A Simple Recipe of a Makeshift Baikal Soup
A Simple Recipe of a Makeshift Baikal Soup
© Фото: Первый Байкальский
July, 19

A Simple Recipe of a Makeshift Baikal Soup

The cuisine of the ancient peoples of Lake Baikal is inseparable from the lake. We decided to tell you about several features of the Evenki cuisine and share a recipe of the soup that can easily be cooked right on the lake coast during a hike. Enjoy your meal!

Every nation has its interesting culinary traditions, and they can also reveal the peculiarities of the national perception of the world. The peoples of Siberia, including the Baikal region often have similar preferences in food and the basic ways of its preparation, despite the fact that they can belong to different ethnic groups. It is all about similar climatic conditions of life and the ancient nomadic way of life.

Besides, one can hardly agree with the statement that the Siberian and northern cuisine is extremely monotonous due to the limited set of products. Tunguses (Evenki) consume a lot of useful food ingredients. These are not only meat and fish, but also deer milk, upland game (forest birds such as black grouse, capercaillie, hazel grouse), berries, wild onions, wild garlic...

Distinctive Character of Traditional Evenki Cuisine

Evenki:

- when going hunting or fishing, they tried to never take more food from nature than they really needed at that moment, and they clearly preferred the meat of young and well-fed wild animals to the meat of domestic deer;

- when catching a limited amount of game, they didn’t form the tradition of procuring significant food stock. They basically used only fresh food. However, dried and jerked meat and fish were needed in the second half of winter when it was the most difficult to hunt because of the severe climate;

- they gladly consumed not only meat but also by-products, cooking nutritious, tasty and various dishes from them. They knew much about the advantages of different parts of the carcass, preferring the brisket, rib and hindquarters;

-they loved fat, in fact, the used it in unlimited amounts. The recipes of traditional national dishes necessarily contained fat, including bone fat;

- blood was considered one of the basic components of national cuisine. It is believed that the Evenki cuisine can be called the most “bloody” among the peoples of Siberia and the north. The most favorite was the previously dried blood of a young deer. There are known recipes of sups, second courses, and even desserts that include blood.

Fish Component of the Evenki Cuisine

The ethnographers of the late nineteenth century wrote that the Tunguses “were catching a lot of trout, perch, pike and burbot. Tunguses did not salt this large amount of fish all, they dried it in the sun and then left the fish in the barns. They spread fish into thin slices, put them on grates, interlaced them with hair strings, turning these ropes against the sun; in order to speed up drying of the fish, they were hanging these slices in the upper hole of their dwelling (“chum”), and the fire that was constantly kept at its bottom promoted the rapid smoking of fish; Tunguses called this variety of dried fish “gapchany”.

The fish was boiled, roasted on poles, and dried for the winter. They also liked caviar, often roasting it with fat.

Tykhemin Fish Soup

One of the most useful vitaminic Evenki soups is considered tykhemin - fish soup with caviar.

Its cooking process is quite simple, and is quite suitable for conditions of a hike, right on the spot of successful fishing. Of course, initially, they used a wooden trough and a special wooden fish spoon for cooking tykhemin. But you can cook a delicious dish even without these items.

First cautiously remove caviar from the fish. Then the flesh is separated from the bones: the latter must be used to make the fish broth. Caviar should be crushed and ground to form a liquid homogeneous mass: it should be added to the boiling broth and thoroughly stirred. After that, you need to put small pieces of fish fillet into the broth, bring to a boil, add salt, season it with spices and stir.

Please note that you cannot use caviar of burbot, pike, perch for cooking this soup. Any other caviar will fit in perfectly well.

The soup can only be served hot!

Enjoy your meal!

Tell friends
Related articles
A Simple Recipe of a Makeshift Baikal Soup

Baikal caves are among the favorite places to visit for everyone coming to Lake Baikal. Today we will tell you about the Chasovnya Cave, which was home to the people of the Iron Age and the volunteers of the Great Baikal Trail who constructed a new eco-trail there several years ago.

A Simple Recipe of a Makeshift Baikal Soup

We wrote a lot about the fact that Evenki cuisine is based on meat-eating culture. Despite this, vegetables, berries and herbs were definitely a huge part of the diet of ancient inhabitants of Lake Baikal. At the same time, they were completely puzzled by yeast bread, because they baked their bread only with the use of vegetable flour...

A Simple Recipe of a Makeshift Baikal Soup

“Key to Baikal” proceeds with traveling to mountain residuals of the majestic Olkhinskoye plateau.

Обедаем на берегу: рецепт походного супа Байкала
Обедаем на берегу: рецепт походного супа Байкала
© Фото: Первый Байкальский

Обедаем на берегу: рецепт походного супа Байкала

Кухня древних народов Байкала неотделима от озера. Именно в Байкале они ловили свой главный ужин: рыбу. Мы решили рассказать о нескольких особенностях эвенкийской кухни и поделиться рецептом супа, который легко и просто сварить прямо на берегу.

Интересные кулинарные традиции существуют у любого народа, и именно они могут раскрыть особенности национального восприятия мира. Народы Сибири, в том числе и Прибайкалья, несмотря на то что они могут относиться к разным этническим группам, зачастую имеют схожие предпочтения в пище и основах ее приготовления. Все дело в одинаковых климатических условиях и древней практике кочевого образа жизни.

И вряд ли можно согласиться с утверждением, что сибирская и северная кухня крайне однообразна из-за ограниченности продуктов. Тунгусы (эвенки) употребляют множество полезнейших пищевых ингредиентов. Это не только мясо и рыба, но и оленье молоко, боровая дичь (лесные птицы, например тетерев, глухарь, рябчик), ягоды, дикий лук, дикий чеснок…

Самобытность традиционной эвенкийской кухни

Несколько любопытных фактов об эвенкийской кухне:

 ​- отправляясь на охоту или рыбалку, эвенки старались никогда не брать у природы больше, чем им необходимо в данный момент для пропитания, и мясу домашнего оленя однозначно предпочитали мясо молодых и упитанных диких животных;

- добывая ограниченный объем дичи, не выработали традиции заготовки значительных продуктовых запасов. В основном в ход шла только свежая пища. Но сушеные и вяленые мясо и рыба были необходимы во второй половине зимы, когда охотиться из-за сурового климата становилось все сложнее;

- с удовольствием употребляли не только мясо, но и субпродукты, приготавливая из них питательные, вкусные и разнообразные блюда. Прекрасно разбираясь в преимуществах отдельных частей туши, они более всего предпочитали грудинку, ребро и заднюю часть хребта;

- очень любили сало, использовали его, фактически, в неограниченных объемах. В рецептуру традиционных национальных блюд обязательно входил жир, в том числе костный;

- одной из базовых составных частей своей национальной кухни считали кровь. Полагают, что среди народов Сибири и севера эвенкийскую кулинарию можно назвать самой «кровавой». Преимуществом пользовалась кровь молодого оленя, которая предварительно высушивалась. Известны рецепты первых, вторых блюд и даже десертов, в состав которых входит кровь.

Рыбная составляющая эвенкийской кулинарии

Этнографы второй половины ХIХ столетия писали, что тунгусы «в большом количестве ловят тайменей, окуней, щук и налимов. Избыток рыбы тунгусы, не солив нисколько, вялят на солнце, а после того складывают в амбарах. Тунгусы, распластав на тонкие части рыбу, раскладывают на решетки, переплетенные волосяными веревочками, обращая эти веревки против солнца, для скорейшего высушивания рыбы вешают их в верхнем отверстии своего чума, причем разводимый беспрестанно внизу огонь способствует скорому копчению этой рыбы, называемой по-тунгусски «гапчанами».

Рыбу варили, жарили на рожнах и сушили на зиму. Никогда не отказывались и от икры, зачастую обжаривая ее с салом.

Рыбный суп тыхэмин

Одним из самых полезных и, к тому же, витаминных эвенкийских супов считается тыхэмин – рыбный суп с икрой.

Способ его приготовления довольно прост и вполне годится для полевых условий, прямо на месте удачной рыбалки. Конечно, изначально для приготовления тыхэмина использовали деревянное корытце и особую деревянную рыбную ложку. Но и без этих предметов можно приготовить вкусное блюдо.

Из рыбы аккуратно достается икра. Мякоть отделяется от костей, которые нужно использовать для приготовления рыбного бульона. Икру следует раздавить и растереть до жидкой однородной массы, которую нужно добавить в кипящий бульон и тщательно размешать. После этого следует опустить в бульон мелкие кусочки рыбного филе, довести до кипения, посолить, приправить пряностями, размешать.

Учтите, что для приготовления супа нельзя использовать икру налима, щуки, окуня. Любая другая вполне сгодится.

Суп едят только горячим!

Приятного аппетита!

 

РАССКАЗАТЬ ДРУЗЬЯМ
Читайте также
Обедаем на берегу: рецепт походного супа Байкала

Мыс Кобылья Голова встречает всех, кто отправляется на Ольхон через паромную переправу. Рассказываем, кто придумал ему такое название и какие его части обязательно стоит увидеть во время путешествия.

Обедаем на берегу: рецепт походного супа Байкала

По данным статистики, два последних года на Байкал приезжало по миллиону туристов. Отдых на озере становится не только популярнее, но и стремительно расширяет географию - сюда приезают со всего мира.

Обедаем на берегу: рецепт походного супа Байкала

Сегодня у нас необычный материал, над которым трудились сразу две команды: Первый Байкальский, а также путешественник и владелец канала «Даль светла» Станислав. В середине августа он отправился в десятидневное путешествие по Приморскому хребту — одной из самых недооцененных, но несомненно поражающих своей красотой достопримечательности Байкала.

×
Хотите знать, где у нерпы санаторий?

Читайте нас в Яндекс Дзен

Хочу!

Больше не показывать