For Tourists’ Record: Chasovnya (“Chapel”) Cave
© Photo: Key To Baikal
October, 28

For Tourists’ Record: Chasovnya (“Chapel”) Cave

Baikal caves are among the favorite places to visit for everyone coming to Lake Baikal. Today we will tell you about the Chasovnya Cave, which was home to the people of the Iron Age and the volunteers of the Great Baikal Trail who constructed a new eco-trail there several years ago.

Due to the efforts of the state and volunteers, it has been possible to preserve immensely interesting natural monuments on the coast of Lake Baikal, many of which emerged during the Soviet era and received regional status in our days. One of these is a peculiar speleological object - “Chasovnya Cave” created on February 25, 1985.

One of the main advantages of this cave is its easy accessibility for everyone who wants to visit it. But some time ago the things were different.

The cave is located in the Malaya Kadilnaya gorge, at an altitude of 50 to 300 meters above the lake level, on the territory of the Baikal National Park.

Фото

The history of construction of a well-equipped road to the natural monument is one more evidence that volunteering is not only a form of ecological tourism, but also a real contribution to the protection of Lake Baikal and its unique environment.

The karst calcareous cavity –Chasovnya Cave - is situated far from the places of human habitat, but there have been more than enough people wanting to visit it, despite the fact that they had to climb onto an extremely difficult slope.

The road to Chasovnya goes through the area where limestone is the basic rock, and the loose trail itself did not allow people to stand on it steadily. The slope was destroying very quickly. An uncontrolled number of people wishing to reach the speleological attraction laid new paths, holding on to the grass and bushes. Beautifully blooming plants and lush grass were torn out, the soil was trampled, the place was actively destroyed, which threatened with the real impoverishment of the entire ecosystem.

As a result, the slope fell off to a great extent and lost its natural vegetation cover, and also became simply dangerous for tourists.

The employees of the Baikal National Park paid attention to this. Following their initiative, the help was rendered by the members of the Great Baikal Trail project, one of its goals being popularization of the natural attractions of the tourist route on the Baikal coast.

In the course of two years, they created comfortable conditions for tourists by building steps and handrails, a serpentine road, installing warning signs and information stands. In October 2012, they announced that they completed their works and equipped a tourist science and educational trail to the cave.

Head on Kadilinskiye Caves

We can get the main information about the Kadilinskiye Caves from the wonderful book titled “Through the Caves of the Baikal Region” written by the famous Siberian scientist, historian, archaeologist, ethnographer P.P. Khoroshikh. Unfortunately, the most part of all works dedicated to these natural formations on the Internet was shamelessly copied from the book of Pavel Pavlovich, without a hint at indication of his authorship. Today we want to pay tribute to this prominent person who raised the question of the need to protect Kadilinskiye natural objects already more than 60 years ago.

P.P. Khoroshikh described the way to the Chasovnya Cape in the following way: “The complex of Kadilinskiye caves is located 12 kilometers to the north of the Skriper Cave in the valley of Malaya Kadilnaya. The path to the Kadilinskiye caves from the Skriper gorge is a mountain trail near the coast of Lake Baikal. Along the way, one can see the outcrops of various rocks influenced by weathering processes. Some remains affected by weathering have very bizarre shapes. On this way there is a passage through the Chortov Bridge that is well known to all tourists who have been on Lake Baikal. The trail near the Chortov Bridge passes by steep cliffs consisting of crystalline rocks. At a distance of 9 km from the Skriper cave, the trail goes into the wide gorge of Bolshaya Kadilnaya and passes near the furnaces where lime is burned. From this place the trail passes along the terrace of Lake Baikal, and the Malaya Kadilnaya gorge begins 3 kilometers away from that place. The caves in the Malaya Kadilnaya gorge are located in limestone rock, at an altitude of 60 to 250 meters above the level of Lake Baikal”.

We clarify the route for those who want to see the karst cave of the Kadilinsky complex with their own eyes. The eponymous Bolshaya Kadilnaya cape and gorge are located approximately 24 kilometers away from Listvyanka; you cannot miss Malaya Kadilnaya – it is located somewhere in the middle of the route from Listvyanka to the village of Bolshoye Goloustnoye, if you go by water. The stone crest of the northern slope of the creek valley with beautiful white cliffs can be seen from afar.

If you wish to explore the Great Baikal Trail, then the distance from Bolshaya Kadilnaya gorge to it makes up 36 km. It will take you about 40 minutes to easily get to Malaya Kadilnaya from there.

Do not Mix the Names Up

For Tourists’ Record: Chasovnya (“Chapel”) Cave

The determining feature of natural objects located near the cave is the name “Kadilny” – it includes the cape, gorges (Bolshaya and Malaya, translated as “Big” and “Small”, correspondingly), a river, and the Chasovnya Cave itself, also known as Malaya Kadilnaya.

It is quite simple to explain the name in Russian (connected with the notion of incense), if you recall that there is an abandoned limestone quarry on the way to the Malaya Kadilnaya gorge. Back in the 18th century, a well-known researcher Johann Georgi wrote about it that, according to local residents, “lime was burned here, which was why there was always smoke there, as if from incense burnt in churches”. This Old Russian word actually predetermined the modern name.

The People of the Iron Age Lived Here

The portal of the Chasovnya is low and rather wide. But this entrance quickly turns into a narrow corridor about 5 meters long, where you have to move almost on all fours. The spacious oval hall (8 by12 meters) of the cave was very well described by P.P. Khoroshikh: “Thanks to the wide ascending opening, the cave is well lit. A massive layer of recent deposits lies on its bottom. The cave was inhabited in the early Iron Age. The findings include bone and iron arrowheads, iron knives of various shapes, horn pads for a compound bow, birch bark sewn with hair, a spindle for spinning, fragments of pottery with different ornaments, boar tusks, bones of bulls, horses, ringed seals and other animals. In 1865, P. Kropotkin discovered human bones and several skulls in this cave. One of the skulls had obvious signs of violent death on it: it was dissected in two places. The cave was evidently also used by its ancient inhabitants for burial ceremonies”.

In addition, visiting Chasovnya also gives you an opportunity to see the breathtaking panorama of Lake Baikal from the cave’s arched platforms.

Tell friends
Related articles
For Tourists’ Record: Chasovnya (“Chapel”) Cave

The climatic and technical conditions of the Baikal region there are perfectly suitable for skiing. Skiing season lasts from mid-November to mid-May.

For Tourists’ Record: Chasovnya (“Chapel”) Cave

The area of the Baikal Mountains in winter receives around 5-6 meters of snowfall, so winter sports is one of the favorite tourist activities this time of year.

For Tourists’ Record: Chasovnya (“Chapel”) Cave

We proceed with introducing the surprising villages of Lake Baikal to you. The subject of this article will be the village of Khor-Tagna that was included into the list of “The Most Beautiful Villages and Towns of Russia” in 2019. This place is really amazing. “Key to Baikal” will tell you why you should visit Khor-Tagna and its surroundings.

Туристам на заметку: пещера «Часовня»
Туристам на заметку: пещера «Часовня»
© Фото: Первый Байкальский
28 октября #экотуризм

Туристам на заметку: пещера «Часовня»

Байкальские пещеры — одно из любимых мест для посещения всех, кто приезжает на Байкал. Сегодня рассказываем о пещере «Часовня», которая была домом для людей железного века и куда несколько лет назад волонтеры Большой Байкальской Тропы построили новую экотропу.

На побережье Байкала силами государства и волонтеров удается сохранять невероятно интересные памятники природы, многие из которых возникли еще в советское время, а сейчас получили статус региональных. Таковым является и своеобразный спелеологический объект – «Пещера «Часовня», созданный 25 февраля 1985 года.

Одно из основных достоинств пещеры – легкодоступность для всех желающих ее посетить. Но так было не всегда.

Пещера находится в пади Малая Кадильная, расположенной на высоте от 50 до 300 метров над уровнем озера на земле Прибайкальского национального парка.

Фото

История сооружения цивилизованного подхода к памятнику природы – еще одно свидетельство того, что добровольческая деятельность – это не только форма экологического туризма, но и реальный вклад в дело охранения Байкала и окружающей его неповторимой природной среды.

Карстовая известковая полость, пещера «Часовня» удалена от человеческого жилья, но желающих посетить ее было более чем достаточно, несмотря на то, что забираться приходилось по крайне сложному склону.

Дорога к «Часовне» идет по местности, где основная порода – известняки, и уже сама по себе сыпучая тропа не позволяла стоять на ней устойчиво. Склон быстро разрушался. Неконтролируемое число желающих добраться до спелеологической достопримечательности прокладывало новые пути, держась при этом за траву и кустарники. Красиво цветущие виды и пышные травы вырывались, почва вытаптывалась, началось активное разрушение, что объективно угрожало оскудением всей экосистемы.

И как результат – склон сильно обсыпался и потерял свой естественный растительный покров, а также стал просто опасен для туристов.

На это обратили внимание сотрудники Прибайкальского национального парка. По их инициативе члены проекта «Большая Байкальская тропа», одной из целей которого являлась популяризация природных достопримечательностей туристического маршрута на побережье Байкала, пришли на помощь.

На протяжении двух лет они создавали комфортные условия для туристов, строя ступени и поручни, серпантин, устанавливая предупреждающие знаки и информационные стенды. В октябре 2012 года было объявлено об окончании работ и оборудовании туристической научно-познавательной тропы к пещере.

Курс на Кадилинские пещеры

Основную информацию о Кадилинских пещерах мы можем получить из прекрасной книги «По пещерам Прибайкалья» известного сибирского ученого, историка, археолога, этнографа П.П. Хороших. К сожалению, в большинстве своем все, что написано об этих природных образованиях в Интернете, беззастенчиво списано у Павла Павловича, без намека на уточнение его авторства. Сегодня мы хотим отдать дань уважения этому замечательному человеку, более 60 лет назад поставившему вопрос о необходимости защиты Кадилинских природных объектов.

Так характеризовал П.П. Хороших путь до интересующей нас пещеры «Часовня»: «Комплекс Кадилинских пещер расположен в 12 километрах к северу от пещеры Скрипер в пади Малой Кадильной. Путь к Кадилинским пещерам от пади Скрипер идет горной тропой у самого берега Байкала. По пути встречаются выходы разнообразных горных пород, подвергшихся процессам выветривания. Некоторые останцы выветривания имеют весьма причудливые формы. По пути предстоит переход через «Чортов мост», хорошо известный всем туристам, бывавшим на Байкале. Около «Чортова моста» тропа проходит мимо отвесных скал, сложенных из кристаллических пород. На 9-м километре от пещеры Скрипер тропа выходит в широкую падь Большую Кадильную и проходит около печей, где обжигается известь. Отсюда тропа идет по террасе Байкала и через 3 километра начинается падь Малая Кадильная. Пещеры в пади Малой Кадильной расположены в известняках на высоте от 60 до 250 метров над уровнем Байкала».

Для желающих воочию познакомиться с карстовой пещерой Кадилинского комплекса уточняем маршрут. Большая Кадильная (мыс и падь) находятся примерно в 24 километрах от поселка Листвянка и где-то посередине пути от Листвянки до поселка Большое Голоустное, если идти водой. С воды падь Малую Кадильную невозможно пропустить. Каменный гребень северного склона распадка с белыми красивыми скалами заметен уже издалека.

Если возникнет желание исследовать Большую Байкальскую тропу, то по ней до Большой Кадильной 36 км. И уже отсюда, минут за 40, довольно легко дошагать до Малой Кадильной.

Не запутайтесь в названиях

Туристам на заметку: пещера «Часовня»Определяющим признаком расположенных рядом с пещерой природных объектов является прилагательное «кадильный»: мыс, пади, Большая и Малая, речка, да и сама пещера «Часовня» известна еще под именем Малая Кадильная.

Название объяснить довольно просто, если вспомнить, что по пути к пади Малая Кадильная находится покинутый известняковый карьер. Еще в XVIII веке по его поводу известный исследователь Иоган Георги писал, что, по словам местных жителей, «здесь выжигали известь, отчего все время кадило дымом». Это старорусское слово «кадить» собственно и предопределило имеющееся название.

Здесь жили люди железного века

Портал пещеры «Часовня» низкий и довольно широкий. Но этот вход быстро превращается в узкий коридор около 5 метров в длину, по которому передвигаться приходится чуть ли не на четвереньках. Прекрасно описывал обширный овальный зал (8 на 12 метров) пещеры П.П. Хороших: «Благодаря широкой продушине, идущей вверх, пещера хорошо освещена. На дне ее лежит мощный слой новейших отложений. Пещера была обитаема в раннюю пору железного века. В ней найдены костяные и железные наконечники стрел, железные ножи различной формы, роговые накладки к сложному составному луку, листы бересты, прошитые волосом, пряслица для прядения, фрагменты глиняной посуды с разнообразным орнаментом, клыки кабана, кости быка, лошади, нерпы и других животных. В 1865 г. П. Кропоткин в этой пещере обнаружил человеческие кости и отдельные черепа. Один из черепов был с явными признаками насильственной смерти – он был рассечен в двух местах. По-видимому, пещера использовалась древними обитателями и для захоронения».

Помимо этого посещение «Часовни» даст возможность увидеть потрясающую панораму Байкала, которая открывается с ее арочных площадок.

РАССКАЗАТЬ ДРУЗЬЯМ
Читайте также
Туристам на заметку: пещера «Часовня»

Все о самом популярном и красивом острове Байкала, который по площади сравним с Чикаго и Пекином.

Туристам на заметку: пещера «Часовня»

Мы продолжаем знакомить вас с необычными деревнями Байкала. Героем этой статьи станет село Хор-Тагна, которое в 2019 году вошло в список «самых красивых деревень и городков России». Это действительно удивительное место. Первый Байкальский расскажет, почему стоит посетить Хор-Тагну и окрестности.

×
Хотите знать, где у нерпы санаторий?

Читайте нас в Яндекс Дзен

Хочу!

Больше не показывать