“Anglichanka” (“English lady”): the Story of a Rock
© Photo: Key to Baikal
January, 21

“Anglichanka” (“English lady”): the Story of a Rock

A specially protected natural monument of regional significance – “Anglichanka” Rock – is situat-ed in Selenginsky district of Buryatia. Now it is known as an observation deck with a picturesque view of the Selenga and Spassky Cathedral dated by the 18th century. However, in 1818-1841, Protestant preachers lived here. Key to Baikal explored how the life of the missionaries was con-nected with the rock, what kind of girl was wandering around it and what the London missionary society had to do with it.

Selenginsk Tower

“Anglichanka” (“English lady”): the Story of a Rock

Selenginsk, year 1832. The ethnographer and writer Orest Evetsky made a stop here on his way from Irkutsk to Kyakhta. He noticed two solid wooden houses surrounded by a fence a few miles away from the town on the opposite (left) bank of the river. This picturesque secluded place on the banks of the Selenga was a home to the people who have graduated from the best universities of Scotland - English missionaries. They came there to preach the gospel to the Buryat people.

As they arrived in Selenginsk, the families of Stalibras, Svan, Ramn and Yuille rented a house. Its former owner died, and local authorities wanted to open a post office here. The house had one floor, three rooms, a hallway and a kitchen. The porch overlooked the river, there were three windows on either side of the porch. A garden with trees and vegetables surrounded the house. Four years later, the Englishmen built one more house nearby and a publishing house for printing the translations of sacred texts.

To the East with a Sermon

The Englishmen came to the Russian depth of the country at the will of the London Missionary Society that wanted to open its representative office in Irkutsk. However, the first missionaries who arrived in Siberia, Edward Stalibras and Cornelius Ramn, found the city uncomfortable for activity. Selenginsk that was located not so far from Mongolia and China, the ultimate goal of the Protestant ecclesiastical mission, was much more suitable.

On March 26, 1818, the families of Ramn and Stalibras arrived in Irkutsk where they were warmly welcomed by the Governor-General of Eastern Siberia, Count M.M. Speransky. Later, he wrote to his daughter: “One cannot help but is surprised that these people with their wives decided to settle here in such a remote place among Buryats and Mongols, without knowing Mongolian or Russian. I was forced to write in English for Stalibras. They study Mongolian and understand it quite well already”. After a short stay in Irkutsk where the missionaries improved their Mongolian language and made preparations for the Trans-Baikal mission, they left for Selenginsk where the Yuille family and William Svan also arrived in January 1820.

The life in Selenginsk was difficult. The Englishmen were put to the test of severe frosts and endless floods depriving them of shelter and crops. However, the main difficulties were associated with the mission. To adapt the texts of the Bible to the speech of local residents, English missionaries had to study Russian, Mongolian, Manchu languages, compose their own dictionaries and grammar books. Sometimes they resorted to the help of one local person who translated English texts from Russian into Buryat, but the meaning of the sacred texts was considerably distorted. Besides, the sermons were not successful because of the nomadic way of life of the Buryats and religions already reigning on this territory: Buddhism, Shamanism and Orthodoxy. It turned out that the missionaries brought here the fourth religion, but the locals did not fully understand or need it.

In addition, the key reason for the inefficiency of the sermons was illiteracy of the local population. The pastors who arrived in Siberia realized that it was meaningless to talk about the philosophy of Anglican Christian Protestantism, if people could not read and write. For this reason, beginning from 1833, English missionaries not only translated the Bible, but also began to educate children. They built several schools where they taught the Law of God, Arithmetics, Russian grammar, and singing of psalms – all this was taught in Mongolian. The school opened by Sarah Stalibras taught girls to do needlework and crafts and educated them as resident tutors.

English ecclesiastical mission operated beyond Lake Baikal as long as Aleksandr I was alive. When his successor Nicholai I ascended the throne, he ordered to finish the activity of missionaries, explaining this by a change in the government policy. E. Stalibras and V. Swan did not wait for a positive outcome and went home to the Great Britain.

After the departure of his comrades, Robert Yuille called Roman Vasilyevich by the locals, changed occupation from missionary work to medical practice and lived like a rural peasant - growing bread and breeding cattle. By the way, years later, an iron sickle with the stigma of the English crown was found on the ruins of his estate: this object is now stored at the local Museum of the Decembrists. Yuille and his son Samuel continued to live in Selenginsk for another 8 years, after which they returned to Scotland.

The Legend of an Englishwoman, or It Was All the Fault of Typhoid Fever

Obviously, the residents of Selenginsk called the place where the missionaries lived “Angliya” (“England” in Russian), and the cliff rising above it was called “Anglichanka” (“Englishwoman”). According to the legend, the daughter of Robert Yuille jumped down from this cliff, because she was desperately in love with a young man who remained at home. They say that the ghost of the girl is still wandering around the rocks. In reality, the name of the cliff is associated with a less romantic story: Martha Covey, the wife of Robert Yuille, and their three daughters who died during the typhoid epidemic are buried at the foot of the cliff, in front of the missionaries' house. In our days, people are impressed by the spirit of history and make wishes on the rock. They believe that the “Anglichanka” cliff will make these wishes come true.

More Facts

Novoselenginsk is located close to the memorial rock; central transport routes pass through the town: the A340 highway from Ulan-Ude to Kyakhta and the railway from Ulan-Ude to Naushki. Pushkin’s great-grandfather Abram Gannibal was there, the Decembrists were exiled there. The Memorial Museum House of Decembrists is located in the house of Aleksei Startsev - the son of Nikolai Bestuzhev. The main item of the exhibition is the Life-Giving Cross from the Spassky Cathedral, carved out by the Cossack chief Diyatiev in 1690; the cross has survived three fires.

Tell friends
Related articles
“Anglichanka” (“English lady”): the Story of a Rock

Academician Okladnikov believed that the name of the Kika River (with the emphasis on the second syllable) was derived from the Turkic “green river”. This is the name of one of 336 rivers flowing into Lake Baikal.

“Anglichanka” (“English lady”): the Story of a Rock

Why should one remember about an ordinary hare - the animal with the nickname “squint-eye” that is considered a coward?

“Anglichanka” (“English lady”): the Story of a Rock

The name of the valley originated from local “Bargut” which means “outskirts, wilderness”. It was a name of Mongolian tribe that used to inhabit the valley.

“Anglichanka” (“English lady”): the Story of a Rock

Christmas and New Year's bustle will begin soon; people throughout the country will install and decorate the main symbol of the New Year – beautiful young spruces - at home. Did you know that December 19 is considered Evergreen Day according to the environmental calendar? In anticipation of this festival, let us recall some important facts about the main evergreen tree - spruce.

«Англичанка»: история одной скалы
© Фото: Первый Байкальский
21 января

«Англичанка»: история одной скалы

В Селенгинском районе Бурятии находится особо охраняемый природный памятник — скала «Англичанка». Сейчас она известна как смотровая площадка с живописным видом на Селенгу и Спасский собор. Первый Байкальский разобрался, как жизнь миссионеров связана со скалой, что за девушка бродит по ее окрестностям и при чем тут Лондонское миссионерское общество.

Селенгинский Тауэр

«Англичанка»: история одной скалыСеленгинск, 1832 год. Этнограф и писатель Орест Евецкий, следуя из Иркутска в Кяхту, делает остановку. В нескольких верстах от города на противоположной (левой) стороне реки он заметил два добротных деревянных дома, обнесенных изгородью. В живописном уединенном месте на берегу Селенги живут люди, окончившие лучшие университеты Шотландии, – английские миссионеры. Они здесь, чтобы проповедовать Евангелие бурятскому народу.

Приехав в Селенгинск, семьи Сталибрас, Сван, Рамн и Юилль сняли дом. Его бывший владелец умер, а местные власти хотели открыть здесь почтовую контору. Дом был одноэтажный, с тремя комнатами, передней и кухней. Крыльцо выходило на реку, а по обе стороны от него – три окна. Вокруг дома располагался сад с огородом. Спустя четыре года англичане построят рядом еще один дом и здание типографии для печати переводов священных текстов.

На восток с проповедью

Англичане оказались в российской глубинке по воле Лондонского миссионерского общества, желавшего открыть представительство в Иркутске. Однако первые прибывшие в Сибирь миссионеры, Эдвард Сталибрас и Корнелиус Рамн, сочли город неудобным для деятельности. Куда больше подходил Селенгинск, который не столь удален от Монголии и Китая – конечной цели протестантской духовной миссии.

26 марта 1818 года семьи Рамн и Сталибрас прибыли в Иркутск, где их тепло встретил генерал-губернатор Восточной Сибири граф М.М. Сперанский. Позднее он напишет своей дочери: «Нельзя не подивиться, что люди сии решились с женами водвориться здесь в такой отдаленности среди бурят и монгол, не зная не только по-монгольски, но и по-русски. Я принужден был к Сталибрасу писать по-английски. Они учатся по-монгольски и разумеют уже довольно». После недолгого пребывания в Иркутске, где миссионеры улучшали свой монгольский и делали приготовления для забайкальской миссии, отбыли в Селенгинск, куда в январе 1820 года доберется семья Юилль и Вильям Сван.

Жизнь в Селенгинске была непростой. Англичан испытывали лютые морозы и бесконечные наводнения, лишавшие крова и урожая. Все же основные трудности были связаны с миссией. Чтобы адаптировать тексты Библии под речь местных жителей, английским миссионерам пришлось изучать русский, монгольский, маньчжурский языки, составлять собственные словари и грамматики. Иногда они прибегали к помощи одного из горожан, который переводил речь англичан с русского на бурятский, однако при этом изрядно искажался смысл священных текстов. Также проповеди не приносили успеха из-за кочевого образа жизни бурят и уже царивших на данной территории религий: буддизма, шаманизма и православия. Получилось, что миссионеры принесли с собой четвертую веру, которая местным была не вполне понятна и необходима.

Кроме того, ключевой причиной неэффективности проповедей была безграмотность местного населения. Прибыв в Сибирь, пасторы поняли, что бессмысленно рассказывать о философии англиканского христианского протестантизма, если люди не умеют читать и писать. По этой причине с 1833 года английские миссионеры не только переводили Библию, но и занялись просвещением детей. Они построили несколько школ, в которых преподавали на монгольском языке Закон Божий, арифметику, русскую грамматику, пение псалмов. В школе, открытой Сарой Сталибрас, девочек обучали рукоделию и ремеслам, готовили в гувернантки.

Английская духовная миссия действовала за Байкалом до тех пор, пока был жив Александр I. Взойдя на престол, его преемник Николай І распорядился завершить деятельность миссионеров, мотивируя это изменившейся политикой правительства. Э. Сталибрас и В. Сван не стали ждать положительного исхода дел и уехали на родину в Великобританию.

После отъезда товарищей Роберт Юилль, которого местные жители называли Романом Васильевичем, сменит миссионерство на врачебное дело и будет жить как сельский крестьянин – растить хлеб и разводить скот. Кстати, годами позже на развалинах его усадьбы найдут железный серп с клеймом английской короны, ныне хранящийся в местном музее декабристов. Юилль с сыном Самуилом проживут в Селенгинске еще 8 лет, после чего вернутся в Шотландию.

Легенда об англичанке, или всему виной тиф

Очевидно, что место, где жили миссионеры, селенгинцы прозвали «Англией», а утес, возвышающийся над ним, – «Англичанкой». Согласно легенде, с этой скалы бросилась дочка Роберта Юилля, беспамятно влюбленная в молодого человека, оставшегося на родине. Говорят, призрак девушки до сих пор блуждает по скалам. На самом деле название утеса связано с менее романтичной историей: у его подножия перед домом миссионеров похоронена Марта Кови –– жена Роберта Юилля, и три его дочери, погибшие во время эпидемии тифа. В наши дни, подчиняясь духу истории, на скале загадывают желания. Люди верят, что «Англичанка» осуществит их.

Еще немного фактов

Неподалеку от памятной скалы располагается Новоселенгинск, через который проходят центральные транспортные пути: автомобильная трасса А340 «Улан-Удэ – Кяхта» и железная дорога «Улан-Удэ – Наушки». Здесь бывал прадед Пушкина Абрам Ганнибал, отбывали ссылку декабристы. В доме Алексея Старцева – сына Николая Бестужева – находится Мемориальный дом-музей декабристов. Основное место в экспозиции занимает Животворящий Крест из Спасского собора, выструганный атаманом Диятиевым в 1690 году и уцелевший в трех пожарах.

РАССКАЗАТЬ ДРУЗЬЯМ
Читайте также
«Англичанка»: история одной скалы

Ледовые капитаны — хранители тайн великого озера. Их знания о льде Байкала передавались из уст в уста и подтверждались многолетней практикой поколений. Журналист Первого Байкальского встретился с президентом Лиги Байкальских ледовых капитанов Александром Бурмейстером и узнал о тайнах льда.

«Англичанка»: история одной скалы

Беляк или русак? Есть ли между ними разница и откуда пошли эти названия.

«Англичанка»: история одной скалы

Академик Окладников считал, что название реки Кика (с ударением на второй слог) происходит от тюркского «зеленая река». Именно так называется одна из 336 рек, впадающих в озеро Байкал.

«Англичанка»: история одной скалы

Уже скоро начнется предновогодняя суета, и по всей стране люди будут ставить и наряжать у себя дома главный символ Нового года: красивые молодые ели. А вы знали, что 19 декабря по экологическому календарю считается Днем вечнозеленых растений? В преддверии этой даты давайте вспомним, что это за дерево — ель, главное из всех вечнозеленых деревьев.

×
Хотите знать, где у нерпы санаторий?

Читайте нас в Яндекс Дзен

Хочу!

Больше не показывать