Semyon Ustinov: an Enthusiast of Reserve Management
Semyon Ustinov: an Enthusiast of Reserve Management
© Photo: Key To Baikal
October, 14

Semyon Ustinov: an Enthusiast of Reserve Management

Our new article from the section “Lives of Great People” is dedicated to “the shaggiest employee of the reserve system”. That is what Semyon Ustinov called himself.

The tradition to celebrate those working in the field specially protected natural areas on October 14 originated in 1999; although this holiday, the Day of Reserves of Russia, is still not legalized at the official level. What a pity! Because the most part of employees and volunteers working in reserves are enthusiasts and devotees who are involved in the objective of preserving the natural state of the Earth’s surface, its flora and fauna, exciting curiosity of the residents of their regions in environmental activities, attracting them to the protection of natural resources.ss

Semyon Klimovich Ustinov (1933 - 2017) was exactly a person of this kind and a universally recognized expert on the nature of the Baikal region. The list of his merits, titles and awards will probably take more than one page. He spent his entire life in the reserves of the Baikal region.

“The Shaggiest Employee of the Reserve System”

That is exactly what Semyon Klimovich ironically called himself, alluding to his enormous work experience in an extremely complicated field; he understood that there was a need for a balanced attitude to this field already in his early childhood.

Growing up in a family of Old Believers where they were engaged in hunting and farming inevitably affected the worldview of little Semyon: his father fully shared his knowledge of nature with the boy, teaching him to love and understand it not only from books. The hikes with his father to the forest, to the river formed the character of the future expert of the Siberian taiga, a real taiga and field worker, who learned his father’s lesson – to respect all living things. So the choice of his future occupation was quite logical. In 1956, Semyon Ustinov graduated from the Irkutsk Agricultural Institute with a diploma of a Biologist-Game Manager.

 All entries in his employment record are the evidence of the permanent interest of its holder in various aspects of environmental protection: Barguzinsky State Reserve, Institute of Epidemiology and Microbiology, Siberian Branch of the All-Union Hunting and Animal Breeding Institute, Baikal-Lena Reserve. Moreover, Semyon Klimovich participated in the creation of the reserve, moreover, his careful observation of the habitat of wild ungulates in places of their migrations made it possible to determine the boundaries of the protected area. He was the Head of the Scientific Department, Environmental Education Department, Deputy Director of the Baikal-Lena Nature Reserve. He devoted almost 30 years of his life to this institution and worked at the Environmental Education Department of the “Reserved Pribaikalye (Baikal Region)” until his death.

The candidate thesis of Semyon Klimovich titled “Ecology and Hunting of Musk Deer” was evaluated by experts as the best research work on this small representative of Siberian cloven-hoofed mammals already then, in late 1960s. This work alone would be enough for scientific recognition, but Ustinov continued to persistently study the taiga mammals of Eastern Siberia, gradually turning into one of the most highly authoritative experts. The evidence of this fact is already shown by the very names of his popular science books: “A Year and the Whole Life of a Bear”, “Wolf Song”, “Hunt the Animal”, “Mysterious Trails of Musk Deer”, “In the Forests around Lake Baikal”, “The News of the Blue Mountains”...

The Temple of Nature, according to Semyon Ustinov

The concrete boxes of city houses were too small and stuffy for Semyon Klimovich. Therefore, he spent the last ten years on the coast of his beloved Baikal, continuing to unravel its mysteries.

Since his childhood Semyon Klimovich has spent almost a fifth of his whole life outside of civilization, in the wild taiga, traveling far and wide, plunging into the exciting world of its inhabitants, watching his favorite musk deer, moose, bears, wolverines... Semyon Klimovich could spend several months in the taiga on his own, claiming that taiga had taught him accuracy, attentiveness, and observation. Above all, this involved taiga researcher preferred solitude in the forest, which enabled him to notice everything happening around.

The way this mature experienced man managed to keep a sense of childish, joyful admiration for what he saw in the forest was truly amazing. This, as well as his reverent, thrifty, respectful attitude towards the Earth and creatures living on it can best be represented by the words and stories of Semyon Klimovich himself:

 Semyon Ustinov: an Enthusiast of Reserve Management

 - My father said: “When in the taiga, you must walk so quietly that you are not able to hear your own steps. Then you will not offend or hurt anyone, but will see everything and understand everything”;

- I don’t like this conqueror’s spirit: “The conquerors have descended from the Chomolungma!” What kind of conquerors are you? You should thank the creator who revealed all this beauty to you! And they think that nature resources are unlimited and you can take them, grab them;

- Winter is the best time to observe nature. You can go in the trails of an animal from its first night shelter to another. And you can find answers to difficult questions;

- I saw bears pretty often. First they can make you laugh, and then scare you almost to death. Once I watched two bear cubs skating from an ice waterfall. Then I noticed two medium-sized bears heading the frozen waterfall at a distance of about four hundred meters from me. And as if agreed, they jumped up the hill, sat on their bottoms, and slid down the ice! Then they stopped and climbed up there once again. They entertained themselves this way for forty-five minutes.

Semyon Klimovich was an excellent promoter of environmental issues, possessing an ability to speak about them even in front of children in kindergartens. “A small bear”, “a tiny musk deer”, “sweet burbot”, “small pike”... These words of Ustinov are not childish lisping, but a sincere, almost fairy-tale attitude to the wild world: one should spare and protect it.

A memorial plaque on the wall of the library named after him in the village of Utulik where Semyon Klimovich Ustinov lived reminds us of this outstanding person today.

Tell friends
Related articles
Semyon Ustinov: an Enthusiast of Reserve Management

It turns out that elderly people did not always enjoy the care and respect of their relatives and tribesmen. An old woman who was doomed to die of hunger not to be a burden for her tribe was fed the best meal for the last time and dressed in white clothes, like for a wedding...

Semyon Ustinov: an Enthusiast of Reserve Management

He was able to truly love a land that forgives no mistakes, but makes you learn what you are capable of. This land makes you real. “Key to Baikal” tells you the story of Richard Maack - a teacher who fell in love with Siberia, who could become a great scientist and discoverer and nearly sacrificed his life for it.

Semyon Ustinov: an Enthusiast of Reserve Management

We tell you about the way the indigenous people of Baikal prefer to eat omul, and teach you to cook fish with a “high flavor”. Yes, you get it right, we mean it, and the ancient Buryats borrowed this recipe from...bears.

Semyon Ustinov: an Enthusiast of Reserve Management

Are you ready for a thrill? We decided to take a look into the past and learn to know about the black shamans of Lake Baikal and “cannibalistic spirits” connected with those...

Семен Устинов: энтузиаст заповедного дела
Семен Устинов: энтузиаст заповедного дела
© Фото: Первый Байкальский

Семен Устинов: энтузиаст заповедного дела

Наш новый материал из рубрики «ЖЗЛ Байкала» — о «самом лохматом сотруднике заповедной системы». Именно так называл себя Семен Устинов.

 С 1999 года ведет начало традиция чествовать 14 октября тех, чья деятельность связана с особо охраняемыми природными территориями, хотя на официальном уровне этот праздник, День работников заповедного дела России, до сих пор не узаконен. А жаль! Потому что, в большинстве своем, сотрудники и волонтеры, которые трудятся в заповедной сфере, – это энтузиасты и подвижники, небезразличные к стремлению сохранить в естественном виде земную поверхность, животный и растительный мир на ней, заинтересовать жителей своих регионов в подобной деятельности, привлекая их к охране природных ресурсов.

Именно таким человеком был Семен Климович Устинов (1933 – 2017) – общепризнанный знаток природы Прибайкалья. Перечисления его заслуг, званий и наград займут, пожалуй, не одну страницу. Всю свою жизнь он провел в заповедниках Байкальского региона.

«Самый лохматый сотрудник заповедной системы»

Именно так иронично называл себя сам Семен Климович, намекая на огромный трудовой стаж в крайне сложной сфере, необходимость взвешенного отношения к которой он понял еще в раннем детстве.

Взросление в семье старообрядцев, где занимались охотой и земледелием, не могло не отразиться на мировосприятии маленького Семена, с которым отец в полной мере поделился своими знаниями о природе, научив любить и понимать ее не только по книжкам. Именно в походах с отцом в лес, на реку и складывался характер будущего знатока сибирской тайги, настоящего таежника и полевика, усвоившего урок отца – уважать все живое. И выбор будущей специальности был вполне логичен. В 1956 году Семен Устинов окончил Иркутский сельскохозяйственный институт, получив диплом биолога-охотоведа.

Все записи в трудовой книжке свидетельствуют о неизменном интересе ее хозяина к различным аспектам природоохранной деятельности: Баргузинский государственный заповедник, Институт эпидемиологии и микробиологии, Сибирское отделение Всесоюзного института охотничьего хозяйства и звероводства, Байкало-Ленский заповедник. Более того, Семен Климович был участником создания заповедника, и его тщательные наблюдения за ареалом обитания диких копытных, местами их перекочевок позволили определить границы заповедной зоны. Он – глава научного отдела, отдела природоохранного просвещения, заместитель директора Байкало-Ленского заповедника. С ним он связал почти 30 лет жизни и до самой смерти трудился в отделе экологического просвещения «Заповедного Прибайкалья».

Кандидатская диссертация Семена Климовича на тему «Экология и промысел кабарги» уже тогда, в конце 60-х годов была оценена профессионалами как самая лучшая исследовательская работа об этом небольшом представителе сибирских парнокопытных животных. Одного этого труда хватило бы для научного признания, но Устинов продолжал упорно изучать таежных млекопитающих Восточной Сибири, постепенно превратившись в одного из авторитетнейших специалистов. Свидетельство этому – уже в самих названиях его научно-популярных книг: «Год и вся жизнь медведя», «Волчья песня», «Добыть зверя», «Загадочные тропы кабарги», «В лесах у Байкала», «Вести от синих гор»…

Храм природы Семена Устинова

Семену Климовичу было тесно и душно в бетонных коробках городских домов. Поэтому более десяти последних лет он жил на берегу такого любимого им Байкала, продолжая разгадывать его тайны. 

Начиная с детства, почти пятую часть отведенного ему богом на этой земле времени, Семен Климович провел за пределами цивилизации, в дикой тайге, которую исходил и изъездил вдоль и поперек, погружаясь в интереснейший мир ее обитателей, наблюдая за столь любимыми им кабарожками, лосями, медведями, росомахами… В одиночку Семен Климович мог провести в тайге несколько месяцев, утверждая, что именно она научила его аккуратности, внимательности, наблюдательности. Ко всему, этот заинтересованный таежный исследователь предпочитал в лесу одиночество, что и позволяло замечать все, что происходило вокруг.

Поражает, как этот зрелый, много повидавший человек сумел сохранять в себе ощущение детского, радостного восхищения от увиденных в лесу картинок. И это, и трепетное, бережливое, уважительное отношение к земле и существам, ее населяющим, лучше всего можно представить словами и рассказами самого Семена Климовича:

 Семен Устинов: энтузиаст заповедного дела– мой отец говорил: «По тайге ты должен ходить так, чтобы не слышать самого себя. Тогда ты никого не обидишь и не заденешь, но все увидишь и все поймешь»; 

– этот дух покорительства так я не люблю: «Покорители спустились с Джомолунгмы!» Да какие вы покорители? Вы благодарите создателя, что он показал вам всю эту красотень! А они думают, что природа бездонна – черпай, хватай;

– для наблюдений за природой зима – лучшее время. Можно пройти в пяту – по следу животного от одной его ночевки до другой. И на сложные вопросы ответы найти;

– медведя видел часто. То нахохочешься с ним, то напугаешься до полусмерти. Раз застал двух медведишек за катанием с ледяного водопада. Смотрю: метрах в четырехстах от меня два некрупных медведя выходят к замерзшему водопаду. И как сговорились – прыжками поднялись на гору, сели на зады, и – вжжжих по льду вниз! Там затормозили – и опять наверх. И так катались сорок пять минут.

Семен Климович был прекрасным популяризатором экологических проблем, умея выступать даже перед ребятишками в детских садах. «Медведишко», «кабарожка», «налимка», «щучка»… У Устинова это не детское сюсюканье, а сердечное, почти полусказочное отношение к «братьям нашим меньшим», которых человек должен и жалеть, и охранять.

В поселке Утулик, где жил Семен Климович Устинов, об этом замечательном человеке сегодня напоминает мемориальная доска на стене поселковой библиотеки, названной его именем.

РАССКАЗАТЬ ДРУЗЬЯМ
Читайте также
Семен Устинов: энтузиаст заповедного дела

Готовы пощекотать нервы? Мы решили заглянуть в прошлое и узнать, кто такие черные шаманы Байкала и при чем здесь «духи-людоеды»…

Семен Устинов: энтузиаст заповедного дела

Изобретенный в Китае при династии Сун и вновь придуманный в Европе в XII – XIII веках, компас не был известен аборигенам байкальских берегов — эвенкам (тунгусам) и бурятам. Но они умудрялись прекрасно обходиться и без него...

Семен Устинов: энтузиаст заповедного дела

Бурятские орнаменты и узоры несут в себе древнюю сакральную символику. Они рассказывают о верованиях и образе жизни древнейших людей Байкала.

Семен Устинов: энтузиаст заповедного дела

Из каменного века пришло предание о бездонности Байкала, к которому присоединилось и представление о подземном слиянии Байкала с Северным Ледовитым океаном…

×
Хотите знать, где у нерпы санаторий?

Читайте нас в Яндекс Дзен

Хочу!

Больше не показывать