pic
pic
© Photo credit: www.depositphotos.com

Rare specimens from Russia

Baikal, without a doubt, is a unique lake: there are a lot of words written about it and much is said about its nature or rather its flora and its fauna. Nowadays they are often talked about with the prefix "rare" or "endangered" attached to them.

Plants and animals native to Lake Baikal are under the threat of extinction because of the rapidly changing ecological situation around the lake and the increasing flow of tourists. 

2017 year will be the year of ecology in Russia.

This decision was made in January 2016 by Russian President Vladimir Putin. This action was taken in conjunction with the global trend of seeking public attention for the environmental problems in each country and of the whole world. The year of ecology in Russia is dedicated to the celebration of the 100th anniversary of the creation of the first Russian state nature reserve – Barguzinsky, which is located in the territory of the Baikal region.

As part of the Year of Ecology, leading Russian industrial group, En + Group, in conjunction with the National Foundation "Protected Land" initiated a number of programs approved by the Russian Ministry of Natural Resources. Among them is the popular science project "Rare Specimen". More than 100 experts in the field of environmental conservation were attracted to its creation, as well as staff from the parks. As a result of the project two books were released, they became the official publications of the Year of Ecology and contained information about rare animals and unique natural and cultural sites of our country.  

"There are a lot of books on specially protected natural areas. But it was the first time that two books dedicated to rare species and unique items in the protected areas were released. The books are very well done, in an interesting way, using infographics and illustrations. It is worthy of a deluxe edition for the 100th anniversary of the conservation system of our country ", says Irina Sannikova, director of the National Foundation, "Protected Land". 

Фото

The first book of the series is called "Rare Specimens: Animals of Russia". It includes 17 sections devoted to such rare animals as muskrats, brown bears and polar bears, the Amur tiger, Amur and Persian leopards, snow leopards, muskox, Przewalski's horses, walruses, bison, the Baikal seal, reindeer, whales, sables, beavers and manuls. All of them are under protection of the Russian Federation’s conservation system, they are living symbols of our country. It is noteworthy that almost half of these animals live Baikal Lake or in the forests of the Siberian taiga.

The second book, "Rare Examples of Cultural Monuments from Russia" includes 19 chapters devoted to archeological, historical and architectural monuments located on the territory of Russian nature preserves and national parks.

The book speaks about great Russian monuments like the Tower on mount Akhun, Ahshtyrskaya cave, the Volkonsky dolmen and the Burkhan-Baabay, Bukha Noen and Oglakhtinskaya burial grounds. A separate Chapter is devoted to the memorial complex marking "The Great Standoff at the Ugra River". The book also speaks about the missing old-Russian city of Verzhavsk, the Kaverinsky hillfort, the Devil's hillfort, the Severodvinsk sluice system and the cultural landscape of the Kenozero. Monuments from the Second World War, and testimonies and artifacts from the time of the development of the North, as well as monuments from the Samara bend were not neglected.

The creators of the project from the En+ campaign note that the publications are written in plain language that will appeal to both adults and children. 

Simple texts, clear facts, heroes which speak: this motto was the guide for all of the authors of the "Rare Specimen" book series. 

In addition to publications, the "Rare Specimen" project also suggests the creation of an interactive portal. This portal is kind of a virtual expedition to objects in the Russian conservation system. The portal will include a detailed map of Russia’s protected areas, personal pages of its inhabitants, as well as a cognitive quest, as a tool to be used for self-testing. Photos, videos, animations, and audio tracks with the "voices" of the heroes will allow you to travel without getting up from the computer. Whether you are sitting on the subway or in a cafe, on the way from work or in line in the supermarket, you can explore the monuments to the development of the Arctic or observe the habits of wild tigers.

"Rare Specimen" is an uncommon opportunity to dive into the world of wildlife and the mysteries of history, here and now.

Tell friends
Related articles
pic

We continue the series of articles dedicated to the specially protected areas of the wild nature of Baikal. And the main character of today’s article is Kabansky Game Reserve. Its territory is a part of the UNESCO World Heritage Site and is protected as a unique wetland by the Ramsar Convention.

pic

A modest professional holiday of the workers of national reserves has been celebrated in Russia since 1999: October 14 was declared the Day of Reserved Forests. Our talk is timed to this day; we decided to discuss everyday work of people living away from civilization with a person standing on the guard of the protected taiga every day.

pic

A lot has been said and written about Baikal water. Its purity is admired by the scientists around the world. And the bravest of them are even ready to deduct a formula that will prove that Baikal water can be considered a reference standard.

pic

Baikal and its almost entire coast constitute a specially protected natural area, one of the types of such areas is a game reserve. A game reserve is a territory of special importance for the preservation or restoration of natural complexes or their components and for keeping the ecological balance. This areas serve to protect certain species of flora, fauna, natural objects...

pic
pic
© Фото: www.depositphotos.com

Редкие экземпляры России

Байкал, без сомнения, уникальное озеро: про его природу, фауну и флору написано и сказано немало слов, и в последнее время все чаще они звучат с приставкой «редкие» или «исчезающие».

Эндемичные растения и животные Байкала находятся под угрозой исчезновения из-за стремительно меняющейся экологической обстановки вокруг озера и из-за возрастающего потока туристов. 

2017 год станет годом экологии в России

Такое решение было принято в январе 2016 года президентом РФ Владимиром Путиным. Подобную задачу было решено воплотить в жизнь в связи с мировой тенденцией обращения общественного внимания на проблемы экологического характера каждой страны в отдельности и всего мира в целом. Год экологии в России также приурочен к празднованию 100-летия создания первого в России государственного природного заповедника — Баргузинского, который расположен на территории Байкальского края.

В рамках мероприятий Года экологии ведущая российская индустриальная группа En+ Group совместно с национальным фондом «Страна заповедная» инициировала ряд программ, одобренных министерством природных ресурсов России. Среди них — научно-популярный проект «Редкий экземпляр», к созданию которого было привлечено более 100 экспертов в области сохранения окружающей среды, сотрудников заповедников. В итоге в свет вышло две книги, которые стали официальными изданиями Года экологии и в которых собрана информация о редких животных и уникальных природных и культурных объектах нашей родины.

«Книг об особо охраняемых природных территориях достаточно много. Но впервые был выпущен двухтомник, посвященный редким видам и уникальным объектам на особо охраняемых природных территориях. Причем книги сделаны очень грамотно, в интересной форме, с использованием инфографики и иллюстраций. Это будет достойное подарочное издание к 100-летию заповедной системы нашей страны», — говорит директор национального фонда «Страна заповедная» Ирина Санникова.

Фото

Первая книга серии называется «Редкий экземпляр: животные России» и включает в себя 17 разделов, посвященных таким редким животным, как выхухоль, белый и бурый медведи, амурский тигр, переднеазиатский и дальневосточный леопарды, снежный барс, овцебык, лошадь Пржевальского, морж, зубр, байкальская нерпа, северный олень, кит, соболь, бобр и манул. Все они находятся под охраной заповедной системы Российской Федерации и являются живыми символами нашей страны. 

Примечательно, что почти половина из них обитает на Байкале или в лесах сибирской тайги. 

Вторая книга получила название «Редкий экземпляр: культурные памятники России» и включает в себя 19 разделов, посвященных памятникам археологии, истории и архитектуры, которые расположены на территории российских заповедников и национальных парков.

В книге рассказывается о таких великих российских памятниках, как Башня на горе Ахун, Ахштырская пещера, Волконский дольмен, Бурхан-Баабай и Буха-Ноён и Оглахтинский могильник. Отдельная глава посвящена мемориальному комплексу «Великое стояние на Угре». В издании также рассказывается про исчезнувший древнерусский город Вержавск, Каверинское городище, Чертово городище, Северо-Двинскую шлюзованную систему и культурный ландшафт Кенозерья. Не обошли вниманием и памятники Великой Отечественной войны, свидетельства и артефакты времен освоения Севера, а также памятники Самарской Луки.

Создатели проекта из кампаний En+ отмечают, что издания написаны простым и понятным языком, который понравится и взрослым, и детям. 

Простые тексты, наглядные факты, говорящие герои — девиз, которым руководствовались все авторы книг серии «Редкий экземпляр».

Помимо печатных изданий, проект «Редкий экземпляр» также предполагает создание интерактивного портала. Это своего рода виртуальная экспедиция по объектам российской заповедной системы. Ресурс будет включать в себя детализированную карту природоохранных территорий, персональные странички их обитателей, а также познавательный квест в качестве инструмента для самопроверки. Фото, видео, анимация, звуковые дорожки с «голосами» героев позволят путешествовать, не вставая из-за компьютера. Сидя в метро или в кафе, по дороге с работы или в очереди супермаркета, можно будет исследовать памятники времен освоения Арктики или понаблюдать за повадками диких тигров.

«Редкий экземпляр» — редкая возможность погрузиться в мир дикой природы и загадок истории. Здесь и сейчас.

РАССКАЗАТЬ ДРУЗЬЯМ
Читайте также
pic

С 1999 года в России празднуется скромный профессиональный праздник работников отечественных заповедников — 14 октября объявлен Днём заповедного леса. К этому дню мы решили поговорить о повседневном труде вдали от цивилизации с кем-нибудь из тех, кто каждый день стоит на охране заповедной тайги.

pic

Про воду Байкала сказано и написано немало слов. Ее чистотой восхищаются ученые всего мира. А самые смелые даже готовы вывести формулу, которая докажет, что воду в Байкале можно считать эталонной.

pic

Мы начинаем новую серию статей о заказниках Байкала. Главное их отличие от национального парка в том, что в заказнике не просто не запрещено, а даже приветствуется посещение туристами, тогда как в заповеднике визиты минимизированы и жестко контролируются. Прочитав нашу статью, вы запросто сможете спланировать свое путешествие по одному из самых живописных байкальских заказников: Фролихинскому.

pic

Проблема повышения численности нерпы на Байкале до последнего времени была проблемой в кавычках. После того, как запретили промышленный отлов байкальского тюленя, популяция стала размножаться, радуя всех — туристов, учёных, экологов…