Sagan-Khushun: The “White Cape” of Olkhon
Sagan-Khushun: The “White Cape” of Olkhon
© Фото: Первый Байкальский
July, 14

Sagan-Khushun: The “White Cape” of Olkhon

One of the most interesting places for visits to Lake Baikal is the Sagan-Khushun Cape also known as “Three Brothers”: a sheer cliff of snow-white marble. Some of the most fantastic views of the Maloye More Strait open from here...

A unique and environmentally, culturally, and aesthetically valuable “Sagan-Khushun” natural complex was recognized a monument of regional significance in May 1981. This rather interesting geomorphological object is located on the northwestern coast of the “heart” of the lake – the Island of Olkhon.

“Three Brothers”

The rocky cape made of light marble, covered with lichen spots of brownish-red, stretches for about a thousand meters. The rock that protrudes into Baikal to the largest distance is an almost sheer rocky cliff consisting of pristine white marble.

The name is derived from the Buryat word stems: “Sagan” (“Tsagan”) - “White”, and “Khushun” - “Cape”, which is together translated as “White Cape”.

A group of rocks consisting of three stone peaks identified with three brothers is clearly visible in the southern part of the protrusion.

An old Buryat legend tells that one Olkhon shaman had a daughter and three sons. A girl fell in love, but the father did not approve of her beloved, so she ran away from home. The shaman sent her brothers to search their disobedient sister, turning the young men into eagles. Looking around at the surroundings from such a great height, the eagles quickly found the refugee. However, she was bitterly crying and begged the girl brothers to show mercy for her, not to tell her father that they managed to find her. The shaman did not forgive such a lie. His punishment was cruel. He turned his sons into rocks, and the daughter also got petrified. Today these immovable peaks rise above the waters of the lake and remind everyone of the father’s punishment of old times.

The Peculiarity of the Sagan-Khushun Ensemble

The “White Cape” of Olkhon: Baikal's Best View Point@Мыс Саган-Хушун: три стража Ольхона
The “White Cape” of Olkhon: Baikal's Best View Point
© Photo: http://depositphotos.com/
© Photo: http://depositphotos.com/
© Photo: http://depositphotos.com/
© Photo: http://depositphotos.com/
© Photo: http://depositphotos.com/
© Photo: http://depositphotos.com/
© Photo: http://depositphotos.com/
© Photo: http://depositphotos.com/
© Photo: http://depositphotos.com/
© Photo: http://depositphotos.com/
© Photo: http://depositphotos.com/
© Photo: http://depositphotos.com/

The total area of ​​the monument together with the water area makes up 17.17 hectares.

The uniqueness of the Sagan-Khushun Cape among other natural attractions of Olkhon is associated with the amazing picturesque view offered by it, both from the lake and from the land.

As the travelers sail a boat along the coast of Olkhon, they have an opportunity to admire the long white marble rock mass that abruptly ends at Baikal. However, a completely different view will open for tourists walking to the cape by foot. The seemingly monolithic wall here is divided into separate, fanciful marble rocks with lichen spots and several small fields of green grass. The rocks continue in the coastal zone.

The special beauty of the cape part is provided by red lichen-covered rock outcrops, as well as a wide variety of crates, grottoes and arch formations.

The color of the rock constituting the cape is pretty interesting. There is a transition from light gray to whitish, but a significant part of the surface seems to be “painted” red because of the pigment of many lichens growing here.

Although the main part of the rocks abruptly ends at the Maloye More Strait, there is still a descent to Lake Baikal.

All excursions to the north of Olkhon Island pass by this cape. Experts believe that the upper observation platform does not offer the best overview. They emphasize that one can see the real beauty of this unique monument of nature only from water.

What Will a Tourist See on Sagan-Khushun?

Local flora is not particularly rich. A traveler will walk along the fescue and bluegrass steppe with edelweiss and thyme, encountering solitary larches or small larch groves on the slopes. However, one can also see rare and endangered plant species: Papaver popovii , Olkhon vetch, and locoweed (Oxytropis triphylla, Oxytropis tragacanthoides, Oxytropis oxyphylloides).

It is noted that there are also colonies of the cormorant in that place; it has been noted that the number of this species on Baikal has finally begun to recover, as well as the species of herring gull, black swift and fork-tailed swift.

Just like the entire Olkhon, the Sagan-Khushun Cape is associated with a number of archaeological findings.

First of all, these are the remains of a ditch and a rampart stretching on the cape’s isthmus. Archaeologists date them to the V-X centuries AD, when the mysterious Kurykan people lived here; almost nothing has been known about that people until now. The Academician A.P. Okladnikov expressed the opinion that they could be considered the ancestors of the Buryats and Yakuts.

Unfortunately, no one knows for sure what the purpose of the walls built of natural stone was. There are no archaeological data or folklore material. Therefore, the purpose of construction of these walls continues to be controversial, incomprehensible and mysterious even for modern science.

Another notable object is the solutional cave located in the area of ​​the “Sredny Brother” (“Middle Brother”) Rock with its entrance facing the west. By the way, the researchers suggest that this cave also has two entrances, just like the well-known cave on the Burkhan Cape, but the latter is very narrow and is now closed by a large triangular stone. The fragments of ceramics found in the sand on the cave floor suggest that the ancient people of the Baikal region lived there. An interesting fact is that a finding was discovered here during excavations: a small wooden box contains an eagle buried therein.

The employees of the Pribaikalsky National Park, on the territory of which Sagan-Khushun is located, recommend to visit the cape as part of excursion groups, and, best of all, to look at the cape from the water.

One can climb the Sagan-Khushun Cape from the coast along a path in the southern part of the cape and from the Sagan-Khushun Bay located further north, whereas the only and very steep path descends to the foot of the Three Brothers.

Many think that the main attraction of the cape is actually the view that opens from the top of the cape to the Maloye More, the island of Olkhon, the Primorsky Range. It is claimed that in good weather, both the eastern coast of Lake Baikal and the extreme northern point of the Olkhon Island - Cape Khoboy - are perfectly visible from there.

The option of visiting Sagan-Khushun in winter is not less beautiful: during this season the rocks are covered with ice for many meters upwards and literally sparkle in the bright rays of the winter Baikal sun.

Tell friends
Related articles
Sagan-Khushun: The “White Cape” of Olkhon

The Kobylya Golova Cape greets everyone who goes to Olkhon by ferry. We will tell you who invented the cape’s name and which parts of it are definitely worth seeing during your trip.

Sagan-Khushun: The “White Cape” of Olkhon

We keep on acquainting you with the extraordinary villages of Lake Baikal. The new subject of the section will be the village situated close to everyone’s way to Olkhon. The “Key to Baikal” will tell you why it is worth staying in Elantsy for a little bit longer and under which circumstances you should better do this.

Sagan-Khushun: The “White Cape” of Olkhon

On the occasion of the Day of Mountaineering, we will tell where you should go if you decided to visit Lake Baikal and are also fond of conquering the rocks. As you might have already guessed, here you can find the routes both for beginners and professionals.

Саган-Хушун: «белый мыс» Ольхона
Саган-Хушун: «белый мыс» Ольхона
© Фото: Первый Байкальский
14 июля

Саган-Хушун: «белый мыс» Ольхона

Одним из интереснейших мест на Байкале является мыс Саган-Хушун, или «Три Брата»: отвесная скала из белоснежного мрамора. Отсюда открываются одни из самых фантастических видов…

Уникальный, ценный в экологическом, культурном, эстетическом плане природный комплекс, Саган-Хушун признан памятником регионального значения в мае 1981 года. Этот интереснейший геоморфологический объект расположен на северо-западном берегу «сердца» озера – острове Ольхон.

«Три брата»

Скальный мыс, сложенный из светлого мрамора, покрытого пятнами лишайника буровато-красного цвета, растянулся примерно на тысячу метров. Наиболее выступающая в Байкал скала – почти отвесный скальный обрыв из мрамора кипенно-белого цвета.

В основе названия – бурятские корни: «саган» («цаган») – «белый», а «хушун» – «мыс», что вместе переводится как «белый мыс».

В южной части выступа хорошо заметна группа скал, представляющая собой три каменных пика, отождествляемых с тремя братьями.

Старинная бурятская легенда рассказывает, что были у одного ольхонского шамана дочь и три сына. Влюбилась девушка, но не одобрил избранника отец, и она сбежала из дома. На поиски непослушной дочери послал шаман ее братьев, превратив юношей в орлов. Оглядев с высоты окрестности, быстро нашли орлы беглянку. Но, горько плача, упросила девушка братьев пожалеть ее, не говорить отцу, что их поиски увенчались успехом. Не простил шаман такого обмана. Суровой была его кара. Скалами стали сыновья, и дочь окаменела. И высятся сегодня над водами озера неподвижные вершины, напоминающие всем об отеческом наказании.

Своеобразие ансамбля Саган-Хушун

Мыс Саган-Хушун: три стража Ольхона@Мыс Саган-Хушун: три стража Ольхона
Мыс Саган-Хушун: три стража Ольхона
© Фото: http://depositphotos.com/
© Фото: http://depositphotos.com/
© Фото: http://depositphotos.com/
© Фото: http://depositphotos.com/
© Фото: http://depositphotos.com/
© Фото: http://depositphotos.com/
© Фото: http://depositphotos.com/
© Фото: http://depositphotos.com/
© Фото: http://depositphotos.com/
© Фото: http://depositphotos.com/
© Фото: http://depositphotos.com/
© Фото: http://depositphotos.com/

Общая площадь памятника вместе с акваторией – 17,17 га.

Неповторимость мыса Саган-Хушун среди других природных красот Ольхона связана с его удивительной живописностью как со стороны озера, так и с суши.

Проплывая на лодке вдоль берегов Ольхона, путешественники получат возможность полюбоваться протяженным беломраморным скальным массивом, отвесно обрывающимся в Байкал. Но абсолютно иной вид предстанет перед туристами, совершающими пешеходный переход к мысу. Здесь кажущаяся монолитной стена распадается на отдельные, причудливые мраморные скалы, с пятнами лишайника и редкими участками зеленой травы. Скалы имеют продолжение в береговой зоне.

Особую красоту мысовой части придают покрытые красными лишайниками выходы горных пород, а также множество разнообразных воронок, гротов и арочных образований. Скальная группа из трех выступов разделена небольшими бухтами.

Интересен цвет самой горной породы мыса. Он переходит от светло-серого к беловатому, но значительная часть поверхности как бы «покрашена» в рыжий из-за пигмента множества произрастающих здесь лишайников.

И хотя основная часть скал резко обрывается в пролив Малое море, все равно есть и спуск к Байкалу.

Мимо мыса проходят все экскурсии на север острова Ольхон. Специалисты полагают, что верхняя смотровая площадка – не самое лучшее место, открывающее прекрасный обзор. Они подчеркивают: только с воды можно увидеть всю прелесть этого уникального памятника природы.

Что встретит турист на Саган-Хушуне?

Особого богатства растительного мира в этом месте нет. Путешественник будет шагать по типчаковой и мятликовой степи с эдельвейсом и тимьяном, встречая одиночные лиственницы или их небольшие рощи на склонах. Но можно увидеть редкие и находящиеся под угрозой исчезновения виды растений: мак Попова, вику ольхонскую, остролодочник (трехлисточковый, трагакантовый, остролистновидный).

Отмечается и существование колоний большого баклана, численность которого на Байкале наконец-то стала восстанавливаться, серебристой чайки, черного и белопоясничного стрижа.

Как и весь Ольхон, мыс Саган-Хушун связан с рядом археологических находок.

В первую очередь, это остатки рва и вала, протянувшиеся на перешейке мыса. Археологи датируют их V-X веками н.э., когда здесь жил таинственный народ курыканы, о которых до сих пор практически ничего не известно. Академик А.П. Окладников высказывал мнение, что их можно считать предками бурят и якутов.

К сожалению, никто достоверно не знает предназначение стен, сооруженных из природного камня. Отсутствуют и археологические данные, и фольклорный материал. Поэтому цель возведения этих сооружений для современной науки продолжает оставаться спорной, непонятной и загадочной.

Примечательным объектом является и карстовая пещера, расположенная в районе скалы «Средний брат», вход которой ориентирован на запад. Но исследователи предполагают, что, подобно известной пещере на мысе Бурхан, эта также имеет два входа, но второй – очень узкий и закрыт сейчас большим треугольным камнем. Найденные обломки керамики в песке на полу пещеры позволяют утверждать, что в ней жили древние люди Прибайкалья. Интересным фактом является находка, сделанная здесь во время раскопок, – небольшой ящик из дерева, в котором был захоронен орел.

Сотрудники Прибайкальского национального парка, на территории которого расположен Саган-Хушун, рекомендуют осмотр и посещение мыса проводить в составе экскурсионных групп и, лучше всего, с воды.

Подняться на сам мыс Саган-Хушун от берега можно по тропинке в южной части мыса и из бухты Саган-Хушун, находящейся севернее, а к подножию Трех братьев спускается единственная и очень крутая дорожка.

Самой главной достопримечательностью мыса многие считают собственно вид, который открывается с вершины мыса на пролив Малое море, остров Ольхон, Приморский хребет. Утверждают, что при хорошей погоде прекрасно просматривается и восточный берег Байкала, и крайняя северная точка острова Ольхон – мыс Хобой.

Не уступает по красоте и зимний вариант посещения Саган-Хушуна, когда его скалы на много метров вверх покрыты льдом и буквально сверкают в ярких лучах зимнего байкальского солнца.

РАССКАЗАТЬ ДРУЗЬЯМ
Читайте также
Саган-Хушун: «белый мыс» Ольхона

Мыс Кобылья Голова встречает всех, кто отправляется на Ольхон через паромную переправу. Рассказываем, кто придумал ему такое название и какие его части обязательно стоит увидеть во время путешествия.

Саган-Хушун: «белый мыс» Ольхона

По данным статистики, два последних года на Байкал приезжало по миллиону туристов. Отдых на озере становится не только популярнее, но и стремительно расширяет географию - сюда приезают со всего мира.

Саган-Хушун: «белый мыс» Ольхона

Сегодня у нас необычный материал, над которым трудились сразу две команды: Первый Байкальский, а также путешественник и владелец канала «Даль светла» Станислав. В середине августа он отправился в десятидневное путешествие по Приморскому хребту — одной из самых недооцененных, но несомненно поражающих своей красотой достопримечательности Байкала.

×
Хотите знать, где у нерпы санаторий?

Читайте нас в Яндекс Дзен

Хочу!

Больше не показывать