The First Train Whistle on Lake Baikal
The First Train Whistle on Lake Baikal
© Photo: Key To Baikal
August, 16

The First Train Whistle on Lake Baikal

August is an important month in the history of the railways in the Baikal region. The celebration of the Railway Workers' Day on August 4 is supplemented by another interesting date. On August 16, 1898, the first train arrived in the capital of Eastern Siberia...

The Meeting Place is the Railway Station

Фото

The beginning of the construction of the Trans-Siberian Railway was really a milestone event for the Russian Empire. After the Emperor Aleksandr III signed a personal order instructing Tsarevich Nikolay to announce the construction of the railway, on May 19, 1891, the heir to the throne took part in the ceremony of breaking ground for the Ussuri Railway in Vladivostok.

But it was not known whether the railway would pass through Irkutsk until one year was left before this great event. Then the exact information appeared. The fact is that there were other options in the plans of construction of the Trans-Siberian Railway. Then the Irkutsk residents came up with an extraordinary idea. They decided to “put pressure” on the authorities and began to erect the railway station building regardless of the authorities’ decision. This contradicted all traditions, because, according to the rules, the railway was laid first, and only after that they began to build auxiliary premises.

Nevertheless, a one-story building with an area of ​​only 466 square meters was erected by 1898. Its architect was Lev Matsievich.

The Undertaking of Engineer Popov

The course of events concerning the construction of the first railway bridge over the Irkut River was also non-standard: the river interfered with the work of builders, flooding the Moskovsky tract, nearby settlements during the high water and restricted the delivery of necessary materials and goods to the city.

The construction of the Trans-Siberian Railway was carried out at on a fast-track basis, and it was impossible to quickly bring special metal components from the Urals. After that engineer Vladimir Popov proposed an extremely unusual and risky option – to construct a wooden bridge on larch piles.

Due to the absence of any other real alternative, in January 1897 they began to construct the bridge. The work was complicated by the fact that it was necessary to pour soil on large areas for laying access roads on the low flooded territories of the Angarskaya backwater.

The bridge was completed only a week before the arrival of the first train. At that moment it was single-track, four-span, as long as 110 sazhens, and as high as 5.5 sazhens from the water surface (1 sazhen = 2.13 m.).

On August 5, two locomotives tested the strength of the new structure. A train of 20 platforms loaded with rails went back and forth across the bridge.

There is a common legend that engineer Popov rode the test locomotive, clutching a pistol in his hand. When he was asked why he was holding the weapon, he answered that he would have shot himself if the bridge test had failed.

The Way the City Prepared to Meet the First Train

The First Train Whistle on Lake Baikal

The city eagerly awaited the first train, although ordinary city residents feared such an unusual means of transportation.

According to local newspapers, the city authorities posted 280 announcements around the city, asking the residents to decorate their houses.

In particular, the pontoon bridge across the Angara named after Tsarevich Nikolai was distinguished by a large number of colorful flags. Everyone could see a beautiful arch thrown over the railway – it was built at the expense of the city. The arch was decorated with flags, fir branches, coats of arms and a shield on the top with the inscription saying “Greetings from Irkutsk!”

The small railway station was also decorated in a festive way. To avoid disorders, the public was admitted only by tickets.

The first train departed in the direction of Krasnoyarsk. The steam locomotive carrying the train was produced at the Nevsky Plant in Petrograd. Passing through the arch decorated with flowers, accompanied by the cries of “Hurray!”, the train arrived at the platform of Irkutsk Passenger station at 12.30 p.m..

The military orchestra started to play a solemn march, and honored guests came out of the carriage to the enthusiastic exclamations of the public; the guests were greeted by the Head of Irkutsk who brought bread and salt on a silver tray. The Most Revered Tikhon and the higher clergy performed a prayer service, after its end a gun salute began.

The festivities of “high authorities” continued right on the platform where a table for 200 people was served. The menu included consommé (meat broth), pies, fish broth, open pies, Baikal sturgeon seasoned with mayonnaise, hotpots with game, turkey and chicken.

A lunch for the workers was prepared at the Innokentyevskaya station. The meal was, of course, much more modest, but 700 people were invited there: they were treated with vodka, beer, Russian cabbage soup, porridge and beef.

The festivities were held in the city during two days.

On the evening of August 16, the railway station itself and a number of houses in the city were luxuriously illuminated, and fireworks were displayed for public entertainment.

The steam locomotive of series A No. 2, a full-fledged participant in the solemn event, was put on public display on the next day.

Newspapers described the event enthusiastically: “We did it! Today, the train whistle was for the first time heard among our mountains, steppes and forests, almost untouched by culture. The idea of a steel belt connecting the two oceans, the Pacific and the Atlantic, seemed a vain dream not so long ago, now... it is becoming a fact of life... Old Siberia is left behind: something new is arising ahead...”.

Tell friends
Related articles
The First Train Whistle on Lake Baikal

We continue to acquaint you with the outstanding villages of Lake Baikal. This article will be dedicated to the village of Kachug. This place was inhabited by people many thousands of years ago. “Key to Baikal” will tell you about the traces left here by the ancient people and why it is better to come here in September.

The First Train Whistle on Lake Baikal

National costume is a code for modern people. It helps to perceive and understand the past of a nationality, its traditions and features of self-actualization. Let alone the special energy conveyed by hand-made things. “Key to Baikal” tells you about the peculiarities of the costume of the ancient people who lived around Lake Baikal and about the way the lake influenced their fashion...

The First Train Whistle on Lake Baikal

A dinner or a lunch for the ancient peoples of Lake Baikal was not just a meal, but an entire rite with its own rules and traditions. “Key to Baikal” will tell you how to cook Tungus-style meat and how the eating habits of the ancient people of the lake changed depending on the season.

The First Train Whistle on Lake Baikal

The waters of the only sea lake on the planet have always required respectful attitude. Baikal does not fit into the framework of being “good or bad”. It is just indifferent to human lives and can easily take them away as a sacrifice…We will tell you a story about this in our new horror article.

Первый железнодорожный гудок Байкала
© Фото: Первый Байкальский
16 августа 2019

Первый железнодорожный гудок Байкала

Август — значимый месяц в истории железнодорожного дела Прибайкалья. Празднование 4 августа Дня железнодорожника дополняется еще одной интересной датой. 16 августа 1898 года в столицу Восточной Сибири прибыл первый поезд…

Место встречи – вокзал

Фото

Начало строительства Транссибирской магистрали стало воистину эпохальным событием для Российской империи. После подписания императором Александром III личного распоряжения, в котором цесаревичу Николаю было поручено объявить о строительстве железной дороги, 19 мая 1891 года наследник престола участвовал во Владивостоке в торжественной закладке Уссурийского рельсового пути.

Но пройдет ли железная дорога именно через Иркутск, долго не знали. Точная информация появилась всего за год до этого знаменательного события. Дело в том, что в планах строительства Транссиба были и другие варианты. И тогда у иркутян возникла необычная идея. Они решили «надавить» на власти и начали независимо от их решения возводить здание вокзала. Это противоречило всем традициям, так как, по правилам, сначала укладывали рельсы, а уже потом принимались строить вспомогательные помещения.

Тем не менее к 1898 году одноэтажное здание площадью всего в 466 квадратных метров было возведено. Его архитектором стал Лев Мациевич.

Авантюра инженера Попова

Нестандартно развивались события и со строительством первого железнодорожного моста через Иркут, который затруднял работу строителей, затапливая в половодье Московский тракт, близлежащие населенные пункты и сдерживал доставку необходимых материалов и грузов в город.

Сооружение же Транссиба велось ускоренными темпами, а быстро привезти с Урала специальные металлические его составляющие не было возможности. И тогда инженер Владимир Попов предложил крайне необычный и рискованный вариант – сооружение деревянного моста на лиственничных сваях.

За отсутствием иной реальной альтернативы в январе 1897 года приступили к сооружению подобного путепровода. Работа осложнялась тем, что предстояло отсыпать грунтом значительные площади для прокладки подъездных путей в низменных, затопляемых половодьями территориях Ангарской заводи.

Мост был готов только за неделю до прибытия первого поезда. Был он в тот момент однопутный, четырехпролетный, при длине 110 саженей, и высоте от горизонта воды 5,5 сажени (1 сажень = 2,13 м.).

5 августа на двух локомотивах проводилось испытание нового сооружения на прочность. По мосту взад и вперед пропустили состав из 20 платформ, груженных рельсами.

Существует распространенная легенда, что инженер Попов ехал на пробном локомотиве, сжимая в руке револьвер. А когда у него поинтересовались предназначением оружия, он заметил, что застрелился бы при неудаче испытания моста. 

Как готовился город к встрече первого поезда

Первый железнодорожный гудок БайкалаПервый поезд ожидали с нетерпением, хотя и обычные городские обыватели испытывали страх перед столь непривычным видом транспорта.

По информации местных газет, городские власти расклеили по городу 280 объявлений, в которых обратились к жителям с просьбой украсить свои дома.

В особенности выделялся пестротой флагов понтонный мост имени цесаревича Николая через Ангару. Всеобщему обозрению была представлена переброшенная через железнодорожное полотно и красивая арка, построенная на средства города. Ее декорировали флагами, еловыми ветками, гербами и щитом наверху с надписью «Привет от Иркутска!».

В праздничное убранство «одели» и небольшой вокзал. Во избежание беспорядков к нему допускали публику только по билетам.

Первый поезд шел со стороны Красноярска. Паровоз, который вез поезд, был сделан на Невском заводе Петрограда. Пройдя через украшенную цветами арку, в 12:30 под крики «Ура!» поезд прибыл на перрон Иркутска-Пассажирского.

Военный оркестр заиграл торжественный марш, и под восторженные возгласы публики из вагона вышли почетные гости, которых приветствовал иркутский голова, поднося на серебряном подносе хлеб-соль. Высокопреосвященный Тихон с высшим духовенством совершили молебен, по окончании которого начали салют из орудий.

У «высокого начальства» праздник продолжился прямо на платформе, где сервировали стол на 200 человек. В меню – консоме (бульон), пирожки, уха, расстегаи, байкальские осетры под майонезом, жаркое из дичи, индейки и цыпленка.

А на станции Иннокентьевская был приготовлен обед для рабочих. Все, конечно, было куда скромнее, но 700 приглашенных человек получили водку, бутылку пива, щи, кашу и говядину.

Празднества в городе продолжались два дня.

Вечером 16 августа сам железнодорожный вокзал и ряд домов в городе были роскошно иллюминированы, а для всеобщего увеселения запустили фейерверк.

Паровоз серии А № 2, полноценный участник торжественного события, на следующий день был выставлен на всеобщее обозрение.

Газеты восторженно писали: «Свершилось!.. Сегодня свисток паровоза впервые огласил наши окрестные горы, степи и леса, еще почти не тронутые культурой. Идея о стальном поясе, соединяющем два океана, Великий и Атлантический, еще не так давно казалась несбыточной мечтой, а теперь... будет свершившимся фактом... Старая Сибирь осталась позади: впереди перед нами встает что-то новое...»

РАССКАЗАТЬ ДРУЗЬЯМ
Читайте также
Первый железнодорожный гудок Байкала

30 января Леониду Гайдаю исполняется 100 лет. Его судьба тесно связана с Иркутском: здесь он вырос, окончил школу, работал в театре и придумал свою знаменитую троицу. Кто подсказал ему образы Труса, Балбеса и Бывалого? Для чего режиссер использовал керосин на съемках? Проверьте себя без помощи Google!

Первый железнодорожный гудок Байкала

Только представьте: если бы все буряты верили в приметы, то они не могли бы есть буузы каждый день, греть ноги у костра и выбирать детям красивые имена. Об удивительных табу «Первый Байкальский» спросил у настоящего шамана

Первый железнодорожный гудок Байкала

Пока все вокруг делятся оригинальными рецептами оливье, мы решили обратиться к блюдам, которые вы точно не увидите на новогоднем столе. Это бурятские деликатесы из субпродуктов. Рассказываем, что из этого является слабостью шеф-повара Энтони Бурдена и вдохновением рэпера Хаски