pic
pic
© Photo: Key To Baikal
January, 29

Taste Symphony of Lake Baikal: How to Make Sagudai

Locals say that Sagudai is a creative dish. We have a habit of saying that those who never tasted sagudai cannot truly say that they have visited Baikal. We will tell you how to make this unique dish, to be able to return to our beloved Baikal with your soul (and body).

Special tours have been organized recently for those who want to get acquainted with special features of various culinary traditions: such tours have already become a trend. This trend has not yet reached Lake Baikal, but the tasty dishes made on its coast and bringing pleasure to people will allow no one to stay indifferent.

Traditional Buryat cuisine is one of the most ancient in Siberia. Its features were inevitably influenced by the natural conditions under which the Buryat ethnic group was actually formed. The majority of Buryats live in the steppe and have long engaged in cattle breeding. Their diet includes mostly dairy and meat products: they are the basis of tasty, high-energy and, most importantly, nutritious dishes.

However, a part of the local population was connected with the coast of Lake Baikal. The waters of the lake and coastal taiga brought some variety to the cuisine of Buryats. Fish dishes were added to the meat diet: the favorite fish species were Arctic cisco, grayling and whitefish. It is fair enough to speak about the existence of a separate “Baikal” cuisine characterized by pure taste, naturalness, environmental friendliness and simplicity.

Those Who Never Tasted Sagudai Have not Really Been to Baikal.

Baikal hunters and fishermen know a huge number of recipes that were elaborated during many centuries – each of these dishes has a unique taste and can be made quite simply. Cooking process does not require special skills: only some fantasy. One of these dishes, sagudai, is the most ancient dish of Baikal Buryats, an indispensable attribute of the festive table, first of all, on New Year's Eve.
Фото

There is no single way to write the word “sagudai”. You can see such examples as sugudai, suugudai, and zagudai... But it's not about spelling, but about the meaning of this word. One of the languages of northern nations has the verb “sugudat” – meaning “to eat raw fish”. In reality, everything is simple. For the residents of Baikal region, sagudai is a delicious fish appetizer, preferably made of freshly caught whitefish. Of course, sagudai made of Arctic cisco is the “classics of the genre”. But Arctic cisco is endemic. Moreover, its catch from the lake has been strictly limited in recent years. Therefore, whitefish, grayling, and any other fish from cold northern rivers, such as muksun and broad whitefish, are also widely used.

Those who have been lucky enough to try real sagudai will never forget its gentle, delicate taste, different from all other fish dishes. One can hardly agree that the sagudai is one of the types of fresh marinated fish, such as ceviche in South American cuisine.

Sagudai was originally a dish made of freshly caught fish that was cut into thin pieces, slightly salted. In the olden days, Buryats did not grow onions, knew nothing about pepper and lemon - for objective reasons. They still do not indulge in spices and onions, preserving the original taste of food.

A Recipe for Every Taste

There are many options of recipes of sagudai. If we are talking about the Baikal dish, then fresh whitefish is welcome: the flesh is cut into pieces, salted, slightly marinated, and the dish is consumed by the people at the table in 10-25 minutes

Now we move to the specifics, below we give you the simplest recipe, hoping that you managed to obtain fresh Arctic cisco.

Ingredients:

- Arctic cisco (about 0.5 kg);
- onions (about 30 g);
- lemon juice (20 ml);
- vegetable oil (25 ml);
- a pinch of black pepper.

Preparation:

Preparation: remove the skin from the fish and separate the flesh from the bones. Cut the fillet into small pieces. Cut peeled onions into rings, pour them over with boiling water to remove bitterness. Join the fish with onions, mix them and let infuse for a couple of minutes. Season the dish with oil, lemon juice and pepper, and mix it.

Sagudai Is a Creative Dish

Nowadays there isn’t any single way to make sagudai. There are no bad or good recipes, there are only your taste and imagination, which are mostly determined by your preferences and amount of money.

The dish is made of the following products: fish, salt, vegetable oil, vinegar (or some other acid). Then you create as you wish!

First, you need to determine the way of cutting fish. Decide it for yourself, whether you want to remove the skin from the carcass or not. This does not change the taste of the dish, but the skin can preserve the integrity of each piece. The same can be said about the bones. Fish can be cut into pieces of fillet, but you can also leave the carcass. However, you should know that this way of cooking will take more time for the fish to absorb the marinade.

You also decide what “toppings” you want to add to sagudai. If you prefer onions, we advise you to cut it into rings, although some people cut it into smaller pieces, some even use a meat grinder. But the onions should not “"kill” the taste of the fish. As a substitute of vinegar, you can pour the dish over with lemon juice, season it with garlic, dill, parsley, bay leaf, even grated apple.

Some people always mix the fish and the marinade with their hands, believing that they pass to give their energy to the dish this way, they consider this to be extremely important because cooking sagudai is an ancient rite. Many people constantly shake the future delicacy (fish and marinade) in a closed saucepan, believing that this will accelerate the “ripening” process, fermentation of the dish.

Useful tips

- cut the fish into small pieces, looking like bars, 1.5 to 3 cm wide;
- use glass utensils with a wide flat bottom, or enamelware;
- preferably use coarse-ground salt, it will take some time for the marinade to dissolve it;|
- place the container with sagudai that is being marinated in a cold place. As the time passes, the taste of the dish is constantly changing;
-  ready marinated sagudai should not “wait for too long”, be kept at room temperature or be left in the refrigerator until it is eaten. Its freshness is the most valuable thing;
- it is important to harmonize salty and sour flavors. The taste should be gentle - a little salty, a little spicy, and the fish itself should be just slightly salted!

Tell friends
Related articles
pic

One of the main attributes of the culture of Baikal shamans is a cane - a conductor to the other world, a sign of power and strength which is traditionally destroyed immediately after its owner's death.

pic

One of the most horrible legends passed from mouth to mouth by the inhabitants of is probably the story about a terrible bloodthirsty monster living at the lake bottom. The Buryats call the monster “Lusud Khan” - “The Master Water Dragon” and are still afraid of him.

pic

Sagaalgan is one of the most traditional, beloved, long-awaited Buryat holidays associated with the beginning of the New Year by the ancient lunar calendar. This year the holiday is celebrated on February 5.

pic

It's time for to tell you one more #horrorstory about Baikal. 800 years have passed since the death of the great Genghis Khan, but no one was able to find his tomb. However, there is a legend that the great leader was buried somewhere near Baikal. Keeping the exact place a secret was one of his last wishes before death. You can ready our new horror story about the assumed place of the tomb of Genghis Khan and the reasons why his soldiers killed everyone whom they met.

pic
pic
© Фото: Первый Байкальский

Вкусовая симфония Байкала: как приготовить сагудай

Местные говорят, что сагудай — блюдо творческое. Мы говорим так: не пробовал сагудай — считай, что не был на Байкале. Рассказываем, как приготовить это совершенно особенное блюдо, чтобы душою (и телом) вернуться на любимый Байкал.

В последнее время очень модными стали специальные туры, организуемые для желающих познакомиться с изысками разнообразных кулинарных традиций. На Байкал это поветрие еще не распространилось, но вкусовые удовольствия, получаемые на его берегах, никого не оставят равнодушным.

Традиционная бурятская кухня — одна из самых древних в Сибири. На специфику ее содержания не могли не оказать влияния те природные условия, в которых, собственно, и формировался бурятский этнос. В основном буряты — степняки, издавна занимающиеся скотоводством. В их рационе преобладали и преобладают молочные и мясные продукты, на основе которых получаются вкусные, высококалорийные и, главное, питательные блюда.

Но часть населения своими корнями была связана с берегами Байкала. Воды озера и прибрежная тайга разнообразили стол бурятской семьи. И здесь к мясному рациону добавлялись блюда из рыбы, где наиболее предпочитаемой являлись омуль, хариус и сиг. Справедливо вообще говорить о существовании отдельной «байкальской» кухни, отличающейся чистотой вкуса, натуральностью, экологичностью и непритязательностью.

Если ты не попробовал сагудай, значит, на Байкале не был

Байкальские охотники и рыбаки знают огромное количество вырабатываемых веками рецептов уникальных по своим вкусовым качествам и простоте изготовления блюд. Их готовка не требует особого мастерства — разве что фантазии. Одно из них, сагудай, — древнейшее яство байкальских бурят, непременный атрибут праздничного стола, в первую очередь — новогоднего.
Фото

Единства в написании этого слова нет. Я встречала и сугудай, и суугудай, и загудай… Но дело не в орфографии, а в смысле названия. У одного из северных народов «сугудать» — это есть сырую рыбу. И в самом деле, все просто. Сагудай на Байкале — деликатесная рыбная закуска, желательно, из свежевыловленных представителей семейства сиговых. Конечно, «классика жанра» — сагудай из омуля. Но байкальский омуль — эндемик. Ко всему, в последние годы его вылов в озере резко ограничен. Поэтому с успехом используются сиг, хариус, любая другая рыба студеных северных рек, например муксун, чир.

Те, кому посчастливилось попробовать настоящий сагудай, никогда не забудут его деликатного, нежного вкуса, отличающегося от всех иных рыбных блюд. Вряд ли можно согласиться с тем, что сагудай — это одна из вариаций свежемаринованной рыбы, типа сивичи в южноамериканской кухне.

Изначально сагудай — тонко порезанная, слегка подсоленная свежевыловленная рыба. В старину буряты по объективным причинам не культивировали репчатый лук, не знали перца и лимона. Они до сих пор не злоупотребляют специями и луком, сохраняя первозданный вкус еды.

Рецепт на любой вкус

Существует огромное количество вариаций приготовления сагудая. Если мы говорим о блюде Байкала, то, однозначно, приветствуется белая свежая мякоть рыб сиговых пород, которая режется на кусочки, присаливается, слегка маринуется и через 10–25 минут с успехом употребляется всеми присутствующими.

Если переходить к конкретике, то ниже мы предлагаем вам самый простой рецепт, надеясь на то, что вы все-таки сумели раздобыть свежий омуль.

Ингредиенты:

– омуль (примерно 0,5 кг);
– лук (около 30 г);
– сок лимона (20 мл);
– растительное масло (25 мл);
– щепотка черного перца.

Приготовление:

Снимите кожицу с рыбы и отделите мясо от костей. Порежьте филе маленькими кусочками. Очищенный лук порежьте кольцами, обдайте кипятком для удаления горечи. Соедините рыбу с луком, перемешайте и дайте настояться пару минут. Заправьте блюдо маслом, соком лимона и перцем, перемешайте.

Сагудай — блюдо творческое

Сегодня не существует какого-то одного способа приготовления сагудая. И нет плохих и хороших рецептов, а есть ваши вкусы и воображение, во многом определяемые и предпочтениями, и кошельком.

Материал для блюда — рыба, соль, растительное масло, уксус (или иная кислая основа). А дальше — творите!

Сначала определитесь со способом разделки рыбы. Решите сами — чистить шкурку с тушки или нет. Вкус от этого не меняется, но шкурка может сохранить цельность кусочка. Аналогично и с костями. Можно разобрать на филейные части, но не возбраняется сохранить хребет. Просто следует учитывать, что приготовление по данному варианту потребует больше времени для пропитки маринадом.

Какие «топинги» добавить в сагудай — тоже ваше дело. Если предпочитаете лук, то советуем резать его кольцами, хотя режут и мельче, и даже пропускают через мясорубку. Но лук не должен «забивать» вкуса рыбы. Вместо уксуса поливают соком лимона, сдабривают чесноком, укропом, петрушкой, лавровым листом, даже тертым яблоком.

Кто-то обязательно перемешивает рыбу с маринадом руками, считая, что так передается энергетика, и это крайне необходимо, ведь приготовление сагудая — древний ритуал. Многие постоянно потряхивают готовящееся рыбное чудо в закрытой кастрюльке, полагая, что процесс «дозревания» блюда, его ферментирования произойдет быстрее.

Полезные советы

- нарезать рыбу на некрупные куски, похожие на бруски шириной от 1,5 до 3 см;
- использовать стеклянную, с широким плоским дном, или эмалированную посуду;
- предпочтительнее соль крупного помола, так как она не так быстро растворяется от рыбных соков;
- емкость с готовящимся сагудаем помещать в холодное место. С течением времени вкус блюда постоянно меняется;
- приготовленный сагудай не должен «залеживаться», находиться при комнатной температуре или ждать в холодильнике, когда его доедят. Вся ценность — в свежести;  
- важно соблюсти баланс между соленым и кислым. Вкус должен быть нежный — чуть солоновато, чуть островато, а сама рыбка — совсем малосольной!

РАССКАЗАТЬ ДРУЗЬЯМ
Читайте также
pic

Одним из самых страшных преданий, которое жители Байкала передают из уста в уста, можно считать историю о жутком кровожадном чудовище, обитающем на дне озера. Буряты называют его Лусуд-хан — «Хозяин Водный Дракон» и боятся до сих пор.

pic

Сагаалган — один из наиболее традиционных, любимых, долгожданных бурятских праздников, связанных с началом Нового года по старинному лунному календарю.

pic

За 800 лет, прошедшие после смерти великого Чингисхана, никто так и не смог найти его могилу. Однако есть легенда, что похоронен великий вождь именно на Байкале.

pic

Будучи на Байкале, нельзя упустить возможность познакомиться с культурой и религией забайкальских (восточных) бурят — буддизмом. Лучше всего это сделать, посетив самые значимые дацаны Байкальского региона. Первый Байкальский расскажет о самых главных из них — и почему нужно не забыть взять с собой молоко.