“The Time Machine” on the Coast of Lake Baikal: Archeology of the Sacred Lake

“The Time Machine” on the Coast of Lake Baikal: Archeology of the Sacred Lake

© Photo: Key To Baikal
Unofficial professional holiday of the people of a very interesting, but difficult professional occupation– archaeologists – is celebrated on August 15.

Archeology is one of the historical sciences helping to study our past by artifacts. It is not accidental that this unique science is often called an unparalleled “time machine”, thanks to which you can “plunge into” the bygone times of humanity, for example, to learn about the way of life of the ancestors of Siberians on the coast of Lake Baikal.

The First Steps of Archeology on Lake Baikal.

Attention to different kinds of ancient rarities was stimulated by the instructions of Emperor Peter I “to preserve all old things” and “to make drawings of all curiosities”.

In the 18th century, Irkutsk and the coast of Lake Baikal were on the way of all Emperor’s people who were studying the distant Siberian and Far Eastern lands: they wanted use the potential of these territories to strengthen the power of the Russian state. These could be the military, geometers, botanists, and land surveyors… Of course, the character of their findings was random, and the interest in unusual artifacts was caused by elementary human curiosity, rather than scientific goals.

Conscious activities in the sphere of archeology, or more precisely, the first steps in this field on Lake Baikal, are associated with the name of Yakov Ivanovich (Jacob Johann) Lindenau. He was a Swede by nationality, a traveler, a surveyor and an ethnographer, a member of the Second Kamchatka expedition; he described various areas of Eastern Siberia and discovered ancient fortifications in the Olkhon region. He managed to compare these findings with similar buildings seen by him in the north of Yakutia, and this comparison enabled him to conclude that the ancestors of Yakuts lived in this area before moving to the middle reaches of Lena.

The next “iconic” figure is Matvey Matveyevich Gedenstrom, a researcher of the north of Siberia, the Head of an Expedition on Survey and Exploration of Novosibirsk Islands, the author of the beautiful book titled “Excerpts about Siberia” published in St. Petersburg in 1830. In this book he described numerous “diverse individual objects and structures – the creations of hands of the ancient residents of the lake coast” found by him during his trips to Lake Baikal.

The Origin of Scientific Archeology of the Baikal Region

The creation of the East Siberian Department of the Imperial Russian Geographical Society has clearly opened a scientific page in the history of the study of Baikal antiquities. A serious impetus to this process was given by the participants in the Polish uprising of 1863 sent to Irkutsk by the authorities: former rebels actively collaborated with the Geographical Society. They actively engaged in research on Lake Baikal in general; occasionally, they enriched the scope of knowledge in the field of archeology of the Baikal region. In particular, I.D. Chersky, simultaneously with the implementation of geological goals on the lake, compiled an inventory list of the stone walls (settlements) found in the Olkhon region.

ESDIGRS possessed real financial means for organizing scientific expeditions. One of them that was held in 1881 discovered and shed lustre on the legendary cave paintings in Sagan-Zaba and Aya bays, thanks to the research of N.N. Agapitov, who was a teacher at the Irkutsk Pedagogic Seminary and at the same time was one of the leaders of ESDIGRS. At the same time, they performed the first excavations of ancient burial grounds on Lake Baikal.

At the end of the 19th century, important findings were discovered both in Irkutsk (the first Russian site of the Paleolithic era was discovered in 1871) and in its environs (in 1880  the Neolithic necropolis was found at the mouth of the Kitoy River). At the turn of the 20th century, special editions of the East Siberian Department of the Imperial Russian Geographical Society were published: these were dedicated directly to the archaeological values ​​of the Baikal Region.

Modern archaeologists believe that the real scientific Baikal archeology emerged in 1912-1913. Precisely at that time an employee of the famous Kunstkamera Museum in Saint Petersburg, Bernhard Eduardovich Petri (a famous ethnographer, anthropologist, archaeologist), conducted the first archaeological exploration in the Maloye More Strait. It should be noted that the coast of Lake Baikal near the island of Olkhon, especially its southwestern part, is truly a “land of archaeology”. Here, in the Ulan-Khada bay, on the Ulan cape protruding into the Maloye More Strait, Petri conducted the first excavations of a multilayer settlement, which became the basic object for studying the ancient history of the Baikal region for the next several decades.

The Golden Age of Baikal Archeology

“The Time Machine” on the Coast of Lake Baikal: Archeology of the Sacred Lake

Today, the year 1959 is called the “golden age” of Baikal archeology. Back then, there was a threat of flooding of the coastal strip of the lake due to the construction of the Irkutsk hydropower plant, which promoted the organization of several specialized archaeological expeditions.

By this time, they managed to examine almost the entire coast of Lake Baikal, revealing more than a hundred archaeological sites - ancient man’s sites, burial grounds, cave objects, despite the decline in archaeological activity due to the death of B.E. Petri and his students during the political repressions...

 In 1959, the most significant work was carried out on the territory of the Olkhon region, on the southwestern coast of Lake Baikal and in the delta of the Selenga River.

As a result, the archeologists managed to discover numerous Neolithic burial grounds, defensive stone walls and watch towers on the coasts of the Kurkut and Mukhur bays, the bays of Ityrkhei and Ulan-Khada, the capes of Shibete, Ulan and Ulyarba. These findings gained general scientific importance.

The detachments of various scientific organizations have been working on the coast of Lake Baikal: these included western teams carrying out mapping, certification and compilation of inventory lists of archaeological sites of the coast. We will tell about some of them in more detail.

Fofanovsky Acropolis

The unique Fofanovsky burial ground of the Stone, Bronze and Iron Ages is located on the right bank of the Selenga River, at a distance of 60 kilometers from Ulan-Ude, on the southwestern, southeastern and eastern slopes of the Fofanovskaya Mountain, at an altitude of 26-38 meters above the river level. The burial ground was discovered back in 1926 by the to-be famous archaeologist, academician Aleksei Pavlovich Okladnikov.

Today it is one of the largest and oldest burial grounds in the Baikal region with a total of more than 100 burial places that have been studied; and, most importantly, archaeologists still have interesting work to do there.

We are calling this acropolis unique for a good reason. Burials of three different cultures of different times were discovered there, which means that people had been buried here during four millennia!

Not only Buryats, but also ancient people treated mountains as a kind of a holy, sacred place. It is assumed that they were attracted by the unusual shape of the Fofanovskaya Mountain and the proximity of the Selenga River: it was believed that the souls of the dead went along down the river and could not go back up.

Modern Buryat archaeologists have discovered local burial places that date back to the so-called “Kitoy” culture (the name was derived from the burial ground found on the Kitoy River in 1880; this culture is wide-spread in the upper Angara region, on the southern coast of Lake Baikal, in the upper reaches of Lena; within the framework of the Neolithic period, it covered the late 6th-middle 5th millennia BC.)

A mother-of-pearl ring, the bones of the deceased, and... a skull of a completely different deceased were found in one of the burials places. The unexplainable presence of “extra” bones in the graves is a characteristic feature of Kitoy culture. Its representatives generally treated the body of the deceased in a very peculiar way, regularly burying the deceased without a head. The bodies were often even “disassembled” into parts, and these parts were buried separately.

The representatives of “Kitoy” culture necessarily covered the graves with red ocher. They attached great importance to this natural material; besides, ocher was an analogue of blood in funeral rituals.

One of the most unusual graves, according to the stories of Buryat archaeologists, was a collective burial place in a very small pit, as large as a desk top. When the experts opened the grave, they saw the skeletons of two adults with the remains of two children resting on one of them. The skulls of adults were decorated with mother-of-pearl rings with a human tooth near each of them. The majority of the objects could be seen on the man's skeleton - jewelry on the neck, bone harpoon, animal bones, a plate of chalcedony, stone tools. Most likely, all those people died from violent actions.

The artifacts excavated - scrapers, arrowheads, jade axes, copper knives in the shape of blades, harpoons, ceramic utensils and rock paintings make it possible for historians to get an idea about ​​the life of people of that time.

The Findindgs at the Uyuga Cape

Фото

The employees of the laboratory of archeology, paleoecology and daily living systems of the peoples of North Asia of the Irkutsk Technical University found 14 skeletons on the cemetery of Uyuga Cape on the coast of the Maloye More Strait during the expeditions of 2013, 2016, 2017.

The expedition sent to this place was not accidental, and it could literally be called a rescue one. The fact is that Uyuga has attracted tourists for a long time, and it was they who occasionally saw human bones there.

When the Irkutsk archaeologists conducted excavations in that place, revealing the burial grounds, they dated them to the era of the early Bronze Age, and noticed similarities with the burial grounds of the “Glazkovskaya” culture. This is the archaeological culture of the ancient Tungus tribes that lived in the Baikal region, in upper reaches of the Angara and Lena rivers.

An especially noteworthy burial place is the pair grave described by the archaeologists in the following way: the skeletons lay with heads head to the west, arm-in-arm. Presumably, the remains of the buried people belong to a man and a woman of mature age. The remains of the man were decorated with massive rings of rare white jade: three of them on the chest and one in the left eye socket. A leather bag with a metal product could be found between the kneecaps of the man. More modest exhibits - bone awls and two stone knives - were found near the female skeleton.

The funeral sets found in various graves also included hundreds of paste beads made of plastic mass, most likely, limestone.

Above all, archaeologists also found a collection of colorful pebbles, where each stone was a primitive tool and had a specific purpose: pebbles were used as weights, adzes and scrapers.

In conclusion, we would like to stress the fact that the Day of Archaeologists is not only a professional holiday, but also a reminder to everyone, telling us about of the importance of caring for the historical heritage, which, unfortunately, is often destroyed by the human actions.

Tell friends
Related articles
“The Time Machine” on the Coast of Lake Baikal: Archeology of the Sacred Lake

We continue to acquaint you with the outstanding villages of Lake Baikal. This article will be dedicated to the village of Kachug. This place was inhabited by people many thousands of years ago. “Key to Baikal” will tell you about the traces left here by the ancient people and why it is better to come here in September.

“The Time Machine” on the Coast of Lake Baikal: Archeology of the Sacred Lake

National costume is a code for modern people. It helps to perceive and understand the past of a nationality, its traditions and features of self-actualization. Let alone the special energy conveyed by hand-made things. “Key to Baikal” tells you about the peculiarities of the costume of the ancient people who lived around Lake Baikal and about the way the lake influenced their fashion...

“The Time Machine” on the Coast of Lake Baikal: Archeology of the Sacred Lake

A dinner or a lunch for the ancient peoples of Lake Baikal was not just a meal, but an entire rite with its own rules and traditions. “Key to Baikal” will tell you how to cook Tungus-style meat and how the eating habits of the ancient people of the lake changed depending on the season.

“The Time Machine” on the Coast of Lake Baikal: Archeology of the Sacred Lake

The waters of the only sea lake on the planet have always required respectful attitude. Baikal does not fit into the framework of being “good or bad”. It is just indifferent to human lives and can easily take them away as a sacrifice…We will tell you a story about this in our new horror article.

«Машина времени» на берегах Байкала: археология озера

«Машина времени» на берегах Байкала: археология озера

© Фото: Первый Байкальский
15 августа отмечается неофициальный профессиональный праздник людей очень интересной, но сложной профессии — археологов. Первый Байкальский рассказывает о самых интересных и загадочных арехологических находках, сделанных на озере...

Археология – это одна из исторических дисциплин, помогающая изучать наше прошлое по вещественным источникам. И неслучайно эту уникальную науку зачастую называют оригинальной «машиной времени», благодаря которой можно «погрузиться» в давно минувшие времена человечества, узнать, например, как жили предки сибиряков на берегах Байкала.

Первые шаги археологии на Байкале

Внимание к разного рода древним «диковинам» было стимулировано указаниями императора Петра I «всякую старую вещь беречь» и «всему курьезному чертеж делать».

Иркутск и побережье Байкала в XVIII веке однозначно лежали на пути всех государевых людей, занимающихся исследованием далеких сибирских и дальневосточных земель ради использования их потенциала в усилении мощи российского государства. Это могли быть и военные, и землемеры, и ботаники, и геодезисты…. Естественно, их находки носили случайный характер, а интерес к необычным артефактам был связан с элементарным человеческим любопытством, а не научными целями.

Осознанная деятельность в сфере археологии, а если точнее, первые шаги в этой области на Байкале, связаны с именем Якова Ивановича (Якоба Иоганна) Линденау. Швед по национальности, путешественник, геодезист и этнограф, участник Второй Камчатской экспедиции дал описание различных местностей Восточной Сибири, и в Приольхонье обнаружил древние фортификационные сооружения. Он сумел сравнить их с аналогичными постройками, которые встречал на севере Якутии, и это сопоставление позволило ему сделать вывод о том, что в этом районе, до переселения на среднюю Лену, располагались предки якутов. 

Следующая «знаковая» фигура – Матвей Матвеевич Геденштром, исследователь сибирского севера, руководитель экспедиции по съемке и исследованию Новосибирских островов, автор прекрасных «Отрывков о Сибири», изданных в Санкт-Петербурге в 1830 году. В них он и описал найденные им во время поездок по Байкалу множество «разноликих отдельных предметов и сооружений – творений рук древних обитателей побережий озера».

Зарождение научной археологии Прибайкалья

Создание ВСОИРГО однозначно открыло уже научную страницу в истории изучения байкальских древностей. Серьезный импульс этому процессу придали, волею властей оказавшиеся в Иркутске, участники польского восстания 1863 года, активно сотрудничавшие с Географическим обществом. Энергично занимаясь исследованиями Байкала вообще, они, «попутно», увеличили и знания в области археологии Прибайкалья. В частности, И. Д. Черский параллельно с реализацией геологических целей на озере составил опись найденных каменных стен (городищ) в районе Приольхонья.

ВСОИРГО располагало реальными финансовыми средствами для организации научных экспедиций. Одна из них, в 1881 году, благодаря изысканиям Н.Н. Агапитова, который являлся преподавателем Иркутской учительской семинарии и одновременно был одним из руководителей ВСОИРГО, обнаружила и сделала достоянием науки известнейшие и сегодня легендарные наскальные рисунки в бухтах Саган-Заба и Ая. Одновременно провели и первые раскопки древних могильников на Байкале.

Серьезные находки в конце XIX века были сделаны и в Иркутске (открыта первая в России стоянка эпохи палеолита в 1871 году), и в его окрестностях (1880 год – неолитический некрополь в устье реки Китой). Публиковались на рубеже XIX-XX веков и специальные издания ВСОИРГО, посвященные собственно археологическим ценностям Прибайкалья.

Современные археологи полагают, что рождение собственно реальной научной байкальской археологии состоялось в 1912-1913 годах. Именно тогда сотрудник знаменитой Петербургской Кунсткамеры Бернгард Эдуардович Петри (известный этнограф, антрополог, археолог) провел первую археологическую разведку на Малом море. Следует отметить, что берега Байкала около острова Ольхон, особенно в юго-западной части, являются воистину археологическими «угодьями». И здесь, в бухте Улан-Хада, на уходящем в Малое море мысе Улан, Петри осуществил первые раскопки многослойного поселения, которое на несколько десятков лет стало базовым объектом по изучению древней истории Прибайкалья.

«Золотая эпоха» байкальской археологии

«Машина времени» на берегах Байкала: археология озераСегодня 1959 год называют «золотой эпохой» археологии Байкала. В это время возникла угроза затопления прибрежной полосы озера из-за строительства Иркутской ГЭС, что стимулировало организацию нескольких специализированных археологических экспедиций.

К этому времени, несмотря на падение активности археологической деятельности из-за гибели Б.Э. Петри и его учеников во время репрессий, было обследовано практически все побережье Байкала, выявлено более сотни археологических местоположений – стоянки древнего человека, могильники, пещерные объекты…

 В 1959 году самые значительные работы проводились на территории Приольхонья, юго-западном побережье Байкала и в дельте реки Селенги. В результате берега Куркутского и Мухурского заливов, бухты Итырхей и Улан-Хада, мысы Шибэтэ, Улан и Улярба открыли поисковикам многочисленные могильники эпохи неолита, каменные оборонительные стены, сторожевые вышки. Данные находки получили общенаучное значение.

На берегах Байкала работали и работают отряды различных научных организаций, в том числе и западных, которые проводят картирование, паспортизацию и составление сводов археологических объектов побережья. О некоторых из них расскажем подробнее.

Фофановский акрополь

Уникальный Фофановский могильник каменного, бронзового и железного веков расположен на правом берегу Селенги, в 60 километрах от Улан-Удэ, на юго-западном, юго-восточном и восточном склонах Фофановской горы, на высоте 26-38 метров над уровнем реки. Он был открыт еще в 1926 году будущим известнейшим археологом, академиком Алексеем Павловичем Окладниковым.

Сегодня это один из крупнейших и древнейших могильников в Байкальском регионе, в котором изучено более 100 захоронений, и, самое главное, археологам до сих пор находится здесь интересная работа.

Мы неслучайно называем этот акрополь уникальным. Ведь в нем обнаружены погребения целых трех разновременных культур, то есть людей хоронили здесь в течение четырех тысячелетий!

Не только буряты, но и древние люди воспринимали горы как некое священное, сакральное место. Существует предположение, что их привлекала необычная форма Фофановской горы и близость Селенги, по которой души умерших уходят вниз по течению реки и подняться обратно не смогут.

Современные бурятские археологи обнаружили здесь погребения, относящиеся к так называемой «китойской» культуре (название получила от найденного в 1880 году захоронения на реке Китой; распространена в верхнем Приангарье, на южном побережье Байкала, Верхней Лене; в рамках эпохи неолита охватывала конец VI – середину V тыс. до н. э.).

В одном из найденных захоронений нашли перламутровое кольцо, кости усопшего и… череп совершенно другого покойника. Необъяснимое нахождение в могилах «лишних» костей – это характерная черта китойской культуры. Ее представители вообще крайне своеобразно относились к телу умершего, регулярно захоранивая покойника просто без головы. Зачастую тела вообще «разбирали» на части и хоронили по отдельности.

«Китойцы» обязательно засыпали могилы красной охрой. Этому природному материалу они придавали серьезное значение, и в погребальных ритуалах охра являлась аналогом крови.

Одной из самых необычных могил, по рассказам бурятских археологов, стало коллективное захоронение в очень небольшой, размером со столешницу, яме. Вскрыв грунт, специалисты наткнулись на скелеты двух взрослых людей, на одном из которых покоились останки двух ребятишек. Черепа взрослых были декорированы перламутровыми кольцами, рядом лежало по человеческому зубу. Больше всего предметов виднелось на костяке мужчины – украшения на шее, костяной гарпун, кости животных, пластина из халцедона, каменные орудия. Скорее всего, все они погибли от насильственных действий.

Выкопанные артефакты – скребки, наконечники для стрел, нефритовые топоры, медные ножи в виде клинков, гарпуны, керамические сосуды, наскальные рисунки позволяют историкам составить представление о жизни людей того времени.

Находки на мысе Уюга

Фото

Сотрудники лаборатории археологии, палеоэкологии и систем жизнедеятельности народов Северной Азии Иркутского технического университета в ходе экспедиций 2013, 2016, 2017 годов на могильнике мыса Уюга на побережье пролива Малое Море нашли 14 скелетов.

Экспедиция именно в это место была неслучайной, и ее в буквальном смысле слова можно назвать спасательной. Дело в том, что Уюга давно привлекала туристов, и именно они увидели здесь человеческие кости.

Когда иркутские археологи провели в данном месте раскопки, выявив погребения, они датировали их эпохой раннего бронзового века и заметили сходство с могильниками «глазковской» культуры. Это археологическая культура древних тунгусских племен, обитавших в Прибайкалье, верховьях Ангары и Лены.

Особо примечательной называют парную могилу, о которой археологи рассказывали следующим образом: костяки лежали головами на запад рука об руку. Предположительно, останки погребенных принадлежат мужчине и женщине зрелого возраста. На останках мужчины находились массивные кольца из редкого белого нефрита – три на груди и одно в левой глазнице. Между коленных чашечек у мужчины находился кожаный мешочек с металлическим изделием. Более скромные экспонаты, костяные шилья и два каменных ножа, удалось обнаружить около женского скелета.

В различных могилах в погребальные наборы входили и сотни пастовых бусин, сделанных из пластичной массы, скорее всего известняка.

Ко всему, археологи нашли и коллекцию из разноцветных галек, где каждый камень являлся примитивным орудием труда и имел конкретное назначение: гальки использовали в качестве грузил, тесел и скребел.

В завершение очень хочется подчеркнуть, что День археолога – это не только профессиональный праздник, но и напоминание всем о важности бережного отношения к историческому наследию, которое, к сожалению, часто гибнет от деяний рук человеческих.

РАССКАЗАТЬ ДРУЗЬЯМ
Читайте также
«Машина времени» на берегах Байкала: археология озера

Оказывается, не всегда пожилые люди пользовались заботой и уважением своих родственников и соплеменников. Старуху, обреченную умереть с голоду, чтобы она не была обузой для племени, в последний раз кормили самыми лучшими кушаньями и одевали в белые одежды, как на свадьбе…

«Машина времени» на берегах Байкала: археология озера

Полюбить землю, которая не прощает ошибок, но в которой ты познаешь, на что ты способен. Землю, которая делает тебя настоящим. Первый Байкальский расскажет историю Ричарда Маака — влюбившегося в Сибирь учителя, который смог стать великим ученым и первооткрывателем, едва не отдав за это свою жизнь.

«Машина времени» на берегах Байкала: археология озера

Увлекательная история о Ричарде Мааке, исследователе Сибири и Дальнего Востока, подготовленная молодежным клубом РГО.

«Машина времени» на берегах Байкала: археология озера

Рассказываем, какой омуль предпочитают коренные байкальцы, и учим готовить рыбу… «с душком». Да-да, вы не ошиблись, именно этому рецепту научились древние буряты у… медведя.

×
Хотите знать, где у нерпы санаторий?

Читайте нас в Яндекс Дзен

Хочу!

Больше не показывать