A “Rowanberry” River in the Crystal-clear Water of Baikal
A “Rowanberry” River in the Crystal-clear Water of Baikal
© Photo: Key To Baikal
May, 25

A “Rowanberry” River in the Crystal-clear Water of Baikal

The Kichera River originates on the slopes of the Verkhneangarsky ridge and stretches for about 135 kilometers until it falls into Baikal.

Disputes about the Name

The famous “Drawing Book of Siberia” written by S.U. Remezov calls the river by a different name: Icherga. There is an opinion that this name is directly connected with the Tungus (Evenki) word “icheri” translated as “shaman”, “forecast”, “bewitch”.

However, the situation around the modern name of the river is not so unambiguous. Some authors believe that the basis of the name undoubtedly is the Evenki toponymy, but they disagree about the original term. Some stated that Kichera was derived from the word “kichera,” meaning “rowanberry”. Others insisted that the root was different - “kocho”: “a bend of the river”, “a tortuous river”.

A famous Irkutsk scientist, ethnographer, toponymist S.А. Gurulev stressed the fact that the name of the river was an example of purely Slavic rethinking based on consonance with the Evenki name. South Slavic and West Slavic languages have the root basis “Kichera”, “Kusega” for designating mountain terms. For example, the Ukrainian word “Kichera” is translated as “a mountain covered with forest, except for the summit”, or “a steep mountain covered with forest”, or “the top of a mountain”.

The Journey of Kichera to Baikal

The Kichera River flows through Severobaikalsky district of Buryatia: the river’s water catchment area occupies about 2,430 sq. km. It can rightly be called the friend of Verkhnyaya Angara.

First, Kichera unites with its “friend” - the 14-kilometer Angarakan channel close to its mouth (at a distance of approximately 16–18 km); below this point the river is divided into three channels. Secondly, when the river enters Baikal, it creates a delta and the unique Angarsky Sor Bay - jointly with Verkhnyaya Angara.

Kichera is fed by a fairly large number of small tributaries, the largest of them is considered to be the Kholodnaya River (about 85 km long).

The most interesting feature of Kichera is the fact that there are many lakes along its course, some of them are crossed by the river: Bludnoye, Verkhnee Kicherskoe Bolshoye (“Big Upper Kichera Lake”), Verkhnee Kicherskoe Maloye (“Small Upper Kichera Lake”), Kulinda (derived from the Evenkia “kulinda” meaning “a snake”).

A Tortuous River

 

If you look at Kichera from a helicopter’s perspective, you can clearly see that the riverbed is a system of loop-like bends created by nature. The character of the riverbed is so diverse that the river can be easily divided into several parts.

The first section is the source of Kichera located at an altitude of 1265 meters on the territory of the Verkhneangarsky ridge located in the northern Baikal region. The length of this section makes up about 10–15 km; it can be described as a standard mountain river with a rocky bottom, flowing through a narrow U-shaped valley surrounded by steep slopes of the bald mountains. Here Kichera is replenished by several tributaries and flows into Kulinda Lake.

The second section can be called “lake part”. Its length is about 20 km, and Kichera passes through a series of large lakes in this place.

The next section is the middle one, its boundary begins from the Vtoroye Verkhneye Kicherskoe Lake (“Second Upper Kichera Lake”) and ends at the point called Pristan: the height difference between the two points makes up more than 100 meters. And although the valley of Kichera begins to expand, the mountains do not disappear, still “embracing” it. Probably, this section explains why some specialists start defining the name as derived from the Evenk “kocho” – “a tortuous river”. This section of Kichera strongly resembles a winding snake. Large rapids and forest obstructions intersperse with calm flow of water, and the bottom surface is also unstable: it can be covered with pebbles or large boulders in different places.

Finally, the last lower part ends in confluence with Baikal. It stretches for about 40 km, and here Kichera has a completely different, calm character. Its valley expands and merges with the marshy lowland, in the place where the delta of Verkhnyaya Angara is located.

The Reserved Angarsky Sor Bay

The deltas of the rivers of Kichera and Verkhnyaya Angara create a special natural object - the Angarsky Sor Bay, which is also called Verkhne-Angarsky or Severo-Baikalsky.

Outland: The Most Beautiful Beach That Made Baikal Famous@Далекая земля: чем знаменит самый красивый пляж Байкала
Outland: The Most Beautiful Beach That Made Baikal Famous
The island of Yarki has two parts: a sandy one and a marshy one. It is often called “paradise” because of the endless beaches, shallow waters quickly getting warm, as well as because of the amazing landscapes urging you to make a photo. ©Photo credit: Anton Klimov
The island of Yarki has two parts: a sandy one and a marshy one. It is often called “paradise” because of the endless beaches, shallow waters quickly getting warm, as well as because of the amazing landscapes urging you to make a photo. ©Photo credit: Anton Klimov
The size of the island’s flora is small enough. First of all, it consists of the cedar trailing shrub - a small trailing plant. Small-size birches are few in number and are the only true trees on the island. ©Photo credit: Anton Klimov
The size of the island’s flora is small enough. First of all, it consists of the cedar trailing shrub - a small trailing plant. Small-size birches are few in number and are the only true trees on the island. ©Photo credit: Anton Klimov
However, the fauna of the island is represented by numerous chipmunks that are not afraid of visitors. ©Photo credit: Anton Klimov
However, the fauna of the island is represented by numerous chipmunks that are not afraid of visitors. ©Photo credit: Anton Klimov
The ecosystem of the island is fragile enough: any fluctuation in the level of water in the lake strongly affects the size of Yarki, the animals living there, and Baikal itself. ©Photo credit: Anton Klimov
The ecosystem of the island is fragile enough: any fluctuation in the level of water in the lake strongly affects the size of Yarki, the animals living there, and Baikal itself. ©Photo credit: Anton Klimov
The water near the coast of Yarki is warm and full of fish; pike and perch are the most easily caught species, and the bed of the Kichera River located to the north of the island is rich in grayling. ©Photo credit: Anton Klimov
The water near the coast of Yarki is warm and full of fish; pike and perch are the most easily caught species, and the bed of the Kichera River located to the north of the island is rich in grayling. ©Photo credit: Anton Klimov
The island is located in a hard-to-reach area and has not been built up by tourist centres yet, so be ready to have rest in a tent! ©Photo credit: Anton Klimov
The island is located in a hard-to-reach area and has not been built up by tourist centres yet, so be ready to have rest in a tent! ©Photo credit: Anton Klimov

This water reservoir is a state natural biological reserve fenced off from Baikal by a 17-kilometer line of islands and sands of the Yarki Island.

The origin of this shallow bay is not completely clear, but there was an opinion that its origin was similar to Proval Bay, that is, it is the result of the seismic the activity of the Baikal nature.

The bay is a semi-closed water reservoir with its own specific ecosystem, different from Baikal. Its size after the construction of an HPP in Irkutsk and the increase in the level of Baikal water has undoubtedly grown; but a serious danger arose: there is a possibility of erosion of the Yarki island strip, flooding, and destruction of the peat bog islands (areas of non-sinking bog turf with powerful rhizomes). The damage done to them can greatly violate the natural conditions of the water reservoir, and we cannot just let it happen. After all, this place is a traditional habitat and breeding place of numerous species of fish and birds.

The water contains a huge amount of attractive food for these living creatures and water temperature can rise up to +24 degrees Celsius.

Therefore, the bay and the entire delta are extremely comfortable for living and feeding of various types of fish: taimen, black grayling, lenok, whitefish, perch, pike, burbot... But this the territory is especially important for the preservation of the Baikal cisco (omul) population. The fact is that the mouth of Kichera, as well as of other rivers flowing into Northern part of Baikal, as well as the Angarsky Sor, is a place on the spawning route of the Baikal cisco and downstream migration of its fry.

The bay is protected by the state not only for the purpose of saving the birds constantly living on this territory. It is also a transit route for the birds traveling to spend winter in the East and Southeast Asia, the Indian subcontinent, the Caspian Sea. They stay in the delta for different periods of time. Some birds, for example, waterfowl, remain there for a long period. Other birds are just “transit passengers”. 

Tell friends
Related articles
A “Rowanberry” River in the Crystal-clear Water of Baikal

The World Farm Animals Day is celebrated around the world today. Did you know that a goat once was a wild animal too? Moreover, wild goats still exist and of course live near Lake Baikal.

A “Rowanberry” River in the Crystal-clear Water of Baikal

Today our colleagues and good friends from the Baikal State Natural Biosphere Reserve are celebrating the anniversary of their institution. We congratulate our colleagues and tell our readers about the history of one of the most beautiful reserves of our country.

A “Rowanberry” River in the Crystal-clear Water of Baikal

Many things on Lake Baikal are not in line with logic and reason. The lake never fails to amaze us by the number of its secrets, so we never cease to admire when we get to know new natural phenomena that were previously unknown, such as, for example, singing sands that may soon become silent forever...

A “Rowanberry” River in the Crystal-clear Water of Baikal

We keep on introducing the rivers of Baikal to you. We would like to remind you that there are about 300 of them and they all perform their functions. Today we will talk about Abramikha where the main fish of the lake omul - comes to spawn in autumn.

«Рябиновая» река в хрустальной воде Байкала
«Рябиновая» река в хрустальной воде Байкала
© Фото: Первый Байкальский

«Рябиновая» река в хрустальной воде Байкала

На склонах Верхнеангарского хребта берет свое начало река Кичера, растянувшаяся до впадения в Байкал примерно на 135 километров.

Споры вокруг названия

«Рябиновая» река в хрустальной воде БайкалаВ знаменитой «Чертежной книге Сибири» С.У. Ремезова у реки иное имя – Ичерга. Бытует мнение, что здесь просматривается прямая связь с тунгусским (эвенкийским) «ичэри» – «шаманить», «вещать», «ворожить».

Но с современным названием реки все уже не так однозначно. Часть авторов полагают, что в основе, без сомненья, эвенкийская топонимика, но расходятся в изначальном термине. Одни утверждали, что Кичера – от слова «кичера», то есть «рябиновая». Вторые настаивали, что корень иной – «кочо»: «излучина», «изгиб реки», «извилистая река».

Известный иркутский ученый, краевед, топонимист С.А. Гурулев подчеркивал, что здесь налицо сугубо славянское переосмысление, основанное на созвучности с эвенкийским названием. В южнославянских и западнославянских языках корневая основа «кичера», «кусега», образует горные термины. Например, украинская «кичера» переводится как «гора, поросшая лесом, кроме вершины», или «крутая гора, поросшая лесом», или «вершина горы».

Путешествие Кичеры к Байкалу

По Северо-Байкальскому району Бурятии протекает река Кичера, водосборная площадь которой занимает около 2430 км². Ее в полной мере можно назвать подругой Верхней Ангары. Во-первых, недалеко от своего устья (примерно 16 – 18 км) Кичера объединяется со своей «приятельницей», 14-километровым протоком Ангаракан, ниже которого разбегается на три протоки. И, во-вторых, при впадении в Байкал она создает, вместе с Верхней Ангарой, дельту и уникальный залив Ангарский сор.

Кичеру питает достаточно большое количество невеликих притоков, крупнейшим из которых считается река Холодная (около 85 км).

Интереснейшей особенностью Кичеры является то, что по ходу ее течения встречается множество озер, часть которых она пересекает: Блудное, Верхнее Кичерское Большое, Верхнее Кичерское Малое, Кулинда (от эвенкийского «кулинда» – змея).

Извилистая река

 

Если смотреть на Кичеру с высоты полета вертолета, то хорошо видно, что ложе реки представляет собой систему петлеобразных изгибов, «нарисованных» природой. Русло настолько разнохарактерно, что легко делится на несколько частей.

Первый отрезок – исток Кичеры, который находится на высоте 1265 метров на территории расположившегося в северном Прибайкалье Верхнеангарского хребта. Протяженность этого сегмента около 10 – 15 км, которые можно описать как стандартную, с каменистым дном горную речку, протекающую по тесной корытообразной долине, окруженной отвесными склонами гольцов. Здесь Кичера пополняется водами нескольких притоков и вливается в озеро Кулинда.

Второй участок условно можно назвать «озерный». Его длина около 20 км, и в этом месте Кичера «проходит» сквозь вереницу крупных озер.

Следующий – средний, граница которого начинается со Второго Верхнего Кичерского озера и заканчивается в точке Пристань, между которыми «падение» реки – более 100 метров. И хотя долина Кичеры начинает расширяться, горы, «обнимающие» ее, не отступают. Наверное, этот участок объясняет, почему некоторые специалисты при определении названия отталкиваются от эвенкийского «кочо» – извилистая река. Тут Кичера сильно напоминает извивающуюся змею. Внушительные пороги и лесные завалы чередуются со спокойным течением воды, и поверхность дна тоже непостоянна – или покрыта галькой, или большими валунами.

И, наконец, последняя, нижняя часть, завершающаяся слиянием с Байкалом. Она тянется примерно 40 км, и здесь у Кичеры совершенно иное, спокойное настроение. Ее долина разрастается и соединяется с заболоченной низиной, в которой находится дельта Верхней Ангары.

Заповедный залив Ангарский сор

Дельты рек Кичера и Верхняя Ангара создали особый природный объект – залив Ангарский сор, который еще называют Верхне-Ангарский или Северо-Байкальский.

Далекая земля: чем знаменит самый красивый пляж Байкала@Далекая земля: чем знаменит самый красивый пляж Байкала
Далекая земля: чем знаменит самый красивый пляж Байкала
Остров Ярки имеет две половины – песчаную и болотистую. Его часто называют райским из-за бесконечных пляжей, быстро прогревающегося мелководья и из-за невероятных пейзажей, которые так и просятся на фотографии. ©Фото: Антон Климов
Остров Ярки имеет две половины – песчаную и болотистую. Его часто называют райским из-за бесконечных пляжей, быстро прогревающегося мелководья и из-за невероятных пейзажей, которые так и просятся на фотографии. ©Фото: Антон Климов
На острове достаточно миниатюрная флора. В первую очередь это кедровый стланик – небольшое стелющееся растение. Мелкие и немногочисленные березы – единственные настоящие деревья на острове. ©Фото: Антон Климов
На острове достаточно миниатюрная флора. В первую очередь это кедровый стланик – небольшое стелющееся растение. Мелкие и немногочисленные березы – единственные настоящие деревья на острове. ©Фото: Антон Климов
Зато животный мир острова представляют многочисленные бурундуки, не страшащиеся гостей. ©Фото: Антон Климов
Зато животный мир острова представляют многочисленные бурундуки, не страшащиеся гостей. ©Фото: Антон Климов
Экосистема острова довольно хрупкая: любое колебание уровня воды в озере сильно влияет и на размеры Ярков, и на животных, обитающих там, и на сам Байкал. ©Фото: Антон Климов
Экосистема острова довольно хрупкая: любое колебание уровня воды в озере сильно влияет и на размеры Ярков, и на животных, обитающих там, и на сам Байкал. ©Фото: Антон Климов
Вода у берега Ярков тепла, а также полна рыбы, среди которой наиболее податливы лову щука и окунь, а русло реки Кичера, находящейся к северу от острова, богато хариусом. ©Фото: Антон Климов
Вода у берега Ярков тепла, а также полна рыбы, среди которой наиболее податливы лову щука и окунь, а русло реки Кичера, находящейся к северу от острова, богато хариусом. ©Фото: Антон Климов
Остров расположен в труднодоступном районе и еще не застроен туристическими базами, поэтому приготовьтесь отдыхать в палатке! ©Фото: Антон Климов
Остров расположен в труднодоступном районе и еще не застроен туристическими базами, поэтому приготовьтесь отдыхать в палатке! ©Фото: Антон Климов

Этот водоем – государственный природный биологический заказник, отграниченный от Байкала 17-километровой линией островов и песков острова Ярки.

Происхождение этого мелководного залива до конца не ясно, но высказывалась точка зрения, что оно аналогично заливу Провал, то есть является результатом сейсмической деятельности природы Байкала.

Залив – это полузамкнутый водоем со своей специфической экосистемой, отличной от байкальской. Его размеры после возведения ГЭС в Иркутске и увеличения уровня Байкала несомненно расширились, но появилась серьезная опасность – возможность размывания полосы острова Ярки, затопления и разрушения сплавинных островов (площади нетонущего болотного дерна с мощными корневищами). Их повреждение может сильно нарушить естественные условия существования водоема, а этого невозможно допустить. Ведь он является традиционным местом обитания и размножения многочисленных видов рыб и птиц.

В воде для них содержится огромное количество привлекательного корма, а сама она может прогреваться до +24 градусов.

Поэтому залив и вся дельта крайне комфортна для проживания и нагула различного вида рыб: тайменя, черного хариуса, ленка, сига, окуня, щуки, налима… Но особо важное значение эта территория имеет для сохранения популяции омуля. Дело в том, что устье Кичеры, как и других рек, впадающих в Северный Байкал, а также Ангарский сор – это место нерестового пути байкальского омуля и ската его мальков.

Залив охраняется государством не только с целью защиты постоянно обитающих в этом ареале пернатых. Это еще и транзитный путь для птиц, отправляющихся на зимовку в Восточную и Юго-Восточную Азию, полуостров Индостан, Каспийское море. Задерживаются они в дельте на разное время. Кто-то, например, водоплавающие, остаются на длительный период. Кто-то является просто «транзитным пассажиром».

РАССКАЗАТЬ ДРУЗЬЯМ
Читайте также
«Рябиновая» река в хрустальной воде Байкала

Байкал — это не только поражающее своей красотой природное чудо, но и место силы, причем силы разрушительной, воистину пугающей. Рассказываем, почему байкальский регион так богат на сильнейшие землетрясения…

«Рябиновая» река в хрустальной воде Байкала

Болота сегодня ассоциируются не с самыми приятными впечатлениями. Путешественники стараются по возможности их избегать, тем временем они являются одними из важнейших элементов природы. Рассказываем о болотах Прибайкалья и чем они уникальны.

«Рябиновая» река в хрустальной воде Байкала

Сегодня мир отмечает Всемирный день сельскохозяйственных животных. Знали ли вы, что коза тоже когда-то была диким животным? Более того, дикие козы до сих пор существуют и, конечно же, живут на Байкале.

«Рябиновая» река в хрустальной воде Байкала

Сегодня день рождения у наших коллег и хороших друзей — Байкальского государственного природного биосферного заповедника. Мы поздравляем коллег и рассказываем об истории одного из самых красивых заповедников нашей страны.

×
Хотите знать, где у нерпы санаторий?

Читайте нас в Яндекс Дзен

Хочу!

Больше не показывать