The Most Recognizable Duck of Baikal
The Most Recognizable Duck of Baikal
© Photo: Key To Baikal
July, 05

The Most Recognizable Duck of Baikal

We continue to familiarize you with the birds of Baikal. Ruddy shelduck is a duck that has become a symbol of peace and tranquility for Baikal Buddhists and which is mistakenly confused with geese...

Ruddy shelduck is called so because of its tile-red feathers. Ruddy shelduck is a constant transitory species of the western coast of the Southern and Middle Baikal, nesting everywhere on the lake, especially on the Island of Olkhon. Researchers define Ruddy shelduck as a common, but numerically insignificant bird species found on Lake Baikal from late March to late October.

It is notable that Buddhists consider this bird sacred, and, in their opinion, it can bring peace and tranquility.

According to the hunting rules of the Russian Federation, it is forbidden to shoot ruddy shelduck, because it is a rare bird, and the greatest danger threatens the duck during the hatching period when the bird lets poachers come very close to its nest.

It Is Rather a Goose than a Typical Duck

Фото

If you see this large bird with its weight ranging from 1200 to 1600 grams, you can mistakenly say that it is a goose. In fact, it has long legs, a short beak, a long neck, wide blunt wings, special posture... The length of a torso of a ruddy shelduck makes up 61-67 centimeters, and its wingspan can reach almost 1.5 meters.

A distinctive feature of the ruddy shelduck is its orange-brown color with an ocher-white head and neck. The greenish tint is characteristic of its black tail and uppertail; the duck’s beak, legs and primary wings are also black against the general background of white wings.

A flying duck has clearly visible large white spots in the upper and lower parts of the wings (covert feathers) and a green spot, the so-called “mirror”, on the front edge of the secondary wings.

Male and female ducks have little difference from each other in their colors. The only difference is the narrow brown collar of males during the mating season - it disappears during the seasonal change of feathers.

Young birds are of the same color, albeit more pale.

They Should Have an Angelic Voice...

Ruddy shelduck is a very “talkative” bird. According to the description of the ornithologists, the most frequent sound uttered by them on the ground and in flight is a loud deep “ang...” or “gang...”, sometimes extended to two syllables and sounding like “a-ak...” or “wa-ak…”. At the end of this cry, one can often hear a dull trill sounding as “arrrr...”.

Scientists compare the bird’s sharp voice with neighing of a donkey and with the sounds uttered by the Canadian geese, as well as with cackling of geese.

The sounds can help you distinguish the gender of a bird: females usually utter louder, deeper and sharper sounds, with a predominantly stressed “a” vowel, whereas males mostly shriek with an “o” vowel.

The Coast of Baikal is their Home

The coast of Baikal is gradually ceasing to be a comfortable habitat for many traditional bird species, including ruddy shelduck, due to the constantly growing flow of tourists and a large number of fires.

However, once the Olkhon region was the favorite habitat of this bird: the islands and coast of the Maloye More Strait, including Olkhon, Tazheransky steppes, the steppe massif of Krestovskaya gorge.

The ruddy shelduck was attracted both by the coastal zones and the inner part of the island of Olkhon. The most outstanding thing was the saline mineralized Lake Shara-Nur (“lake with yellow waters”, as translated from from Buryat) surrounded by a birch-pine forest. In the recent past, the “yellow lake” was the main breeding ground of the ruddy shelduck on Olkhon, and the number of chicks was counted in dozens.

According to the observations of specialists, the situation has been gradually stabilizing in recent years, but it is still too early to be satisfied with the number of birds.

Ruddy Shelduck - an Unpretentious Bird

This duck is equally mobile both on the ground and in the water: it runs quickly and easily, swims and dives perfectly. They note that even a wounded ruddy shelduck is able to dive well.

The duck finds food both in water and on land. It feeds on various wetland and aquatic plants, ruddy shelduck mostly eats plant food - seeds and green shoots, but it can also grab and swallow insects, including locusts, grasshoppers... Occasionally the duck can find mollusks, crustaceans, small fish and even frogs in water.

Ruddy shelducks try to rest during the day, and search for food at night or at dusk.

These ducks are considered to be very cautious and unsociable birds, they are not prone to formation of large flocks. As a rule, they live in pairs or small groups, and these groups join with each other and form a flock only in late autumn.

With spring comes, it is the time for nesting, and immediately after arrival to its summer habitat, ruddy shelduck has a goal - to find a mate. It is considered that a female duck is choosing a suitable mate itself, thus finding a lifelong partner.

The duck is extremely undemanding to the living conditions. The presence of a water reservoir nearby is enough to create a nest in this place.

For building nests these birds also use gutters of rocky coast sections, crevices of rocks, hollows of larch trees, abandoned burrows of steppe animals. The simplest option is a hole in the ground lined with thin blades of grass. They often lay eggs directly on the ground and line them with a roller made of fluff.

Ruddy shelduck comes to Baikal at the end of March – in early April, and immediately starts to lay eggs, and then females incubate these eggs. Fathers perform security functions, being constantly around and on guard for possible danger. Defending a home, a male shelduck can violently attack an unwanted guest, even a sea eagle. And the female protects its future offspring by issuing a hiss, very similar to a serpentine sound: this scares predators away.

Small downy chicks hatch on Baikal in early June; at the age of 45-50 days they already learn to fly. However, the brood still keeps together.

Interestingly, ruddy shelducks can use the same nest for several years in a row.

People can influence this situation and help this ordinary but numerically insignificant duck species to become a regular guest on the coast of Olkhon again.

Tell friends
Related articles
The Most Recognizable Duck of Baikal

Many things on Lake Baikal are not in line with logic and reason. The lake never fails to amaze us by the number of its secrets, so we never cease to admire when we get to know new natural phenomena that were previously unknown, such as, for example, singing sands that may soon become silent forever...

The Most Recognizable Duck of Baikal

We keep on introducing the rivers of Baikal to you. We would like to remind you that there are about 300 of them and they all perform their functions. Today we will talk about Abramikha where the main fish of the lake omul - comes to spawn in autumn.

The Most Recognizable Duck of Baikal

The Cormorant Stone is a punchy view of Lake Baikal and a place where one was able to observe the most beautiful birds even 50 years ago: the place was named in honor of precisely those birds. Over the past 50 years people have almost completely exterminated the cormorant population, thus making the bird the main contributor of the disappearance of Baikal cisco (omul)... We will try to figure it out what was really the case.

Самая узнаваемая утка Байкала
© Фото: Первый Байкальский
7 июля 2019 #животные

Самая узнаваемая утка Байкала

Продолжаем знакомить вас с пернатыми Байкала. Огарь — утка, которая стала символом покоя и умиротворения для байкальских буддистов и которую по ошибке путают с гусем…

Огарь или красная утка, которую называют так из-за оперения кирпично-красного цвета. Огарь является постоянным пролетным видом западного побережья Южного и Среднего Байкала, повсеместно гнездящимся на всем озере, но особенно – на острове Ольхон. Исследователи определяют огаря как обычную, но малочисленную птицу, встречающуюся на Байкале с конца марта до конца октября.

Примечательно, что буддисты считают эту птицу священной, и, по их мнению, она может принести покой и умиротворение.

Правилами охоты Российской Федерации огарь, как редкая особь, запрещена к отстрелу, и наибольшая опасность подстерегает утку в период вывода птенцов, когда она подпускает браконьеров к себе очень близко.

Больше гусь, чем утка

Фото

Если увидеть эту довольно крупную птицу, вес которой – от 1200 до 1600 граммов, можно ошибочно сказать, что это гусь. И в самом деле – высокие ноги, короткий клюв, длинная шея, широкие затупленные крылья, осанка… Длина туловища огаря 61-67 сантиметров, а размах крыльев может достигать почти 1,5 метра.

Отличительной чертой красной утки является ее оранжево-коричневая окраска с охристо-белой головой и шеей. Зеленоватый оттенок имеют черные хвост и надхвостья; клюв, ноги и маховые крылья на общем фоне белых крыльев также черного цвета.

У летящей утки в верхней и нижней части крыльев (кроющих) хорошо заметны большие белые пятна, а на переднем крае второстепенных маховых – пятно зеленого цвета, так называемое «зеркальце».

Самец и самка по окраске мало отличаются друг от друга. Единственное расхождение – в брачный период узкий коричневый ошейник у самца, который исчезает во время сезонной смены оперения.

У молодых птиц расцветка аналогичная, но более бледная.

И ангельский, должно быть, голосок…

Огарь птица очень «разговорчивая». По описанию орнитологов, наиболее частый крик, испускаемый на земле и в полете, – звучное глубокое «анг…» или «ганг…», иногда растянутое на два слога и звучащее как «аак…» или «ваак…». По окончании этого крика нередко можно услышать глухую трель «арррр…».

Ученые сравнивают ее резкий голос и с ржанием осла, и со звуками, издаваемыми канадской казаркой, и с гусиным гоготом.

По звукам можно различить половую принадлежность птицы: у самки они, как правило, громче, глубже и резче, с преобладанием ударной гласной «а», тогда как у самца – «о».

Дом на байкальских берегах

Побережье Байкала, из-за постоянно увеличивающегося потока туристов и большого числа пожаров, постепенно перестает быть комфортным местом обитания многих, традиционных для этих мест, видов птиц, в том числе и огаря.

А ведь когда-то его любимым пристанищем было Приольхонье – острова и берега Малого Моря, включая Ольхон, Тажеранские степи, степной массив падь Крестовская.  

На Ольхоне красную утку привлекали и прибрежные зоны, и внутренняя часть острова. Особенно выделялось соленое минерализованное озеро Шара-Нур (с бурятского – «озеро с желтыми водами»), окруженное березово-сосновым лесом. И в недавнем прошлом «желтое озеро» было основным очагом размножения огаря на Ольхоне, и численность птенцов исчислялась десятками.

В последние годы, по наблюдениям специалистов, ситуация постепенно стабилизируется, но успокаиваться еще очень рано.

Огарь – птица неприхотливая

Красная утка одинаково мобильна и на земле, и в воде: она быстро и легко бегает, прекрасно плавает и ныряет. Отмечают, что даже огарь-подранок способен хорошо погружаться.

И пропитание утка находит как в воде, так и на суше. Питаясь различными околоводными и водными расте­ниями, огарь, более всего, потребляет растительную пищу – семена и зеленые побеги, но может склевывать насекомых, среди которых саранча, кобылки… При случае способен отыскать в воде моллюсков, рачков, мелкую рыбешку и даже лягушек.

Огари стараются отдыхать днем, а еду искать ночью или в сумерках.

Красная утка считается очень осторожной и малообщительной птицей, для которой совсем не характерно создание больших стай. Как правило, они живут парами или маленькими группами, и эти группы соединяются в стаю только в конце осени.

С началом весны приходит время гнездования, и сразу после прилета у красной утки появляется цель – найти себе пару. Считается, что самка сама отыскивает подходящего спутника, выбирая тем самым партнера на всю жизнь.

Утка крайне нетребовательна к условиям проживания. Наличия водоема вполне достаточно для создания в этом месте гнезда.

Для него используют и вымоины обрывистых берегов, и расщелины скал, и дупла лиственницы, и заброшенные норки степных животных. Самое простое – ямка в земле, выстланная тонкими травинками. Часто яйца откладываются прямо на грунт и обкладываются валиком из пуха.

Появляясь на Байкале в конце марта – первой декаде апреля, огарь приступает к откладке яиц, которые насиживает самка. Папаша выполняет охранные функции, постоянно находясь рядом и предупреждая о возможной опасности. Обороняя свой дом, он может яростно наброситься на нежелательного гостя, даже такого, как орлан. А самка, защищая будущее потомство, способна издавать шипение, очень похожее на змеиное, что отпугивает наземных хищников.

В первых числах июня на Байкале вылупляются маленькие пуховые птенцы, которые в возрасте 45-50 дней поднимаются на крыло. Выводок при этом не распадается.

Интересно, что одно и то же гнездо может использоваться огарями несколько лет подряд.

И от человека зависит, чтобы этот обычный, но немногочисленный вид красной утки вновь стал постоянным гостем на ольхонских берегах.

РАССКАЗАТЬ ДРУЗЬЯМ
Читайте также
Самая узнаваемая утка Байкала

Многие люди, живущие вдоль берегов Байкала, верят в его сверхъестественную силу. Порой озеро считают чуть ли не живым организмом или порталом в другой мир. В канун Дня всех святых мы вспомнили одну страшную легенду...

Самая узнаваемая утка Байкала

Если открыть дома кран на полную мощность, стакан воды наберется за 1 секунду. Чтобы наполнить таким образом озеро Байкал, пришлось бы не выключать воду 4,5 млрд лет.

Самая узнаваемая утка Байкала

Нерпа — самый знаменитый эндемик и самый милый житель озера. В честь Дня Байкала мы подготовили инфографику и наглядно показали, какие еще виды обитают только на Байкале и больше нигде в мире.

Самая узнаваемая утка Байкала

Стали известны победители фотоконкурса «Прибайкалье в объективе». Из 177 работ, присланных фотографами Иркутской области и Бурятии, жюри выбрало семь лучших: на них запечатлены байкальский иероглиф, сердце Ольхона и коварные объятия