Elantsy: The Olympic Village of Baikal
Elantsy: The Olympic Village of Baikal
© Photo: www.depositphotos.com
August, 26

Elantsy: The Olympic Village of Baikal

We keep on acquainting you with the extraordinary villages of Lake Baikal. The new subject of the section will be the village situated close to everyone’s way to Olkhon. The “Key to Baikal” will tell you why it is worth staying in Elantsy for a little bit longer and under which circumstances you should better do this.

A Stop before Olkhon

Elantsy: The Olympic Village of Baikal

The village of Elantsy is located on the road leading to the most important attraction of Lake Baikal - the island of Olkhon, so all travelers inevitably pass through it. Sometimes buses heading to the coveted tourist destination even stop here. The way from Irkutsk to Olkhon is long, about 300 kilometers, and a little pause is necessary. Usually during these halts tourists can get acquainted with the local Buryat cuisine, because roadside cafes make very good pozas (a sort of local steamed dumplings).

However, we are more interested in Elantsy and the surrounding territory. The village has a peculiar status - it is the capital of Olkhonsky district, although it is not situated on the island. It is situated as far 40 kilometers from Olkhon. Elantsy is a large village with four thousand inhabitants, besides the population is gradually growing.

The village is situated on the banks of the Anga River flowing into Lake Baikal. This is not the largest tributary of the great lake, but it can be listed among the most picturesque ones. Originating in the foothills of the Primorsky ridge, the river descends through various landscapes - majestic mountains, endless steppes and emerald green meadows. If Anga in the upper reaches is a raging mountain stream, then coming closer to Elantsy the river becomes peaceful and calm. Interestingly, you can find rock paintings of ancient people along the river, among the mountains.

The village of Elantsy seems to be sandwiched between the rocks, just like the Anga River. The name of the village is often interpreted as “a hollow”, “a gorge”. The surrounding mountains create a special microclimate. Local climate is considered to be a little warmer here than in the valleys around Elantsy. Local mountains and hills also influence local livestock. When you are in Elantsy, do not be surprised at the cows climbing steep cliffs.

The rocks around the village are very picturesque, especially in the sunlight. As you look at them, you cannot believe that they are real. In the light of the sun, large boulders and stones glow and shine, as if they have been painted.

Baikal Olympics

The famous “Yordynsky Games” are held not far from Elantsy, at the mouth of the Anga River, in summer. These competitions hearken back to distant ages. Probably, even the ancestors of Buryats, Kurykans, were holding tribal meetings here to appease the gods.

The valley thresholded by mountains on three sides and by Lake Baikal on the fourth side has two small mountains looking more like hills or barrows. These are Bolshoy (Big) Yord and Maly (Small) Yord the big and small (also known as Ekhe and Baga Yord).

These barrows of regular shape standing on a flat surface of the valley look as if they were built by some ancient builders; however, judging by the research of scientists, these mountains emerged as a result of squeezing of a viscous volcanic mass coming from the depths of the Earth. Lava gases always expand uniformly in all directions, therefore the top of the volcanic neck is always rounded and even. Hence the regular shape of these mountains.

However, this did not prevent people from worshiping Ekhe Yord as a sacred mountain. The Buryats had been holding their rites and competitions here until the 20th century, although the activities on the Yord Mountain began to decrease with the advent of Russian missionaries in the 18th century. Only in our 21st century the tradition has resumed. Now, the “Yordynsky Games”, in addition to sports and religious practices, include various creative contests, a beauty contest, and even a scientific conference.

The games are held once every two years, and the next event will be held in 2021. They are definitely worth visiting. Where and when will you have an opportunity to see races, archery, traditional Buryat wrestling and the best beauties of the Asian part of Russia and Mongolia in just a few days? According to the rules of the contest, the participating girls must be unmarried, aged 16 to 26 years. In recent years, the participants have included the residents of Irkutsk Oblast, Buryatia, Yakutia, Transbaikalia, Mongolia and other territories.

During the festival you can see very peculiar competitions, such as a competition in shearing sheep (sheepshearers’ competition), team jumps on one leg or throwing stones. In olden days, girls were looking for husbands at these competitions: skilled shearers, strong men and hunters; whereas men could notice the best beauties during these festivities.

The Yordynsky Games attract guests from all over the world. The guests and tourists visiting the Buryat Olympics include Japanese and French, Koreans and Germans. A shaman from Mexico even performed a rite jointly with his Buryat “colleagues”.

The culminating point of the Yordynsky Games, just like in ancient times, is a collective dance around the mountain – “Yokhor”. At least 700 people must participate in this round dance. It is believed that if the number of people is smaller, and the perimeter of the mountain is not fully covered, then it is considered that the games have not really been held.

How to Get There? Where to Stay?

It is best to come to Elantsy during the Yordynsky Games in early summer. However, if you want to see the sacred mountains in silence and tranquility, you can visit these places at any other time. Besides, during the games only shamans have access to the mountains.

Regular buses run to the village, travel time makes up about three hours. If you have a personal car or a rented car, it is even better. Then it will not be difficult for you to travel around the entire Tazheran Steppe and look at other interesting places along the way: the marble quarry in Buguldeika, salt lakes and caves, as well as the Yordynsky Mountains.

You can settle in Elantsy itself, as well as in the neighboring villages. If you stay in the district center, you will not have to worry about the blessings of civilization, because it has a proper infrastructure: shops, a hospital, a post office, and so on.

Tell friends
Related articles
Elantsy: The Olympic Village of Baikal

“Key to Baikal” proceeds with traveling to mountain residuals of the majestic Olkhinskoye plateau.

Elantsy: The Olympic Village of Baikal

The Kobylya Golova Cape greets everyone who goes to Olkhon by ferry. We will tell you who invented the cape’s name and which parts of it are definitely worth seeing during your trip.

Elantsy: The Olympic Village of Baikal

On the occasion of the Day of Mountaineering, we will tell where you should go if you decided to visit Lake Baikal and are also fond of conquering the rocks. As you might have already guessed, here you can find the routes both for beginners and professionals.

Еланцы: Олимпийское село Байкала
Еланцы: Олимпийское село Байкала
© Фото: www.depositphotos.com
26 августа

Еланцы: Олимпийское село Байкала

Мы продолжаем знакомить вас с необычными деревнями Байкала. Новой героиней рубрики станет село, которое все проезжают мимо по пути на Ольхон. "Первый Байкальский" расскажет почему в Еланцах стоит побыть чуть дольше и при каких обстоятельствах это лучше делать.

Остановка перед Ольхоном

Еланцы: Олимпийское село БайкалаСело Еланцы находится по дороге на самую главную достопримечательность Байкала - остров Ольхон и через него волей-неволей придется проезжать. Иногда здесь даже останавливаются автобусы, направляющиеся в заветное туристическое место. Путь от Иркутска до Ольхона неблизкий, около 300 километров и небольшая передышка необходима. Обычно на таких привалах можно познакомиться с местной бурятской кухней, благо местные придорожные кафе делают очень неплохие позы.

Но нас больше интересуют сами Еланцы и окрестности. Само село имеет интересный статус - оно является столицей Ольхонского района, хотя находится не на острове. До Ольхона целых 40 километров. Еланцы - крупное село с четырьмя тысячами жителей население которого постепенно растет.

Село стоит на реке Анга, которая впадает в Байкал. Это не самый крупный приток для гиганского озера, но один из самых живописных. Начинаясь в предгорьях Приморского хребта река спускается через различные ландшафты - величественные горы, бескрайние степи, и изумрудные луга. Если в верховьях Анга - это бущующий горный поток, то ближе к Еланцам река становится мирной и степенной. Вдоль течения реки, среди гор, можно найти наскальную живопись древних людей.

Еланцы тоже кажутся зажатыми между скал, как и река Анга. Название села часто интерпретируют как "ложбина", "падь". Окружение гор создает здесь особый микроклимат. Считается, что здесь немного теплее, чем в окружающих Еланцы долинах. Местные горы и холмы влияют и на местный скот. Будучи в Еланцах не удивляйтесь коровам, карабкающимся по отвесным скалам.

Скалы вокруг села очень живописны, особенно на солнце. Глядя на них не веришь, что они настоящие. Под воздействием солнечных лучей огромные валуны и камни светятся и блестят как нарисованные.

Байкальская олимпиада

Летом, неподалеку от Еланцов, в устье Анги проводятся знаменитые Ёрдынские игры. Эти состязания уходят своими корнями в глубь веков. Вероятно, еще предки бурят, курыкане устраивали здесь межплеменные встречи, чтобы умилостивить богов.

В долине, с трех сторон ограниченной горами и с четвертой - Байкалом есть две небольших горы, своим видом напоминающих скорее холм или курган. Это большой и малый Ёрд (Ехэ и Бага Ёрд).

Курганы правильной формы на ровной поверхности долины выглядят, как будто их соорудили древние строители, но судя по исследованиям ученых это горы, которые получились при выдавливании вулканической вязкой массы из глубин земли. Лавовые газы всегда расширяются равномерно во все стороны, поэтому верх жерловины всегда круглый и ровный. Отсюда правильная форма этих гор.

Однако это не мешало людям почитать Ехэ Ёрд, как священную гору. Вплоть до XX века буряты проводили здесь свои ритуалы и состязания. Хотя уже с приходом русских миссионеров в XVIII веке активность у горы Ёрд стала постепенно затухать. Лишь в нынешнем, XXI столетии традиция возобновилась. Сейчас Ёрдынские игры помимо спортивных состязаний и религиозных практик включают в себя различные творческие конкурсы, конкурс красоты и даже научную конференцию.

Игры проводятся раз в два года и следующие пройдут в 2021 году. Их однозначно стоит посетить. Где и когда у вас появится возможность за несколько дней увидеть скачки, стрельбу из лука, традиционную бурятскую борьбу и лучших красавиц азиатской части России и Монголии? По правилам конкурса девушки должны быть незамужними, возрастом от 16 до 26 лет. За последние годы участницами были представительницы Иркутской области, Бурятии, Якутии, Забайкалья, Монголии и других территорий.

На празднике можно увидеть и совсем необычные состязания, вроде соревнования по стрижке овец (соревнования стригалей), командным прыжкам на одной ноге или метанию камней. В старину девушки на подобных соревнованиях присматривали себе в мужья умелых стригалей, силачей и охотников, а мужчины лучших красавиц.

Ёрдынские игры притягивают к себе гостей из разных уголков планеты. Среди гостей и туристов, посещавших бурятскую олимпиаду можно было встретить японцев и французов, корейцев и немцев. Шаман из Мексики даже совершал ритуал вместе со своими бурятскими «коллегами».

Кульминацией Ёрдынских игр как и в старину является коллективный танец вокруг горы - ёхор. В этом хороводе должны принимать участие не менее 700 человек. Считается, что если их будет меньше и гору не получается охватить полностью - игры не состоялись.

Как доехать? Где жить?

В Еланцы лучше всего приезжать во время проведения Ёрдынских игр, которые проводятся в начале лета. Но, чтобы посмотреть священные горы в тишине и спокойствии, можно посетить эти места и в другое время. К тому же, во время игр, доступ на гору имеют только шаманы.

До села ходят рейсовые автобусы, время в пути около трех часов. Если у вас личный автотранспорт, или машина, взятая в прокате, то это еще лучше. Тогда вам не составит труда объездить вся тажеранскую степь и заглянуть в другие интересные места вдоль пути – мраморный карьер в Бугульдейке, соленые озера и пещеры, а также сами Ёрдынские горы.

Поселиться можно как в самих Еланцах, так и в соседних поселках. В районном центре не надо заботиться о насущных благах цивилизации, здесь есть все: магазины, больница, почта и т.д.

РАССКАЗАТЬ ДРУЗЬЯМ
Читайте также
Еланцы: Олимпийское село Байкала

В честь 15-летия сервиса Google Карты компания выбрала 15 завораживающих мест в разных уголках России. Узнайте, кто на первом месте!

Еланцы: Олимпийское село Байкала

Мы вновь знакомим вас с необычными деревнями Байкала. На этот раз Первый Байкальский расскажет о селе Онгурён — далеком и диком месте, в котором кончается цивилизация и начинается первозданный Байкал и где была построена первая экоэлектростанция.

Еланцы: Олимпийское село Байкала

В своем видеоблоге путешественник Гарет Леонард пробует уху и навещает байкальских нерп на Ушканьих островах...

Еланцы: Олимпийское село Байкала

Мы продолжаем знакомить вас с необычными деревнями Байкала. Героем этой статьи стал поселок Мишелёвка и окружающие его места. Первый Байкальский расскажет, почему в глухой тайге стали делать лучший в мире фарфор и зачем здесь построили крепость.

×
Хотите знать, где у нерпы санаторий?

Читайте нас в Яндекс Дзен

Хочу!

Больше не показывать