pic
pic
© Photo credit: www.depositphotos.com
December, 02, 2016

Peoples of Baikal

The oldest man sites found in the Baikal region are about 25 thousand years. We cannot tell if these were the ancestors of the tribes that lived here later or not. Scientists still argue who constituted the indigenous population of Eastern Siberia.

However, we can look at the peculiarities of some nations living near Lake Baikal or those who once lived there.

Qurykan People
 

The renaissance of the culture of the qurykan people in the Baikal region fell to VI-X century. They settled from the Tunkinskaya to Barguzinskaya valleys, the union of qurykan tribes led a semi-settled or nomadic way of life. The main occupation was cattle breeding: they bred goats, camels and horses. Qurykans were also engaged in farming - plowing fields, in balcksmith’s business - making weapons, everyday items and tools. The cultural level of the people was very high: art and writing were developing, complex religious cults were present. The decline of the culture fell to the 10th century, when the Mongol tribes came to the Baikal region. Some of the qurykan people went to the North under pressure, and the remaining part mingled with Mongols and became the progenitors of Buryats.

Buryats
 
Фото

Buryats constitute one of the most numerous nations living in Siberia. The former basis of their household economy was nomadic herding which gave food, clothing and felt for the construction of dwellings. Buryats bred sheep, goats, camels, horses. Agriculture was poorly developed, but after the arrival of Russians they started to engage in agriculture more actively, adopting the new neighbors’ plow and other tools. Men went fishing and hunting: in winter they hunted squirrel, sable, fox, otter, and in summer - elk. 

Blacksmiths made various items of metal. This profession was hereditary, blacksmiths were often shamans at the same time. 
Horses occupied a special place in the life of Buryats, because these animals were considered pure. They were used in the household not only as a transportation means. Horse-breeding products were widely spread: horse meat was considered the most delicious dish, hair was used for the manufacture of ropes and nets, leather served for sewing shoes. 

The quality of saddles and decorations on the horse served as a distinctive sign of the person’s solvency.

The basis of a traditional Buryat dwelling, “yurt”, consisted of easily transported latticed walls that were covered with felt and tied up with ropes. An entrance to a yurt has always been directed to the South. The insides of the dwelling were divided into two halves: the western one belonged to men, the eastern one – to women. The hotbed was placed in the centre.

Nowadays Buryats live in Buryatia, Irkutsk Oblast, Trans-Baikal Territory and other regions of Russia, as well as in Mongolia and China. Their population amounts to about 690,000 people.

Evenks
 

The nation of Evenks was formed by mixing of the Eastern Siberian indigenous tribes with the Tungus tribes of the Trans-Baikal Territory. The tribes settled along the shores of Lake Baikal, rivers Angara and Lena and later moved on. Today Evenks live on the territory from Yenisei to Amur.

Ethnographers awarded Evenks with the nickname of “Taiga Gypsies” for their nomadic way of life: they move through the taiga in search of new places for hunting, transporting their light dwellings (“chums”) and all property on reindeer.

Evenks have been engaged in hunting, fishing and cattle breeding since ancient times. There were three basic types of Evenks (according to occupation): hunters “lamuchens”, reindeer-breeders “orochens” and horse-breeders “khamnigans”. Reindeer-breeding was well developed in all communities, anyway. Reindeer for Envenks are not just pets, but a symbol of prosperity and wealth of the family, the main means of transportation and a source of food. An old Evenki saying goes: Evenks are alive as long as the reindeer are alive.
Different cults have a great importance, Evenks are taught to respect them since childhood. For example, there is a cult of the bear, the owner of taiga, which obliges each hunter to kill only a strictly determined number of bears - otherwise the hunter may die soon.
Today there are about 77 thousand Evenks living in Yakutia, Irkutsk Oblast, Krasnoyarsk Territory and other places.

Evenks believe that the nature is alive, inhabited by spirits, and they definitely know where to stop — they do not cut more trees than they need, do not kill game without a need, clean up the place where there they set their hunting camps when they go.
Tofalars
 

A small semi-nomadic people - tofalars – live on the territory from Nizhneudinsky District to the North-Eastern slope of the Eastern Sayan Mountains. Their traditional occupations were and remain hunting and nomadic reindeer-breeding. These are skilful hunters and pathfinders who hunt different animals in different seasons: elk, red deer, roe deer, sable, beaver, fox, wolverine and other taiga animals.

Фото
The art of curing any sickness with herbs, as well as their habit to drink salted green tea all year round, distinguish tofalars from other peoples of the Baikal region. In autumn they usually pick up many Sarana flowers ((Lilium martagon) to dry them for winter, as well as edible roots, pine nuts, berries, ramson, rhubarb, wild onions.
 

Patrimonial pattern of tofalars’ life survived until the middle of the 20th century. A great importance in the public life belonged to annual December meetings of all families, “suglans”, that served to elect men to some positions and solve important problems.

Tofalars are one of the small-numbered indigenous peoples of Russia. Now there are only about 800 of them.

Tell friends
Related articles
pic

One of the most interesting settlements located near Lake Baikal is undoubtedly the one called Tarbagatai. The Russian Old Believers exiled to Sibera have been living here for three centuries in a row.

pic

Gourmet features of the cuisine of the Baikal peoples are due, first and foremost, to their main crafts: hunting and fishing. The Siberian cuisine has a wide variety of fish and meat dishes; each tourist will find something of his or her own, a favorite dish; and the abundance of dishes and recipes won’t leave anybody indifferent.

pic

The traditional religions of the indigenous peoples represent a rather versatile set of myths, beliefs in spirits, magic, totems, etc. Buryats living in the Baikal Region also revered the spirits of rivers, lakes, forests, had a well-developed mythology.

pic

Despite the severe climate and difficult temper, the peoples of Lake Baikal are very hospitable, and their folk traditions are full of love to nature and romantic traditions. A mysterious lake which has not yet disclosed all its secrets to scientists attracts ordinary tourists and researchers, as well as fans of shamanism and esoterics. And any of them will be welcomed with honors.

pic
pic
© Фото: www.depositphotos.com

Народы Байкала

Самым старым найденным в Прибайкалье стоянкам людей около 25 тысяч лет. Были это предки живших здесь впоследствии племен или нет — неизвестно. Ученые до сих пор спорят: кто был коренным населением Восточной Сибири?

Тем не менее, мы можем рассмотреть особенности некоторых народностей, живущих или когда-то живших вблизи озера Байкал.

Курыканы
 

На VI-X вв пришелся расцвет культуры курыкан в Прибайкалье. Расселившись от Тункинской до Баргузинской долины, союз курыканских племен вел полуоседлый и кочевой образ жизни. Основным занятием было скотоводство: разводили коз, верблюдов и коней. Курыкане занимались также земледелием, распахивая пашни, и кузнечным делом, изготавливая оружие, предметы быта и орудия труда. Культурный уровень народа был весьма высок: развивались искусство, письменность, присутствовали сложные религиозные культы. Закат культуры пришелся на X век, когда в Прибайкалье пришли монгольские племена. Часть курыкан под давлением ушла на Север, а другая смешалась с монголами и стала прародителями бурят.

Буряты
 
Фото

Буряты — одна из самых многочисленных народностей, населяющих Сибирь. Основой их хозяйства раньше было кочевое скотоводство, которое давало пищу, одежду и войлок для постройки жилищ. Буряты разводили овец, коз, верблюдов, лошадей. Земледелие было слабо развито, но с приходом русских они стали заниматься им гораздо больше, переняв у новых соседей плуг и другие орудия. Мужчины ходили на рыбалку и охоту: зимой охотились на белку, соболя, лисицу, выдру, а летом — на изюбра. 

Кузнецы изготавливали разные предметы из металла. Профессия эта была наследственной, нередко кузнецы одновременно являлись шаманами.
Лошади занимали особое место в жизни бурят, потому что считались чистыми животными. В хозяйстве они использовались не только как транспорт. Продукты коневодства широко применяли в быту: конина считалась самым вкусным блюдом, волос шел на изготовление веревок и сетей, из кожи шили обувь. 

Качество седла и украшения на скакуне служили отличительным признаком состоятельности человека.

Основу традиционного бурятского жилья, юрты, составляли легко перевозимые решетчатые стенки, которые покрывали войлоком и обвязывали веревками. Вход в юрту всегда был с юга. Внутри жилище делилось на две половины: западная — мужская, а восточная — женская.  В центре располагался очаг.

В наши дни буряты живут в Бурятии, Иркутской области, Забайкальском крае и других регионах России, а также в Монголии и Китае. Их численность — около 690 тысяч человек.

Эвенки
 

При смешении аборигенов Восточной Сибири с тунгусскими племенами Забайкалья сложилась народность эвенков. Племена расселялись по берегам Байкала, Ангары и Лены, затем ушли дальше. Сегодня эвенки живут на территории от Енисея до Амура.

Этнографы прозвали эвенков таежными цыганами за кочевой образ жизни: они много перемещаются по тайге в поисках новых мест для охоты, перевозя на оленях легкие жилища (чумы) и все имущество.

Эвенки издревле занимались охотой, рыболовством и скотоводством. Три основных типа (по виду занятий): охотники “ламучены”, оленеводы “орочены” и коневоды  “хамниганы”. Оленеводство, так или иначе, было развито во всех общинах. Олень для эвенка — не просто домашнее животное, а символ благополучия и достатка семьи, основное средство передвижения и источник пропитания. Старая эвенкийская пословица гласит: эвенки живы, пока живы олени.
Огромное значение имеют различные культы, к почитанию которых эвенков приучают с детства. К примеру, культ медведя, хозяина тайги, обязывает каждого охотника убивать лишь строго определенное число медведей — иначе охотник может вскоре погибнуть.
Сегодня насчитывается около 77 тысяч эвенков, живущих в Якутии, Иркутской области, Красноярском крае и других местах.

Эвенки считают природу живой, населенной духами, и твердо знают меру — не рубят деревьев больше, чем нужно, не убивают без необходимости дичь, убирают после себя место, где стоял охотничий лагерь.
Тофалары
 

На территории от Нижнеудинского района до северо-восточного склона Восточных Саян живет небольшой полукочевой народ – тофалары. Их традиционными занятиями были и остаются охота и кочевое оленеводство. Это искусные охотники и следопыты, которые в разные сезоны охотятся на лося, марала, косулю, соболя, бобра, лисицу, росомаху и других таежных зверей.

Фото
Искусство лечить любые болезни травами отличает тофаларов от других народов Прибайкалья, как и их привычка круглый год пить подсоленный зеленый чай. Осенью обычно идет массовый сбор цветков сараны, которую сушат на зиму, а также съедобных корней, кедровых орехов, ягод, черемши, ревеня, дикого лука.
 

Вплоть до середины XX века у тофаларов сохранился родовой уклад. В общественной жизни большое значение имели ежегодные декабрьские собрания всех родов, сугланы, для избрания мужчин на должности и решения важных вопросов.

Тофалары — один из самых малочисленных народов России. Сейчас их всего около 800 человек.

РАССКАЗАТЬ ДРУЗЬЯМ
Читайте также
pic

Одним из самых страшных преданий, которое жители Байкала передают из уста в уста, можно считать историю о жутком кровожадном чудовище, обитающем на дне озера. Буряты называют его Лусуд-хан — «Хозяин Водный Дракон» и боятся до сих пор.

pic

Сагаалган — один из наиболее традиционных, любимых, долгожданных бурятских праздников, связанных с началом Нового года по старинному лунному календарю.

pic

Местные говорят, что сагудай — блюдо творческое. Мы говорим так: не пробовал сагудай — считай, что не был на Байкале. Рассказываем, как приготовить это совершенно особенное блюдо, чтобы душою (и телом) вернуться на любимый Байкал.

pic

За 800 лет, прошедшие после смерти великого Чингисхана, никто так и не смог найти его могилу. Однако есть легенда, что похоронен великий вождь именно на Байкале.