Caddis Flies: One More Phenomenon of Baikal
Caddis Flies: One More Phenomenon of Baikal
© Фото: Первый Байкальский
May, 17

Caddis Flies: One More Phenomenon of Baikal

As the old-timers say, one of the most “Baikal” natural phenomena can be seen in spring, in May, when Baikal is preparing to surprise everyone with its beauties: it is a mass flight of caddis flies.

Caddis flies are the larvae of an incredibly diverse “team” of moths living in the grass and bushes along the coast of the lake.

The Professor Mikhail Kozhov stated that 37 species of caddis flies lived in Baikal, the majority of them (21 species) preferring warm shallow water, and the rest living in the more severe open waters of Baikal. Different information can also be found: the fauna of caddis flies of Baikal is represented by 53 species, 24 genera, 9 families. Besides, 14 species are endemic.

The inhabitants of Baikal call the caddis flies “lipachan”, from the Evenki “lipach” - stuck together; their other names are also “marsovik” and “ledyanka” (“ice fly”).

Transformation

Caddis Flies: One More Phenomenon of Baikal

Caddisflies are the aquatic insects of Baikal going through a full cycle of transformation during their lives.

Larva

A larva has an elongated body with a distinctive head, a chest with well developed thoracic legs and abdomen. Larvae live only in the water, constructing portable houses-caps of fanciful forms.

Pupa 

A pupa begins its life cycle in the cap that was created during the larvae stage. For a certain period of time it simply lives in Baikal water; whereas the last stage - turning it into an adult insect - is connected with staying in the air.

The pupa of caddis flies is “armed” with powerful upper jaws: it uses them to tear the front end of the cap before the transition to the imago stage (adult stage of the individual development of insects). Once a caddis fly is liberated, it does not hesitate to test its abilities to move on water: it swiftly swims on its back, making peculiar swimming movements with long medium legs (the insect has a total of six legs). Having reached the coast, the pupa gets out of the water and begins to rhythmically move its abdomen. The little body swells, spiracles open, and the insect is transformed into an adult individual - a small butterfly of dark (brown or yellowish-brown) color.

Imago

Adult caddisflies are extremely fragile creatures resembling hairy moths. It is quite simple to see the difference between a caddis fly and a butterfly - by the wings. The butterfly’s wings are covered with plates, while those of caddis flies are covered with hairs.

The famous Baikal researcher G. Yu. Vereshchagin noted that the Baikal caddis flies are bad flyers, and the majority of the species do not fly farther than a few tens of meters to both sides. Two forms of Baikal caddis flies are distinguished by their unique way of life: they are the representatives of the exclusive genus of Tamastes and one of the species of Baikalines. Their rear wings are shortened to such an extent that they cannot fly at all, but are adapted for swimming on the water surface.

He also suggested that the disappearance of the wings of some Baikal caddis flies was connected with rather powerful and frequent spring winds. And if the local caddis flies had the same wings as the main forms of their relatives do and could fly in the same way, the most part of them would pretty soon be carried away from the lake.

The life of the imago is short. At the end of June, they usually lay their eggs in the water of Baikal and die.

Where the Caddis Flies Live and Why They Are Called “Ledyanka” Flies (“Ice Flies”)

The caddisflies feel comfortable on the stone grounds of Baikal bays and on the snags of the lake shallows. In these places they form entire settlements, living in the “houses” made of small garbage and grains of sand, slowly moving along the bottom together with these houses, just like snails. If you have a closer look, these “moving houses” strongly resemble peculiar sand tubes. As Vereshchagin wrote back in 1949, caddisflies are a bright example of the development of living creatures living in Baikal completely separated from other members of the same group. The caddis larvae, obviously, spend more than one year in the lake, as it is usually the case in other water reservoirs; instead, they remain in the lake for three years, that is, they spend three winters in the lake. This feature is most probably associated with extremely low water temperatures in Baikal.

The caddis flies larvae are widespread in Baikal mainly at the depths of 2 to 20 meters, where their houses often cover separate stones with a thick cover made of several layers.

Beginning from mid-May (sometimes from April), large numbers of these insects appear on the surface of Baikal right out of the blue, purposefully moving towards the lake’s coast. And all the remaining ice is “painted” with peculiar black “streaks” that are relentlessly spreading along the coastline. These are the “crowds” of Baikal caddis flies pupae getting out from under the ice: it is no longer a solid monolith by this time of the year.

The warm spring sun softens the Baikal ice at the end of April, and the cracks filled with water penetrate the ice mass. These holes are used by the bottom inhabitants to get out to the surface and go on their last voyage.

A Living Compass

The way along the water is difficult: the pupae need to overcome the steep slopes of the ice breaks, the stains of water, as well as the obstacles of the impressive hummocks. However, the unique purposefulness of the movement of these small invertebrates is striking: they deliberately tend to reach the land, as if a special compass is “built into” them.

There is a story telling about a simple experiment. A separate individual was removed from the mass of its relatives and left among the high piles of ice – even a human could not see the coast from there. To ensure the study integrity, the caddis fly was also turned to different sides. But the insect always found the right way.

A Link in the Food Chain

Фото

The caddisflies are the perfect food for many inhabitants of Baikal and its coast. Larvae, pupae, as well as the adult caddisflies are extremely popular among Baikal fish, especially grayling and black lenok.

When purely forest birds arrive at the coast, they may have a real feast. For many birds on the coast, the feeding time of their chicks coincides with the mass arrival of caddis flies.

Even the mammals that are usually not very interested in animal feed (squirrels, chipmunks) completely change their diet in the presence of this easy prey.

However, the biggest connoisseur of caddis flies is rightfully considered the bear: this animal descends from the mountains to eat this delicacy and consumes up to 5-7 kilograms of caddis flies in one meal.

 

Tell friends
Related articles
Caddis Flies: One More Phenomenon of Baikal

Each member of the large family of Baikal rivers fills its own special place. This is also true of the small fifteen-kilometer Irinda River flowing in the area of the Barguzinsky Ridge in Severobaikalsky district of Buryatia, on the territory of the famous Barguzin Nature Reserve.

Caddis Flies: One More Phenomenon of Baikal

Tazheranskaya steppe - a sample of color and diversity of the Baikal nature.

Caddis Flies: One More Phenomenon of Baikal

Now that no more blank spots are left on the map, the new discoverers are speleologists looking for new caves. The guest of “Key to Baikal” will tell us about the ethical rules of visiting caves, the mystery of thermal anomalies and list the 5 best caves of the Baikal region.

Caddis Flies: One More Phenomenon of Baikal

Ayaya Bay is very picturesque. Local residents say that its name came from a cry: "Ay-aya, how beautiful!".

Ручейники: еще один феномен Байкала
Ручейники: еще один феномен Байкала
© Фото: Первый Байкальский
17 мая

Ручейники: еще один феномен Байкала

В мае, когда Байкал вовсю готовится удивлять своими летними красотами всех желающих, происходит, как говорят старожилы, одно из самых «байкальских» природных явлений — массовый лет ручейников…

Весной, в мае, когда Байкал вовсю готовится удивлять своими красотами всех желающих, происходит, как говорят старожилы, одно из самых «байкальских» природных явлений – массовый лет ручейников. Ручейники – это личинки невероятно разнообразной «команды» мотыльков, которые живут в траве и кустах вдоль побережья озера.

Профессор Михаил Кожов утверждал, что в Байкале обитает 37 видов ручейников, среди которых основная часть (21 вид) предпочитает теплое мелководье, а остальные живут в более суровых открытых водах Байкала. Встречается и иная информация: фауна ручейников озера представлена 53 видами, 24 родами, 9 семействами. При этом целых 14 видов – эндемики.

Жители Байкала называют ручейников липачаном, от эвенкийского «липача» – слипшиеся, а еще марсовик и ледянка.

Превращение

Ручейники: еще один феномен БайкалаРучейники – это водные насекомые Байкала, проходящие в своей жизни полный цикл превращения.

Личинка У личинки вытянутое тельце, на котором четко выделяются головка, грудь с хорошо развитыми грудными ногами и брюшко. Личинки живут исключительно в воде, сооружая переносные домики-чехлики причудливых форм.

Куколка Куколка начинает свой жизненный цикл в чехлике, который был создан еще в стадии личинки. Определенный период времени она легко живет в байкальской воде, а последний период – превращение во взрослое насекомое – связан уже с пребыванием в воздушном пространстве.

Куколка ручейника «вооружена» сильными верхними челюстями, которыми она, перед переходом в имаго (взрослая стадия индивидуального развития насекомых), вспарывает передний конец чехлика. Выбравшись на волю, она сразу же проверяет свои способности передвигаться по воде – проворно плавает на спине, совершая при этом своеобразные гребные движения длинными средними (у нее их шесть) ножками. Доплыв до берега, куколка выбирается из воды и начинает ритмично двигать брюшком. Тельце раздувается, открываются дыхальца, и происходит преображение во взрослую особь – маленькую бабочку темного (коричневого или желтовато-бурого) цвета.

Имаго

Взрослые ручейники – крайне хрупкие создания, напоминающие волосатых молей. И увидеть разницу между ручейником и бабочкой довольно просто – по крылышкам. У последних они покрыты чешуйками, а у ручейников – именно волосками.

Известнейший исследователь Байкала Г. Ю. Верещагин отмечал, что байкальские ручейники плохие летуны, и большинство видов дальше нескольких десятков метров от озера в стороны не залетает. Две формы ручейников Байкала отличаются оригинальным образом жизни: это представители исключительного рода тамастес и один из видов байкалин. Они имеют настолько укороченные задние крылья, что вовсе не могут летать, а приспособлены к плаванию на поверхности воды.

Он же предположил, что исчезновение крыльев у некоторых байкальских ручейников связано с очень сильными и частыми весенними ветрами. И если бы местные ручейники обладали такими же крыльями, как и у основных форм их сородичей, и соответствующим образом летали, то их, в большинстве своем, очень скоро унесло бы от озера.

Жизнь имаго коротка. В конце июня они, обычно в воду Байкала, откладывают свои яйца и погибают.

Где живут ручейники и почему их называют ледянками

Прекрасно себя чувствуют ручейники и на каменистом грунте байкальских заливов, и на коряжинах озерного мелководья. Здесь они образуют целые поселения, в возведенных из мелкого мусора и песчинок домиках, с которыми, как и улитки, неспешно перемещаются по дну. Если посмотреть, то эти «передвигающиеся жилища» очень похожи на своеобразные песчаные трубочки. Как писал еще в 1949 году Верещагин, ручейники – это яркий пример развития живых существ в Байкале совершенно обособленно от других представителей той же группы. Личинки ручейников, по-видимому, проводят в озере не один год, как это бывает обычно в других водоемах, а три, то есть трижды перезимовывая. Эта особенность, скорее всего, связана с исключительно низкими температурами воды в Байкале.

Личинки ручейников распространены в Байкале преимущественно на глубинах от 2 до 20 метров, где их домики нередко в несколько слоев густо покрывают отдельные камни.

А с середины мая (иногда и в апреле) они как-то сразу, в огромном количестве, возникают на поверхности Байкала, целенаправленно продвигаясь к его берегу. И весь оставшийся лед «изрисован» своеобразными черными «потеками», неумолимо растекающимися по береговой линии. Это «толпы» куколок байкальских ручейников выбираются из-подо льда, который к этому времени уже не является крепким монолитом.

Припекающее весеннее солнце еще в конце апреля размягчает байкальский лед, и он пронизывается наполняемыми водой трещинами. В эти отверстия и «просачиваются» донные обитатели, выбираясь на поверхность  и отправляясь в свое последнее плаванье.

Живой компас

Путь по воде нелегкий: необходимо преодолеть и крутые склоны разломов льда, и разводы воды, и преграды из внушительных торосов. Но поражает уникальная направленность движения этих маленьких беспозвоночных, которые целенаправленно, как будто в них «вшит» специальный компас, устремляются на сушу.

Встречается рассказ о простом эксперименте. Отдельную особь извлекли из массы ей подобных и специально оставили среди высоких нагромождений льда, где даже человеку не был виден берег. Ради «чистоты» исследования, ручейника еще и переворачивали, чтобы сбить с пути. Но он неумолимо находил верную  дорогу.

Звено в пищевой цепочке

Фото

Ручейники являются прекрасной пищей для многих обитателей Байкала и его побережья. И личинки, и куколки, и взрослые ручейники крайне популярны среди байкальских рыб, в первую очередь хариуса и черного ленка.

Наступает пир и у птиц, когда на берег прилетают сугубо лесные представители пернатой братии. У многих птиц побережья время выкармливания птенцов напрямую связано с массовым летом липачан. 

Даже такие млекопитающие, которые, как правило, не особо увлекаются животным кормом (белки, бурундуки), полностью переключают свой рацион на легкую добычу.

Но самым большим ценителем ручейника по праву считается медведь, который специально спускается с гор и за один прием пищи сгребает в пасть до 5-7 килограммов лакомства.

 

РАССКАЗАТЬ ДРУЗЬЯМ
Читайте также
Ручейники: еще один феномен Байкала

Байкал — это не только поражающее своей красотой природное чудо, но и место силы, причем силы разрушительной, воистину пугающей. Рассказываем, почему байкальский регион так богат на сильнейшие землетрясения…

Ручейники: еще один феномен Байкала

Болота сегодня ассоциируются не с самыми приятными впечатлениями. Путешественники стараются по возможности их избегать, тем временем они являются одними из важнейших элементов природы. Рассказываем о болотах Прибайкалья и чем они уникальны.

Ручейники: еще один феномен Байкала

Сегодня мир отмечает Всемирный день сельскохозяйственных животных. Знали ли вы, что коза тоже когда-то была диким животным? Более того, дикие козы до сих пор существуют и, конечно же, живут на Байкале.

Ручейники: еще один феномен Байкала

Сегодня день рождения у наших коллег и хороших друзей — Байкальского государственного природного биосферного заповедника. Мы поздравляем коллег и рассказываем об истории одного из самых красивых заповедников нашей страны.

×
Хотите знать, где у нерпы санаторий?

Читайте нас в Яндекс Дзен

Хочу!

Больше не показывать