The Forest Raised a Christmas Tree
The Forest Raised a Christmas Tree
© Photo: Key To Baikal
December, 19

The Forest Raised a Christmas Tree

Christmas and New Year's bustle will begin soon; people throughout the country will install and decorate the main symbol of the New Year – beautiful young spruces - at home. Did you know that December 19 is considered Evergreen Day according to the environmental calendar? In anticipation of this festival, let us recall some important facts about the main evergreen tree - spruce.

Official Data

Spruce is a genus of coniferous plants from the spruce family. These are tall evergreen trees with whorl positioning of branches forming a tent shaped as a pyramid. Spruce is a fairly widespread tree growing outside the tropical regions of the northern hemisphere. Scientists count the number of species in different ways: usually it makes up from 11 to 18. Such species as Norway, Oriental and Siberian spruce grow on the territory of Siberia.

Perennial stiff leaves of fir trees are called needles. They can be tetrahedral needle-shaped or almost flat. They cover the branches and stick out from all sides in a thick spiral. Spruce branches that lost their needles are knobby, because the needles leave a diamond-shaped trace as they fall off.

Spruces can also bloom. Staminate flowers usually appear on the sides of last year's branches. Whereas pistillate flowers are located at the ends of the branches and later turn into small cones. By the way, all the spruce cones do not open right on the tree, like many other conifers, but fall to the ground.

Norway or European spruce is a tree species that is very common for the Russian forests in the northern and central zones of the country. The height of this tree reaches up to 30 - 50 m and its diameter can amount to 2 m. Its trunk is straight, powerful, thickened below, and gradually narrowing upward. The trunk surface of young trees is smooth and light brown, older plants have coarse bark.

What Is Unusual about Siberian Spruce

Фото

Siberian spruce can be found on almost two thirds of the entire area of ​​northern forests and in Siberia, where it grows in “parmas” - so-called mixed forests where fir, birch and aspen also grow. The wood of this spruce is more dense that of Norway one and more suitable for human use.

The majority of numerous species of spruce grows in Siberia, and they feel fine. Because spruce is a universal plant: it grows equally well on various types of soils, tolerates high humidity, and is enduring in winter frosts and summer droughts. That is why it is not only preferred by the industrial timber operators, but is also actively used by people for a variety of construction and finishing needs, as well as by landscape designers and green space workers. Spruce is actively used in decorative gardening. By making different combinations of trees, you can create amazing compositions, evergreen hedges of various height and purpose, or even landscape an entire garden.

But the hour of glory of the spruce comes, of course, in winter, when an ordinary prickly tree becomes a magnificent “Christmas Tree”. The tradition to decorate the Christmas tree is common for the entire Christian world, because it is one of the brightest holiday symbols. The tradition of decorating a Christmas spruce arose at end of the Middle Ages in German urban culture, and in the 19th century it gained popularity in Russia, Anglo-Saxon world and many other countries.

Due to the fact that eco-friendly approaches to organizing the holiday have been adopted recently, freshly cut Christmas trees are usually replaced with well-made imitations. Christmas trees are decorated with garlands, special Christmas toys, candles or light bulbs. During the holidays, Christmas trees can be seen in the houses and on the streets. In the USSR, the Christmas tree was called “the New Year’s tree”. Russians still call the tree this way, although it is also a symbol of Christmas, just like before.

Environmental Ranking

The principle of environmental friendliness is one of the signs of the modern era. The balance of usefulness and inevitable harm to the environment of the planet and people is estimated by many parameters. There are special criteria for determining environmental friendliness of Christmas trees. They use the concept of footprint of the production or cultivation of Christmas trees, as well as emissions during the transportation and disposal of spruces.

According to environmentalists, the “worst” Christmas tree is the one that was brutally cut down in the forest. It is followed by a spruce, specially grown in the nursery, but still cut down later: one way or another, this cultivated tree dies after the holiday.

The next option is an artificial Christmas tree. Its reusability is an indisputable advantage. At the same time, its production, as well as the materials used for it are far from environmental perfection.

An option of buying a living tree in a pot is already much better. The main thing is to take care of the tree after the end of the holidays until spring, after which, in accordance with all rules, one should plant it in the open ground.

A hundred-per-cent environmentally friendly choice is an ordinary tree growing in the courtyard of a house, in the park, on the street. These living trees can be decorated to celebrate the holiday: this option heads the ranking.

In case you really want a fragrance of a spruce for creating a cozy holiday mood, the bouquets of spruce boughs are perfect for this purpose: they are fluffy and natural. They bring joy to the fans of ancient traditions and at the same time allow the spruce to stay alive for many years.

Tell friends
Related articles
The Forest Raised a Christmas Tree

Academician Okladnikov believed that the name of the Kika River (with the emphasis on the second syllable) was derived from the Turkic “green river”. This is the name of one of 336 rivers flowing into Lake Baikal.

The Forest Raised a Christmas Tree

Why should one remember about an ordinary hare - the animal with the nickname “squint-eye” that is considered a coward?

The Forest Raised a Christmas Tree

A specially protected natural monument of regional significance – “Anglichanka” Rock – is situat-ed in Selenginsky district of Buryatia. Now it is known as an observation deck with a picturesque view of the Selenga and Spassky Cathedral dated by the 18th century. However, in 1818-1841, Protestant preachers lived here. Key to Baikal explored how the life of the missionaries was con-nected with the rock, what kind of girl was wandering around it and what the London missionary society had to do with it.

The Forest Raised a Christmas Tree

The name of the valley originated from local “Bargut” which means “outskirts, wilderness”. It was a name of Mongolian tribe that used to inhabit the valley.

В лесу родилась елочка, или все о главном символе праздника
© Фото: Первый Байкальский

В лесу родилась елочка, или все о главном символе праздника

Уже скоро начнется предновогодняя суета, и по всей стране люди будут ставить и наряжать у себя дома главный символ Нового года: красивые молодые ели. А вы знали, что 19 декабря по экологическому календарю считается Днем вечнозеленых растений? В преддверии этой даты давайте вспомним, что это за дерево — ель, главное из всех вечнозеленых деревьев.

Официальные данные

Ель – род хвойных растений из семейства елевых. Это вечнозеленые высокие деревья с кольчато-расположенными ветвями, которые растут шатром в виде пирамиды. Ель довольно распространенное дерево, растущее вне тропических областей северного полушария. Ученые по-разному оценивают число ее видов: обычно от 11 до 18-ти. На территории Сибири растут европейская, восточная и сибирская ели.

Многолетние жесткие листья елей называются хвоя. Она бывает четырехгранная игольчатая или почти плоская. Покрывая ветви, они торчат со всех сторон густой спиралью. Ветви ели, утратившие свои хвои, бугорчаты, так как хвоя, опадая, оставляет после себя ромбовидный след.

Елки тоже цветут. Мужские цветы появляются обычно по бокам прошлогодних ветвей. А из женских, которые располагаются на концах ветвей, образуются маленькие шишечки. Кстати, шишка ели не раскрывается, как у многих хвойных, прямо на дереве, а падает на землю целиком.

Европейская, или обыкновенная, ель – древесная порода, очень распространенная в русских лесах северной и средней полосы России. Это дерево достигает до 30 – 50 м высоты и до 2 м в диаметре. Ствол у него прямой, мощный, внизу утолщенный, а кверху постепенно суживающийся. У молодых деревьев поверхность ствола гладкая, светло-бурая, у старых – шероховатая.

Чем необычна сибирская ель

Фото

Сибирская ель встречается почти на 2/3 площади северных лесов и в Сибири, где растет в «пармах» – так называются смешанные леса, в которых растут также пихта, береза и осина. Ее древесина плотнее, чем у ели европейской, и более пригодна для использования человеком.

Большинство из многочисленных видов ели прекрасно себя чувствуют и растут в Сибири. Потому что ель – растение универсальное: хорошо растет на различных типах почв, переносит повышенную влажность, вынослива в зимние морозы и летние засухи. Потому ее так любят не только заготовители промышленной древесины, которая активно используется человеком для самых разных строительных и отделочных нужд, но и ландшафтные дизайнеры и озеленители. Ель активно применяется в декоративном садоводстве. Используя различные сочетания деревьев, можно создавать красивейшие композиции, вечнозеленые живые изгороди различной высоты и назначения, или даже полностью благоустроить сад.

Но звездный час ели наступает, конечно, зимой, когда обычная колючая елка превращается в величественное «Christmas Tree». Рождественскую елку принято наряжать и украшать по всему христианскому миру, поскольку она является одним из самых ярких праздничных символов. Традиция украшать в честь Рождества ель возникла с окончанием Средневековья в германской городской культуре, а с XIX века получила популярность в России, англосаксонском мире и многих других странах.

В последнее время приняты экологичные подходы в организации праздника, поэтому живые елки обычно заменяют искусными имитациями. Елки украшают гирляндами, специальными елочными игрушками, свечами или лампочками. Пока идут праздники, елки стоят и в домах, и на улицах. В СССР рождественскую елку называли новогодней. Называют ее так и сейчас, хотя она, как и прежде, является символом Рождества. 

Экологичный рейтинг

Принцип экологичности – одна из примет современности. Баланс пользы и неизбежного вреда для экологии планеты и человека оценивается по множеству параметров. Есть свои критерии по определению экологичности и у новогодних елок. Здесь принят след от производства или выращивания новогоднего дерева, а также выбросы при его транспортировке и утилизации.

По мнению экоактивистов, самая «плохая» елка – срубленная диким варварским способом в лесу. Следом идет ель, специально выращенная в питомнике, но все равно срубленная: так или иначе, но это подрощенное дерево прекращает после праздника свою жизнь.

Затем идет искусственная елка. Ее многоразовость – безусловный плюс. При этом ее производство, равно как и материалы, из которых она делается, далеки от экологичного идеала.

Живая елка, которую можно купить в горшке, – это уже значительно лучше. Главное, после окончания праздников продолжать ухаживать за ней до весны, после чего по всем правилам высадить в открытый грунт.

А стопроцентно экологичной признана обычная елка, которая растет во дворе дома, в парке, на улице. Именно это живое дерево, которое в честь праздника можно украсить, является фаворитом рейтинга.

Ну а если хочется непременно живого елового запаха для домашней праздничной атмосферы, то для этого превосходно подходят букеты из еловых лап: пушистые и натуральные. Они радуют любителей старинных традиций и при этом оставляют елку живой на долгие годы.

РАССКАЗАТЬ ДРУЗЬЯМ
Читайте также
В лесу родилась елочка, или все о главном символе праздника

Ледовые капитаны — хранители тайн великого озера. Их знания о льде Байкала передавались из уст в уста и подтверждались многолетней практикой поколений. Журналист Первого Байкальского встретился с президентом Лиги Байкальских ледовых капитанов Александром Бурмейстером и узнал о тайнах льда.

В лесу родилась елочка, или все о главном символе праздника

Беляк или русак? Есть ли между ними разница и откуда пошли эти названия.

В лесу родилась елочка, или все о главном символе праздника

Академик Окладников считал, что название реки Кика (с ударением на второй слог) происходит от тюркского «зеленая река». Именно так называется одна из 336 рек, впадающих в озеро Байкал.

В лесу родилась елочка, или все о главном символе праздника

В Селенгинском районе Бурятии находится особо охраняемый природный памятник — скала «Англичанка». Сейчас она известна как смотровая площадка с живописным видом на Селенгу и Спасский собор. Первый Байкальский разобрался, как жизнь миссионеров связана со скалой, что за девушка бродит по ее окрестностям и при чем тут Лондонское миссионерское общество.

×
Хотите знать, где у нерпы санаторий?

Читайте нас в Яндекс Дзен

Хочу!

Больше не показывать