The Celestial Maps of Baikal Pathfinders
© Photo: Key To Baikal
November, 06

The Celestial Maps of Baikal Pathfinders

November 6 is the Marooned Without a Compass Day. In fact, this device invented in China during the Song Dynasty and reinvented again in Europe in the 12th-13th centuries was not known to the original inhabitants of the Baikal coast - Evenks (Tungues) and Buryats. Still, they managed to do well without compass, and many of the skills useful for this area have been preserved until today.

The “Internal” Compass of Buryats and Evenks

Both Evenks and Buryats possessed a unique ability to survive in the extreme conditions of the severe Siberian climate; in order to do this, they used the knowledge and skills transferred from generation to generation over the centuries. Mastering these skills was considered absolutely obligatory for the members of Buryat and Evenki families – these were responsible for the upbringing of the younger generation by transferring technical knowledge (wayfinding, hunting, fishing, household crafts) and socio-spiritual values ​​.

Russian chronology, calendar, length gauges slowly began to penetrate the everyday life of Evenks only in the 16th - 18th centuries... However, Evenks were relying on their everyday experience and accumulated practice and could find their way perfectly well in the surrounding natural environment without any external information. They juxtaposed the route with the position of the sun and stars in the sky. Evenks believed that the number of stars in the sky and that of trees on the earth was the same. They used the position of the stars to determine the time of day. The earth was a map and a book, and the sky served as a compass and a clock.

It is worth mentioning that the world view of Evenks was very peculiar. The constellation of the Ursa Major habitual for us was an “Elk” for them: during the daytime the Elk was hiding in the thicket of the heavenly taiga, and returned to the tops of the mountain ranges at night. A hunter was always chasing the Heavenly Elk, and it was believed that the track of his skis was what we call the Milky Way.

The amazing ability of Evenks to find the way has long been noted by all travelers who used the services of local guides. Evenks determined cardinal points by sunrise and sunset. Basing on this, there were even special terms, for example, the east was called “dulacha” which is translated as “the rising sun”. The west was called “tykten”, which, respectively, meant “setting sun”.

The time was also calculated according to the stars, the moon and the sun. In summer, the time of the day was determined by the objects inside the “chum” hut lit by the sun through a chimney or through a door. This was a kind of a home clock. The fact is that the rules for the positioning of chum, its doors and objects therein were strictly established. The door was always facing South, because South was especially revered by Evenks.

Buryats also imbibed the information about the cardinal points from early childhood at the subconscious level, thanks to the peculiarities of the yurt positioning. When a person was leaving the yurt, the South was always ahead, and the North was behind; the West was on the right, and the East - on the left. This knowledge was refreshed by the Evenki tradition of sleeping with head towards the North, feet towards the South.

As a result, both Evenks and Buryats developed a kind of an internal compass from the very beginning of their lives. In addition, boys practiced wayfinding from an early age in the process of everyday life and constant migrations.

A contemporary popular science writer, an archaeologist, a historian, a philosopher, and a traveler A.M. Burovsky who knew the world of modern Evenks perfectly well has repeatedly noted their amazing ability to accurately determine the road direction, without any devices, even in our days. He writes: “An Evenki man will confidently lead you, not doubting about the distance or the direction of movement even for a second, within the accuracy of several meters”.

Evenki Ways of Preparing Children to Survive in the Wild

Фото

The old-timers who knew local territories very thoroughly, have played and are still playing a huge role in transferring the knowledge about the features of their native nature to teenagers.

It is interesting that games and competitions in which children participated since the age of five have been an indispensable element of upbringing since ancient times; besides, developing resistance to the cold started at the stage of infancy. Beginning from the age of 4 to 5 years, children were taught how to handle deer. At the same age adults explain to children how to find their way in the taiga. Popular games for the kids of this age include having fun with one-year-old deer (“taragaikas”): children can run around as much as they want, learning to step without a sound, without even a twig cracking under their feet.

Other games also had purely utilitarian nature. The correct breathing was taught by throwing not just stones, but blocks that were rather heavy for a child. Alternatively, they gathered a bunch of deadwood and built a barrier for everyone to jump over it. The following game was quite dangerous. The children stood in a circle, and one of them tried to hit the ankles of the rest with a long heavy stick. Such a blow could really break a leg, but teenagers had to jump up or aside quick enough to miss the blow.

As a rule, a grandfather taught children the skills they needed for the taiga from an early age. For example, a lot of attention was paid to the skills of distinguishing different kinds of... snow! Evenki language has about 30 definitions of the state of snow, and this is no coincidence. Indeed, the life of people in the taiga is connected with traveling for long distances in a snowy forest, for example for winter hunting that requires certain luck. There are following states of snow: simple snow, early fluffy snow, wet snow, loose snow, snow ice, granular snow, snow falling in large fluffy flakes...

The adults taught the children what to do if the blizzard caught them unaware, far from other people, without a possibility to make a fire. The children were persuaded that being frostbitten in the taiga was a great shame. One had to be able to dig a shelter for oneself in the snow.

Elderly Evenks recall: “Parents told us that all things should be treated as if they were alive: we should be able to hear fire, its special language, treat stones like living things... And the living things should be treated as equals. Even the smallest mosquitoes…”

Tell friends
Related articles
The Celestial Maps of Baikal Pathfinders

The Professor of Irkutsk State University, Doctor of Biological Sciences Fedor Eduardovich Reimers spent his entire life working on plant physiology. He began as a simple teacher, later becoming a Director of the Siberian Institute of Plant Physiology and Biochemistry and a corresponding member of the Academy of Sciences of the USSR.

The Celestial Maps of Baikal Pathfinders

Christmas days have come: it’s time to burn candles and ask Gogol’s spirit about daily issues. Key to Baikal informs you about the rite of fortune-telling that existed on Baikal a couple of centu-ries ago.

The Celestial Maps of Baikal Pathfinders

Not only Siberian peoples considered the bear to be the Master of the Taiga, but namely Siberians turned their attitude to the bear into a cult. Moreover, this cult played an important role in the rites of hunting magic and everyday life.

The Celestial Maps of Baikal Pathfinders

It turns out that elderly people did not always enjoy the care and respect of their relatives and tribesmen. An old woman who was doomed to die of hunger not to be a burden for her tribe was fed the best meal for the last time and dressed in white clothes, like for a wedding...

Звездные карты байкальских следопытов
© Фото: Первый Байкальский

Звездные карты байкальских следопытов

Изобретенный в Китае при династии Сун и вновь придуманный в Европе в XII – XIII веках, компас не был известен аборигенам байкальских берегов — эвенкам (тунгусам) и бурятам. Но они умудрялись прекрасно обходиться и без него...

«Внутренний» компас бурят и эвенков

И эвенки, и буряты обладали уникальной способностью выживания в экстремальных условиях жесткого сибирского климата, и помогали им в этом знания и навыки, передаваемые из поколения в поколение на протяжении столетий. Овладение ими считалось абсолютно обязательным для членов и бурятских, и эвенкийских родов, в которых воспитание подрастающего поколения являлось зоной ответственности семьи, внутри которой передавались как необходимые для жизни технические знания (ориентирование, охота, рыболовство, домашнее ремесло), так и социально-духовные ценности.

Только в XVI – XVIII веках в быт эвенков, например, медленно стали проникать русское летоисчисление, календарь, меры длины… Но, опираясь на свой житейский опыт и накопленный практический багаж, эвенки и без посторонней информации прекрасно ориентировались и ориентируются в окружающей природной среде. Путь следования они сопоставляли с положением на небе солнца и звезд. Эвенки считали, что число звезд на небе и деревьев на земле одинаково. По положению звезд они определяли время суток. Земля была картой и книгой, а небо – компасом и часами.

Но мир эвенки видели очень самобытно. На небе, вместо привычной для нас Большой Медведицы, у эвенков размещался Лось, который днем уходил в чащу небесной тайги, а к ночи возвращался на вершины хребтов. За ним всегда гонится охотник, и след его лыж – это Млечный Путь.

Потрясающая способность ориентироваться в пути издавна отмечалась всеми путешественниками, которые пользовались услугами эвенков-проводников. Стороны света эвенки определяли по восходу и закату солнца. Исходя из этого, существовали даже специальные термины, например, восток – это «дылача», что в переводе обозначает «выход солнца». Запад – «тыктэн», соответственно, «падение» солнца.

Время также исчислялось по звездам, луне и солнцу. Летом определение времени дня проводилось по предметам чума, освещаемым солнцем через дымоход или через дверь. Это и являлось своеобразными домашними часами. Дело в том, что ориентация чума, его двери и расстановка в нем предметов были строго установлены. Дверь всегда была обращена на юг, так как южная сторона особо почиталась.

У бурят также, благодаря особенностям расположения юрты, с раннего детства на уровне подсознания закладывались сведения о сторонах света. При выходе из юрты спереди всегда находился юг, за спиной – север; справа – запад, слева – восток. Это подкреплялось и традицией укладываться спать головой на север, ногами на юг.

В результате и у эвенков, и у бурят изначально развивался некий внутренний компас. Кроме того, с малых лет в процессе повседневной жизни, постоянных перекочевок мальчики на практике учились ориентироваться в пространстве.

Современный писатель научно-популярного жанра, археолог, историк, философ, путешественник А.М. Буровский, прекрасно знающий мир современных эвенков, неоднократно отмечал их потрясающую особенность до сих пор, без каких-либо приспособлений, безошибочно определять дорогу. Он пишет: «Эвенк проведет вас уверенно, ни на секунду не усомнившись ни в расстоянии, ни в направлении движения, с точностью до нескольких метров».

Эвенкийские практики подготовки детей к выживанию в природе

Фото

Представители старшего поколения, прекрасно знающие местные угодья, играли и играют большую роль в передаче подросткам знаний о специфике родной природной территории.

Интересно, что непременным обучающим элементом с давних времен были игры и состязания, к которым детей привлекали с пятилетнего возраста, а закаливание вообще начиналось с младенчества. С 4 – 5 лет малышей начинают учить управлять оленями. И тогда же им объясняют, как ориентироваться в тайге. Любимыми играми с этого возраста становятся забавы с «тарагайками», годовалыми оленятами, с которыми можно вдоволь побегать, учась вырабатывать бесшумный шаг, чтобы даже веточка под ногами не хрустнула. 

Да и другие игры носили сугубо утилитарный характер. Правильность дыхания отрабатывалась подбрасыванием не просто камней, а довольно тяжелых для ребенка глыб. Или же собиралась куча валежника, сооружался барьер, через который все по очереди прыгали. Довольно опасной была и такая игра. Ребятишки становятся в круг, и один из них старается длинной увесистой палкой с размаху угодить остальным по ногам в районе лодыжек. Такой удар вполне мог перешибить ноги, но подростки должны успеть подпрыгнуть или отскочить в сторону.

Как правило, дедушка с малолетства учил детей навыкам, необходимым таежникам. Например, много внимания уделяли тому, как различать… снег! В эвенкийском языке около 30 определений состояния снега, и это неслучайно. Ведь жизнь таежника связана с передвижением по заснеженному лесу на дальние расстояния, с зимней охотой, в которой нужна удача. Бывает просто снег, первый пушистый снег, мокрый снег, рыхлый снег, смерзшийся снег, снежная крупа, снег, падающий пушистыми крупными хлопьями…

Старшие учили ребятишек, что следует делать, если пурга застала внезапно и ты далеко от людей, а возможности развести костер нет. Детям внушалась мысль, что обморозиться в тайге – большой позор. Необходимо уметь выкопать себе укрытие в снегу.

Пожилые эвенки вспоминают: «Родители говорили нам, что ко всему нужно относиться, как к живому. К огню. Уметь его слышать, у него свой язык. К камню… А к живому относиться надо как к равному. Даже к комару…»

РАССКАЗАТЬ ДРУЗЬЯМ
Читайте также
Звездные карты байкальских следопытов

Буряты обожают праздновать Новый год и делают это как минимум трижды: в ночь с 31 декабря на 1 января, в Старый Новый год и в Сагаалган, который длится целый месяц. Дата его наступления зависит от лунного календаря, в 2024 году он начнется 10 февраля. О главных традициях – в нашем материале.

Звездные карты байкальских следопытов

В названиях рек, озер и горных вершин Прибайкалья спрятаны скрытые смыслы, которыми их наделяли местные жители. Мы собрали самые удивительные топонимы и подготовили для вас короткий тест. Сможете сопоставить места на Байкале и их дословные названия?

Звездные карты байкальских следопытов

В начале XX века в Иркутске насчитывалось около 15 городских бань – но даже этого населению не хватало. «Первый Байкальский» решил выяснить, сколько часов иркутяне проводили в очереди за паром, где мылся Антон Чехов и какую дореволюционную баню удалось спасти.

Звездные карты байкальских следопытов