pic
pic
© Photo credit: www.depositphotos.com
November, 20, 2016

Baikal Myths and Legends

Since ancient times, there have been many myths and legends about Lake Baikal. It is no wonder that the lake keeps attracting shamans and mysticists from all over the world.

Most of the legends about the lake's origin, its people and holy places are very old and are passed on from generation to generation. Even today, Baikal still has many mysteries, and new myths never cease to appear.

Of course, the main legend is the one about how Baikal came to be. A Buryat legend says that a long time ago, there has been a great earthquake. The ground came apart, and flame was raging from beneath. The fire was devouring everything in its way. People prayed to all the gods to stop the flame, but no answer came. In despair, people cried, Bay gal! (Fire, stop!). Miraculously, the fire died away; instead, the rift was filled by clear water. This is how Lake Baikal appeared.

However, another legend has a romantic twist to it. A rich man named Baikal had a beautiful daughter, Angara. The old man was strict and didn't want his daughter to see young men. But Angara heard from the seagulls about Yenisei, a handsome and merry man, and had been dreaming about him ever since. Her father found this out, locked her up and said he would find her a husband to his liking. Right before the arranged wedding, Angara ran away, and her father has never seen her again. He cried until his last day, and his tears turned into Lake Baikal. Angara became the only river that flows from Baikal, like a girl running to see her beloved. 

Another legend says that one day at sunset, a fiery dragon came. A smash of his tail cracked the earth, and his breath melted snow and ice on mountaintops; the water filled the crack that became Lake Baikal. Flowers and trees sprouted everywhere, birds sang and animal roamed around the lake, and the dragon went to sleep at its bottom. Every 120 years the dragon would come out of the lake, and people would greet him with festivities. But there was a year when people forgot about the Fiery Dragon, and in his wrath, he flooded everything with water. Nobody has not heard about the dragon ever since; only Lake Baikal remained.

Even today, Baikal is full of mysteries. Rumours have it that sometimes you can see shapes of horsemen in the fog. The ghostly figures ride straight at people, and there is no way to explain it. Locals believe this is the sunken army of Khasan Choson, a cruel local ruler from old times. He wanted to conquer the Evenki tribes that lived on the other side of the lake, and ordered his army to march across the lake's ice to save time. The ice cracked, and nobody lived. Ever since, the restless souls of the warriors have been trying to cross Baikal.

A more modern legend tells about Admiral Kolchak's golden treasure. Before WWI, Russia had the world's largest gold reserve—1,311 tonnes of gold. Some of it went to pay the loans, and the rest was taken to Kazan to keep it safe away from the capital. In August 1918, the Whites took Kazan with all the gold and moved the treasure to Omsk, which was Admiral Alexander Kolchak's seat at the time.

In the end of 1919, Kolchak had to leave Omsk. Several trains and a special armoured train were ready to transport the gold, but with no luck. The gold reserve was captured by the Red Army. However, soon they found out that some 182 tonnes of gold were missing! Moreover, some boxes were full of stones and bricks instead of gold!

The legend has it that some of the gold made it from Irkutsk, but there was a train wreck, and the railcars with gold sank in Baikal. Old people say that the train wreck was arranged by the Red Army. The place where the train sank is 1,400 metres deep, but some gold was recovered. Since then, scientists and treasure hunters have been looking for Admiral Kolchak's gold.

Another legend tells about the times of WWII. In winter of 1941, a group of geologists went to Severomuysky Range to search for uranium ore. They were lucky to find not only uranium, but gold deposits as well. On 22 June, Nazi Germany attacked the Soviet Union; war broke out, but the geologists were told to continue working until a new group comes. They carried on their research up until 1944, but most of the group died due to an unknown disease. The remaining eight people tried to get to the Baikal shore on their own. All they had with them were samples of uranium ore and 20 kg of gold. Only two of them made it to the shore. They found a boat, but never reached their destination. A strong storm washed them ashore a small island. They decided to bury the gold there to lighten their load. The gold is probably still there, somewhere in the middle of Baikal. Many locals believe that the island in question is one of the Ushkan islets.

Tell friends
Related articles
pic

One of the most interesting settlements located near Lake Baikal is undoubtedly the one called Tarbagatai. The Russian Old Believers exiled to Sibera have been living here for three centuries in a row.

pic

Gourmet features of the cuisine of the Baikal peoples are due, first and foremost, to their main crafts: hunting and fishing. The Siberian cuisine has a wide variety of fish and meat dishes; each tourist will find something of his or her own, a favorite dish; and the abundance of dishes and recipes won’t leave anybody indifferent.

pic

The traditional religions of the indigenous peoples represent a rather versatile set of myths, beliefs in spirits, magic, totems, etc. Buryats living in the Baikal Region also revered the spirits of rivers, lakes, forests, had a well-developed mythology.

pic

Despite the severe climate and difficult temper, the peoples of Lake Baikal are very hospitable, and their folk traditions are full of love to nature and romantic traditions. A mysterious lake which has not yet disclosed all its secrets to scientists attracts ordinary tourists and researchers, as well as fans of shamanism and esoterics. And any of them will be welcomed with honors.

pic
pic
© Фото: www.depositphotos.com

Мифы и легенды Байкала

Байкал с древности был окружен загадками и мифами. Не зря озеро стало местом паломничества шаманов и эзотериков со всего мира.

Большая часть легенд сохранилась с давних времени и бережно передавалась от поколения к поколению: как появился Байкал, кто его населял, как появились «места силы». Однако и сегодня Байкал полон загадок и до сих пор порождает мифы.

Главная легенда, конечно же, о появлении Байкала. Согласно преданию бурятского народа, в давнюю пору случилось сильнейшее землетрясение. Земля разверзлась и языки пламени вырвались из недр. Огонь сжигал все на своем пути. Люди молились всем богам с просьбой остановить адское пламя, но боги не отвечали на их мольбы. Отчаявшись, люди стали заклинать: «Бай гал!» (в переводе – огонь остановись). И случилось чудо – огонь остановился и пропал. А земной разлом начал наполняться чистейшей водой. Так и образовался водоем, названный Байкалом.

Но есть и более романтическая версия происхождения озера. У богатого и властного человека по имени Байкал росла дочь – прекрасная Ангара. Старик запрещал ей с кем-либо встречаться. Но однажды чайки напели ей о веселом и красивом парне Енисее. С тех пор Ангара только о нем и думала. Однако узнал обо всем суровый Байкал и запер дочь, ибо нашел ей подходящего жениха. Но прямо перед свадьбой Ангара сбежала, и он больше никогда ее не видел. Убитый горем рыдал он до самой своей смерти. Слезы его обратились в озеро Байкал. А Ангара навсегда осталась единственной рекой, вытекающей из озера: дочь, до сих пор продолжает свой побег к любимому. 

Согласно другой легенде однажды на закате появился пламенный дракон. Ударом хвоста он расколол землю, а пламенем растопил снег с вершин гор, и растаявший лед заполнил расщелину до краев, образовав озеро. Возле него всё мгновенно покрылось зеленью, запорхали птицы и забегали самые разнообразные животные. Сам же дракон спустился на дно. Но каждые 120 лет он выходил на поверхность. В честь него устраивались празднества. Однажды люди забыли про Пламенного дракона и в гневе он затопил все вокруг водой. С тех пор никто ничего не слышал о Драконе. В напоминание о нем осталось только озеро – Байкал.

По сей день Байкал полон загадок. Говорят, что иногда в тумане можно увидеть силуэты всадников. Призрачные фигуры несутся прямо на стоящих в воде людей и объяснить это не может никто. Местные предполагают, что это ушедшее под воду войско грозного и жестокого правителя Хасана Чосона. Чосон решил завоевать эвенкийские племена, жившие за Байкалом, и чтобы сократить путь, велел идти прямо по льду озера. Но лед треснул, и все бойцы утонули. С тех пор, души воинов не могут найти покой и пытаются завершить начатое – перейти через Байкал.

Один из современных мифов Байкала – легенда о золоте Колчака. В начале Первой мировой войны Россия имела самый большой золотой запас – 1311 тонн золота. Часть его ушла на погашение кредитов, а часть – отвезли подальше от столицы, в Казань. В августе 1918 года белогвардейцы взяли Казань со всем хранившимся в ней золотом и перевезли его в Омск, где в то время надежно обосновался адмирал Колчак.

К концу 1919 года Колчак вынужден был покинуть Омск. Для перевозки золота снарядили несколько поездов и один бронепоезд. Но вывезти сокровища так и не смогли. Красноармейцы захватили золотой запас. Однако вскоре выяснилось, что за время пребывания у белогвардейцев количество золота сократилось на 182 тонны! Более того, в некоторых ящиках вместо слитков оказались камни и кирпичи.

Ходит легенда, что часть золотого запаса в итоге все же вывезли из Иркутска. Но один из поездов потерпел крушение, и вагоны с золотом пошли на дно Байкала. Старики говорят, что это крушение подстроили красные. И хотя глубина, где поезд ушел под воду, достигает 1400 метров, часть драгоценного груза все же тогда удалось поднять. С тех пор золото Колчака не дает спокойно спать ученым и кладоискателям.

Еще одна легенда относится уже ко временам Великой Отечественной войны. Зимой 1941 года в поисках урановых руд в район Северомуйского хребта отравилась геологическая экспедиция. Результат превзошёл все ожидания – помимо урана, ученые обнаружили и золотые месторождения. А 22 июня началась война. Геологам приказали продолжать работу, пока не придет смена. И до 1944 года экспедиция продолжала свои исследования. Однако неизвестная болезнь скосила большинство участников экспедиции. Оставшиеся в живых восемь человек попытались выбираться на берег Байкала своими силами. С собой они взяли только образцы урановой руды и 20 кг золота. До берега дошли лишь двое. Геологи нашли брошенную лодку, однако так и не достигли цели. Сильный шторм прибил их необитаемому островку. Лодку решили разгрузить, а золото закопали в центре островка. Там оно и лежит, где-то на острове посреди Байкала. Многие местные жители считают, что это остров из группы Малых Ушканьих островов.

РАССКАЗАТЬ ДРУЗЬЯМ
Читайте также
pic

В культуре многих древних народов человек — это песчинка природы, но никак не ее царь. Высший разум — это именно природа, где Байкал и все, что с ним связано, веками почитался, оберегался и даже обожествлялся.

pic

Путешествующие на Байкал (особенно в сакральные для бурят местности) не раз сталкивались с недоверчивыми взглядами местного населения, а все потому, что в некоторые места категорически запрещено входить женщинам.

pic

Аксиомой стало выражение «Байкал — мистическое место силы». Атмосфера озера пропитана паранормальными и аномальными явлениями, которые коренные жители байкальских земель старались объяснить при помощи устного народного творчества. Среди таких преданий — рассказ о таинственных (ведьминых) кругах.

pic

О древнем озере на протяжении многих десятков и сотен лет слагали мифы, легенды, песни. О наиболее популярных и известных песнях о Байкале и пойдет речь в этой статье.