Goloustnaya River: the Peaceful Harbor of Lake Baikal
© Photo: Key To Baikal
August, 17

Goloustnaya River: the Peaceful Harbor of Lake Baikal

A distinctive feature of the Goloustnaya River delta is its extremely favorable conditions for the life of waterfowl and semiaquatic birds.

The name “Goloustnaya” provokes ambiguous associations of the residents of Irkutsk Oblast: some think about a mountain, a picturesque clean river with plenty of fish; others imagine a large village on the very coast of the famous lake - Bolshoye Goloustnoye, and some indicate that there is one another settlement with a similar name - Maloye Goloustnoye.

The basin of the Goloustnaya River is located on the territory of the Baikal National Park. It stretches to almost 130 km from source to mouth, with a 55 meter-wide branch near Bolshoye Goloustnoye that flows into Lake Baikal.

The use of the river by people has changed over time. Until the middle of the last century, the so-called log drifting was carried out there: it is a type of transportation of processed logs without branches that floated on water, most often not even connected to each other; at the place of delivery people created special barriers to stop them (dams).

Today Goloustnaya River is used for water supply, rafting and fishing.

The Exact Name

Goloustnaya River: the Peaceful Harbor of Lake Baikal

Goloustnaya originates on the northern slope of the Primorsky Range, opposite the Khargino Gorge, which is located not so far from Lake Baikal. But then, for some reason, it does not run into the lake right away, but makes a large loop, dividing into several channels running across the steppe. However, most of them have a dry bottom instead of water, so water flows into Baikal only along the remaining three channels. And if you look at this from afar, you will see only the bare mouths, which corresponds to the name of the river in Russian - Goloustnaya. In addition, the name perfectly describes the treeless, “bare” terrain of the region.

Now researchers have the map of Lake Baikal compiled by an unknown author, dated by 1806, with the designation of the rivers flowing into the lake. The higher reaches of Goloustnaya are designated as “Khapkola”. A famous expert in Baikal toponymy Stanislav Gurulev suggested that the name Khapkola represented the pre-Russian name of the entire Goloustnaya.

By the way, the Buryats called the river “Idin-Gol” (from the word “idi” meaning “water”).

The Tributaries of the Goloustnaya River

Goloustnaya is supplied by the waters of a large number of springs, streams and rivers. The largest of them (with a length of more than 20 km) are Nizhny Kachergat, Verkhny Kachergat, Uruntin, Kungin (right tributaries), Ilga, Kolesma Morskaya (left tributaries).

The most part of these names has been preserved until our time since bygone centuries, beginning from about XVII.

The semantic content of “Kochergat” is controversial. Some mention the famous Evenki (Tungus) Kachergat family. Others believe that the name was derived from the Yakut language and its literal translation means “the squeaking sound of the sleds”. One of the most common explanations is connected with the word stem “charga”, “cherga”, and “sherga” meaning “hunting sledges”, and “koch” - “nomadic way of life”. The origins are traced to the ancient borrowings from the Buryat, Mongolian, and Yakut languages.

It is proposed to trace the name “Uruntin” to the Evenki “urutn” meaning “a hoof”.

The etymology of “Ilga” is also unclear. Perhaps the explanation lies in the Evenki word “ilge” meaning “flexible, agile, lively” or the Yakut “ilge” – “abundance, wealth, prosperity”…

The Broadest Delta of the Western Coast of Lake Baikal

The source of Goloustnaya is located only 5 km away from the Baikal coast. The river goes to the northwest, after 20 km it suddenly turns to the southwest, and at a distance about 22 km from the lake it turns to the southeast, crossing the Primorsky Ridge.

At the place of its confluence with Lake Baikal, the river makes up a delta (about 5 km long and about 4 km wide) that protrudes into the lake to a distance of 2 km; this delta is the most extensive on the western coast, from the southern end of the water reservoir to the island of Olkhon.

The Inhabitants of the River

A distinctive feature of the Goloustnaya River delta is its extremely favorable conditions for the life of waterfowl and semiaquatic birds. The fact is that the delta is swamped, and namely these marshy areas are the only place on the western coast of the lake suitable for habitat of such common birds as mallard, common teal, merganser, tufted duck, and rare species of Irkutsk Oblast: ruddy shelduck and common pochard. Some time ago one could see one of the most beautiful ducks of the lake – Baikal teal – there.

Before Pribaikalsky National Park was arranged on these areas, they were successfully used for duck hunting, but now they are a special ornithological zone where the nests of the birds listed in the Red Book are protected.

Besides, thousands of ducks stop in the delta to have rest during a flight.

And in spring, in April-May, grayling and lenok spawn there.

The Green Blanket of Goloustnaya

The flora in the river basin is very diverse. If we exemplify this fact by specific data, then about 830 species of vascular plants can be found there, which is about 40% of all plant species of the entire Irkutsk Oblast. Relict species of different ages and endemic species of various ranks can also be found there.

The most famous are the cedar forests in the Goloustnaya River basin. The area of these forests amounted to about 15 thousand hectares in 1989, when a special security of use was established on that territory. Unfortunately, constant fires on the coast of Lake Baikal respect nothing and no one, destroying the trees and killing forest inhabitants.

Yet, since ancient times people have been collecting berries, mushrooms, wild leek and various medicinal herbs - bush cinquefoil, Greek-valerian polemonium, black leaves of bergenia, thyme in the Goloustnaya Valley...

For Tourists’ Record

Tourists come here for pretty simple rafting on kayaks and inflatable boats. There are no rapids on the river; in summer Golustnaya is usually affluent and it is easy to reach Baikal, following this river.

Locals love Golustnaya for such things as wildlife, unique landscapes and dazzling silence.

Tell friends
Related articles
Goloustnaya River: the Peaceful Harbor of Lake Baikal

Academician Okladnikov believed that the name of the Kika River (with the emphasis on the second syllable) was derived from the Turkic “green river”. This is the name of one of 336 rivers flowing into Lake Baikal.

Goloustnaya River: the Peaceful Harbor of Lake Baikal

Why should one remember about an ordinary hare - the animal with the nickname “squint-eye” that is considered a coward?

Goloustnaya River: the Peaceful Harbor of Lake Baikal

A specially protected natural monument of regional significance – “Anglichanka” Rock – is situat-ed in Selenginsky district of Buryatia. Now it is known as an observation deck with a picturesque view of the Selenga and Spassky Cathedral dated by the 18th century. However, in 1818-1841, Protestant preachers lived here. Key to Baikal explored how the life of the missionaries was con-nected with the rock, what kind of girl was wandering around it and what the London missionary society had to do with it.

Goloustnaya River: the Peaceful Harbor of Lake Baikal

The name of the valley originated from local “Bargut” which means “outskirts, wilderness”. It was a name of Mongolian tribe that used to inhabit the valley.

Река Голоустная: тихая гавань Байкала
© Фото: Первый Байкальский
17 августа 2019 #реки Байкала

Река Голоустная: тихая гавань Байкала

Первый Байкальский продолжает знакомить вас с реками Байкала. На этот раз речь пойдет о реке Голоустная, которая стала домом для байкальских пернатых и куда туристы приезжают на сбор ягод и грибов.

У жителей Иркутской области название «Голоустная» вызывает неоднозначные ассоциации: кто-то представляет горную, живописную, рыбную, чистую реку; кто-то – довольно большой поселок на самом берегу знаменитого озера, Большое Голоустное, а некоторые уточняют, что есть и другой населенный пункт – Малое Голоустное.

Бассейн реки Голоустная находится на территории Прибайкальского национального парка. От истока до устья растянулась она почти на 130 км, 55-метровым в ширину рукавом подходя к Большому Голоустному и, рядом с ним, вливаясь в воды Байкала.

Предназначение реки на протяжении времени менялось. До середины прошлого века по ней проводился так называемый молевой сплав леса – вид перемещения обработанных, без веток и сучьев, бревен, которые сами плыли по воде, чаще всего даже не связанные друг с другом, а в месте доставки для их остановки создавали специальные преграды (плотины).

Сегодня Голоустная используется для водоснабжения, сплавов и рыболовства.

Точное название

Река Голоустная: тихая гавань БайкалаСвое начало Голоустная берет на северном склоне Приморского хребта, напротив пади Харгино, что не так далеко от Байкала. Но затем, по неизвестной причине, бежит не сразу в озеро, а делает большую петлю, разделяясь на несколько пронизывающих степь русел. Но вместо воды в большинстве из них – сухое дно, и в Байкал вода втекает только по оставшимся трем. И если смотреть на эту картину издалека, то предстают одни только голые устья, что и соответствует имени – Голоустная. Ко всему, оно прекрасно подчеркивает наличие безлесой, «голой» местности в этом районе.

Сегодня у исследователей есть карта Байкала 1806 года с обозначением питающих ее рек, составленная неизвестным автором. На ней верховья Голоустной обозначены как Хапкола. Известный специалист в области прибайкальской топонимики Станислав Гурулев предполагал, что название Хапкола представляет собою дорусское название всей Голоустной.

А буряты именовали реку Идин-Гол (от иди-вода).

Притоки реки Голоустной

Подпитывается Голоустная водами довольно многочисленных ключей, ручьев и речек. Самые большие из них (протяженностью больше 20 км) – Нижний Качергат, Верхний Качергат, Урунтин, Кунгин (правые притоки), Илга, Колесма Морская (левые притоки).

Основная часть этих названий дошла до нас из прошлых веков, примерно из XVII.

Смысловое наполнение «кочергат» спорно и неоднозначно. Где-то упоминают об известном роде эвенков (тунгусов) Качергэт. Кто-то считает, что название произошло из якутского языка и в буквальном переводе означает «скрип саней». Одно из самых распространенных объяснений связано с корнем чарга, черга, шерга – «охотничьи сани-нарты», и коч – «кочевка». Истоки – в древних заимствованиях и бурятского, и монгольского, и якутского языков.

Урунтин же предлагается производить от эвенкийского «урутн» –копыто.

Не ясна и этимология Илги. Возможно, объяснение в эвенкийском «илгэ» – гибкий, ловкий, бойкий, или якутском «илгэ» – изобилие, богатство, достаток...

Самая обширная дельта западного побережья Байкала

Исток Голоустной – всего в 5 км от байкальского берега. Направляясь на северо-запад, русло через 20 км внезапно сворачивает на юго-запад и, не доходя примерно 22 км до озера – на юго-восток, пересекает Приморский хребет.

В месте слияния с Байкалом она создает вынесенную на 2 км в озеро самую обширную на западном побережье, от южной оконечности водоема до острова Ольхон, дельту (примерно 5 км в длину и около 4 – в ширину).

Обитатели реки

Характерной чертой дельты реки Голоустная являются крайне благоприятные условия для проживания водоплавающих и околоводных птиц. Дело в том, что дельта заболочена, и именно на этих топких участках прекрасно обитают, в единственном месте западного побережья озера, как обычные для этой территории кряква, чирок-свистунок, длинноногий крохаль, хохлатая чернеть, так и редкие в Иркутской области виды типа огаря и красноголового нырка. А когда-то здесь можно было встретить и одну из красивейших уток Байкала – клокотуна.

До того, как на данных землях организовали Прибайкальский национальный парк, они успешно использовались для утиной охоты, но сейчас это особая орнитологическая зона, где охраняются гнездовья птиц, занесенных в Красную книгу.

Ко всему, на пролете в дельте останавливаются передохнуть тысячи уток.

А весной, в апреле-мае, здесь нерестится хариус и ленок.

Зеленое покрывало Голоустной

Растительный мир в бассейне реки очень разнообразен. Если иллюстрировать конкретными данными, то здесь представлено около 830 видов сосудистых растений, а это примерно 40% флористического запаса всей Иркутской области. Встречаются и реликтовые виды разного возраста, и эндемики различного ранга.

Наибольшую известность имеют кедровники в бассейне реки Голоустной. Их площадь, на момент установления в 1989 году особого режима использования, составляла около 15 тысяч гектаров. К сожалению, постоянные пожары на побережье Байкала не щадят ничего и никого, уничтожая и деревья, и лесных обитателей. 

И все же издавна в долине Голоустной занимались сбором ягод, грибов, черемши и многообразных лекарственных трав – курильского чая, синюхи голубой, черных листьев бадана, чабреца…

Туристам на заметку

Туристы приезжают сюда ради несложных сплавов на байдарках и надувных лодках. На реке нет порогов, летом Голустная, как правило, довольно полноводна, и по ней легко спуститься до самого Байкала.

Дикая природа, уникальные пейзажи и завораживающая тишина – то, за что Голоустную любят местные. 

РАССКАЗАТЬ ДРУЗЬЯМ
Читайте также
Река Голоустная: тихая гавань Байкала

Когда замерзает озеро? Как долго держится лед? Какие называются разновидности байкальского льда? Все ответы в наглядной инфографике Первого Байкальского

Река Голоустная: тихая гавань Байкала

Многие люди, живущие вдоль берегов Байкала, верят в его сверхъестественную силу. Порой озеро считают чуть ли не живым организмом или порталом в другой мир. В канун Дня всех святых мы вспомнили одну страшную легенду...

Река Голоустная: тихая гавань Байкала

Если открыть дома кран на полную мощность, стакан воды наберется за 1 секунду. Чтобы наполнить таким образом озеро Байкал, пришлось бы не выключать воду 4,5 млрд лет.

Река Голоустная: тихая гавань Байкала

Почему росомаху называют обжорой? Как выглядит «хостел» для черношапочных сурков? Сколько еды может унести за щеками бурундук? Правда ли, что ондатра ест под водой, не открывая рта? Интересные факты о животных, обитающих на восточном берегу Байкала.