Richard Maack: a Provincial Teacher and a Great Scientist
© Photo: Key To Baikal
November, 27

Richard Maack: a Provincial Teacher and a Great Scientist

He was able to truly love a land that forgives no mistakes, but makes you learn what you are capable of. This land makes you real. “Key to Baikal” tells you the story of Richard Maack - a teacher who fell in love with Siberia, who could become a great scientist and discoverer and nearly sacrificed his life for it.

The Man of Two Nations and Names

Richard Maack: a Provincial Teacher and a Great Scientist

Richard Otto Maak was born in the city of Arensburg, province of Livonia. Now it is the town of Kuressaare in Estonia. His father came from a family of Ostsee (Baltic) Germans, and his mother was English - it was she who gave her son such an unusual name for Germans. He lived up to this name, taking responsibility for other people and embarking on dangerous journeys like Richard the Lionheart many times.

First he studied in his homeland and then in St. Petersburg. Richard Karlovich (as people began to call him) became a teacher of natural sciences. Having obtained his education, Richard went to the place where he could to make discoveries - to Baikal, to the city of Irkutsk.

In 1851, one of the first regional branches of the Russian Geographical Society was opened in Irkutsk (along with the branch in Tiflis). This organization was engaged in a comprehensive study of territories from the point of view of proper geography, as well as geology, ethnography and other sciences.

During that time Richard Karlovich arrived in the ancient Siberian city and was appointed Senior Teacher of Natural Sciences in the Irkutsk classical gymnasium. Alongside with teaching, he immediately became involved in the activities of the Siberian Department of the Russian Geographical Society.

In Search of Siberian Eldorado

The first expedition of Richard Maack was connected with the search for natural resources in the Vilyuisky district of Yakutsk Oblast. The rumors about the riches of these northern territories reached Irkutsk. There were suggestions that this region was very rich in salt and iron deposits and precious stones, and its rivers were abundant in gold placers.

The expedition commenced in January 1854. The first stop was Yakutsk where they finished preparations for further travel and where all the expedition members gathered: the warrant officer of the corps of topographers A.K. Zandgagen, teacher of the Irkutsk gymnasium A.P. Pavlovsky, demonstrator M. Furman and Maack himself.

They went on boats, rode horses and then deer. Maack who came from Europe complained about the inconvenience of riding these animals: “The main inconvenience of these animals is that their back must be always dry, otherwise it wears down and exposes the body of the animal that is no longer able to endure the pain of saddle friction.”

The long journey through almost unoccupied territories became more and more dangerous with the approach of winter. Already in October, travelers encountered shortage of food and cold weather, from which they could not hide anywhere. Maack describes the frost in Vilyui in the following way: “The trunks of thick trees broke from the cold, the earth cracked, the wet wood became harder than iron, and the ax could not cut it, instead it shattered like glass when hitting that wood.”

Maack and his team arrived at the appointed place only by December 25. The Yakuts who met the expedition were very surprised that the scientists were still alive. During the 13 months of travel (including the return trip to Irkutsk), they covered a total of more than 8,000 kilometers on boats, horses, deer and on foot.

The report on this dangerous journey was published only twenty years later, because right after this return Richard Karlovich was sent to travel once again.

Amur, Ussuri and Restless Old Age

In 1855, the same Maack, Furman and Zandgagen went to Amur for a scientific study of this region as part of the second “Amur Rafting”.

By the way, back then the territory did not belong to Russia, so this expedition was even more dangerous than the previous one. Actually, by studying the local flora, fauna, climate and peoples, Maack and his team assigned this territory to Russia.

The expedition started quietly and peacefully in Irkutsk. Having passed Baikal and the steppes of Transbaikalia, scientists and the military reached the Shilka River. They had to cover the most part of the way along Amur and Shilka by foot along the coast or on horseback.

The journey ended in Irkutsk by New Year; from that place Richard Maack brought the collections of minerals, plants, household items of local peoples, and other things compiled over two years to St. Petersburg.

During the three years spent in St. Petersburg, the inexhaustible discoverer and researcher managed to publish a book about his journey to Amur, sort the materials and organize several exhibitions, receive a medal and a financial reward for his work.

In 1859, Richard Maack went even further east, to Ussuri. This land, now known as Primorye, became a part of Russia only after the end of the expedition. Maack traveled across the country to Irkutsk once again, then he went through Amur to a little-known region where he conducted land surveys along the Ussuri River. There, on Lake Khanka, the scientist fell ill, which was why the expedition had to be cancelled. Maack was the first to study Amur and Ussuri from a scientific point of view, and all scientists after him relied on his works. Plants and animals of Siberia and the Far East were named in honor of Maack. Richard Karlovich seriously undermined his health during the frosty adventure in the North and when rafting in the wet Amur and  in Primorye. During the following years of his life, Maack managed to write many fundamental works on his travels and statistics. He also worked as a teacher in Irkutsk for many more years, becoming the Chief Inspector of Schools in Eastern Siberia over time.

Maack’s whole life was about establishing the limits of human capabilities. Many of his companions with whom he shared the hardships of his journeys, died in travels or because of them. But Maack stayed alive and became a great discoverer in the land that he fell in love with.

Richard Karlovich Maack is warmly remembered in the East of Russia. The Youth Club of the Irkutsk Regional Branch of the Russian Geographical Society even made a short video about him, and we are happy to present it to you.

Tell friends
Related articles
Richard Maack: a Provincial Teacher and a Great Scientist

The Professor of Irkutsk State University, Doctor of Biological Sciences Fedor Eduardovich Reimers spent his entire life working on plant physiology. He began as a simple teacher, later becoming a Director of the Siberian Institute of Plant Physiology and Biochemistry and a corresponding member of the Academy of Sciences of the USSR.

Richard Maack: a Provincial Teacher and a Great Scientist

Christmas days have come: it’s time to burn candles and ask Gogol’s spirit about daily issues. Key to Baikal informs you about the rite of fortune-telling that existed on Baikal a couple of centu-ries ago.

Richard Maack: a Provincial Teacher and a Great Scientist

Not only Siberian peoples considered the bear to be the Master of the Taiga, but namely Siberians turned their attitude to the bear into a cult. Moreover, this cult played an important role in the rites of hunting magic and everyday life.

Richard Maack: a Provincial Teacher and a Great Scientist

It turns out that elderly people did not always enjoy the care and respect of their relatives and tribesmen. An old woman who was doomed to die of hunger not to be a burden for her tribe was fed the best meal for the last time and dressed in white clothes, like for a wedding...

Ричард Маак: провинциальный учитель и великий ученый
Ричард Маак: провинциальный учитель и великий ученый
© Фото: Первый Байкальский

Ричард Маак: провинциальный учитель и великий ученый

Полюбить землю, которая не прощает ошибок, но в которой ты познаешь, на что ты способен. Землю, которая делает тебя настоящим. Первый Байкальский расскажет историю Ричарда Маака — влюбившегося в Сибирь учителя, который смог стать великим ученым и первооткрывателем, едва не отдав за это свою жизнь.

Человек двух наций и имен

Ричард Маак: провинциальный учитель и великий ученыйРичард Отто Маак родился в городе Аренсбург Лифляндской губернии. Сейчас это город Курессааре в Эстонии. Его отец был из семьи остзейских (балтийских) немцев, а мать была англичанкой – именно она дала сыну такое необычное для немцев имя. Он не раз оправдает его, принимая на себя ответственность за других людей и отправляясь в опасные путешествия, как Ричард Львиное Сердце.

Отучившись сперва у себя на родине, а потом и в Петербурге, Ричард Карлович (так его стали называть) стал учителем естествознания. Получив образование, он направился туда, где можно было делать открытия, –
к Байкалу, в Иркутск.

В 1851 году в Иркутске открыли одно из первых (наряду с Тифлисом) региональных отделений Русского географического общества. Эта организация занималась комплексным изучением территорий с точки зрения собственно географии, а также геологии, этнографии и других наук.

Именно тогда Ричард Карлович прибыл в старинный сибирский город и был назначен старшим учителем естествознания в Иркутскую классическую гимназию. Наряду с преподаванием, он сразу включился в деятельность Сибирского отдела РГО.

В поисках сибирского Эльдорадо

Первая экспедиция Ричарда Маака была связана с поиском природных ресурсов в Вилюйском округе Якутской области. До Иркутска доходили слухи о богатствах этих северных территорий. Выдвигались предположения о том, что этот край богат соляными и железными залежами и драгоценными камнями, а реки его изобилуют золотыми россыпями.

Экспедиция началась в январе 1854 года. Первым пунктом остановки был Якутск, в котором были закончены приготовления для дальнейшего похода и где собрались все члены экспедиции: прапорщик корпуса топографов А.К. Зандгаген, учитель иркутской гимназии А.П. Павловский, препаратор М. Фурман и сам Маак.

Они плыли на лодках, ехали верхом на лошадях, а потом на оленях. На неудобство езды на этих животных сетует европеец Маак: «Главное неудобство этих животных заключается в том, что спина его должна быть постоянно сухой, в противном случае она перетирается и обнажает тело животного, которое от боли уже не в состоянии выносить трения седла».

Долгий путь по практически необитаемым территориям становился все опасней с приближением зимы. Уже в октябре путешественники столкнулись с нехваткой продовольствия и холодом, от которого негде было спрятаться. Маак дает такое описание вилюйского мороза: «От холода разрывались стволы толстых деревьев, земля давала трещины, влажное же дерево становилось тверже железа, и топор не рубил его, а сам при ударе разлетался в дребезги, как стекло».

Маак и компания лишь к 25 декабря вышли в назначенное место. Якуты, встретившие экспедицию, сильно удивились, что ученые остались в живых. В общей сложности за 13 месяцев путешествия (вместе с возвращением в Иркутск) они прошли больше 8 000 километров на лодках, лошадях, оленях и своих ногах.

Отчет об этом опасном путешествии был издал лишь двадцать лет спустя, потому что, едва вернувшись, Ричарда Карловича вновь отправили в путь.

Амур, Уссури и неспокойная старость

В 1855 году в составе второго «амурского сплава» те же Маак, Фурман и Зандгаген отправились на Амур для научного изучения этого региона.

К слову, тогда это не была территория России, поэтому эта экспедиция была еще более опасной, чем предыдущая. Фактически, изучая местную флору, фауну, климат и народы, Маак и компания закрепляли эту территорию за Россией.

Началась экспедиция тихо и мирно из Иркутска. Пройдя Байкал и степи Забайкалья, ученые вместе с военными достигли реки Шилка. Большую часть пути по Амуру и Шилке они шли пешком вдоль берега или верхом на лошадях.

Уже к новому году путешествие завершилось в Иркутске, откуда Ричард Маак повез в Петербург собранные за два года коллекции минералов, растений, предметов быта местных народов и т.д.

Неутомимый первооткрыватель и исследователь за три года нахождения в Петербурге успел издать книгу о своем путешествии на Амур, разобрать материалы и организовать несколько выставок, получить орден и денежное вознаграждение за свои труды.

В 1859 году Ричард Маак отправился еще дальше на Восток, на Уссури. Эта земля, известная сейчас как Приморье, лишь после окончания экспедиции станет частью России.

Проехав вновь через всю страну в Иркутск, затем через Амур, в малоизвестный край, Маак проводил исследования земель вдоль реки Уссури. Здесь, на озере Ханка ученый заболел, из-за чего экспедицию пришлось свернуть. Он первым стал изучать Амур и Уссури с научной точки зрения, и все последующие ученые будут опираться на его труды. В честь Маака будут называть растения и животных Сибири и Дальнего Востока.

Ричард Карлович серьезно подорвал здоровье в своем морозном приключении на Севере и на сплавах по влажному Приамурью и Приморью. Дальнейшие годы жизни Маак успел написать множество фундаментальных трудов по своим путешествиям и статистике. Еще много лет он будет преподавать в Иркутске, став со временем главным инспектором училищ Восточной Сибири.

Вся жизнь Маака – это познание пределов человеческих возможностей. Многие из его спутников, с которыми он делил тяготы своих странствий, погибли в путешествиях или из-за них. Но он остался жив и стал великим первооткрывателем в том крае, который он полюбил.

О Ричарде Карловиче Мааке с теплотой вспоминают на Востоке России. Молодежный клуб Иркутского областного отделения РГО даже снял небольшой видеоролик о нем, который мы с удовольствием представляем.

РАССКАЗАТЬ ДРУЗЬЯМ
Читайте также
Ричард Маак: провинциальный учитель и великий ученый

В конце прошлого года документальный канал RТД (Russia Today Documentary) выпустил фильм «Как стать шаманом». Первый Байкальский публикует видео для своих читателей.

Ричард Маак: провинциальный учитель и великий ученый

Профессор Иркутского государственного университета доктор биологических наук Федор Эдуардович Реймерс всю свою жизнь занимался физиологией растений. Начинал он простым учителем, а впоследствии стал директором Сибирского института физиологии и биохимии растений и член-корреспондентом АН СССР.

Ричард Маак: провинциальный учитель и великий ученый

На дворе святочные дни — время жечь свечи и вопрошать дух Гоголя о насущном. Пер-вый Байкальский рассказывает, каким был ритуал гадания на Байкале пару веков назад.

Ричард Маак: провинциальный учитель и великий ученый

Предновогодняя суета, казалось бы, не меняется из года в год: нарядить елку, подготовить все к празднику, который придет в полночь, под бой курантов загадывать заветные желания; шампанское, конфетти, бенгальские огни... Привычные нам радостные хлопоты. Но интересно — а как встречали Новый год иркутяне сто с лишним лет назад? Какие традиции с тех пор сохранились, а какие утрачены?

×
Хотите знать, где у нерпы санаторий?

Читайте нас в Яндекс Дзен

Хочу!

Больше не показывать