Baikal “Pillars”: Where a Climber Should Go on Baikal
Baikal “Pillars”: Where a Climber Should Go on Baikal
© Фото: Первый Байкальский
August, 08

Baikal “Pillars”: Where a Climber Should Go on Baikal

On the occasion of the Day of Mountaineering, we will tell where you should go if you decided to visit Lake Baikal and are also fond of conquering the rocks. As you might have already guessed, here you can find the routes both for beginners and professionals.

International Day of Mountaineering is celebrated on August 8; it became a holiday in 1786. This event is associated with the first conquest of the highest mountain of the Alps - Mont Blanc.

The day of birth of Russian mountaineering is considered August 28, 1923. On this day, the students and research workers of the city of Tbilisi climbed the easternmost peak of the Caucasus - the five-thousander mountain Kazbek. Rock climbing “detached itself” from mountaineering and became a separate sport; the first competitions in it were held in the USSR in 1949.

“Key to Baikal” is going to tell you about the places on Lake Baikal that are mostly preferred by climbers.

Irkutsk “Pillars”

The stone soldiers of the Olkhinskoe Plateau@Каменные солдаты Олхинского плато
The stone soldiers of the Olkhinskoe Plateau
A unique plateau with the preserved rocky outcrops formed by the weathering of rocks during hundreds of thousands of years is located 60 kilometers away from Irkutsk, between the valleys of the Angara and Irkut rivers. © Photo credit: Alexey Bayfa
A unique plateau with the preserved rocky outcrops formed by the weathering of rocks during hundreds of thousands of years is located 60 kilometers away from Irkutsk, between the valleys of the Angara and Irkut rivers. © Photo credit: Alexey Bayfa
The rocks of the Olkhinskoe Plateau hang above the bed of the picturesque Olkha River like silent soldiers. Due to their unusual shape, some rocks are given names - the Old Fortress (“Staraya Krepost”), the Old Woman Called Izergil (“Starukha Izergil”), the Old Crow (“Vorona”), Pharaoh (“Faraon”), Cleopatra. © Photo credit: Alexey Bayfa
The rocks of the Olkhinskoe Plateau hang above the bed of the picturesque Olkha River like silent soldiers. Due to their unusual shape, some rocks are given names - the Old Fortress (“Staraya Krepost”), the Old Woman Called Izergil (“Starukha Izergil”), the Old Crow (“Vorona”), Pharaoh (“Faraon”), Cleopatra. © Photo credit: Alexey Bayfa
A walk along the plateau may stay in your memory not only because of the rocks, but also due to its amazing fauna. This photo depicts a jay having rest on one of the ancient stones. © Photo credit: Alexey Bayfa
A walk along the plateau may stay in your memory not only because of the rocks, but also due to its amazing fauna. This photo depicts a jay having rest on one of the ancient stones. © Photo credit: Alexey Bayfa
The Olkhinskoe Plateau is the perfect place for walking, because getting here from Irkutsk is very easy. © Photo credit: Alexey Bayfa
The Olkhinskoe Plateau is the perfect place for walking, because getting here from Irkutsk is very easy. © Photo credit: Alexey Bayfa
The volunteers of the Great Baikal Trail say that this place fits everyone regardless of age and interests, ranging from preschoolers to pensioners, from mushroom and berry pickers to conquerors of mountain peaks. © Photo credit: Alexey Bayfa
The volunteers of the Great Baikal Trail say that this place fits everyone regardless of age and interests, ranging from preschoolers to pensioners, from mushroom and berry pickers to conquerors of mountain peaks. © Photo credit: Alexey Bayfa
Besides, this place is beautiful and amazing at any time of the year. In winter people are pleased to go skiing among the mystical landscapes and under a bright blue sky. © Photo credit: Alexey Bayfa
Besides, this place is beautiful and amazing at any time of the year. In winter people are pleased to go skiing among the mystical landscapes and under a bright blue sky. © Photo credit: Alexey Bayfa
At nights, due to the absence of artificial lighting, the Olkhinskoe Plateau becomes an ideal place for observation of the Baikal stars. © Photo credit: Alexey Bayfa
At nights, due to the absence of artificial lighting, the Olkhinskoe Plateau becomes an ideal place for observation of the Baikal stars. © Photo credit: Alexey Bayfa

Krasnoyarsk pillars - a complex of high fancy rocks - are well known among the fans of mountaineering not only in Russia. However, another pillars situated in Irkutsk Oblast, on the Olkhinskoye plateau are no less interesting: the road to them begins at the “Orlenok” electric train station. As a rule, people come there for one day, but you can also arrange a trip with an overnight stay.

The Olkhinskoye plateau is a flat terrain located on the territory of three districts of Irkutsk Oblast: Slyudyansky, Shelekhovsky, Irkutsky. This hill stretches for 50 km from north to south, and for 30-80 km from west to east. The southern border of the plateau adjoins Lake Baikal in the place where the tracks of the Circum-Baikal Railway are situated. From the northeast the plateau borders the Irkutsk water reservoir, and from the northwest - the Irkut River.

There is a large triangular land plot between the Tunkinskiye bald mountains and the Primorsky Range: this territory is named after the Olkha River. Many residual mountains are located here (a residual mountain is a stand-alone hill representing the remains that have been preserved after the destruction of a vast territory), many of them have unusual shape and peculiar memorable names.

This place is very popular among Irkutsk mountaineers and climbers - they are literally in love with it. And if you read their descriptions of the place on the Internet, there is nothing left to say about the beauty of these rocks: “I discover the Olkhinskoye plateau in the way I open my favorite old book, again and again, because I want to re-read once more... A piece of wild taiga land is close to Irkutsk. Endless hills seem to be similar to each other. Residual mountains with fairy-tale names crown the tops of hills. Forest roads lead to nowhere. Cranberry swamps. Raspberry thickets. Colorful blueberries. Lingonberry and blueberry plantations – bears’ grounds”. The most “hyped” residual mountains are Speleostarukha, Vityaz, Idol, Zerkala, Starukha Izergil. The highest residual mountain is Kamen’ Moigoty with a height of 1222 meters.

In this article we will introduce several residual mountains to you.

 

Speleostarukha

The name Speleostarukha (meaning an “an old speleological object (literally: “and old speleological woman”) in Russian) does not fully reflect the characteristics of a residual mountain. If you expect to see a large number of man holes in the caves, you are mistaken. There is only a small niche at its foot. The case is that once the residual mountain was chosen by Irkutsk speleologists for honing their skills, hence the name. This rock also has other names: Malaya Starukha (Small Old Woman), or, more rarely, Politekhnicheskaya Starukha (“Polytechnic Old Woman”), which, once again demonstrates the fact that  university students are attracted to this natural object.

Malaya Starukha is the first of the residual mountains on the way from the Orlenok station. Its low rocky ridge stretching for 1 km is visible even from the railway. This is the lowest residual rock: it starts with the accumulation of rock blocks and low rock outcrops in the shape of sheer walls on all its sides. The highest point of this residual mountain is only 20 meters, but this is also the place where the main training ground and the venue for sports events are located; these events are held on this semicircle of smooth platy vertical slopes of pink granite interspersed with rare horizontal and vertical cracks.

Additional “bonuses” include a convenient large glade for spectators, as well as the beauty of the Siberian taiga.

Vityaz

Baikal “Pillars”: Where a Climber Should Go on Baikal

It is believed that Vityaz was discovered by a researcher assistant of the Siberian Institute of Plant Physiology and Biochemistry (Irkutsk) Svyatoslav Fedchenko. Moreover, it was discovered by accident, in the autumn of 1957, when Fedchenko was going with a group of schoolchildren from Bolshoy Lug along a forest road, thus he came across this rock.

The best way to describe Vityaz is quoting the words of one of the admirers of these places: “Vityaz is the most popular rock among the numerous rocky cities and residual mountains of the Baikal taiga near Irkutsk. Anyone who has visited the mighty rock at least once always wants to return to there: regardless of the time of year, Vityaz has a spellbinding attractive force. It is really and truly difficult to remain indifferent seeing these warm, light cliffs, plates, walls, ledges, picturesque sculpture groups consisting of pink granite”.

The history of the name of this rock has not been preserved (“Vityaz” means “warrior” in Russian). But it is undeniable that the name is pretty obvious. If you look at it from the south, standing on the bank of Olkha, you will notice a helmet pulled over the eyes with a steady gaze, a nose, a sharp chin, and the yearning for the east, as this “warrior” is turned to Lake Baikal.

The rock is also known under another name that is less popular: Gnezdo Alpinistov (translated as “Mountaineer’s Nest”). It is a real birthplace of rock climbing in Irkutsk Oblast. In this place the Angarsk mountaineering society held the first climbing competitions in the history of the region in May of 1966. Thanks to this “nest”, many climbers who are famous now “learned to fly”. A granite wall 40 meters high with a diverse relief (ledges, overhanging cliffs, perfectly smooth monolithic sections) is an excellent training ground.

Some believe that it’s worth climbing Vityaz just for the sake of enjoying an amazing view of the whole plateau seen from the rock.

Idol

A 25-meter-high stone figure is situated at a distance of about a 30-minute walk from Vityaz: it is the Idol rock. In fact, it is a symbol of the entire Olkhinskoye plateau. This name was given to the rock in 1960s, under the influence of fashionable romanticized travel stories of Thor  Heyerdahl, when the citizens of our country learned to know about the idols of Easter Island.

There are many descriptions of the Idol rock: a “column of a human roughly “hewn” from light pink granite with an unreasonably large head covered with a simple flat hat. From a distance and from the back, Idol resembles rather a squatty giraffe with a massive body”.

Idol is surrounded by numerous mountaineering stories and legends that are associated, first of all, with the incredible difficulty of climbing to its top, and even the death of those who attempted to accomplish it. The ascent surely belongs to a high complexity category; only an expert can do this. Over time, new routes emerged – eastern (“classic”) and western, with a maximum height difference of about 28 meters. A surprise is waiting for daredevils at the end of the journey. In addition to sheer walls without cracks, the ledge of the giant’s “hat” blocks the way to the top.

The pleasure of passing along the route and the opportunity to enjoy a “bird's-eye view” of the peculiar nature of Olkhinskiye rocks, unfortunately, also has a “flip side of the coin”. The ecosystem of the mountain-taiga forest massif in the Valley of the Olkha River is being actively destroyed: trees are cut down for bonfires, numerous bonfires and camps are arranged in new places. Definitely, these places should be included into the protected area of ​​the natural monument.

Tell friends
Related articles
Baikal “Pillars”: Where a Climber Should Go on Baikal

The Kobylya Golova Cape greets everyone who goes to Olkhon by ferry. We will tell you who invented the cape’s name and which parts of it are definitely worth seeing during your trip.

Baikal “Pillars”: Where a Climber Should Go on Baikal

We keep on acquainting you with the extraordinary villages of Lake Baikal. The new subject of the section will be the village situated close to everyone’s way to Olkhon. The “Key to Baikal” will tell you why it is worth staying in Elantsy for a little bit longer and under which circumstances you should better do this.

Baikal “Pillars”: Where a Climber Should Go on Baikal

We continue to familiarize you with unusual Baikal villages. This time the topic of our article will be the village of Baikal in the northern part of the lake. “Key to Baikal” will tell why this place is worth visiting and what things you should necessarily see.

Байкальские «столбы»: куда отправиться альпинисту на Байкале
Байкальские «столбы»: куда отправиться альпинисту на Байкале
© Фото: Первый Байкальский
8 августа #экотуризм

Байкальские «столбы»: куда отправиться альпинисту на Байкале

В честь Дня альпинизма рассказываем, куда отправиться, если вы приехали на Байкал и при этом любите покорять скалы. Как вы уже могли догадаться, здесь можно найти маршруты и для новичков, и для профессионалов.

8 августа отмечается Международный день альпинизма, который стал праздником в 1786 году. Это событие связано с первым покорением самой высокой горы Альп – Монблана.

Днем рождения русского альпинизма считается 28 августа 1923 года. В этот день студенты и научные сотрудники города Тбилиси поднялись на самый восточный пик Кавказа – пятитысячник Казбек. От альпинизма «отпочковалось» и стало отдельной дисциплиной скалолазание, первые соревнования по которому прошли в СССР в 1949 году.

Первый Байкальский расскажет про самые любимые места альпинистов на Байкале.

Иркутские «Столбы»

Каменные солдаты Олхинского плато@Каменные солдаты Олхинского плато
Каменные солдаты Олхинского плато
В 60 километрах от Иркутска, между долинами Ангары и Иркута, находится уникальное плоскогорье, где сохранились скальные останцы, образовавшиеся в результате выветривания горных пород за сотни тысяч лет © Фото: Алексей Байфа
В 60 километрах от Иркутска, между долинами Ангары и Иркута, находится уникальное плоскогорье, где сохранились скальные останцы, образовавшиеся в результате выветривания горных пород за сотни тысяч лет © Фото: Алексей Байфа
Скальники Олхинского плато, словно безмолвные солдаты нависают над руслом живописной реки Олха. Из-за необычной формы некоторым скальникам дают названия – Старая крепость, Старуха Изергиль, Ворона, Фараон, Клеопатра. © Фото: Алексей Байфа
Скальники Олхинского плато, словно безмолвные солдаты нависают над руслом живописной реки Олха. Из-за необычной формы некоторым скальникам дают названия – Старая крепость, Старуха Изергиль, Ворона, Фараон, Клеопатра. © Фото: Алексей Байфа
Прогулка по плато может запомниться не только скальниками, но и удивительным животным миром. На фото – сойка, отдыхаяющая на одном из древних камней. © Фото: Алексей Байфа
Прогулка по плато может запомниться не только скальниками, но и удивительным животным миром. На фото – сойка, отдыхаяющая на одном из древних камней. © Фото: Алексей Байфа
Олхинское плато – прекрасное место для прогулок, так как добраться сюда из Иркутска очень просто. © Фото: Алексей Байфа
Олхинское плато – прекрасное место для прогулок, так как добраться сюда из Иркутска очень просто. © Фото: Алексей Байфа
Волонтеры Большой Байкальской Тропы говорят, что здесь есть место всем независимо от возраста и интересов – от дошкольника до пенсионера, от грибника и ягодника до покорителя горных вершин © Фото: Алексей Байфа
Волонтеры Большой Байкальской Тропы говорят, что здесь есть место всем независимо от возраста и интересов – от дошкольника до пенсионера, от грибника и ягодника до покорителя горных вершин © Фото: Алексей Байфа
Кроме того это место прекрасно и удивительно в любое время года. Зимой здесь с удовольствием ходят на лыжах среди мистических пейзажей и под ярко голубым небом © Фото: Алексей Байфа
Кроме того это место прекрасно и удивительно в любое время года. Зимой здесь с удовольствием ходят на лыжах среди мистических пейзажей и под ярко голубым небом © Фото: Алексей Байфа
А по ночам, поскольку здесь полностью отсутствует искусственное освещение, Олхинское плато становится идеальным место для наблюдения за байкальскими звездами © Фото: Алексей Байфа
А по ночам, поскольку здесь полностью отсутствует искусственное освещение, Олхинское плато становится идеальным место для наблюдения за байкальскими звездами © Фото: Алексей Байфа

Красноярские столбы – комплекс высоких причудливых скал – прекрасно известен любителям альпинизма не только в России. Но не менее интересны «Столбы» в районе Иркутска, на Олхинском плато, путь на которые начинается на остановке электрички «Орленок». Сюда, как правило, «бегают» на один день, но можно устроить и выход с ночевкой.

Олхинское плато – это плоскогорье в пределах трех районов Иркутской области: Слюдянского, Шелеховского, Иркутского. С севера на юг эта возвышенность протянулась на 50 км, а с запада на восток – на 30–80. Южная граница плато соприкасается с Байкалом, там, где тянутся рельсы Кругобайкалки. С северо-востока его «поджимает» Иркутское водохранилище, а с северо-запада – река Иркут.

Получается своеобразный треугольник, область между Тункинскими Гольцами и Приморским хребтом, названная по имени речки Олха. Здесь разместились многочисленные скалы-останцы (останец – обособленно расположенная возвышенность, представляющая собой уцелевшие от разрушения остатки более обширной территории), многие из которых – необычной формы и со специфическими запоминающимися названиями.

Это место очень популярно среди иркутских альпинистов и скалолазов, они буквально влюблены в него. И если почитать их описания в Интернете, больше ничего о красотах здешних скальников можно и не говорить: «Открываю Олхинское плато как любимую старую книгу, которую хочется перечитывать еще и еще… Таежный блудный край под боком у Иркутска. Бесконечные сопки, похожие одна на другую. Скальники со сказочными названиями, венчающие вершины сопок. Лесные дороги в никуда. Клюквенные болота. Малиновые заросли. Голубичная синева. Брусничные и черничные плантации – медвежьи угодья». Наиболее «раскрученными» останцами являются Спелео-Старуха, Витязь, Идол, Зеркала, Старуха Изергиль. Самый высокий скальник – Камень Мойготы с отметкой 1222 метра.

С несколькими скальниками мы вас сегодня познакомим.

 
 
 

Спелео-Старуха

Имя «Спелео-Старуха» никак не отражает полной характеристики скальника. Если вы ожидаете увидеть большое количество лазов в пещеры, то напрасно. Есть только маленькая ниша у основания. Просто когда-то останец облюбовали для совершенствования своих навыков иркутские спелеологи, отсюда, соответственно, и название. У этого скальника есть и иные обозначения – Малая Старуха, или более редкое – Политехническая Старуха, что, опять-таки, показывает всего лишь привязанность студентов к данному природному объекту.

Малая Старуха – первый из скальников по тропинке от остановки «Орленок». Ее невысокий скальный гребень, растянувшийся до 1 км, заметен с самой железной дороги. Это самый незначительный по своей высоте останец, начинающийся со всех сторон скоплением глыб горных пород и невысокими скальными выходами в виде отвесных стен. Наибольшая высота – всего 20 метров, но именно здесь и главная тренировочная площадка, и место спортивных соревнований, которые проводятся на этом полукольце гладких плитообразных отвесов розового гранита, разбитых редкими горизонтальными и вертикальными трещинами.

В качестве «бонуса» – удобная большая поляна для зрителей и красоты сибирской тайги.

Витязь

Байкальские «столбы»: куда отправиться альпинисту на БайкалеСчитается, что первооткрывателем Витязя является научный сотрудник СИФИБРа (г. Иркутск) Святослав Федченко. Причем произошло все совершенно случайно, когда осенью 1957 года, передвигаясь с группой школьников из Большого Луга по лесовозной дороге, он оказался у этого скальника.

Лучше всего о Витязе вновь можно рассказать словами одного из почитателей этих мест: «среди скальных городов и останцев, которых так много в прибайкальской тайге под Иркутском, нет более популярной скалы, чем Витязь. Тот, кто хоть один раз побывал возле скального богатыря, всегда стремится к нему вернуться – независимо от времени года Витязь обладает чарующей притягательной силой. И в самом деле, трудно остаться равнодушным при виде этих теплых, светлых скал, плит, стен, карнизов, живописных скульптурных групп, сложенных розовым гранитом».

Кто назвал эту скалу именно так, история не сохранила. Но очевидность имени бесспорна. Если вы посмотрите на нее с юга, стоя на берегу Олхи, то заметите и надвинутый на глаза с твердым взглядом шлем, нос, резкий подбородок и устремленность на восток, к Байкалу.

Витязь известен и под другим, менее популярным именем – Гнездо альпинистов. Он, воистину, родина скалолазания в Иркутской области. Именно здесь, в далеком мае 1966 года, ангарская секция альпинизма провела первые в истории области соревнования по скалолазанию. Благодаря этому «гнезду» «встали на крыло» многие известные ныне альпинисты. Гранитная стена высотой в 40 метров, с разнообразным рельефом – уступами, нависающими карнизами, идеально гладкими монолитными участками – является прекрасной тренировочной площадкой.

Кто-то считает, что на Витязь стоит забраться просто ради чудесного вида на все открывающееся перед глазами плато.

Идол

Примерно в 30 минутах ходьбы от Витязя возвышается 25-ти метровое изваяние – скальник Идол. Он, фактически, символ всего Олхинского плато. Название закрепилось в 60-е годы прошлого века, под влиянием модных, романтизированных историй о путешествиях Тура Хейердала, когда вся наша страна узнала об идолах острова Пасхи.

Описаний Идола предостаточно: «Грубо “вытесанная” из светло-розового гранита колонна туловища с несуразно большой головой, увенчанной незатейливой плоской шляпой. Издалека и сзади Идол больше напоминает приземистого жирафа с массивным туловищем».

Вокруг Идола «гуляет» много альпинистских преданий и легенд, связанных, в первую очередь, с невероятной сложностью подъема на его вершину и даже гибелью пытавшихся это сделать. Подъем, однозначно, высококатегорийный, который под силу лишь специалисту. Со временем появились маршруты – восточный («классический») и западный, с максимальным перепадом около 28 метров по высоте. А в конце пути смельчаков поджидает сюрприз. Помимо отвесных, без трещин, стен, путь на вершину преграждает карниз «шляпы» великана.

Удовольствия от прохождения по маршруту и возможность с «высоты птичьего полета» рассмотреть всю причудливость олхинских скал, к сожалению, имеет и «обратную сторону медали». Активно разрушается экосистема горно-таежного лесного массива в долине Олхи, вырубаются деревья для костров, устраиваются в новых местах многочисленные кострища и биваки. Эти места, несомненно, следует отнести к охранной зоне памятника природы.

РАССКАЗАТЬ ДРУЗЬЯМ
Читайте также
Байкальские «столбы»: куда отправиться альпинисту на Байкале

Байкальские пещеры — одно из любимых мест для посещения всех, кто приезжает на Байкал. Сегодня рассказываем о пещере «Часовня», которая была домом для людей железного века и куда несколько лет назад волонтеры Большой Байкальской Тропы построили новую экотропу.

Байкальские «столбы»: куда отправиться альпинисту на Байкале

5 октября в поселке Никола на берегу Байкала прошел пятый гастрономический «Фестиваль омуля – 2019». Юбилейный фестиваль посетил автор Первого Байкальского Павел Якушев.

×
Хотите знать, где у нерпы санаторий?

Читайте нас в Яндекс Дзен

Хочу!

Больше не показывать