pic
pic
© Photo credit: www.depositphotos.com
November, 20, 2016

Shamanism and Buddhism: Beliefs in Ancient Baikal

Archaeological excavations prove that people lived near Lake Baikal since ancient times. And of course, they believed in various otherworldly creatures. Shamanism is still widespread in the territory of the lake, and after the invasion of the Mongols, it was joined by Buddhism.

Shamanism is an ancient form of religion associated with the animation of nature. Each weather or other phenomenon is associated with a spirit. Communication with otherworldly forces occurs through a human that serves as a link between the human world and the spirit worlds - shaman.

Since the Bronze Age, the inhabitants of the Baikal region have adhered to this belief. They consider the Eternal Blue Sky or “Huhe Munkhe Tengri” their High Spirit, but they also worship other "smaller" gods.

Each area, mountain, river, lake, or rock has its “Aegina”, a spirit-protector. They were made into figurines of wood, stone or metal - ongon. It is believed that this sculpture is inhabited by the patron of the family, clan, or craft. Ongons are treated with awe and respect.

This religious doctrine implies the division of the world into 3 levels: the top (deities live there), medium (the human world) and lower (world of the dead). 

Shaman is the mediator between these worlds. This word means "frenzied, excited man". Servants of the cult work themselves into a trance and can talk to spirits while in it.

According to legend, the first shaman was son of a deity who descended to earth in the form of an eagle. Therefore, this bird is revered among the inhabitants of the Baikal region to this day. To become a shaman, you must have Uthu, which is an ancestor of the same profession. Sacred knowledge is passed on from father to son and is not recorded in writing.

Фото
Shamans do not have special facilities for worship, because their one temple is nature. Rituals are held outdoors in sacred places. Such activities in the Buryat language are called “taylagan”. They offer sacrifices and gifts to the gods to appease them.
There is a tradition among the inhabitants of the surrounding towns and tourists that you need to appease the local god, Burhan, before visiting the lake, or he will bring bad weather or other troubles.
 

Which is why “Burhanit’” means sharing with the deity. Earlier, milk or grain was used in the ritual, but now it is mostly alcohol. When performing the ritual, you need to dip a finger in the glass and sprinkle a drop to the four winds and under your feet, and then drink the rest. If you do not drink alcohol, you can appease the gods with tea, juice, or mineral water. What is most important is that your motives are pure.

The people of Baikal also believe in the "Tree of Life" peculiar to the world of mythology. This sacred phenomenon is associated with “serghe” – a hitching post. It is divided into three parts that symbolize heaven, earth, and the world of the dead. Serghe is constructed twice in a person's life: after the wedding, and after the person's death. It should not be destroyed under any circumstances, or you will anger the spirits.
Place for an offering to the spirits in the Baikal shamanism is called “barisa”. 

Фотография

Traditionally, serghe is placed near these places. So you should “burhanit’” near “barisa” as well. But since all of nature is considered to be the temple, it is not a binding rule.

Фото

While shamanism is widespread on the western shore of the lake, people in the east turned to Buddhism under the influence of the Mongol. Together with this religion, traditions of Tibet and Mongolia also found their way into the territory of Buryatia and Irkutsk.

At the heart of this religion is the belief that a person can achieve the enlightened state by abandoning the material and through the use of spiritual practices.

Buddhism has greatly contributed to the development of medical science and written language in these regions. Medical schools or “manba-datsan” were built. They did not only reprint classical works there, but also created new.

Фото

The main sanctuary in the Baikal Buddhism is Ivolginsky Datsan. It was built in 1947. Before you enter the temple, you need to walk around the territory of datsan clockwise while spinning prayer wheels (also called “hurde”) at the same time. Inside the temple, the central position is occupied by the most revered and sacred Buddha statue.

The main holiday of the Baikal region, Sagaalgan, is closely connected with the tradition of Buddhism. This is a unique New Year's Eve. On this day, a lot of people gather in datsans. They burn old things which is believed to take away the sins of the past year.

In early June, when planting is done but haymaking has not started yet, a holiday called "Surharbaan" is held. This event can be called a sport. The name translates as "shooting sur (leather target)" which is the main entertaining activity of the event.

The local residents also engage in horse racing and wrestling. The mandatory part of the program of the day is performance of a folk dance, “ehor”. Originally it was a magical dance performed clockwise while reciting spells. You can see that this tradition is primarily tied to shamanism, even though it is performed during a Buddhist holiday.

Tell friends
Related articles
pic

One of the most interesting settlements located near Lake Baikal is undoubtedly the one called Tarbagatai. The Russian Old Believers exiled to Sibera have been living here for three centuries in a row.

pic

Gourmet features of the cuisine of the Baikal peoples are due, first and foremost, to their main crafts: hunting and fishing. The Siberian cuisine has a wide variety of fish and meat dishes; each tourist will find something of his or her own, a favorite dish; and the abundance of dishes and recipes won’t leave anybody indifferent.

pic

The traditional religions of the indigenous peoples represent a rather versatile set of myths, beliefs in spirits, magic, totems, etc. Buryats living in the Baikal Region also revered the spirits of rivers, lakes, forests, had a well-developed mythology.

pic

Despite the severe climate and difficult temper, the peoples of Lake Baikal are very hospitable, and their folk traditions are full of love to nature and romantic traditions. A mysterious lake which has not yet disclosed all its secrets to scientists attracts ordinary tourists and researchers, as well as fans of shamanism and esoterics. And any of them will be welcomed with honors.

pic
pic
© Фото: depositphotos.com

Шаманизм и буддизм: кому поклонялся древний Байкал

Археологические раскопки доказывают, что с древних времен около озера Байкал жили люди. И, конечно, они верили в разных потусторонних существ. На территории озера до сих пор распространен шаманизм, а после нашествия монголов появился буддизм.

Шаманизм - древняя форма религии, связанная с одушевлением природы. Каждое погодное или иное явление ассоциируется с духом. Общение с потусторонними силами происходит через приближенного к божеству человека – шамана.

С бронзового века жители Прибайкалья придерживаются данной веры. Верховным духом они считают Вечно Синее Небо или Хухэ Мунхэ Тэнгри, но также поклоняются другим «мелким» богам.

Каждая местность, гора, река, озеро, скала имеет своего эжина, то есть духа-покровителя. Они изображаются с помощью статуэтки из дерева, камня или металла – онгона. Считается, что в такой скульптуре живет покровитель семьи, рода или ремесла. К онгонам относятся с трепетом и уважением.

Это религиозное учение подразумевает деление окружающего мира на 3 уровня: верхний (в нем живут божества), средний (мир людей) и нижний (мир мертвых). 

Посредником между мирами является шаман. Это слово обозначает «иступленный, возбужденный человек». Служители культа доводят себя до состояния транса и в нем могут говорить с духами.

Согласно легенде, первым шаманом является сын божества, спустившийся на землю в облике орла. Поэтому эта птица остается почитаемой среди жителей Прибайкалья до сих пор. Чтобы стать шаманом необходимо иметь утху, то есть предка той же профессии. Сакральные знания передаются от отца к сыну и не фиксируются на письме.

Фото
Шаманисты не имеют специально построенных сооружений для поклонения, для них природа является единым храмом. Ритуалы и проводятся на открытом воздухе в священных местах. Такие мероприятия на бурятском языке называются тайлаганы, во время них приносят жертвоприношения и дары богам, чтобы задобрить их.
 

До сих пор среди жителей окрестных городов и туристов распространена традиция: перед приездом к озеру необходимо задобрить местного духа Бурхана, иначе он принесет плохую погоду или другие неприятности.

«Бурханить» — значит делиться с божеством. Раньше для этого ритуала использовали молоко или зерно, теперь чаще всего применяют спиртные напитки. При выполнении обряда нужно окунуть палец в рюмку и разбрызгать капли по четырем сторонам света и себе под ноги, остальное нужно выпить. Если вы не пьете – ничего страшного, на Байкале бурханят чаем, соком, минералкой. Главное, чтобы помыслы человека оставались чистыми.

На Байкале распространена вера в «древо жизни», свойственная мировой мифологии. С этим сакральным явлением связывают сэрге – столб для коновязи. Он разделен на три части, которые символизируют небо, землю и мир мертвых. Сэрге сооружается два раза в жизни человека: после свадьбы и после смерти человека. Его ни в коем случае нельзя разрушать, таким образом можно прогневать духов. Место для приношения духам в байкальском шаманизме называется бариса
Фотография

Традиционно около таких мест и устанавливается сэргэ. Именно возле бариса следует бурханить. Но так как вся природа считается храмом, это не обязательное к исполнению правило.

Фото

Если на западном береге озера до сих пор распространен шаманизм, то на восточном под влиянием монголов люди обратились к буддизму. Вместе с этой религией на территорию Бурятии и Иркутской области проникли традиции народов Тибета и Монголии.
В основе этого вероисповедования лежит убеждение, что человек может достигнуть просветленного состояния путем отказа от материального и использования духовных практик.

Буддизм во многом способствовал развитию медицины и письменности в этих регионах. Сформировались медицинские школы или манба-дацаны. Там не только перепечатывались классические труды, но и создавались новые.

Фото

Главным святилищем в прибайкальском буддизму считается Иволгинский дацан. Он был построен в 1947 году. Прежде чем войти в храм необходимо обойти территорию дацана по ходу солнца, вращая при этом молитвенные барабаны (или хурдэ). Внутри храма центральное положение занимает наиболее почитаемая и священная статуя Будды.
С традициями буддизма связан главный праздник Прибайкалья – Сагаалган. Это своеобразный Новый год. В этот день в дацанах собирается много людей. Они сжигают старые вещи, считается, что, сгорая, они уносят грехи прошедшего года.

В начале июня, когда закончены посадочные работы, а сенокос еще не начался, устраивают праздник «Сурхарбаан». Это мероприятие можно назвать спортивным. Само название переводится как «стрельба в сур» (кожаную мишень), и это главное развлечение.

Кроме того, местные жители участвуют в конских бегах и борьбе. Обязательная часть программы этого дня – исполнение народного танца – ехора. Первоначально это магический танец по ходу солнца. Исполняется под припевные слова-заклинания. Можно заметить, что эта традиция связана прежде всего с шаманизмом, хотя выполняется в буддийский праздник.

РАССКАЗАТЬ ДРУЗЬЯМ
Читайте также
pic

Много на великом озере таинственных и пугающих легенд-сказаний. Вот одна из них.

pic

В культуре многих древних народов человек — это песчинка природы, но никак не ее царь. Высший разум — это именно природа, где Байкал и все, что с ним связано, веками почитался, оберегался и даже обожествлялся.

pic

Путешествующие на Байкал (особенно в сакральные для бурят местности) не раз сталкивались с недоверчивыми взглядами местного населения, а все потому, что в некоторые места категорически запрещено входить женщинам.

pic

Аксиомой стало выражение «Байкал — мистическое место силы». Атмосфера озера пропитана паранормальными и аномальными явлениями, которые коренные жители байкальских земель старались объяснить при помощи устного народного творчества. Среди таких преданий — рассказ о таинственных (ведьминых) кругах.