“The Last Wedding”: Why the Ancient Peoples of Lake Baikal Showed No Respect for Old People
© Photo: Key To Baikal
December, 12

“The Last Wedding”: Why the Ancient Peoples of Lake Baikal Showed No Respect for Old People

It turns out that elderly people did not always enjoy the care and respect of their relatives and tribesmen. An old woman who was doomed to die of hunger not to be a burden for her tribe was fed the best meal for the last time and dressed in white clothes, like for a wedding...

A change in public consciousness is the process of fundamental transformation of the worldview of human society. It happens due to objective reasons, as a rule, changing the ideological principles of the previous era. A modern person can hardly remain calm trying to imagine the attitude to older people during antiquity and even later epochs.

“Putting One’s Father on a Sled”

Elderly people did not always enjoy the care and respect of their relatives and tribesmen. Unfortunately, they had been considered a heavy burden for their family for a long time, so this issue was resolved drastically – by killing the old folks. In ancient Greece they were thrown off a cliff. In Iceland the elderly were condemned to death from starvation until the medieval period. Until the 19th century, poor people in Japan got rid of their oldest family members leading them to the mountains and leaving them there without food or support.

The same cruel tradition existed in pre-Christian Russia where there was a rule of eliminating people who could no longer take care of themselves. Old people were either taken far into the forest and thrown to wild animals or to starve to death, or else they were kept locked up in an empty cold hut until their death hour or put into an empty pit in a barn or a threshing floor, or drowned in a water reservoir.

Sometimes, they tried to “ease” the death throes and killed old people by striking their head with a hammer.

Russian vocabulary had expressions “it's time to go to a wood block” or “it’s time to be put on a sled”.  The sled was used to bring an elderly person to a deep ravine, put him/her on a wood block (a layer of tree bark) and pushed into a gorge.

Of course, all this happened not because ancient Slavs were very cruel. These traditions had ritual nature and were predetermined by ideological factors.

The Attitude to Ancestors among Ancient Indigenous Residents of the Baikal Region

The traditions of attitude of peoples living along the coast of Lake Baikal towards the elderly were almost the same.

Before Yakuts took their parents to a deserted place on a sled, they dressed the elderly in new clothes made of white deer hides, and when an old woman was doomed to such a death, they used to say that, for example, she would be taken to a wedding and fed the best delicacies for the last time.

Mongols had a really horrible procedure: burying the elderly in the ground alive. Their language had corresponding proverbs, such as “a grandson strangling his grandparents”, “a terrifying old man waiting to see his great-grandchildren”. Such methods had been used until the 18th century.

Buryats had a ceremony of “Khermen zegete-aba”. When a person reached the age of 70, he or she was believed to cross a certain line. A feast was held for the old person where his/her grandson put a ribbon of lamb fat in his grandfather's (grandmother’s) mouth and pushed it down his/her throat with the help of a long bone. As a rule, during this procedure the old person died.

Ethnographic historians think that the ritual of killing old people is explained not only by difficult living conditions, but also by religious cults, because these had the elements of sacrifice. People believed that if a person died from an illness, then an evil spirit would devour him/her, and the deceased would turn into that spirit after death. Thus, the deceased could do harm to his/her living relatives, therefore, the relatives should help the old person to die, thus his/her spirit would strongly support them.

The majority of Yakut old people allowed to kill themselves quite consciously. They knew that their children did not want their parents to be eaten by “abasy” (devils). The following abusive phrase addressed to a son who allowed his father to die a natural death was recorded by one researcher at the end of the 19th century and is widely known: “A black dog that allowed the devil to eat his father!”.

The genuineness of this attitude to the elderly is also confirmed by Baikal legends.

The Legend of the Golden Bowl

In the wild Yakut taiga, locals tell an amazing legend about the distant Bayagal (Baikal) Sea, about an evil and cruel king and a golden bowl. This legend says that a very beautiful woman lived the bottom of Bayagal, and she was holding a golden bowl in her hands. The king was cruel and greedy and wanted to take possession of the beauty and her golden bowl. He began to send his brave young men there to get the woman, but none of those men ever came back.

At the same time, the kingdom had a custom, according to which old people had to be killed. But there was a young man who loved his father very much and violated this cruel rule. He was hiding his blind father. When it was the young man’s turn to dive into the sea for a golden bowl, his father told him that the beauty holding the bowl did not really live on the bottom, but was sitting  above it on a high mountain, and only her reflection could be seen in the waters of the Bayagal Sea. So the young man climbed this mountain and brought the beauty and the bowl to the king. After this, the cruel king disappeared without a trace. Then the rule of killing old people was abolished.

A similar legend can also be heard from the local residents of the Baikal region - Buryats.

Tell friends
Related articles
“The Last Wedding”: Why the Ancient Peoples of Lake Baikal Showed No Respect for Old People

The Professor of Irkutsk State University, Doctor of Biological Sciences Fedor Eduardovich Reimers spent his entire life working on plant physiology. He began as a simple teacher, later becoming a Director of the Siberian Institute of Plant Physiology and Biochemistry and a corresponding member of the Academy of Sciences of the USSR.

“The Last Wedding”: Why the Ancient Peoples of Lake Baikal Showed No Respect for Old People

Christmas days have come: it’s time to burn candles and ask Gogol’s spirit about daily issues. Key to Baikal informs you about the rite of fortune-telling that existed on Baikal a couple of centu-ries ago.

“The Last Wedding”: Why the Ancient Peoples of Lake Baikal Showed No Respect for Old People

Not only Siberian peoples considered the bear to be the Master of the Taiga, but namely Siberians turned their attitude to the bear into a cult. Moreover, this cult played an important role in the rites of hunting magic and everyday life.

“The Last Wedding”: Why the Ancient Peoples of Lake Baikal Showed No Respect for Old People

He was able to truly love a land that forgives no mistakes, but makes you learn what you are capable of. This land makes you real. “Key to Baikal” tells you the story of Richard Maack - a teacher who fell in love with Siberia, who could become a great scientist and discoverer and nearly sacrificed his life for it.

«Последняя свадьба»: почему древние народы Байкала  не уважали старость…
© Фото: Первый Байкальский
12 декабря #традиции

«Последняя свадьба»: почему древние народы Байкала не уважали старость…

Оказывается, не всегда пожилые люди пользовались заботой и уважением своих родственников и соплеменников. Старуху, обреченную умереть с голоду, чтобы она не была обузой для племени, в последний раз кормили самыми лучшими кушаньями и одевали в белые одежды, как на свадьбе…

Изменение общественного сознания – процесс коренной ломки мировоззрения человеческого сообщества. Происходит он по объективным причинам, как правило, меняя идеологические установки предыдущей эпохи. И современному человеку вряд ли возможно спокойно представить себе практику отношения к пожилым людям в древности, да и в более позднее время тоже.

«Посадить отца на салазки»

Пожилые люди пользовались заботой и уважением своих родственников и соплеменников не всегда. К сожалению, длительное время они считались обузой для своей семьи, причем столь тяжелой, что вопрос решался кардинально – умерщвлением предков. В Древней Греции их сбрасывали со скалы. В Исландии вплоть до Средневековья стариков обрекали на смерть от голода. В Японии аж до XIX века бедняки избавлялись от самых старых своих членов, уводя их в горы и оставляя без поддержки и продуктов.

Такая же варварская традиция существовала в дохристианской Руси, где было правило устранения людей, которые не могли сами позаботиться о себе. Стариков либо заводили далеко в лес и оставляли на съедение диким животным или на голодную смерть, либо держали взаперти в пустой холодной хате до наступления смертного часа, либо опускали в пустую яму в амбаре или гумне, либо топили в водоеме.

Иногда, чтобы «облегчить» предсмертные муки, старика убивали, ударив молотом по голове.

В русской лексике присутствовали выражения «пора на лубок» или «сажать на салазки». На санках пожилого человека привозили к глубокому оврагу, сажали на луб (пласт слоя коры дерева) и сталкивали в ущелье.

Естественно, все это делалось не из-за пристрастия древних славян к жестокости. Подобные обычаи носили ритуальный характер и определялись мировоззренческими факторами.

Отношение к предкам в древности у коренных жителей Прибайкалья

Традиции отношения к старикам практически повторялись и у народов, живущих по берегам Байкала.

Якуты, перед тем как отвезти своих родителей на санях в безлюдное место, одевали на них новые одежды из белых оленьих шкур, а например, про старуху, обреченную на подобную смерть, говорили, что ее повезут на свадьбу, и в последний раз кормили самыми лучшими кушаньями.

Монголы вообще демонстрировали страшную процедуру – закапывание стариков в землю. В их речи существовали пословицы типа «внук задушит», «зловещий старик тот, который увидит своих правнучат». И такие методы сохранялись до XVIII века.

У бурят существовала церемония Хэрмэн зэгэтэ-аба. Когда человек достигал 70-летнего возраста, он переступал определенный рубеж. Для старика проводили застолье, где внук клал в рот деду кусок бараньего жира в виде ленты и заталкивал его внутрь с помощью длинной кости. Как правило, от этой процедуры человек умирал.

Историки, занимающиеся этнографией, считают, что ритуал убийства стариков объясняется не только сложными условиями жизни, но и религиозными культами, отмечая в этом элементы жертвоприношения. Люди верили, что если человек умирает от болезни, то его пожирает злой дух, в которого после смерти и превращается сам умерший. Он может вредить живым сородичам, следовательно, старику надо помочь умереть, и тогда его дух будет всячески поддерживать родных.

Большинство якутских стариков вполне осознанно позволяло себя убить. Они знали, что их дети не хотят, чтобы родителей съедали «абасы», то есть черти. Широко известна ругательная фраза в адрес сына, допустившего своего отца умереть естественною смертью, записанная одним исследователем в конце XIX века: «Черный пес, позволивший черту съесть своего отца!».

Подлинность подобного отношения к старикам подтверждают и байкальские легенды.

Легенда о Золотой Чаше

В одной глухой якутской тайге рассказывают удивительную легенду о далеком море Баягале (Байкале), о злом и жестоком царе и золотой чаше. В этой легенде сообщается о том, на дне моря Баягал обитала очень красивая женщина, и в руках у нее была золотая чаша. Жестокий и алчный царь очень захотел завладеть красавицей и ее золотой чашей. Он стал посылать туда смелых юношей из своего народа, но назад никто так и не вернулся.

В то же время в царстве существовал обычай, по которому стариков преклонного возраста необходимо было умерщвлять. Но нашелся один юноша, сильно любивший своего отца, который нарушил этот жестокий обычай. Он спрятал своего слепого отца. Когда же пришла очередь юноши нырять в море за золотой чашей, отец поведал ему о том, что на самом деле красавица с чашей обитает не на морском дне, а находятся над ним на высокой горе, отражаясь в водах моря Баягал. Тогда юноша забрался на эту гору и доставил царю красавицу и чашу. После этого жестокий царь исчез бесследно. Обычай убивать стариков был отменен.

Подобную легенду можно также услышать и у местных байкальских жителей – бурят.

РАССКАЗАТЬ ДРУЗЬЯМ
Читайте также
«Последняя свадьба»: почему древние народы Байкала  не уважали старость…

В конце прошлого года документальный канал RТД (Russia Today Documentary) выпустил фильм «Как стать шаманом». Первый Байкальский публикует видео для своих читателей.

«Последняя свадьба»: почему древние народы Байкала  не уважали старость…

Профессор Иркутского государственного университета доктор биологических наук Федор Эдуардович Реймерс всю свою жизнь занимался физиологией растений. Начинал он простым учителем, а впоследствии стал директором Сибирского института физиологии и биохимии растений и член-корреспондентом АН СССР.

«Последняя свадьба»: почему древние народы Байкала  не уважали старость…

На дворе святочные дни — время жечь свечи и вопрошать дух Гоголя о насущном. Пер-вый Байкальский рассказывает, каким был ритуал гадания на Байкале пару веков назад.

«Последняя свадьба»: почему древние народы Байкала  не уважали старость…

Предновогодняя суета, казалось бы, не меняется из года в год: нарядить елку, подготовить все к празднику, который придет в полночь, под бой курантов загадывать заветные желания; шампанское, конфетти, бенгальские огни... Привычные нам радостные хлопоты. Но интересно — а как встречали Новый год иркутяне сто с лишним лет назад? Какие традиции с тех пор сохранились, а какие утрачены?

×
Хотите знать, где у нерпы санаторий?

Читайте нас в Яндекс Дзен

Хочу!

Больше не показывать