The Spotted Master of Snowy Mountains
The Spotted Master of Snowy Mountains
© Фото: Первый Байкальский
August, 08

The Spotted Master of Snowy Mountains

International Cat Day is celebrated on August 8. Of course, this holiday is dedicated to the cute domestic animals, but the snow leopard, also known as “ounce”, is a cat as well, although a very large one.

The ancient Turkic name of the predator was “irbis” (irbiz) that was also adopted by the Russian population, including Siberians. Today this word is used in Russian literature as a synonym for the snow leopard. The animal has always caused respect of the peoples living on the same territory; this unique creature has lived mainly in the highlands.

The snow leopard is a species listed in the Red Book. It is mysterious, understudied, and pretty vulnerable. All researchers of this rare animal are amazed at the fact how it not only manages to survive in the most difficult natural conditions, but also remains an unnoticed, almost mythical creature.

But You Will Find This Cat Only in the Mountains

The snow leopard resides among the rocky mountains, from the Himalayas to the East Sayan Mountains. The snow leopard living on this large territory is represented by only one genus and species; no subspecies have been identified yet.

The world’s northernmost snow leopards live in the Sayan Mountains. Nobody can tell the accurate number of animal population living there. Firstly, it is literally an entire mountainous country with about 15 thousand square kilometers of mountain taiga potentially suitable as a habitat for the snow leopard. It is hard to trace the animals! Secondly, the snow leopard changes its location, moving along the Eastern Sayan Mountains, and going to the places where it had not been seen before.

Some authors argue that the snow leopard most likely lived in the East Sayan Mountains in ancient times. Some, on the contrary, notice that the fact of the existence of a snow leopard there has been recently brought into question due to the lack of recognized empirical material.

The history of the phenomenon is not completely clear, but the presence of the snow leopard in Tunkinskiye and Kitoyskiye bald mountains, on Munku-Sardyk, as well as adjacent sections of the mountain territory, cannot be denied today. They animal’s traces have also been found on the ridges of  Khamar-Daban, Dzun-Murinsky, Dzhidinsky, as well as on the coast of the southern part of Lake Baikal.

The Snow Leopard is Crazy Gorgeous

Gorgeous Snow Leopards@Знакомьтесь, снежный барс
Gorgeous Snow Leopards
© Photo: http://depositphotos.com/
© Photo: http://depositphotos.com/
© Photo: http://depositphotos.com/
© Photo: http://depositphotos.com/
© Photo: http://depositphotos.com/
© Photo: http://depositphotos.com/
© Photo: http://depositphotos.com/
© Photo: http://depositphotos.com/
© Photo: http://depositphotos.com/
© Photo: http://depositphotos.com/

The size of the snow leopard is larger than that of the lynx. A leopard has a long (slightly longer than one meter), but squatty body, high and broad powerful legs, an elevated sacral part of the body, which is basically typical of ordinary small cats. The average weight of the animal reaches 60 kilograms.

Against the background of the body, the head is small, rounded, with a massive skull. The eyes are quite substantial, wide-set; whereas the ears are short, rounded, almost invisible in winter because they are “hidden” in the fur. The whiskers (vibrissae) are white and black, about 105 millimeters long.

One of the brightest distinctive features of the snow leopard is its tail with the length almost equaling the entire body length. The tail is covered with very long and thick, although loose hair, therefore it looks very thick and fluffy. The very tip of the tail is usually black on top.

The tail of the snow leopard is either bent upward in an arc with its tip pointing to the back, or it is strongly lowered and “drags” behind the owner, leaving a long strip of a trace in the snow as the animal goes forward.  The tail is not purely decorative. It is also a kind of a steering wheel that helps to perform artful big leaps during the hunt.

The snow leopard’s color also catches the eye: its fur is smoky gray, with ring-shaped dark spots – these are larger on the back (up to 8 centimeters in diameter), the spots are evenly distributed throughout the entire body. However, spots are situated rather sparsely, which is a clear distinction of the snow leopard from the leopard.

There are no gender differences in the fur color, but its color varies as the seasons change. Winter fur is very fluffy, silky, soft, with a pronounced smoky tint and blurred spots. Summer fur is characterized by light, almost white background, and the outlines of dark spots are sharp, almost black.

The Snow Leopard is Wary, Just Like Any Cat

The behavior of the snow leopard has been studied rather poorly, mainly due to the animals’ unique ability to lead a secluded lifestyle and literally “dissolve into thin air”.

We know that snow leopards are single vagrants, but nature itself promotes their contacts with each other. In the majority of cases, the snow leopard “marks” its territory, but other individuals of the species may be seen at this place, which demonstrates some intragroup features in the lifestyle of snow leopards. Females live on the male’s territory, besides, scientists suggest that not only males, but also females can dominate.

The snow leopard is a very cautious, but vulnerable animal, which is compensated by high mobility, the ability to travel to long distances, and, consequently, the ability to maintain a full-scale communication within the community over a vast territory.

The snow leopard is a dangerous predator and an excellent “expert” in the field of survival under difficult conditions. The animal leads a dusk lifestyle, arranging its dwelling in caves or cracks among the rocks, where the animal hides during the day. The snow leopard prefers to hunt before sunset or at dawn. These animals are known to have two most common hunting techniques. The first one is used when the animal carefully creeps up to the prey from under cover, the second technique is waiting for a prey in a certain place. As the distance between the predator and the victim reduces to several tens of meters, the leopard makes a powerful leap to a distance of up to 7 meters. If it is impossible to catch its meal right at once, as a rule, the snow leopard will not chase the prey it missed.

The snow leopard’s main trophies are mountain ungulates: Siberian ibex goat, musk deer, roe deer... It can also hunt young boars, hares, even partridges. The snow leopard eats up to 4 kilograms of meat at once.

The animal is extremely poorly adapted to traveling on a high loose snow cover or snow crust. It tramples the loose snow, making trails, and then it constantly walks only on these trails.

In comparison with other large cats - tiger, panther, American leopard, the snow leopard has a different attitude to humans. Scientists don’t have any information about snow leopards eating or hunting humans. A snow leopard is able to kill a hunting dog, female leopards can also show aggression, protecting their kittens.

The best way to preserve and increase the population of the snow leopard in Baikal region is to avoid active interference with the animal’s life and to just let it survive on its own in a calm atmosphere.

Tell friends
Related articles
The Spotted Master of Snowy Mountains

The World Farm Animals Day is celebrated around the world today. Did you know that a goat once was a wild animal too? Moreover, wild goats still exist and of course live near Lake Baikal.

The Spotted Master of Snowy Mountains

Today our colleagues and good friends from the Baikal State Natural Biosphere Reserve are celebrating the anniversary of their institution. We congratulate our colleagues and tell our readers about the history of one of the most beautiful reserves of our country.

The Spotted Master of Snowy Mountains

Many things on Lake Baikal are not in line with logic and reason. The lake never fails to amaze us by the number of its secrets, so we never cease to admire when we get to know new natural phenomena that were previously unknown, such as, for example, singing sands that may soon become silent forever...

The Spotted Master of Snowy Mountains

We keep on introducing the rivers of Baikal to you. We would like to remind you that there are about 300 of them and they all perform their functions. Today we will talk about Abramikha where the main fish of the lake omul - comes to spawn in autumn.

Пятнистый хозяин заснеженных гор
Пятнистый хозяин заснеженных гор
© Фото: Первый Байкальский
6 августа #животные

Пятнистый хозяин заснеженных гор

8 августа — Международный день кошек. Конечно, этот праздник посвящается домашним усатым, но снежный барс, или ирбис — тоже кошка, только очень большая.

Ирбис (ирбиз) – это древнетюркское название хищника, которое было принято и у русского населения, в том числе сибирского. И сегодня «ирбис» употребляется в литературе как синоним снежного барса. Он всегда вызывал уважение у народов, живущих с ним на одной территории, а обитало и обитает это уникальное создание природы, в основном, в высокогорьях.

Снежный барс – это вид, занесенный в Красную книгу. Вид таинственный, малоизученный и довольно уязвимый. Всех исследователей этого редкого зверя поражает, как он не только выживает в сложнейших условиях, созданных для него природой, но и умудряется оставаться незамеченным, почти мифическим существом.

Только в горах эту кошку найдешь

Снежный барс – житель скалистых гор, от Гималаев и до Восточного Саяна. И на всем этом огромном пространстве ирбис представлен только одним родом и видом, и даже подвидов до сих пор не выявлено.

В Восточном Саяне живут самые северные в мире снежные барсы. Их численность здесь точно никто назвать не сможет. Во-первых, это, в буквальном смысле, целая горная страна, где примерно 15 тысяч квадратных километров горно-таежной местности, потенциально подходящей для проживания снежного барса. Попробуй уследи! Во-вторых, ирбис меняет места своей дислокации, перемещаясь по Восточному Саяну и заходя в те места, где его раньше не видели.

Некоторые авторы утверждают, что ирбис, скорее всего, обитал в Восточном Саяне еще в давние времена. Кто-то, наоборот, замечает, что еще совсем недавно сам факт существования снежного барса здесь ставился под сомнение из-за отсутствия признанного эмпирического материала.

История вопроса до конца не ясна, но наличие в Тункинских и Китойских гольцах, на Мунку-Сардыке, а также прилегающих к ним участках горной территории ирбиса сегодня уже неоспоримо. Обнаруживают и следы его пребывания на хребтах Хамар-Дабан, Дзун-Муринском, Джидинском, а также на побережье южной части озера Байкал.

Ирбис сказочно красив

Знакомьтесь, снежный барс@Знакомьтесь, снежный барс
Знакомьтесь, снежный барс
Снежный барс – это вид, занесенный в Красную книгу. Вид таинственный, малоизученный и довольно уязвимый. © Фото: http://depositphotos.com/
Снежный барс – это вид, занесенный в Красную книгу. Вид таинственный, малоизученный и довольно уязвимый. © Фото: http://depositphotos.com/
Снежный барс живет на территории скалистых гор, от Гималаев и до Восточного Саяна. © Фото: http://depositphotos.com/
Снежный барс живет на территории скалистых гор, от Гималаев и до Восточного Саяна. © Фото: http://depositphotos.com/
В Восточном Саяне живут самые северные в мире снежные барсы. Их численность здесь точно никто назвать не сможет.© Фото: http://depositphotos.com/
В Восточном Саяне живут самые северные в мире снежные барсы. Их численность здесь точно никто назвать не сможет.© Фото: http://depositphotos.com/
Одна из самых явных отличительных черт снежного барса – хвост, протяженность которого практически близка к размерам тела. © Фото: http://depositphotos.com/
Одна из самых явных отличительных черт снежного барса – хвост, протяженность которого практически близка к размерам тела. © Фото: http://depositphotos.com/
Повадки ирбиса изучены довольно слабо, во многом из-за его уникальной способности к скрытому образу жизни и умению «растворяться» в пространстве. © Фото: http://depositphotos.com/
Повадки ирбиса изучены довольно слабо, во многом из-за его уникальной способности к скрытому образу жизни и умению «растворяться» в пространстве. © Фото: http://depositphotos.com/

По своим размерам ирбис крупнее, чем рысь. У него длинное (чуть более метра), но приземистое тело, высокие широкие мощные лапы, приподнятый крестцовый участок туловища, что, кстати, характерно для обычных мелких кошек. Вес зверя, в среднем, доходит до 60 килограмм.

Относительно тела голова небольшая, округлая, с массивным черепом. Глаза широко посаженные, а уши короткие, закругленные и зимой их почти не видно, так как они «спрятаны» в мехе. Усы (вибриссы) белого и черного цвета, около 105 миллиметров.

Одна из самых явных отличительных черт снежного барса – хвост, протяженность которого практически близка к размерам тела. Хвост покрыт очень длинными и густыми, неплотно прилегающими волосами, поэтому  выглядит очень толстым и пышным. Самый кончик хвоста сверху обычно черный.

Хвост у снежного барса либо загнут кверху дугой, так, что конец его направлен к спине, либо сильно опущен и «тащится» за хозяином, оставляя на снегу, вдоль его следов, длинную полосу. И это не просто элемент украшения. Хвост – это руль, помогающий выполнять виртуозные, огромные прыжки во время охоты.

Привлекает внимание и окраска снежного барса, дымчато-серая, с кольцеобразными темными пятнами, более крупными на спине (до 8 сантиметров в диаметре) и сплошными по всему телу. Но разбросаны пятна довольно редко, что однозначно отличает ирбиса от барса.

Половых различий в окраске «шубки» нет, но ее цвет варьируется в зависимости от времени года. Зимний мех очень пышный, шелковистый, мягкий, с явно выраженным дымчатым налетом и «размытостью» пятен. В летнем же одеянии общий фон более светлый, почти белый, а очертания темных пятен резкие, практически черные.

Барс осторожен, как всякая кошка

Повадки ирбиса изучены довольно слабо, во многом из-за его уникальной способности к скрытому образу жизни и буквально умению «растворяться» в пространстве.

Мы знаем, что ирбисы – странники-одиночки, но сама природа стимулирует их контакты друг с другом. В большинстве случаев снежный барс «метит» свои участки, но в этом месте могут отмечаться и другие особи, что указывает на некоторые внутригрупповые особенности в активности снежных барсов. Самки живут на участке самца, и ученые предполагают, что есть не только доминирующие самцы, но и самки.

Снежный барс очень осторожный зверь, но уязвимый, что уравновешивается высокой степенью подвижности, способностью перемещаться на дальние расстояния, а следовательно, и умением поддерживать высокую степень общения внутри сообщества на огромной территории.

Снежный барс – грозный хищник и прекрасный «профессионал» в сфере выживания в сложных условиях. Он ведет сумеречный образ жизни, устраивая жилище в пещерах или расселинах среди скал, где и прячется днем. Охотиться ирбис предпочитает перед закатом солнца или утром на рассвете. Известно о двух его наиболее распространенных охотничьих приемах. Первый – это когда зверь осторожно подкрадывается к добыче из-за прикрытий, второй – караулит ее в определенном месте. Затем, дожидаясь сокращения расстояния между собой и жертвой до нескольких десятков метров, совершает стремительный рывок и грандиозные прыжки до 7 метров. Если сразу «обед» не попался, ирбис, как правило, гнаться за упущенным шансом не будет.

Основной его трофей – горные копытные: сибирский горный козел, кабарга, косуля… Это может быть и молодой кабан, и заяц, и даже куропатка. За один раз ирбис съедает до 4 килограммов мяса.

Крайне плохо приспособлен ирбис к передвижению по высокому, рыхлому снежному покрову или насту. Там, где лежит рыхлый снег, он протаптывает тропы, по которым и постоянно ходит.

Есть у ирбиса, по сравнению с другими крупными кошками – тигром, леопардом, ягуаром – отличие, связанное с отношением к человеку. Науке неизвестны ирбисы-людоеды или охотники на людей. Ирбис способен убить охотничью собаку, агрессию проявит самка, защищая своих котят.

Самый лучший способ сохранить и увеличить популяцию снежного барса в Прибайкалье – не вторгаться активно в его существование и дать ему спокойно выживать самому.

РАССКАЗАТЬ ДРУЗЬЯМ
Читайте также
Пятнистый хозяин заснеженных гор

Байкал — это не только поражающее своей красотой природное чудо, но и место силы, причем силы разрушительной, воистину пугающей. Рассказываем, почему байкальский регион так богат на сильнейшие землетрясения…

Пятнистый хозяин заснеженных гор

Болота сегодня ассоциируются не с самыми приятными впечатлениями. Путешественники стараются по возможности их избегать, тем временем они являются одними из важнейших элементов природы. Рассказываем о болотах Прибайкалья и чем они уникальны.

Пятнистый хозяин заснеженных гор

Сегодня мир отмечает Всемирный день сельскохозяйственных животных. Знали ли вы, что коза тоже когда-то была диким животным? Более того, дикие козы до сих пор существуют и, конечно же, живут на Байкале.

Пятнистый хозяин заснеженных гор

Сегодня день рождения у наших коллег и хороших друзей — Байкальского государственного природного биосферного заповедника. Мы поздравляем коллег и рассказываем об истории одного из самых красивых заповедников нашей страны.

×
Хотите знать, где у нерпы санаторий?

Читайте нас в Яндекс Дзен

Хочу!

Больше не показывать