Water Rat on Baikal and Others: Let's Get Acquainted
Water Rat on Baikal and Others: Let's Get Acquainted
© Photo: Key To Baikal
December, 16

Water Rat on Baikal and Others: Let's Get Acquainted

Oriental horoscopes have long been a part of our lives, and even if we do not take these forecasts seriously, we still read them with constant curiosity. And the coming 2020 is the year of the Water Rat.

Water Rat is always in the swim. It is intelligent, smart, and inquisitive, with its own opinion on everything in the world. It has good gut feeling, appreciates freedom and independence. It likes to train its mental skills, often reflects upon things, is a conservative that values ​​traditions. It prefers to go with the flow rather than row against the wind. At the same time, it is reasonable and observant...

Let’s see how these qualities suit real water rats (water voles).

Where They Live

Water Rat on Baikal and Others: Let's Get Acquainted

Their Latin name is: Arvicola amphibius.

The water vole lives throughout Europe, in Transcaucasia and Siberia - up to Baikal and Lena. There are two main species of them, the first of which is terrestrial, despite its name. Such voles live in the fields, on meadows and in forests. The second species fully corresponds to its name and lives exclusively on the banks of rivers, lake coasts, on flooded meadows. The Baikal water voles are like this. We can find them even on the northernmost outskirts of the lake - in the basin of Nizhnyaya Tunguska (Katangsky district), Angara and Lena. Water voles are also found in the forest-steppe areas around the main railway line, in the Sayan region and in the southern Baikal region, except for the highest mountain territories.

What These Animals Eat

Siberians can often confuse a water vole with a mole, despite the fact that it is clearly different from the mole in its appearance and lifestyle, as well as type of nutrition. The mole is an insectivore, the water rat is a rodent. Such confusion occurs because the burrows of water voles are located underground, just like those of moles, although voles live at a smaller depth: only separate passages may reach a depth of a meter or more. Often their burrows have a complex structure with many branching passages, several chambers and several outlets. Sometimes water voles also build nests on the land surface. The animal spends winter time in a burrow, eating the reserves collected in autumn. The storerooms of its burrow contain rhizomes, root tubers and bulbs of many plants: arrowhead, cattail, white charlock, as well as potatoes.

Its appearance reminds of an ordinary brown (domestic) rat, although a water vole has a shorter and thicker head with small ears covered with fur, besides, its tail is shorter. The color of the water vole is gray-brown or reddish, sometimes almost black; its fur is soft and fluffy.

It feeds on both plant and animal food - from the rhizomes of water lilies, reeds and horsetail to fish, frogs, bird eggs, and insect larvae. And if people live nearby, then water voles gladly turn into full-fledged pest rodents destroying grain crops and vegetables. At the same time, water voles are quite voracious, pretty much like other rodents. A vole weighing about 100 g can eat up to 85 g of various kinds of food per day.

Water Vole and Others

Фото

Water voles are very prolific. Over the summer, a female can gives birth to several broods, at the same time, each litter can contain up to eleven young rates (usually, the number is six or seven) that are born blind and naked and begin to go out from the nest when they reach half the size of an adult animal. Young rats of the first spring litter often take part in reproduction already during their first autumn.

The water vole has many enemies: Siberian striped weasel, ermine, mink, fox, other four-legged predators; large birds of prey and even fish – often a careless water rat becomes pike’s prey. Of course, the main enemy of the water vole is man. However, this antipathy is mutual.

Water voles inflict significant damage on agriculture, destroying crops. In addition, they are carriers of a serious illness - tularemia.

Water voles are very smart and sly animals, they are able to quickly and easily escape from enemies through numerous underground passages. As a rule, they live alone, but the burrows of water voles are often located close to each other. Water rats are not aggressive unless they are in danger. But if there is a threat, the animal can also bite.

Water rats communicate with each other through squeaking sounds. Besides, often they perform real rituals: they don’t eat just anywhere, but bring food to special places. Rats make “feeding tables” or “feeding burrows” for themselves: there they can eat calmly and without haste. You can recognize these places by the presence of various food scraps, such as remains of bitten leaves and stems.

Tell friends
Related articles
Water Rat on Baikal and Others: Let's Get Acquainted

Academician Okladnikov believed that the name of the Kika River (with the emphasis on the second syllable) was derived from the Turkic “green river”. This is the name of one of 336 rivers flowing into Lake Baikal.

Water Rat on Baikal and Others: Let's Get Acquainted

Why should one remember about an ordinary hare - the animal with the nickname “squint-eye” that is considered a coward?

Water Rat on Baikal and Others: Let's Get Acquainted

A specially protected natural monument of regional significance – “Anglichanka” Rock – is situat-ed in Selenginsky district of Buryatia. Now it is known as an observation deck with a picturesque view of the Selenga and Spassky Cathedral dated by the 18th century. However, in 1818-1841, Protestant preachers lived here. Key to Baikal explored how the life of the missionaries was con-nected with the rock, what kind of girl was wandering around it and what the London missionary society had to do with it.

Water Rat on Baikal and Others: Let's Get Acquainted

The name of the valley originated from local “Bargut” which means “outskirts, wilderness”. It was a name of Mongolian tribe that used to inhabit the valley.

Водяная крыса на Байкале и не только: давайте знакомиться
© Фото: Первый Байкальский
16 декабря

Водяная крыса на Байкале и не только: давайте знакомиться

Восточные гороскопы прочно вошли в нашу жизнь, и даже если мы не рассматриваем их прогнозы всерьез, то все равно читаем с неизменным любопытством. И наступающий 2020 год — год Водяной Крысы.

Водяная Крыса – всегда в курсе событий. Эрудированная, умная, любознательная, со своим мнением обо всем на свете. Обладает хорошей интуицией, ценит свободу и независимость. Любит упражнять свой разум, частенько глубокомысленно задумывается, консерватор, который ценит традиции. Предпочитает скорее плыть по течению, нежели бороться с ним. При этом расчетлива и наблюдательна…

Посмотрим, как сочетаются данные качества с настоящими водяными крысами.

Где живет

Водяная крыса на Байкале и не только: давайте знакомитьсяПо-латински их название звучит так: Arvicola amphibius.

Водяная крыса живет по всей Европе, в Закавказье и в Сибири – до Байкала и Лены. Существует два основных вида, первый из которых, несмотря на название, – сухопутный. Такие водяные крысы живут на полях, лугах и в лесах. Второй вид полностью соответствует своему имени и живет исключительно по берегам рек, озер, на затопляемых лугах. Прибайкальские водяные крысы именно такие. У нас они встречается даже на самых северных окраинах – в бассейне Нижней Тунгуски (Катангский район), Ангары и Лены. Водяные крысы также водятся в лесостепных участках примагистральной полосы, в Присаянье и южном Прибайкалье, за исключением самых высокогорных территорий.

Что ест

Сибиряки часто путают водяную крысу с кротом. При том что она резко отличается от крота и внешним видом, и образом жизни, и характером питания. Крот – насекомоядное, водяная крыса – грызун. Происходит такая путаница потому, что норы этого зверька расположены, как и у крота, под землей, хотя и на небольшой глубине: лишь отдельные ходы достигают в глубину метра и более. Часто норы имеют сложное строение со многими разветвляющимися ходами, несколькими камерами и несколькими отверстиями. Иногда водяная крыса устраивает также гнезда на поверхности земли. Зимнее время проводит в норе, питаясь запасами, которые она собирает еще с осени. В кладовых ее нор находили корневища, клубни и луковицы многих растений: стрелолиста, рогоза, дикой редьки, а также картофеля.

Скорее, она похожа на обычную домашнюю (амбарную) крысу, хотя имеет более короткую и толстую голову с маленькими закрытыми мехом ушами, да и хвост у нее покороче. Окраска водяной крысы серо-бурая или рыжеватая, иногда почти черная, мех мягкий и пушистый.

Питается она как растительной пищей, так и животной. От корневищ кувшинок, тростника и хвоща она переключается на рыбу, лягушек, птичьи яйца, личинки насекомых. А если недалеко живет человек, тогда водяная крыса не без удовольствия становится полноценным грызуном-вредителем, уничтожая посевы злаков и овощей. При этом водяная крыса, как и другие грызуны, довольна прожорлива. При собственном весе в 100 г она может съесть в сутки до 85 г самых разных кормов.

Крыса и другие

Фото

Водяная крыса весьма плодовита. За лето рожает несколько раз, при этом в каждом помете может быть до одиннадцати крысят (но обычно шесть-семь), которые рождаются слепыми и голыми, а из гнезда начинают выходить, когда вырастут в половину взрослого зверька. Молодые крысы первого весеннего помета к осени нередко также принимают участие в размножении.

У водяной крысы много врагов. Колонок, горностай, норка, лиса, другие четвероногие хищники; хищные крупные птицы и даже рыбы – часто зазевавшаяся водяная крыса становится добычей щуки. И конечно, основным из врагов крысы является человек. Впрочем, эта нелюбовь взаимна.

Крысы наносят ощутимый вред сельскому хозяйству, уничтожая посевы. Кроме того, они являются переносчиками тяжелой болезни – туляремии.

Водяные крысы очень умные и хитрые животные, они способны очень легко и быстро уходить от врагов через многочисленные подземные ходы. Живут они в основном поодиночке, но норы водяных крыс часто располагаются рядом. Водяные крысы не агрессивны, если им не угрожает опасность. Но при угрозе может и укусить.

Водяные крысы общаются между собой при помощи писка. А еще устраивают самые настоящие ритуалы: питаются не просто так, а принося еду в специальные места. Крысы устраивают себе «кормовые столики» или «кормовые норки», где можно поесть спокойно и обстоятельно. Такие места можно распознать по наличию на них различных объедков в виде недоеденных листьев и стеблей.

РАССКАЗАТЬ ДРУЗЬЯМ
Читайте также
Водяная крыса на Байкале и не только: давайте знакомиться

Ледовые капитаны — хранители тайн великого озера. Их знания о льде Байкала передавались из уст в уста и подтверждались многолетней практикой поколений. Журналист Первого Байкальского встретился с президентом Лиги Байкальских ледовых капитанов Александром Бурмейстером и узнал о тайнах льда.

Водяная крыса на Байкале и не только: давайте знакомиться

Беляк или русак? Есть ли между ними разница и откуда пошли эти названия.

Водяная крыса на Байкале и не только: давайте знакомиться

Академик Окладников считал, что название реки Кика (с ударением на второй слог) происходит от тюркского «зеленая река». Именно так называется одна из 336 рек, впадающих в озеро Байкал.

Водяная крыса на Байкале и не только: давайте знакомиться

В Селенгинском районе Бурятии находится особо охраняемый природный памятник — скала «Англичанка». Сейчас она известна как смотровая площадка с живописным видом на Селенгу и Спасский собор. Первый Байкальский разобрался, как жизнь миссионеров связана со скалой, что за девушка бродит по ее окрестностям и при чем тут Лондонское миссионерское общество.

×
Хотите знать, где у нерпы санаторий?

Читайте нас в Яндекс Дзен

Хочу!

Больше не показывать