkutsk School of Navigation opened in 1745 was appointed “the Secretary of Economy of Irkutsk province, the Swede Johanna Brockman who demonstrated great diligence and even ingenuity in supplying the school with the necessary teaching aids”.

After 1754, teachers began to come from St. Petersburg; and in 1756 the Navigator Mikhail Tatarinov sent from the capital admiralty was appointed the school supervisor.

It was Tatarinov, experienced land surveyor and seaman, who brought the school to the greatest success; for this merit its leader received the title of second major. Tatrinov was holding this post from 1756 to 1783 (according to other data, 1784), governors described him as “a proactive man well aware of the marine affairs”; he reorganized the teaching methodology and managed to ensure the assignment of officer ranks to the best graduates. Navigator Pushkaryov - the author of the first map of Baikal – also started teaching at the school.

However, the situation in the country was gradually changing. Alaska ceased to be the sphere of Russian state interests, new land routes that were more accessible were formed, so the urgent need for navigators and surveyors disappeared.

In 1835, the State Council decided to close the Navigation School in Irkutsk.

The Contribution of the School to the Study of the Russian Territories

This educational institution - School of Navigation and Geodesy - existed in Irkutsk for 35 years. Geodesic classes persisted for another 46 years at other educational institutions.

During the work of these institutions, more than 300 land surveyors and navigators graduated from the school and specialized classes.

The authorities sent the experts who graduated from the Navigation Department to study and describe the river routes, the graduates were also appointed navigators who mostly traveled around the Sea of ​​Okhotsk and Baikal; and some of them had the opportunity to go to the capital - to continue education or serve in the fleet.

The graduates found the ways to apply to their knowledge not only in the marine and geodesic services, but also in mining practice. The names of many graduates of the School of Navigation and Geodesy who participated in the development, description, and study of the north-east of the country are forever lost.

However, there are personalities whose contribution to the development of the Baikal region is widely known.

Anton Ivanovich Losev is a land surveyor, geodesist, mapmaker, geographer, local historian and chronicler, architect; he is considered the first expert Irkutsk architect, the author of numerous projects of buildings and churches of the city.

Ivan Efimovich Kozhevin is an Irkutsk land surveyor, geodesist, draftsman, a member of the expeditions of the Professor I.Redovsky and the researcher of Sibera M.M.Gedeshtrom.

Tell friends
Related articles
Baikal is the Birthplace of the First Civilian School of Siberia

The waters of the only sea lake on the planet have always required respectful attitude. Baikal does not fit into the framework of being “good or bad”. It is just indifferent to human lives and can easily take them away as a sacrifice…We will tell you a story about this in our new horror article.

Baikal is the Birthplace of the First Civilian School of Siberia

Our section “The Lives of Great People of Baikal” tells about the people indissolubly tied to the history of Baikal and the entire region. This time we will talk about the native of Irkutsk whose name is undeservedly forgotten today... We are speaking about Anton Losev, an architect, a surveyor, a geographer and a map-maker of Lake Baikal.

Baikal is the Birthplace of the First Civilian School of Siberia

Buryat shamanists sincerely believe that the world is inhabited by various entities possessing supernatural abilities. These spirits are influencing the lives of people, so you must definitely have proper skills of communicating with them...

Baikal is the Birthplace of the First Civilian School of Siberia

August is an important month in the history of the railways in the Baikal region. The celebration of the Railway Workers' Day on August 4 is supplemented by another interesting date. On August 16, 1898, the first train arrived in the capital of Eastern Siberia...

Байкал — родина первой гражданской школы Сибири
Байкал — родина первой гражданской школы Сибири
© Фото: Первый Байкальский
16 июля

Байкал — родина первой гражданской школы Сибири

Более трех столетий назад необходимость открытия в Иркутске школы навигации и геодезии не вызывала сомнений: рядом один из самых стратегических объектов для судоходства и изучения — Байкал. Рассказываем о том, как она появилась и почему проработала всего 35 лет…

В фондах Иркутского областного краеведческого музея много интересных документов, среди которых и распределительный лист Иркутской навигацкой школы, датируемый 1772 годом.

Данное учебное заведение (под разными названиями) существовало в городе с 1745 по 1835 год. Его можно считать первой гражданской, а не духовной школой в столице Восточной Сибири, заложившей основы низшей профессионально-технической подготовки судоводителей и картографов-землемеров.

Причины появления навигацкой школы в Иркутске

Байкал – родина первой гражданской школы СибириЦель создания специализированной школы станет во многом понятной, если вспомнить смысловое наполнение слов «навигация» и «геодезия». Первое – от латинского navigo, что означает «плыву на судне», то есть, в общем виде – это наука о способах выбора пути и методах вождения судов. Второе – землемерие, или наука, изучающая размеры земли и формы ее поверхности, что было крайне важно при составлении планов и геодезических карт.

А теперь давайте вспомним, что идея императора Петра I об освоении российских территорий продолжала воплощаться в жизнь и после смерти Государя. Реализация планов II Камчатской экспедиции и секретной Нерчинской потребовали большого количества разнообразных специалистов – штурманов, боцманов, судостроителей, геодезистов… Иначе кто будет изучать неведомые сибирские земли, осваивать Тихий океан, составлять карты новых земель? И специалисты нужны были здесь, на месте, и как можно быстрее.

Соображения по созданию навигацких школ на востоке страны высказал капитан-командор русского флота Витус Беринг.

Иркутск оказался крайне удобной стратегической точкой. Через город велось управление огромными восточносибирскими землями, он являлся центром, который «пропускал» экспедиции, посылаемые властями на север, играл роль нового крупного торгового пункта, связанного, в первую очередь, с необходимостью обеспечения продовольствием гарнизонов, крепостей и острогов, расположенных по северо-восточным берегам.

Ко всему, близость Байкала, а значит, профессиональные кадры были остро необходимы и для развития судоходства на озере, и для фиксации сенокосных и пахотных угодий.

Необходимость открытия в Иркутске Школы навигации и геодезии не вызывала сомнений.

Перипетии почти столетней истории

Собственно под названием школы навигации и геодезии заведение открылось в Иркутске 1 августа 1754 года. По данным историков, ее здание, деревянная одноэтажная бревенчатая постройка казарменного типа, тогда находилось за городской чертой, в районе так называемой Солдатской слободы. Рядом размещались вновь строящиеся дома обывателей, магазины, дом батальонного командира и солдатские казармы, новый тюремный острог и госпиталь с баней и кухней, а также сад. Если попытаться провести современную «привязку к местности», то это перекресток улиц Ленина, Карла Маркса и Марата.

Программа была для того времени крайне обширна: арифметика, черчение, геометрия, тригонометрия, география, астрономия, судостроение, мореходство, рисование и даже иностранные языки.

Одним из первых преподавателей, еще в собственно Иркутской школе навигации, открытой в 1745 году, был назначен «иркутской провинции экономии секретарь швед Иоганна Брокман, который проявил большое усердие и даже смекалку для обеспечения школы необходимым учебным инструментарием».

После 1754 года стали прибывать учителя и из Санкт-Петербурга, а в 1756 году смотрителем школы был назначен отправленный из столичного адмиралтейства штурман Михаил Татаринов.

Именно при Татаринове, являвшемся опытным геодезистом и моряком, школа достигла наибольшего успеха, за что ее руководитель получил звание секунд-майора. Находясь на своем посту с 1756 по 1783 (по другим сведениям, 1784) годы, Татаринов, о котором губернаторы отзывались как о «человеке деятельном и хорошо знавшем морское дело», реорганизовал методику обучения и добился присвоения лучшим выпускникам офицерских чинов. Начал преподавать в школе и штурман Пушкарёв – автор первой карты Байкала.

Но постепенно ситуация в стране менялась. Аляска перестала быть сферой российских государственных интересов, сформировались новые, более доступные сухопутные пути, и острая потребность в навигаторах и геодезистах исчезла.

В 1835 году Государственный совет принял решение навигацкую школу в Иркутске закрыть.

Вклад школы в исследование территорий России

Как школа навигации и геодезии это учебное заведение просуществовало в Иркутске 35 лет. Геодезические классы «продержались» еще 46 лет в рамках других учебных заведений.

За время своей работы школу и специализированные классы закончили более 300 геодезистов и штурманов.

Специалисты, вышедшие из навигацкого отделения, отправлялись властями описывать речные пути, назначались штурманами, ходившими, в основном, по Охотскому морю и Байкалу, а часть имела возможность распределиться и в столицу – для продолжения образования или определения на флот.

Выпускники находили применение своим знаниям не только на морской и геодезической службе, но и в горном деле. Имена многих выпускников школы навигации и геодезии, принимавших участие в освоении, описании, изучении северо-востока страны, навсегда исчезли в истории.

Но есть фигуры, вклад которых в развитие Прибайкалья широко известен.

Антон Иванович Лосев – землемер, геодезист, картограф, географ, краевед и летописец, архитектор, считающийся первым профессиональным архитектором-иркутянином, автором многочисленных проектов зданий и церквей города.

Иван Ефимович Кожевин – иркутский землемер, геодезист, рисовальщик, участник экспедиций профессора И.И. Редовского и исследователя Сибири М.М. Гедештрома.

РАССКАЗАТЬ ДРУЗЬЯМ
Читайте также
Байкал — родина первой гражданской школы Сибири

Национальный костюм — это код для современного человека. Он помогает почувствовать и понять прошлое народа, его традиции и особенности самосознания. Не говоря уже об особой энергетике, которую передает вещь, изготовленная вручную. Первый Байкальский рассказывает об особенностях костюма древних жителей Байкала и как озеро влияло на моду…

Байкал — родина первой гражданской школы Сибири

Ужин или обед для древних народов Байкала — это не просто прием пищи, а целый обряд со своими правилами и традициями. О том, как приготовить мясо по-тунгусски и как менялись обычаи питания древних людей озера в зависимости от времени года, рассказываем на Первом Байкальском.

Байкал — родина первой гражданской школы Сибири

Воды единственного на планете озера-моря всегда требовали к себе почтения. Байкал не вписывается в рамки «добрый или злой». Ему безразлична человеческая жизнь, которую он легко забирает в жертву… Именно о такой истории пойдет речь в нашей новой страшилке.

Байкал — родина первой гражданской школы Сибири

Рассказываем об Антоне Лосеве, архитекторе, землемере, географе и картографе Байкала.

×
Хотите знать, где у нерпы санаторий?

Читайте нас в Яндекс Дзен

Хочу!

Больше не показывать