The Mystery of the Chayachiy (“Seagull”) Cliff, or Where Did its Dwellers Go?
© Photo: Key To Baikal
December, 12

The Mystery of the Chayachiy (“Seagull”) Cliff, or Where Did its Dwellers Go?

A landmark natural object - Chayachiy Cliff as if woven from pebbles and boulders - is located in the area of the Primorsky Ridge, on the territory of the Pribaikalsky National Park.

This high steep rock is situated on the western coast of Lake Baikal, at a distance of about 3.5 km ещ southwest of Cape Bolshoy Kadilny. A hiking trail between the villages of Bolshoi Goloustnoye and Listvyanka passes through this rock.

Almost all travelers that encounter this unique cliff for the first time describe their impressions with similar words: a natural object that amazes and fascinates with its wild beauty; you involuntarily gasp at the sight of the vertical rock walls interspersed with ledges, its upper part is pitted with numerous caves and niches and resembles an ancient cave city. This is the beginning of the Chertov Most (“Devil's Bridge”) Tract, its lower part is supported by the Chayachiy Cliff: the latter seems to grow out of the water, presenting an obstacle to the travelers going along the trail.

This steep slope was named this way because of numerous flocks of herring gulls that used to nest here.

However, the Rocks are Eternal!

The Chayachiy Cliff is a unique accumulation of outcrops sedimentary rocks of the Jurassic Period in one place (Jurassic Period extended from 201 to 145 million years ago). Today these outcrops consist of pebbles and boulders soldered by sandstone. All this looks like as a placer mine of porous rough gray rock. Only an expert can see archaeological significance of this object. Besides, they believe that in this place of the Baikal coast Jurassic deposits are the most open and convenient for exploration.

 The uniqueness of this cliff was described in the first scientific sources about the lake: for example, Johann Georgi who traveled to these places in 1770s already mentioned this name. Ivan Chersky also actively studied geology here and examined soil structure.

No doubt, such state of things makes the Chayachiy Cliff a rare geomorphological value. Therefore, it is no coincidence that the Irkutsk Regional Executive Committee decided to give the status of a state nature landscape monument of aesthetic and cognitive significance to this cliff on February 5, 1985. In 2015, an inventory was made, so today the Chayachiy Cliff is recognized as a regional geomorphological natural monument with a total area (including water) of 1.04 hectares with a high recreational potential.

Chertov Most (“Devil’s Bridge”) Tract

The hiking trail from Listvyanka to Bolshoye Goloustnoye crosses several rocky coast sections that end in a sheer drop going into the water, one of these is called the Chertov Most (“Devil's Bridge”).

Chertov (“Devil’s”) Bridge cut down in the Chayachiy Cliff is an artificial pit made in the rock massif – this “bridge” drops into Baikal from a 30-meter height. When there was no such ledge cut in the rock, the transition here was incredibly dangerous. The fact is that earlier the trail on the cape passed through a narrow stone ledge. In one place that ledge was interrupted by a vertical crack, and a bridge of poles was made for the passage over the many-meter vertical cliff. It was called Chertov Bridge (“Devil’s Bridge”). The name was assigned to it because walking on shaking poles above the abyss was rather uncomfortable.

Фото

There is a legend eagerly told by locals. Once a man met a bear on that bridge. None of them was going to give way. Besides, the path was so narrow that it was almost impossible for them to pass by each other. They stood this way for a long time, but then the moment came when the animal could no longer tolerate the human gaze. He tried to turn back, but slipped and fell from the cliff onto the sharp stones lying in the surf.

However, nowadays, the trail around the cliff has been broadened and is relatively safe, especially in summer. Travelers are no longer afraid of passing through the Devil's Bridge. Moreover, they try to linger there for a while to admire the beautiful view.

The passage along the rocky bridge is so broad now that horses freely pass along it.

Does the name of the cliff correspond to the real state of things?

Herring gull is the largest, most widespread and numerous gull species on Lake Baikal and in the Baikal region. These birds prefer to nest in large rookeries, although there are also small settlements and separate nesting couples. Besides, the situation connected with the mass disappearance of the herring gull from the cliff territory is completely unexplainable. The very name of this geographical point is directly related to the presence of noisy bird flocks covering the rock with a silver blanket. Today you can meet only single birds resting on the ledges of a former noisy bird market in these places.

It is very difficult to understand the reasons for the "exodus" of the herring gull from the cliff, because its unique adaptability to changing conditions is widely known.

Firstly, the mass distribution of this gull species is explained by environmental plasticity, because, unlike other gull species, it successfully breeds offspring both on the swamps and on the rocks.

The Mystery of the Chayachiy (“Seagull”) Cliff, or Where Did its Dwellers Go?

Secondly, the bird is incredibly omnivorous, and the composition of its diet is very diverse. If there is a problem with fish, this gull is capable of long maneuverable flight, swimming and deep diving for prey: it calmly feeds on rodents, eggs and chicks of birds, grasshoppers, leftovers of human food and in tourist camps. It can easily eat some of the muskrat’s offspring. There are even known cases of cannibalism.

Thirdly, they live in places with sufficient number of fish and muskrats for successful fishing, therefore hunters and fishermen do not consider these competitors and do not kill them as cruelly as they kill cormorants.

On top of that, it has been proved that adult herring gulls on Baikal return to their nesting sites, unless the situation forces them to move. More than 90% of young birds also nest in their birth places.

It is still unknown why the seagulls lost connection with their homeland. But there is an interesting record made by Ivan Chersky: he did not see any nesting gulls on the cliff during his travel in 1879 and his excursion to the Goloustnaya River in 1878. But there were plenty of gulls there back in fifties, as evidenced by the geographer and naturalist G.I. Radde.

Probably, the story is repeating itself. Maybe some time will pass and the seagulls will return to the Chayachiy Cliff…

Tell friends
Related articles
The Mystery of the Chayachiy (“Seagull”) Cliff, or Where Did its Dwellers Go?

Academician Okladnikov believed that the name of the Kika River (with the emphasis on the second syllable) was derived from the Turkic “green river”. This is the name of one of 336 rivers flowing into Lake Baikal.

The Mystery of the Chayachiy (“Seagull”) Cliff, or Where Did its Dwellers Go?

Why should one remember about an ordinary hare - the animal with the nickname “squint-eye” that is considered a coward?

The Mystery of the Chayachiy (“Seagull”) Cliff, or Where Did its Dwellers Go?

A specially protected natural monument of regional significance – “Anglichanka” Rock – is situat-ed in Selenginsky district of Buryatia. Now it is known as an observation deck with a picturesque view of the Selenga and Spassky Cathedral dated by the 18th century. However, in 1818-1841, Protestant preachers lived here. Key to Baikal explored how the life of the missionaries was con-nected with the rock, what kind of girl was wandering around it and what the London missionary society had to do with it.

The Mystery of the Chayachiy (“Seagull”) Cliff, or Where Did its Dwellers Go?

The name of the valley originated from local “Bargut” which means “outskirts, wilderness”. It was a name of Mongolian tribe that used to inhabit the valley.

Загадка Чаячего утеса, или куда исчезли его обитатели?
© Фото: Первый Байкальский
9 декабря

Загадка Чаячего утеса, или куда исчезли его обитатели?

В районе Приморского хребта, на территории Прибайкальского национального парка расположился примечательный природный объект — словно сотканный из гальки и валунов утес Чаячий.

Эта высокая, крутая скала находится на западном берегу Байкала, примерно в 3,5 км к юго-западу от мыса Большой Кадильный. По ней проходит пешая тропа между поселками Большое Голоустное и Листвянка.

Практически все путешественники, впервые встретившись с этим уникальным образованием, описывают свои впечатления довольно похожими словами: комплекс, удивляющий и завораживающий своей дикой красотой; невольно ахнешь при виде чередующихся уступами вертикальных скальных стен, верхняя часть которых, изрытая многочисленными пещерами и нишами, напомнит древний пещерный город. Это начало урочища Чертов мост, в нижней своей части подпертый Чаячьим утесом; утес словно вырастает из воды, создавая препятствие путнику, следующему по тропе.

Свое название эта круча получила из-за стай серебристых чаек, которые гнездились здесь в огромном количестве.

А скалы – вечны!

Чаячий – это уникальное скопление в одном месте выходов наружу осадочных горных пород Юрского периода (Юра – это примерно 201 – 145 млн лет назад). Сегодня они представлены галькой и валунами, спаянными песчаником. Внешне все это воспринимается как россыпь пористой, шероховатой породы серого цвета. И только профессионал сумеет увидеть здесь археологическую значимость. Ко всему, полагают, что именно в этом месте побережья Байкала Юрские отложения настолько открыты и удобны для исследования.

 Неповторимость утеса была описана еще в первых научных источниках об озере – например, данное название упоминал уже Иоганн Георги, путешествующий по этим местам в 70-х годах XVIII века. Активно изучал здесь геологию, строение почвы и Иван Черский.

Несомненно, подобная ситуация делает Чаячий утес редчайшей геоморфологической ценностью. Поэтому неслучайно еще 5 февраля 1985 года Иркутский облисполком принял решение о присвоении Чаячьему утесу статуса государственного памятника природы ландшафтного типа, имеющего эстетическое и познавательное значение. В 2015 году была проведена инвентаризация, и сегодня Чаячий утес признан региональным геоморфологическим памятником природы, с общей площадью (в т.ч. акватории) 1,04 га с высоким рекреационным потенциалом.

Чертов мост

Туристическая тропа Листвянка – Большое Голоустное пересекает несколько прижимов (прижим – скальный берег, круто обрывающийся в воду), один из которых называется «Чертов мост».

Чертов мост, вырубленный в Чаячьем утесе, – это искусственная выемка в скальном массиве, «скатывающаяся» в Байкал с 30-метровой высоты. Когда-то этой вырубленной полки не было, и переход был невероятно опасен. Дело в том, что раньше тропа на мысе проходила по узкому каменному выступу. В одном месте выступ прерывался вертикальной трещиной, и для прохода был сооружен мостик из жердей, переброшенный через эту щель над многометровым отвесным обрывом. Его и назвали Чертов. Название закрепилось и потому, что идти по шатающимся бревнышкам над бездной было крайне дискомфортно.

Фото
Есть и легенда, которую с удовольствием рассказывают местные жители. Как-то человек встретился на мосту с медведем. Никто из них не собирался уступить дорогу. Ко всему, тропа была столь узкой, что разойтись вдвоем было практически невозможно. Стояли долго, но наступил момент, когда зверь больше не мог переносить пристального человеческого взгляда. Он попытался повернуть назад и соскользнул с обрыва на лежащие в полосе прибоя острые камни.

Но в настоящее время тропа, опоясывающая утес, расширена и относительно безопасна, особенно летом. При прохождении через Чертов мост страха у путешественников уже нет. Более того, они стараются здесь задержаться, чтобы полюбоваться открывающимися красотами.

Проход по скальной полке настолько расширен, что по ней можно свободно провести и лошадей.

Соответствует ли название утеса реальному положению дел?

Серебристая чайка – самая крупная, широко распространенная и многочисленная чайка на Байкале и в Прибайкалье. Она предпочитает гнездиться крупными колониями, хотя встречаются и мелкие поселения, и одиночно гнездящиеся пары. И абсолютно необъяснима ситуация, связанная с массовым исчезновением серебристой чайки с территории утеса. Само название данного географического пункта напрямую связано с наличием здесь галдящих птичьих стай, закрывающих серебристым одеялом каменную скалу. Сегодня в этих местах можно встретить лишь одиноких особей, отдыхающих на выступах бывшего шумного птичьего базара.

Загадка Чаячего утеса, или куда исчезли его обитатели?Очень сложно понять причины «исхода» серебристой чайки с утеса, так как широко известно об уникальной приспосабливаемости ее организма к изменяющимся условиям.

Во-первых, массовое распространение данного вида чайки объясняется экологической пластичностью, так как она, в отличие от других чайковых видов, одинаково успешно выводит потомство как на болотах, так и на скалах.

Во-вторых, она невероятно всеядна, и состав ее кормов крайне широк. Если возникает проблема с рыбой, эта чайка, способная к длительному маневренному полету, плаванию и глубокому погружению за добычей, спокойно питается грызунами, яйцами и птенцами птиц, саранчовыми, объедками с человеческого стола и туристических стоянок. Может она легко поедать и часть приплода ондатры. Известны даже случаи каннибализма.

В-третьих, они обитают в тех местах, где рыбы и ондатры достаточно для успешного рыболовецкого промысла, и поэтому охотники и рыболовы не считают их конкурентами и не уничтожают так зверски, как бакланов.

Ко всему, доказано, что байкальские серебристые чайки, их взрослые особи возвращаются в места своего гнездования, если только обстановка не вынуждает их переселиться. Более 90% молодых птиц также гнездятся в местах рождения.

Почему прервалась связь с родиной у серебристых чаек, неизвестно. Но есть интересное свидетельство Ивана Черского о том, что во время его путешествия и в 1879 году, и его экскурсии к реке Голоустной в 1878 году, на утесе он не встречал гнездящихся чаек. А ведь они были здесь в изобилии еще в пятидесятых годах, как об этом свидетельствовал географ и натуралист Г.И. Радде.

Возможно, история повторяется. Пройдет определенный период? и чайки вернутся на Чаячий утес.

РАССКАЗАТЬ ДРУЗЬЯМ
Читайте также
Загадка Чаячего утеса, или куда исчезли его обитатели?

Ледовые капитаны — хранители тайн великого озера. Их знания о льде Байкала передавались из уст в уста и подтверждались многолетней практикой поколений. Журналист Первого Байкальского встретился с президентом Лиги Байкальских ледовых капитанов Александром Бурмейстером и узнал о тайнах льда.

Загадка Чаячего утеса, или куда исчезли его обитатели?

Беляк или русак? Есть ли между ними разница и откуда пошли эти названия.

Загадка Чаячего утеса, или куда исчезли его обитатели?

Академик Окладников считал, что название реки Кика (с ударением на второй слог) происходит от тюркского «зеленая река». Именно так называется одна из 336 рек, впадающих в озеро Байкал.

Загадка Чаячего утеса, или куда исчезли его обитатели?

В Селенгинском районе Бурятии находится особо охраняемый природный памятник — скала «Англичанка». Сейчас она известна как смотровая площадка с живописным видом на Селенгу и Спасский собор. Первый Байкальский разобрался, как жизнь миссионеров связана со скалой, что за девушка бродит по ее окрестностям и при чем тут Лондонское миссионерское общество.

×
Хотите знать, где у нерпы санаторий?

Читайте нас в Яндекс Дзен

Хочу!

Больше не показывать