pic
pic
© Photo: Key To Baikal
March, 27

The Fate of the First Scientific Vessel of Lake Baikal

“Innokentiy” steamer was launched to the lake at the end of XIX century and became the first research vessel of Baikal. Read our article to know about its younger “brother” and the way the ship helped to construct the Circum-Baikal Railway.

The Irkutsk Regional Museum of Local History includes an incredibly interesting department - the widely known “Angara” icebreaker, being a part of the history of Eastern Siberia, including the development of Lake Baikal. At the same time, the main composition includes models of other steamers made with great precision: now they can only be seen in miniature copies. One of them is “Innokentiy”, now we will tell you about its fate.

People and Steamers

Фото

The history of navigation on Lake Baikal is extremely interesting, but now we are talking about other things. We cannot imagine the biography of “Innokentiy” without mentioning the names of individual shipowners. Indeed, they played a leading role in the twists of the vessel’s fate.

Khaminov Ivan Stepanovich – an Irkutsk and Kyakhta merchant of the first guild, hereditary honorary citizen, privy councilor, owner of a multi-million dollar fortune, philanthropist. He was one of the first merchants to understand the benefits of investing in the organization of navigation on the Siberian rivers in general and on Baikal in particular. Since 1862 he had been the owner of the Baikal Shipping Company (several shipping companies with this name were created at different times).

Shishelov Semyon Aleksandrovich - a representative of the numerous and respected family of merchants, shipbuilders and shipowners, one of the co-owners of the Siberian Shipping Company (established in the mid-80s of XIX century).

Nemchinov Yakov Andreevich – a Verkhneudinsk and Kyakhta merchant of the first guild, he is considered an example of an outstanding entrepreneur who was an errand boy and later transformed into the wealthiest person in Siberia in the mid-19th century. An owner of a shipping company.

Nemchinov Andrei Yakovlevich - an heir to the multi-million wealth of his father who bought out the Kyakhta steamship partnership company in the mid-90s of the nineteenth century (different dates are indicated: 1894 or 1895): his steamships were carrying out regular trips on Lake Baikal.

Kokovin Mikhail Mikhailovich - a hereditary honorary citizen, later he became a Kyakhta merchant of the first guild, co-owner of the “Partnership of Baikal Shipping Company and Trade” created in 1905, jointly with the hereditary honorary citizen Innokentiy Nikolaievich Chernykh

The Tragedy of Khaminov's “Innokentiy”

I.S. Khaminov built the ship called “Innokenity” for his Baikal Shipping Company in 1865; the ship was named after the Holy Hierarch of Irkutsk Innokentiy (Kulchitsky).

According to the descriptions, the steamer had 2 pipes and was equipped with wheels, was as powerful as 100 horsepower; the ship was sent to search for fishing vessels carried away by the storm in November 1869, but the steamer also got into a terrible storm. As a result, the ship broke its hull against the underwater reefs and was destroyed. Its remains were thrown to the coast on the stones near the Ushkanyi Islands. Crew members of “Innokentiy” (30 people) died.

We have told about this ship not by a mere chance. First, there can be confusion because of its widespread name. And, secondly, the tragedy of this “Innokentiy” could have had negative consequences for the expedition with the participation of our “Innokentiy”. As a result of measurements of the bottom near the Ushkany Archipelago with the participation of the second Innokentiy, it was concluded that these places were rather convenient for the passage of ships. However, the catastrophe of the Khaminov’s vessel that occurred in this area could cast doubt on that conclusion, although the tragedy happened due to a crew error and was not connected with the bottom relief.

The Stages of the Sea Route of “Innokentiy”

“Innokentiy” steamboat, the second screw ship with an iron hull on Lake Baikal (the first ship of this kind was “Nikolai”), was launched In November 1886.

A single-deck, 26-meter, 40-horsepower “Innokentiy” was used mainly as a towing steamer. Comfortable transportation of passengers on it was difficult due to the lack of space on the vessel. Contemporaries said that “it was not threatened by any storms even in autumn and, despite his small size, it could tow unbelievably large Baikal vessels with cargo, even upon a fairly strong headwind”.

“Innokentiy” was a part of a fairly large flotilla for that time (8 ships) – it belonged to the “Siberian Shipping Company”.

A year before the heir to the throne Nicholai arrived in Irishk in 1891, the owners of “Innokentiy” submitted a proposal to the Governor-General: to use their ship to carry the heir to the throne on the lake, naturally, without asking for any fee, but stating that they would be happy to render service to the future Tsar. But a special committee considered that the vessel was not worthy to carry such a passenger.

After that “Innokentiy” was transferred to A.Ya. Nemchinov who bought it from the owners of the Kyakhta steamboat partnership company. “Innokentiy” used to participate in the Baikal navigation, but Andrei Yakovlevich gave the ship the opportunity to demonstrate its capabilities, sending it to work on the Baikal Lake Hydrographic Expedition from 1897 to 1902.

After 1905, “Innokentiy” worked as a member of the “Partnership of Baikal Shipping Company and Trade”, survived the revolution and was partially sold to a Chinese citizen by M.M. Kokovin in 1918, just a month before nationalization.

Principal Assistant in the Construction of the Circum-Baikal Railway

To ensure the construction of the Circum-Baikal Railway, it was needed to create a modern, and, most importantly, safe shipping company on Lake Baikal. This, in turn, raised the question of conducting integrated topographic and hydrographic surveys of the lake. The works were carried out by the Naval Ministry. Fedor Kirillovich Drizhenko led one of the most famous expeditions for the entire period of Baikal research - Hydrographic Expeditions: he received the “Innokentiy” steamer at his disposal.

Back then, despite the navigation on the lake, there were no accurate navigational charts, locations, meteorological systems, water gauging stations. Moreover, there were no lighthouses. There was a lot of work to do. F.K. Drizhenko sailed around the entire lake on “Innokentiy” and made a plan of basic activities for five years on the basis of this trip. The village of Listvenichnoe (modern Listvyanka) became the central base of the expedition. The number of hired civilian workers reached 75 people. Their services were mainly used for “feeding” “Innokentiy”. Firewood was harvested all the time. The boiler of “Innokentiy” seemed to never have enough fuel. A full supply of firewood was barely enough for two days.

But it was worth it. “Innokentiy” was actually the first research ship on Lake Baikal. Special tools for hydrographic works were installed on it, and a real photo lab was created in one of the rooms. For example, during the navigation in 1900, the ship surveyed the reef near the Turkulik River, conducted deep-sea exploration of the northern part of the Maloe More Strait, and identified three astronomical positions.

The ship carried parties, being a part of the expedition, to the points of their destination, and then visited them once every ten days. It is difficult to calculate how many kilometers this ship passed during the years of participation in the expedition, but the reports say that “Innokentiy” passed 18,000 km only during the navigation in 1901!

Tell friends
Related articles
pic

August is an important month in the history of the railways in the Baikal region. The celebration of the Railway Workers' Day on August 4 is supplemented by another interesting date. On August 16, 1898, the first train arrived in the capital of Eastern Siberia...

pic

The 310th anniversary of the birth of the talented German naturalist, botanist, ethnographer, researcher of Eastern Siberia Johann Georg Gmelin is celebrated on August 12 of this year. In addition, his book about the local residents of Lake Baikal was strictly forbidden in tsarist Russia...

pic

Italians came to the coast of the distant, completely unfamiliar Baikal in order to build the Circum-Baikal Railway at the invitation of the Department of Railways of the Russian Empire.

pic

The need for opening a school of navigation and geodesy in Irkutsk was undoubtedly more than three centuries ago: one of the most strategic objects for shipping and study – Baikal – was located near the city.

pic
pic
© Фото: Первый Байкальский
27 марта

Судьба первого научного судна Байкала

Пароход «Иннокентий» был спущен на озеро в конце XIX века и стал первым научно-исследовательским судном Байкала. О его младшем «брате» и о том, как судно помогло при строительстве КБЖД, — читайте в нашем материале.

В состав Иркутского областного краеведческого музея входит невероятно интересный отдел – широко известный ледокол «Ангара», который и сам является частью истории Восточной Сибири, в том числе и освоения Байкала. А вот в основной композиции представлены ювелирно сделанные макеты других пароходов, которые можно увидеть теперь только в уменьшенных копиях. Среди них – «Иннокентий», о чьей судьбе и пойдет речь.

Люди и пароходы

Фото

История мореплавания по Байкалу – крайне интересная тема, но сейчас речь ни о ней. Биографию «Иннокентия» невозможно представить, обойдя имена отдельных судовладельцев. Ведь они сыграли ведущую роль в поворотах его судьбы.

Хаминов Иван Степанович – иркутский и кяхтинский купец первой гильдии, потомственный почетный гражданин, тайный советник, обладатель многомиллионного состояния, благотворитель. Одним из первых купцов понял выгоду от вложения средств в организацию судоходства по сибирским рекам вообще и Байкалу в частности. С 1862 года был владельцем Байкальского пароходства (пароходств с таким названием было в разное время несколько).

Шишелов Семен Александрович – представитель многочисленного и уважаемого рода купцов судостроителей и пароходовладельцев, один из совладельцев Товарищества Сибирского пароходства (создано в середине 80-х годов XIX века).

Немчинов Яков Андреевич – верхнеудинский и кяхтинский купец первой гильдии, считается примером незаурядного предпринимателя, который из трактирного мальчика «на побегушках» превратился в самого состоятельного человека Сибири середины ХIХ века. Владелец пароходства.

Немчинов Андрей Яковлевич – наследник многомиллионного состояния отца, выкупивший в середине 90-х годов ХIХ века (указывают разные даты – 1894 или 1895 годы) Кяхтинское пароходное товарищество, осуществляющее регулярные рейсы по озеру Байкал.

Коковин Михаил Михайлович – потомственный почетный гражданин, а впоследствии кяхтинский купец первой гильдии, совладелец созданного в 1905 году, совместно с потомственным почетным гражданином Иннокентием Николаевичем Черных, «Товарищества Байкальского пароходства и торговли».

Трагедия хаминовского «Иннокентия»

Для своего Байкальского пароходства И.С. Хаминов в 1865 году построил пароход «Иннокентий», названный в честь иркутского Святителя Иннокентия (Кульчицкого).

Пароход, по описаниям, двухтрубный, колесный, в 100 лошадиных сил, был послан в ноябре 1869 года на поиски носимых бурей рыбопромышленных судов, но сам попал в страшный шторм. В результате судно разбило корпус о подводные рифы и погибло. Остатки оказались выброшены на камни возле Ушканьих островов. Членам экипажа (30 человек) «Иннокентия» спастись не удалось.

Мы рассказали о данном корабле неслучайно. Во-первых, из-за традиционности названия может возникнуть элементарная путаница. А, во- вторых, трагедия этого «Иннокентия» могла иметь негативные последствия для экспедиции, участником которой являлся наш «Иннокентий». В результате обмеров дна около Ушканьего архипелага при участии «Иннокентия» второго был сделан вывод, что эти места вполне удобны для прохода кораблей. Но гибель в этом районе хаминовского судна могла поставить под сомнение подобное умозаключение, хотя трагедия корабля и произошла из-за ошибки экипажа и не была связана с рельефом дна.

Этапы морского пути «Иннокентия»

В ноябре 1886 года на воду был спущен пароход «Иннокентий» – второй винтовой пароход с железным корпусом на Байкале (первым был «Николай»).

Одномачтовый, 26-метровый, имеющий 40 лошадиных сил, «Иннокентий» использовался, в основном, в качестве буксирного парохода. Комфортная перевозка пассажиров на нем была затруднена из-за недостатка имеющихся на судне помещений. Современники рассказывали, что «он не боится никаких бурь даже осенью и, несмотря на свою миниатюрность, тащит и при довольно сильном встречном ветре такие большие байкальские суда с грузом, что просто не хочется верить».

«Иннокентий» входил в состав по тем временам достаточно солидной флотилии (8 пароходов) «Товарищества Сибирского пароходства».

За год до приезда в 1891 году в Иркутск цесаревича Николая хозяева «Иннокентия» обратились с предложением к генерал-губернатору использовать для поездки наследника престола по озеру их корабль, естественно, не только не заговаривая о плате, а утверждая, что почтут за счастье оказать подобную услугу будущему Государю. Но специальная комиссия не сочла судно достойным для приема такого пассажира.

Далее «Иннокентий» перешел в руки А.Я. Немчинова, купившего его, в свою очередь, у владельцев Кяхтинского пароходного товарищества. «Иннокентий» принимал участие в навигациях по Байкалу, но именно Андрей Яковлевич дал кораблю возможность проявить себя, предоставив его с 1897 по 1902 годы для работы в Гидрографической экспедиции Байкальского озера.

После 1905 года «Иннокентий» трудился в составе «Товарищества Байкальского пароходства и торговли», пережил революцию и был частично продан М.М. Коковиным в 1918 году китайскому гражданину, буквально за месяц до национализации.

Главный помощник при строительстве КБЖД

Обеспечение строительства Кругобайкальской железной дороги потребовало создать современное, а, главное, безопасное судоходство на Байкале. А это, в свою очередь, поставило вопрос о проведении комплексных топографических и гидрографических исследований озера. Проведение работ легло на плечи Морского министерства. Возглавил одну из самых известных за весь период исследования Байкала экспедиций – Гидрографическую – Фёдор Кириллович Дриженко, который и получил в свое распоряжение «Иннокентия».

В то время, несмотря на судоходство по озеру, не существовало точных навигационных карт, лоций, системы метеонаблюдения, водомерных постов. Да что там говорить, маяков и то не было. Работа предстояла огромная. И Ф.К. Дриженко на «Иннокентии» первоначально обошел все озеро и на основе этого составил план основных действий на пять лет. Село Лиственичное (сегодня Листвянка) стало центральной базой экспедиции. Число вольнонаемных рабочих доходило до 75 человек. Их силы, в основном, использовались для «кормежки» «Иннокентия». Дрова заготавливались без остановки. Котел «Иннокентия» казался бездонным. Полного запаса дров еле хватало на два дня.

Но оно того стоило. Фактически «Иннокентий» – это первый научно-исследовательский корабль на Байкале. На нем установили специальные приборы для гидрографических работ, сделали в одном из помещений настоящую фотолабораторию. Например, за навигацию 1900 года он обследовал судовым промером риф у речки Туркулик, провел глубоководные исследования северной половины Малого моря, определил три астрономических пункта.

Он развозил по точкам партии, на которые делились экспедиции, а потом посещал их каждые десять дней. Сложно подсчитать, сколько километров оставил за бортом этот труженик за все годы участия в экспедиции, но в отчетах говорится, что только за навигацию 1901 года «Иннокентий» прошел 18 000 км!

РАССКАЗАТЬ ДРУЗЬЯМ
Читайте также
pic

Более трех столетий назад необходимость открытия в Иркутске школы навигации и геодезии не вызывала сомнений: рядом один из самых стратегических объектов для судоходства и изучения — Байкал. Рассказываем о том, как она появилась и почему проработала всего 35 лет…

pic

Его судьба воистину удивительна, а вклад в изучение растительного богатства Прибайкалья — неоценим. Поэтому фамилия Николая Степановича Турчанинова (1796–1863) высечена на фризе здания Иркутского краеведческого музея, среди медальонов с именами наиболее известных первооткрывателей Сибирского края…

pic

В нашем новом материале из рубрики ЖЗЛ Байкала речь пойдет о Федоре Дриженко — он провел масштабную водную экспедицию на озере, благодаря которой была построена первая паромная железнодорожная переправа.

pic

Трудно найти ученого, который бы сделал для Байкала так же много, как Верещагин. Продолжаем знакомить вас с замечательными людьми Байкала.

×
Хотите знать, где у нерпы санаторий?

Читайте нас в Яндекс Дзен

Хочу!

Больше не показывать