The Enchanted Coast: Enkhaluk and Its Surroundings

The Enchanted Coast: Enkhaluk and Its Surroundings

The word “Enkhaluk” translated from the Buryat means “blessing”. The village of Enkhaluk is really one of the most blessed places on the coast of Baikal… We will tell you about the places that you should definitely see there.

One can travel around Lake Baikal without interruption. Today we invite you to visit the interesting and underexplored coast of the lake proximal to Buryatia. We are speaking about the village of Enkhaluk, where the endless lively beaches are situated next to pristine nature, and the water is not only crystal clear, but much warmer than in other places: sometimes it warms up right up to + 26 degrees Celsius.

The eastern coast of Baikal is much more suitable for full-fledged beach recreation and swimming than the western one. Naturally, if you get tired of lazy sunbathing, there are many alternative activities.

The “Buryat” part of Baikal has many outstanding places with excellent recommendations from those who have already had rest there.

What Is Enkhaluk?

The village of Enkhaluk is located In Kabansky district of Buryatia, to the north of the delta of the Selenga River, about 6 km away from the legendary Proval Bay. It appeared more than sixty years ago. Before that, the eponymous settlement was situated in a different place. In 1950s they began to talk about the risk of the territory sinking underwater in connection with the construction of the Irkutsk hydropower plant. Then the question came up concerning the relocation of village residents: as a result, modern Enkhaluk appeared. There was no flood then, so the small first settlement of Enkhaluk has been preserved until today.

Even 20 years ago the modern Enkhaluk was a settlement typical of the Russian depth of the country. There were shabby fishermen’s houses, no road, instead, there was only one ferry crossing. However, at the same time, the place could boast of excellent fishing, undaunted forest game, the riches of the centuries-old taiga: berries, nuts, mushrooms... Fishermen and hunters were the first to come here; they were followed by the fans of independent recreation, and then the oil producers built their industry-sponsored tourist center where their employees spent their holidays.

Soon enough the most beautiful Baikal landscapes, sandy beaches, well warmed-up coastal waters began to attract more and more admirers. As a result, there are virtually no indigenous local inhabitants left today. The majority of the population is made up by vacationers. So the size of the modest village grew several times, due to newly built country cottages and buildings. Once again people started to talk about the “old” and “new” settlements with the name Enkhaluk. This time the emergence of these names had completely different reasons, as compared with the last century. Now “New Enkhaluk” (“Novy Enkhaluk” in Russian) is the Buryat “Rublevka”, a high-class recreation zone.

The Serene Baikal

All the local nature is full of serenity: the thickets of pines and larches bordering the sandy beach, the pleasant water of Baikal, and the hot air “diluted” by the freshness of the sea lake. Therefore, it is surprisingly comfortably cool here even during the heat! All this bliss corresponds to the name of the place - Enkhaluk. Indeed, in Buryat language, “enkhe” means “serene, blessed, calm”.

Russian settlers have called this land by an equally lyrical name since ancient times: “The Enchanted Coast” or “Podlemorye” (“a place near the sea”).

One of the Most Popular Holiday Destinations on Baikal

The Enchanted Coast: Enkhaluk@Энхалук: современный курорт Байкала
The Enchanted Coast: Enkhaluk
© Photo: http://depositphotos.com/
© Photo: http://depositphotos.com/
© Photo: http://depositphotos.com/
© Photo: http://depositphotos.com/
© Photo: http://depositphotos.com/
© Photo: http://depositphotos.com/
© Photo: http://depositphotos.com/
© Photo: http://depositphotos.com/
© Photo: http://depositphotos.com/
© Photo: http://depositphotos.com/

Thousands of tourists rush to Enkhaluk in summer, naturally, one may ask: what does attract them so much? The answer is:

- a well-developed infrastructure;

- the unique beauty of this coast of Baikal. Enkhaluk truly rewards its guests with various types of vegetation, and its flat coast beneficially complements the steep slopes covered with vivifying taiga trees. The most romantic travelers state that “they wish to catch the sunset here: then a fiery red path of solar light will reach from the horizon to the coast”;

- a stretch of coastline, about 10 kilometers long, covered with fine white sand. The local beach is rightfully considered to be one of the most attractive places for recreation on Lake Baikal, competing with the Maloye More Strait. In addition, the crowns of forest form a shelter from the scorching sun, protecting the beach from heat;

- an opportunity to dive into the water of the sea lake, which will relieve fatigue, free your mind from heavy thoughts, elate you. The coast of the Enkhaluk village is characterized by the presence of shallow bays where the sun rays reach to the bottom, thus warming the water surface and creating all necessary conditions for swimming;

- the presence of “pristine”, not urbanized places, making it possible to immerse oneself into the silence and tranquility of the Baikal nature;

- an opportunity to get acquainted with the flora and fauna of the Enkhaluksky game reserve: the village itself is located on its territory;

- the prospect of diversifying the beach recreation by climbing the Morskoy Ridge, hiking and horseback riding in the taiga, collecting ferns, mushrooms and berries, fishing, hunting, photo tours, exciting tours to nearby attractions.

We will tell about these attractions.

Zagza Mineral Spring

Having passed only 8 kilometers from Enkhaluk towards the village of Sukhaya, anyone can plunge into the hot healing mineral springs, and enrich their vacation with recreational sessions.

Sukhaya

Sukhaya is a place, a village, and a river.

Sukhaya is not as crowded as Enkhaluk, but it has the same pure Baikal water, sand dunes of large beaches, and a pine forest.

The village is located near the mouth of the Sukhaya River.

There is a small, but peculiar museum “Omul Baikal” in the village: it was established in 2005. Today it is the result of creativity of local residents: it has become a kind of brand of Kabansky district. This maritime museum is dedicated to the development of fishing on the lake, and it welcomes all tourists who wish to see the original exhibition of authentic household items, including fishing and hunting. The museum’s exhibition contains: a unique 17th-century weather vane- church banner with the face of the Savior - Baikal sailors put such banners on their masts; a marine compass and a boat lantern with two handles dated by the beginning of the 20th century; a fisherman's boat made with the use of cedar at the beginning of the 20th century...

Speaking about the restored items, one cannot but pay attention to the layout of the fixed net used for fishing on Baikal (a fixed net is a fishing tool with its principle of operation based on the installation of a fixed wing obstacle on the way of fish, which leads the catch into a trap).

If someone decides to stay in Sukhaya for a few days, it will be easy to find accommodation at a tourist center. There are plenty of such centers. Depending on your needs and financial capacities, everyone can choose a suitable option.

Dulan Ulus and the Statue of Usan Lopson (the Spirit of Baikal)

Фото

On a high hill near the road, just next to the Dulan Ulus (“ulus” means a “settlement of nomads”), you can see one of the unique attractions of Baikal - a wooden statue 3.5 meter high; it was created Anatoly Tsydenov.

The settlement of Dulan is located on the southeastern coast of the Bay of Proval and will celebrate its 155th anniversary in July 2019.

Tourists’ attention to Dulan is constantly increasing. Indeed, it is no accident. The surroundings of the ulus are famous for the beautiful nature that remained almost untouched by man, with wealth of color and a fragile ecosystem. That is why this corner of the Baikal nature has the status of a World Heritage Site.

Besides, one of the highest water temperatures on the entire lake is observed in Dulan. After all, “dulan” translated from Buryat means “warm”. There are no harsh winds and freezing winters here, since the ulus is located in a zone of a kind of coastal climate created by the fact that the village is surrounded by ridges overgrown with dense forests and by the influence of Baikal.

In 2006 they built the figure of the Spirit of Baikal in this remarkable cult place of worship of the Buryat shamanists; there are nine sacral figures at the foot of this statue: these are the Spirit’s mythical servants, which include the sacred bull.

Buryat shamanism endowed natural objects with their guardian spirits.

According to ancient legend, Usan-Lopson is the supreme Master of Waters. He is of heavenly origin and has a high status in the hierarchy of local deities. Together with his wife Usan-Daban and his servants, Usan-Lopson lives at the bottom of the great sea lake, protecting its purity.

A real residence was created for this Master here on the outskirts of the Dulan Ulus; the place for it was consecrated by shamans during a special ritual.

Everyone who comes here should remember that the Spirit of Baikal will guarantee good luck and good weather on the lake, if you make an offering to him, “according to the Buryat traditions” – you should bring milk or vodka.

Fofonovskaya Mountain and Fofonovskaya Grove

The village of Fofonovo is famous for being a necropolis of the Neolithic epoch with about a hundred investigated extremely original burial grounds, as well as a sacred birch grove where, according to an old legend, one of the seven main gods of Buryats with an extremely strange name - Ivan Timofeevich – is living. It is believed that this name belonged to the Russian posadnik (governor) who established honest rules of life in these places.

The Enkheluk Terrace is a rare natural monument that includes lake-delta deposits, dunes covered with forests and a prominent sandy beach.

The Inkinsky Landslide

An outstanding geological natural monument with an area of about 3 square kilometers is located near ​​the village of Inkino. The emergence of such a large landslide is explained by a strong earthquake with a score of 9-10 points that occurred approximately 300-500 years ago. As a result, a part of the Kudarinskaya Terrace with a height of 18–20 meters “slid down”.

How to Get to Enkhaluk

You can reach Enkhaluk from Irkutsk and Ulan-Ude.

If you start your journey from Irkutsk, it is possible to get to this beautiful place on a private car, bypassing the capital of Buryatia. The distance from the city to Novy Nekhaluk (New Enkhaluk) makes up about 430 km. If this option is not suitable for you, you will have to get to Ulan-Ude by airplane, or by train, or taxi, or bus.

The distance from Ulan-Ude to Enkhaluk is about 170 km. You can take shuttle buses and taxis from the railway station: they will deliver you to your place of destination along a good quality highway.

Tell friends
Related articles
The Enchanted Coast: Enkhaluk and Its Surroundings

The Kobylya Golova Cape greets everyone who goes to Olkhon by ferry. We will tell you who invented the cape’s name and which parts of it are definitely worth seeing during your trip.

The Enchanted Coast: Enkhaluk and Its Surroundings

We keep on acquainting you with the extraordinary villages of Lake Baikal. The new subject of the section will be the village situated close to everyone’s way to Olkhon. The “Key to Baikal” will tell you why it is worth staying in Elantsy for a little bit longer and under which circumstances you should better do this.

The Enchanted Coast: Enkhaluk and Its Surroundings

On the occasion of the Day of Mountaineering, we will tell where you should go if you decided to visit Lake Baikal and are also fond of conquering the rocks. As you might have already guessed, here you can find the routes both for beginners and professionals.

Очарованные берега: Энхалук и его окрестности

Очарованные берега: Энхалук и его окрестности

В переводе с бурятского «энхалук» означает «благодать». Поселок Энхалук действительно одно из самых благодатных мест на берегу Байкала. Песчаные пляжи, святые места и самые красивые закаты на озере… Рассказываем, что непременно стоит здесь увидеть.

Путешествовать по Байкалу можно беспрерывно. Сегодня мы приглашаем вас на интересное и столь малоисследованное туристами побережье озера со стороны Бурятии. Речь про поселок Энхалук, где наряду с бесконечной линией оживленных пляжей соседствует первозданная природа, а вода не просто хрустальной чистоты, но и намного теплее, чем в других местах, и прогревается порой до +26 градусов!

Для полноценного пляжно-купального досуга восточная сторона Байкала подходит намного больше, чем западная. Естественно, если надоест лениво лежать на солнце, найдется масса альтернативных занятий.

На «бурятском» Байкале много примечательных уголков, которые имеют великолепные рекомендации от тех, кто уже успел здесь отдохнуть.

Что такое Энхалук?

В Кабанском районе Бурятии, севернее дельты реки Селенги, примерно в 6 км от легендарного залива Провал расположился поселок Энхалук. Возник он более шестидесяти лет назад. Но до этого одноименный населенный пункт стоял в другом месте. В 50-х годах прошлого столетия пошли разговоры о том, что территория уйдет под воду в связи с сооружением Иркутской ГЭС. Встал вопрос о переселении жителей, в связи с чем и возник современный Энхалук. Затопления не случилось, а совсем небольшой, первый Энхалук существует и сегодня.

Еще 20 лет назад современный Энхалук был населенным пунктом, типичным для российской глубинки. Обветшалые дома рыбаков, отсутствие дороги, вместо которой одна только паромная переправа, но при этом – прекрасная рыбалка, непуганная лесная дичь, богатства многовековой тайги – ягоды, орехи, грибы… За первыми рыбаками и охотниками потянулись сюда и любители «неорганизованного» отдыха, а потом нефтяники построили свою ведомственную базу, где проводили отпуск их сотрудники.

Довольно быстро красивейшие байкальские пейзажи, песчаный пляж, хорошо прогреваемая прибрежная вода стали привлекать к себе все новых и новых почитателей. Как результат – собственно коренных жителей сегодня практически не найти. Основной состав населения – отдыхающие. И ничем не приметный поселок, из-за загородных коттеджей и новостроек, увеличил свои размеры в несколько раз. И вновь заговорили о «старом» и «новом» Энхалуке. Но теперь появление данных названий имело совершенно иные причины, нежели в прошлом веке. Сейчас Новый Энхалук – это бурятская «Рублевка», зона элитного отдыха.

Умиротворенный Байкал

Умиротворением проникнута вся здешняя природа: и гуща сосен и лиственниц, граничащих с песчаным пляжем, и приятная вода Байкала, и жаркий воздух, «разбавленный» свежестью озера-моря. Поэтому царит здесь во время зноя удивительная комфортная прохлада! Вся эта благодать соответствует названию места – Энхалук. Ведь в переводе с бурятского «энхэ» – мирный, благодатный, спокойный.

Издревле и русские поселенцы называли эту землю не менее лирично – «Очарованный берег» или «Подлеморье», место подле моря.

Одно из самых популярных мест отдыха на Байкале

Энхалук: современный курорт Байкала@Энхалук: современный курорт Байкала
Энхалук: современный курорт Байкала
© Фото: http://depositphotos.com/
© Фото: http://depositphotos.com/
© Фото: http://depositphotos.com/
© Фото: http://depositphotos.com/
© Фото: http://depositphotos.com/
© Фото: http://depositphotos.com/
© Фото: http://depositphotos.com/
© Фото: http://depositphotos.com/
© Фото: http://depositphotos.com/
© Фото: http://depositphotos.com/

Летом в Энхалук устремляются тысячи туристов, и, естественно, возникает вопрос, а что их так сильно привлекает?

- хорошо развитая инфраструктура;

- неповторимая красота этих берегов Байкала. Энхалук воистину вознаграждает своих гостей разнообразными видами растительности, и его пологие берега гармонично сочетаются с крутыми обрывистыми склонами, поросшими живительными таежными деревьями. Наиболее романтичные путешественники утверждают, что «здесь хочется застать закат, когда огненно-рыжая солнечная дорожка проляжет от горизонта до самого берега»;

- участок береговой линии, длиной около 10 километров, покрытый мелким белоснежным песком. Местный пляж по праву считается одним из самых привлекательных уголков отдыха на Байкале, соперничая с Малым морем. В придачу, лесные кроны создают укрытие от палящего солнца, защищая от зноя;

- возможность погрузиться в воду озера-моря, которая снимет усталость, освободит от тяжелых мыслей, настроит на позитивный лад. Побережье поселка Энхалук отличается наличием неглубоких бухт, где солнечные лучи «достают» до дна, согревая водную поверхность и создавая все условия для купания;

- наличие «девственных», не урбанизированных мест, позволяющих окунуться в тишину и спокойствие байкальской природы;

- знакомство с растительным и животным миром Энхалукского заказника, на территории которого и находится сам поселок;

- перспектива разнообразить пляжный отдых подъемом на Морской хребет, пешими и конными прогулками по тайге, сбором папоротника, грибов и ягод, рыбалкой, охотой, фототурами, интереснейшими экскурсиями к ближайшим достопримечательностям.

О них мы и расскажем.

Минеральный источник Загза

Проехав всего 8 километров от Энхалука в сторону села Сухая, любой желающий сможет окунуться в горячие лечебные минеральные источники и дополнить свой отпуск оздоровительными сеансами. 

Сухая

Сухая – это и местность, и село, и река.

Сухая не так многолюдна, как Энхалук, но здесь такая же прозрачная байкальская вода, песчаные барханы больших пляжей, сосновый лес.

Село расположено рядом с устьем реки Сухая.

В нем находится небольшой, но оригинальный музей «Омулевый Байкал», созданный в 2005 году. И сегодня он, результат творчества местных жителей, стал уже своеобразным брендом Кабанского района. Этот морской музей, посвященный развитию рыболовства на озере, встречает туристов, желающих увидеть оригинальную экспозицию из подлинных предметов быта, в том числе рыболовного и промыслового. На стендах музея – уникальный флюгер-хоругвь XVII века с ликом Спаса, который байкальские мореходы ставили на своих мачтах; морской компас и лодочный фонарь с двумя ручками начала ХХ века; лодка рыбака, изготовленная с использованием кедра в начале ХХ века…

А из восстановленных предметов нельзя не обратить внимание на макет ставного невода, использовавшегося для рыбной ловли на Байкале (становой невод – рыболовное орудие, принцип действия которого основан на установке на пути рыбы неподвижного препятствия, «крыла», которое направляет ее в ловушку).

Если кто-то решит задержаться в Сухой на несколько дней, то легко найдет для себя место на туристической базе. Их предостаточно. И, в зависимости от ваших потребностей и материальных возможностей, подходящую выберет каждый.

Улус Дулан и статуя Усан Лопсона (Духа Байкала)

Фото

На высокой возвышенности у дороги, рядом с улусом Дулан, можно увидеть одну из неповторимых достопримечательностей Байкала – деревянное, высотой в 3,5 метра изваяние, сделанное Анатолием Цыденовым.

Дулан расположился на юго-восточном побережье залива Провал, и в июле 2019 года селение отметит свой 155-летний юбилей.

Внимание туристов к Дулану постоянно растет. И неслучайно. Окрестности улуса славятся прекрасной, практически не тронутой человеком природой, с богатством красок и хрупкостью экосистемы. Именно поэтому данный кусочек байкальской природы имеет статус Участка всемирного наследия.

А еще в Дулане – одна из самых высоких температур воды на всем озере. Ведь «дулан» с бурятского и означает «теплый». Нет здесь резких ветров и леденящих зим, так как разместился улус в зоне своеобразного «приморского» климата, создаваемого «закрытостью» селения хребтами, заросшими густыми лесами, да влиянием Байкала.

И в этом примечательном месте, культовом для поклонения бурят-шаманистов, в 2006 году соорудили фигуру Духа Байкала, у изножья которой девять сакральных фигурок – его мифических слуг, среди которых и священный бык.

В бурятском шаманизме природные объекты наделялись своими духами-покровителями.

По древнему преданию Усан-Лопсон – верховный повелитель вод. У него небесное происхождение и высокий статус в иерархии местных божеств. Вместе с женой Усан-Дабан и слугами проживает Усан-Лопсон на дне великого озера-моря, охраняя его чистоту.

Именно ему создали здесь настоящую резиденцию на окраине улуса Дулан, место для которой, в ходе специального ритуала, освятили шаманы.

Всем приходящим сюда следует помнить, что Дух Байкала даст удачу и хорошую погоду на озере, если вы сделаете ему подношение, «побурханив» по бурятским традициям молоком или водкой.

Фофоновская гора и Фофоновская колка

Село Фофоново известно некрополем эпохи неолита, в котором исследовано около ста крайне своеобычных захоронений, а также священной березовой рощей, в которой, по старым поверьям, обитает один из семи ведущих богов кударинских бурят со странным именем – Иван Тимофеевич. Таким, полагают, было имя русского посадника, устанавливающего в этих местах честные правила жизни.

Энхалукская терраса – редкий памятник природы, включающий озерно-дельтовые отложения, дюны, покрытые лесом, и значительный песчаный пляж.

Инкинский оползень

В районе села Инкино расположен выдающийся памятник природы геологического характера, площадь которого – около 3 квадратных километров. Возникновение такого большого оползня объясняют сильным землетрясением мощностью в 9-10 баллов, которое было около 300-500 лет назад. В результате «сползла» часть Кударинской терассы высотой 18–20 метров.

Как добраться до Энхалука

В Энхалук можно попасть из Иркутска и Улан-Удэ.

Из Иркутска возможно доехать до этого красивого места, минуя столицу Бурятии, на личном автотранспорте. Расстояние до Нового Энхалука примерно 430 км. Если подобный вариант не осуществим, то добираться придется до Улан-Удэ либо на самолете, либо на поезде, либо на маршрутном такси или автобусе.

Расстояние от Улан-Удэ до Энхалука – примерно 170 км. К вашим услугам с железнодорожного вокзала маршрутные автобусы и такси, которые по хорошей трассе доставят вас до нужного места.

РАССКАЗАТЬ ДРУЗЬЯМ
Читайте также
Очарованные берега: Энхалук и его окрестности

Мыс Кобылья Голова встречает всех, кто отправляется на Ольхон через паромную переправу. Рассказываем, кто придумал ему такое название и какие его части обязательно стоит увидеть во время путешествия.

Очарованные берега: Энхалук и его окрестности

По данным статистики, два последних года на Байкал приезжало по миллиону туристов. Отдых на озере становится не только популярнее, но и стремительно расширяет географию - сюда приезают со всего мира.

Очарованные берега: Энхалук и его окрестности

Сегодня у нас необычный материал, над которым трудились сразу две команды: Первый Байкальский, а также путешественник и владелец канала «Даль светла» Станислав. В середине августа он отправился в десятидневное путешествие по Приморскому хребту — одной из самых недооцененных, но несомненно поражающих своей красотой достопримечательности Байкала.

×
Хотите знать, где у нерпы санаторий?

Читайте нас в Яндекс Дзен

Хочу!

Больше не показывать