Baikal Hare: Not Only a Character of Folk Fairytales
© Photo: Key To Baikal
January, 27

Baikal Hare: Not Only a Character of Folk Fairytales

Why should one remember about an ordinary hare - the animal with the nickname “squint-eye” that is considered a coward?

As soon as the conversation drifts to the animals living in the Baikal region, at first, people recall sable and ringed seal. These are followed by proud predators such as lynxes and graceful herbivores such as musk deer. Why should one remember about an ordinary hare - the animal with the nickname “squint-eye” that is considered a coward? Only fairy tales and nursery rhymes tell about hares. Thus the popularity of the hare as if excludes it from the category of interesting animals. It might seem that one could hardly learn new and entertaining things about the hare. Nevertheless, the animal is interesting and quite worthy of attention. There are several species of hares in Russia: variable hare, brown hare and tolai hare. The first two species are especially widespread in Siberia.

Variable hare (also known as polar hare, in Russian its name sound like “the white one”) got its name thanks to the snow-white winter fur. Only the tips of its ears remain black all year round. Brown hares also have a lighter fur in winter in some northern regions, although they are never snow-white.

In the south and west of Lake Baikal, hares are the most common animals; they live in rather large families and often help each other out. It is generally believed that hares are nocturnal animals that do their best to stay in their burrows in the daylight. But Baikal brown hares are also active during the day: they jump through the forest in search of food. And they eat a lot of things: herbs and flowers, fruits and roots. In winter, hares gnaw at the bark of trees and bushes.

Baikal Hare: Not Only a Character of Folk Fairytales

Variable hares are usually quite large. The length of the animal’s body can reach half a meter, for separate individuals - up to 70 cm. Its weight is about two kilograms. Very large hares also live next to the Baikal ones: in Western Siberia they can even weigh 5.5 kg. The ears of the hare have become proverbial; thanks to them, the most common nickname of the hare is “long-eared”. The ears’ length sometimes reaches 10 cm! Another distinctive feature of the hare is the fact that its feet are covered with thick coarse hair protecting them from cold snow and prickly grass.

What Makes Hare Track Peculiar?

has the fame of a coward: the animal has too many enemies. It defends itself against them in a very special way – by fouling the trail. Each hare is a skilled master of this complicated art. In order not to lead the enemy to its burrow, the hare makes complex loops, crossing its own tracks, forming double chains, which at some point makes the direction of the animal’s movement incomprehensible. In order to break the trail and finally “disappear”, the hare usually makes a long and sharp leap aside.

By the way, the Russian word meaning “hare” (“zayats”) was derived from the Slavic word “zay” meaning “a jumper”.

According to the peculiarities of position of the hare’s footprints, an experienced hunter can find out what the hare was doing: calmly looking for food or running somewhere. When feeding, the animal first touches the ground (snow) with its front legs and then pulls its hind legs forward. Thus, the small prints from the front legs are located in front, and the large prints of the hind legs are located in the back. When the animal quickly runs, the tracks look exactly the opposite way, since the hare throws its hind legs far forward, pushing itself from the ground in powerful jumps. An average speed of a hare running away from the chase reaches about 60 km/h.

Short Hare’s Childhood

Hares are really prolific. A female hare brings three to four litters per year, up to six young hares each. Newborn variable hares are covered with thick fluffy fur. Unlike the majority other animals, they are born sighted. At the same time, the hare’s vision and sense of smell are poorly developed. But the hearing ability is quite sharp, just like the ability to quickly move around, which is manifested by newborn hares in the first minutes of their life.

During the first week after their birth, newborn hares feed only on mother's milk, but already on the eighth or ninth day they begin to pinch grass on their own, and after the second week of their life they become independent – already at the age of 15 days!  By the age of ten months each of them is already a fully grown hare that begins to propagate.

Thanks to such fertility, the number of hares’ population is stable, despite the fact that their enemies include not only numerous predators, but also humans. The hare is a game animal, although its fur is not valued as highly as that of the sable. All the same, the hare is a desired prey of any hunter: soft warm fur, tasty meat and a special hunting enthusiasm, because it is not so easy to track the hare down due to the animal’s lightning-swift reaction.

Tell friends
Related articles
Baikal Hare: Not Only a Character of Folk Fairytales

Academician Okladnikov believed that the name of the Kika River (with the emphasis on the second syllable) was derived from the Turkic “green river”. This is the name of one of 336 rivers flowing into Lake Baikal.

Baikal Hare: Not Only a Character of Folk Fairytales

A specially protected natural monument of regional significance – “Anglichanka” Rock – is situat-ed in Selenginsky district of Buryatia. Now it is known as an observation deck with a picturesque view of the Selenga and Spassky Cathedral dated by the 18th century. However, in 1818-1841, Protestant preachers lived here. Key to Baikal explored how the life of the missionaries was con-nected with the rock, what kind of girl was wandering around it and what the London missionary society had to do with it.

Baikal Hare: Not Only a Character of Folk Fairytales

The name of the valley originated from local “Bargut” which means “outskirts, wilderness”. It was a name of Mongolian tribe that used to inhabit the valley.

Baikal Hare: Not Only a Character of Folk Fairytales

Christmas and New Year's bustle will begin soon; people throughout the country will install and decorate the main symbol of the New Year – beautiful young spruces - at home. Did you know that December 19 is considered Evergreen Day according to the environmental calendar? In anticipation of this festival, let us recall some important facts about the main evergreen tree - spruce.

Заяц на Байкале: не только герой народных сказок
© Фото: Первый Байкальский
27 января

Заяц на Байкале: не только герой народных сказок

Беляк или русак? Есть ли между ними разница и откуда пошли эти названия.

Как только речь заходит про животных, живущих в Прибайкалье, так первым делом вспоминают соболя и нерпу. Следом идут гордые хищники типа рыси и грациозные травоядные вроде кабарги. Что же тут вспоминать про обыкновенного зайца?! Про того самого, которого называют «косой», считают трусливым, рассказывают про него сказки, вставляют в песенки-потешки. Потому популярность зайца как бы выводит его из разряда интересных животных. Казалось бы: что нового и занимательного можно про него узнать? Тем не менее животное это интересное и вполне достойно внимания. В России живет несколько видов зайцев: беляк, русак и толай. Первые два особенно распространены в Сибири.

Беляк получил свое название благодаря белоснежному зимнему меху. Только кончики ушей остаются у него черными весь год. Русак же в некоторых северных местностях тоже сильно светлеет к зиме, хотя снежно-белым не бывает никогда.

На юге и к западу от Байкала именно зайцы встречаются чаще других зверей, живут довольно крупными «семьями» и часто выручают друг друга. Обычно считается, что зайцы – ночные животные, которые при свете солнца стараются отсиживаться в своих норах. Но байкальские зайцы-русаки активны и днем: скачут по лесу в поисках пропитания. А здесь в ход идет все: и травы, и цветы с плодами, и корешки. Зимой зайцы обгладывают кору с деревьев и кустов.

Заяц на Байкале: не только герой народных сказокЗаяц-беляк обычно бывает довольно крупным. Длина тела – до полуметра, а у отдельных особей – до 70 см. Вес – порядка двух килограммов. Очень крупные зайцы обитают по соседству с прибайкальскими – в Западной Сибири они могут весить и вовсе до 5,5 кг. Уши беляка стали притчей во языцех, именно благодаря им самое распространенное прозвище зайца – длинноухий. Их длина достигает иногда 10 см! Еще одна особенность зайца в том, что ступни его лап покрыты густым жестким волосом, который защищает их от холодного снега и колючей травы.

Чем особенны заячьи следы?

Заячьи следы, пожалуй, интересны не менее самого зверька. Беляк недаром снискал славу трусишки: у него слишком много врагов. Защищается от них он весьма оригинальным способом – запутывая следы. Каждый заяц превосходно обладает этим сложным искусством. Чтобы не привести врага к своей лежке, заяц делает сложные петли, пересекая собственные следы, образуя двойные их цепочки, отчего в какой-то момент направление его движения становится непонятным. А чтобы прервать свой след и окончательно «исчезнуть», заяц, как правило, делает длинный и резкий прыжок далеко в сторону.

Кстати, само слово «заяц» произошло от славянского слова «заи», что означает «прыгун».

По особенностям расположения заячьих следов опытный охотник может определить, чем был занят заяц: спокойно искал еду или куда-то бежал. При кормежке животное сначала опускается на передние лапы, а затем подтягивает задние. Таким образом, небольшие отпечатки от передних ног расположены спереди, а большие отпечатки задних ног – сзади. При быстром беге следы расположены строго наоборот, поскольку заяц выбрасывает задние лапы далеко вперед, в мощном прыжке отталкиваясь от земли. Средняя скорость, с которой заяц может убегать от погони, достигает порядка 60 км/ч.

Короткое заячье детство

Зайцы плодовиты. Зайчиха в год приносит по три-четыре помета, в каждом из которых может быть до шести зайчат. Новорожденные беляки покрыты густым пышным мехом. В отличие от большинства других животных, они рождаются зрячими. При этом зрение и обоняние у зайца развиты плохо. А вот слух – хорошо. Равно как и умение быстро передвигаться, которое проявляется у новорожденных зайчат в первые минуты жизни.

Первую неделю после рождения они питаются только материнским молоком, но уже на восьмой-девятый день начинают самостоятельно щипать траву и спустя еще неделю становятся самостоятельными – в возрасте 15 дней! А к десяти месяцам это уже совершенно взрослый заяц, который сам начинает размножаться.

Именно благодаря такой плодовитости популяция зайцев стабильна, при том что их врагами являются не только многочисленные хищники, но и человек. Заяц – промысловое животное, хотя его мех ценится не так высоко, как у соболя. Тем не менее он – желанная добыча любого охотника: мягкий теплый мех, вкусное мясо и особый охотничий азарт, ибо выследить зайца с его молниеносной реакцией не так-то просто.

РАССКАЗАТЬ ДРУЗЬЯМ
Читайте также
Заяц на Байкале: не только герой народных сказок

Ледовые капитаны — хранители тайн великого озера. Их знания о льде Байкала передавались из уст в уста и подтверждались многолетней практикой поколений. Журналист Первого Байкальского встретился с президентом Лиги Байкальских ледовых капитанов Александром Бурмейстером и узнал о тайнах льда.

Заяц на Байкале: не только герой народных сказок

Академик Окладников считал, что название реки Кика (с ударением на второй слог) происходит от тюркского «зеленая река». Именно так называется одна из 336 рек, впадающих в озеро Байкал.

Заяц на Байкале: не только герой народных сказок

В Селенгинском районе Бурятии находится особо охраняемый природный памятник — скала «Англичанка». Сейчас она известна как смотровая площадка с живописным видом на Селенгу и Спасский собор. Первый Байкальский разобрался, как жизнь миссионеров связана со скалой, что за девушка бродит по ее окрестностям и при чем тут Лондонское миссионерское общество.

Заяц на Байкале: не только герой народных сказок

Уже скоро начнется предновогодняя суета, и по всей стране люди будут ставить и наряжать у себя дома главный символ Нового года: красивые молодые ели. А вы знали, что 19 декабря по экологическому календарю считается Днем вечнозеленых растений? В преддверии этой даты давайте вспомним, что это за дерево — ель, главное из всех вечнозеленых деревьев.

×
Хотите знать, где у нерпы санаторий?

Читайте нас в Яндекс Дзен

Хочу!

Больше не показывать