The Beauty and Usefulness: an Important Detail in the Costume of the Indigenous People of Baikal
The Beauty and Usefulness: an Important Detail in the Costume of the Indigenous People of Baikal
© Фото: Первый Байкальский
June, 14

The Beauty and Usefulness: an Important Detail in the Costume of the Indigenous People of Baikal

The costumes of the indigenous peoples of the Baikal region are beautiful and unusual. One of the most ancient items of clothing is the Evenki breastplate, which served the ancient Baikal peoples both as a protection from the cold and decoration even before Christ...

 

The costumes of the indigenous peoples of Baikal can help people imagine the history of culture and everyday life of Evenks (Tunguses) and Buryats. And even if you did not know that the traditional Evenki occupations were fur trade, reindeer herding and fishing, the details of the costume will be able to tell you about it. Before they familiarized themselves with the Russians, comfortable Evenki clothing adapted to the Siberian colds was made of beautifully dressed reindeer skins. Its functionality and usefulness were confirmed by many details, including, without a doubt, the so-called chest plate that should be emphasized. This clothing detail may be for every day and for celebrations. And such a detail of the Evenki costume embroidered with colorful beads and decorated with fur is exposed in the History Department of the Irkutsk Regional Museum of Local History.

The Way of the Chestplate to the Museum

The history of acquisition of this exhibit by the museum is extremely interesting. It began in 1930.

Today the fact of selling Russian cultural values abroad ​​ in the first years after the revolution of 1917 is widely known. But few people know that this tradition continued in the 20s and 30s of XX century. Moreover, the need for funds for the first five-year plans raised the question of involving … local history in this process, in order to identify new types of export goods and the organization of their procurement. Such goods were supposed to be “scientific materials”: objects of national everyday life, including the peoples of the Siberian region: it was supposed to use them for compiling ethnographic and archaeological collections for foreign universities and museums. Thus began the work of the Nizhnetungusskaya ethnographic expedition consisting of the leader, ethnographer and archeologist P.P. Khoroshikh and an employee of the Irkutsk Museum, Head of the Ethnographic Department, P.G. Poltoradnev.

Fortunately, the most part of the collections gathered throughout Siberia turned out to be unclaimed, and the findings replenished the museum funds.

An interesting case. Historians argue that the “birthday” of the Evenki breastplate is I millennium BC, that is, the Aeneolithic times. During the excavations of the ancient burial on the Angara River it was found out that the clothes on the remains of a human skeleton were decorated with the contour of shells corresponding to the shape of a breastplate.

An Indispensable Detail of a General Tungus Costume

Фото

A characteristic feature of costumes of all Tunguses, both Western and Baikal ones, is the presence of a certain set of elements: a kaftan that is so narrow that it cannot be fastened on the breast, a breastplate, a girdle, gaiters (long covers without a sole, covering the ankles, connected to a gridle or belt with straps) and unts (high fur boots). At that, the male and female kaftans, unlike the breastplate, looked in the same way.

A breastplate was made of dressed deer skin, a piece of skin 70-80 cm long was needed. The result was a peculiar, vertically elongated trapezoid or rectangle. Its purpose was to protect the chest and throat from the cold. The breastplate covered the body above the knee, it was fastened on the neck and waist with the help of strings .

A male breastplate (nal, khelmi) ended in a sharp angle. Female breastplates (nelly, doku) had a straight cut. They also had a pronounced neckline.

There were also festive breastplates (ngel) decorated with ornaments, beads, fur. They could replace a men's shirt.

The breastplate as a part of the Evenki costume did not emerge by chance. The necessity of wearing this clothing item was predetermined by the actual unfastened cut of the kaftan, only one skin was used for sewing it. However, in addition to its rational purpose, a breastplate also performed an aesthetic function, decorating clothes. Above all, it was possible to determine the belonging of the breastplate’s owner to certain genus, judging by the breastplate.

Material for Making Breastplates

For winter clothing, the Evenks used fur, dressed deer skin, and later - cloth. As a rule, the main material was “provided” by deer, sometimes elks. The Evenks in Baikal region widely used the skins of ringed seals and Siberian marmot. It was no coincidence that such an unseemly material was used to make a costume: valuable furs were used for sale.

Even in ancient times Evenks possessed excellent skills in processing leather and fur: they made amazing quality products. But this process was long, difficult, time-consuming, and the result was achieved due to incredible perseverance and enormous physical efforts.

The dressing of skin included a series of consecutive steps. The skin taken away from carcass was thoroughly cleaned from flesh and fat, dried in the open air, and then scraped. The stage of drying and scraping was completed by “smoking” in a specially constructed raw-hide tent (“chum”). Then the skin was soaked and milled. Interestingly, there were no chemicals; instead, they used handy means. The skin was soaked with tannins extracted from the substances that are disgusting for modern people: animal brains, animal boiled liver or sour milk.

The most frequently used colors for finished products and decoration elements were yellow, red, black, blue and white. It should be taken into account that initially the skin was yellowish-gray, uneven, unattractive. But it was dyed in yellow-brown tones, with the use of natural vegetable dyes and “smoking” over a low fire.

Special attention should be paid to the finishing of clothes in general and the breastplate in particular. It was made of fur, cloth, beads, dyed deerskin, horse and goat hair, braid, leather, reindeer hair, multicolored threads and metal patches.

Patterns conveyed deep meaning. They were created for centuries not just in vain, but symbolized and emphasized the natural connection of the Evenks with wildlife - the sun, earth, plants, animals...

Breastplate patterns were incredibly diverse. As a rule, the painting was positioned symmetrically in relation to the vertical axis.

The most remarkable was, of course, women's breastplates.

As a rule, they were decorated with an ornament of strips of multicolored fabrics, interspersed with pieces of deerskin and small ropes of reindeer hair taken from under the animals’ neck. The breastplate was embroidered with dotted patterns of beads of blue, yellow, white and black, resembling a “bird’s footprint”. Moreover, narrower black beads were inserted between the white, golden and blue stripes of beads, setting them off and separating them.

The multicolored patterns on a breastplate gave it elegance and beauty.

Tell friends
Related articles
The Beauty and Usefulness: an Important Detail in the Costume of the Indigenous People of Baikal

November 6 is the Marooned Without a Compass Day. In fact, this device invented in China during the Song Dynasty and reinvented again in Europe in the 12th-13th centuries was not known to the original inhabitants of the Baikal coast - Evenks (Tungues) and Buryats. Still, they managed to do well without compass, and many of the skills useful for this area have been preserved until today.

The Beauty and Usefulness: an Important Detail in the Costume of the Indigenous People of Baikal

Buryat ornamental patterns and figures convey ancient sacred symbolism. They express the beliefs and lifestyle of the most ancient people of Lake Baikal.

The Beauty and Usefulness: an Important Detail in the Costume of the Indigenous People of Baikal

A large number of traditional common views of shamanists about the soul of Lake Baikal, its character, disposition that have persisted until today appeared in ancient times. A legend about the bottomlessness of Baikal accompanied by the idea of underground merger of Lake Baikal with the Arctic Ocean has existed since the Stone Age...

The Beauty and Usefulness: an Important Detail in the Costume of the Indigenous People of Baikal

Our new article from the section “Lives of Great People” is dedicated to “the shaggiest employee of the reserve system”. That is what Semyon Ustinov called himself.

Красота и польза: важная деталь в костюме коренных жителей Байкала
Красота и польза: важная деталь в костюме коренных жителей Байкала
© Фото: Первый Байкальский
14 июня #культура

Красота и польза: важная деталь в костюме коренных жителей Байкала

Красивы и необычны наряды коренных народов Прибайкалья. Одним из самых древних предметов одежды считается эвенкийский нагрудник, который еще до нашей эры служил древним байкальским народам сразу и защитой от холода, и украшением...

 

По нарядам коренных народов Байкала можно представить историю культуры и быта эвенков (тунгусов) и бурят. И даже если вы не знали, что традиционные занятия эвенков – пушной промысел, оленеводство и рыболовство, то детали костюма смогут рассказать об этом. До знакомства с русскими удобная, приспособленная к сибирским холодам одежда эвенков изготавливалась из прекрасно выделанных оленьих шкур. Ее функциональность и практичность подтверждалась многими деталями, среди которых, без сомненья, особо следует выделить так называемый нагрудник. Он бывает повседневным и выходным. И в отделе истории Иркутского областного краеведческого музея демонстрируется такой, расшитый разноцветным бисером и украшенный мехом, элемент эвенкийского костюма. 

Как нагрудник оказался в музее

История пополнения музейной экспозиции данным экспонатом крайне интересна. Началась она в 1930 году.

Сегодня широко известен факт продажи за границу, в первые годы после революции, российских культурных ценностей. Но мало кто знает, что эта традиция продолжалась и в 20-е, и в 30-е годы. Более того, необходимость средств для проведения первых пятилеток поставила вопрос о привлечении к этому процессу… краеведения, с целью выявления новых видов экспортных товаров и организации их заготовок. Таким товаром должен был стать «научный материал» – предметы народного быта, в том числе и народов сибирского края, из которых предполагалось составление этнографических и археологических коллекций для заграничных университетов и музеев. Так началась работа Нижнетунгусской этнографической экспедиции в составе руководителя, этнографа и археолога П.П. Хороших и сотрудника, заведующего этнографическим отделом Иркутского музея П.Г. Полтораднева.

К счастью, большая часть собранных по всей Сибири коллекций оказалась невостребованной, а найденные образцы пополнили фонды музеев.

Интересный факт. Историки утверждают, что «день рожденья» эвенкийского нагрудника – I тысячелетие до нашей эры, то есть времена энеолита. В раскопках древнего захоронения на реке Ангаре, на останках скелета человека обнаружили, что одежда была украшена ракушками, контур которых соответствует форме нагрудника.

Непременный фрагмент общетунгусского костюма

Фото

Характерная черта костюма всех тунгусов, и западных, и прибайкальских, – наличие определенного набора элементов: не сходящийся на груди кафтан, нагрудник, натазник, ноговицы (длинные чехлы без подошвы, закрывающие щиколотки, соединенные с натазником или поясом ремешками) и унты. Причем мужской и женский кафтан, в отличие от нагрудника, выглядели одинаково.

Шили нагрудник из ровдуги (выделанная оленья кожа), взяв кусок 70-80 см в длину. Получалась своеобразная, вертикально вытянутая трапеция или прямоугольник. Предназначение – защита груди и горла от стужи. Прикрывая тело выше колена, нагрудник закреплялся на нем при помощи вязок – на шее и талии.

Мужской нагрудник  (нал, хэлми) завершался острым углом. Женский (нэлли, доку) – прямым срезом. У него прекрасно просматривался ярко выраженный вырез горловины.

Существовали и праздничные нагрудники (нгэл), декорированные орнаментом, бисером, мехом. Они могли заменить мужскую рубашку.

Нагрудник как составная часть эвенкийского костюма возник неслучайно. Необходимость его ношения предопределялась собственно распашным покроем кафтана, для пошива которого использовали всего одну шкуру. Но нагрудник, помимо рационального предназначения, играл еще и эстетическую роль, украшал одежду. Ко всему, по нагруднику можно было определить принадлежность его хозяина к тому или иному роду.

Материал для создания нагрудника

Для зимней одежды эвенки использовали мех, ровдугу, позднее – сукно. Как правило, основной материал «предоставляли» олени, иногда лоси. Прибайкальские же эвенки широко применяли шкурки нерпы и тарбагана. Столь непрезентабельный материал брался для конструирования костюма неслучайно – ценная пушнина добывалась для продажи.

Эвенки уже в давние времена обладали прекрасными навыками выделки кожи и меха, и из их рук выходила изумительная качественная продукция. Но был этот процесс длительным, сложным, трудоемким, и результат достигался при помощи невероятного упорства и огромных физических затрат.  

Выделка шкуры включала ряд последовательных шагов. Снятую шкуру тщательно очищали от мездры и жира, просушивали на воздухе, после просушки выскребали. Этап просушки и скобления завершался «продымлением» в специально сооружаемом чуме. Далее замачивали и мяли. Причем никаких химикатов не было, а вместо них в дело шли подручные средства. Замачивали с дубильными веществами, которыми были малоприятные для современного человека субстанции – мозг животного, его вареная печень или прокисшее молоко.

В готовых изделиях и элементах украшения более всего встречались  желтый, красный, черный, синий и белый цвета. Следует учитывать, что изначально ровдуга была желтовато-серой, неровной, малопривлекательной. Но ее окрашивали в желто-коричневые тона, применяя природные растительные красители и «копчение» на легком огне.

Особого внимания требует отделка одежды вообще и нагрудника в частности. Ее делали из меха, ткани, бисера, крашеной ровдуги, конского и козьего волоса, тесьмы, кожи, подшейного волоса оленя, разноцветных ниток и металлических бляшек.

Узоры несли глубокий смысл. Они не просто создавались веками, а и подчеркивали, символизировали естественную связь эвенков с живой природой – солнцем, землей, растениями, животным миром…

Орнаменты нагрудников были невероятно разнообразны. Как правило, рисунок относительно вертикальной оси размещался симметрично.

Наиболее примечательны были, естественно, женские нагрудники.

Как правило, их украшали орнаментом из полосок разноцветных тканей, перемежающихся с кусочками ровдуги и жгутиками подшейного волоса оленя. На нагрудник нашивали пунктирами бисеринки синего, желтого, белого и черного цвета, похожие на «след птичьей лапки». Причем между белыми, золотистыми и голубыми полосками бисера прокладывали более узкие черные, оттеняющие и разделяющие их.

Разноцветная орнаментация нагрудника придавала ему изящество и красоту.

РАССКАЗАТЬ ДРУЗЬЯМ
Читайте также
Красота и польза: важная деталь в костюме коренных жителей Байкала

Готовы пощекотать нервы? Мы решили заглянуть в прошлое и узнать, кто такие черные шаманы Байкала и при чем здесь «духи-людоеды»…

Красота и польза: важная деталь в костюме коренных жителей Байкала

Изобретенный в Китае при династии Сун и вновь придуманный в Европе в XII – XIII веках, компас не был известен аборигенам байкальских берегов — эвенкам (тунгусам) и бурятам. Но они умудрялись прекрасно обходиться и без него...

Красота и польза: важная деталь в костюме коренных жителей Байкала

Бурятские орнаменты и узоры несут в себе древнюю сакральную символику. Они рассказывают о верованиях и образе жизни древнейших людей Байкала.

Красота и польза: важная деталь в костюме коренных жителей Байкала

Из каменного века пришло предание о бездонности Байкала, к которому присоединилось и представление о подземном слиянии Байкала с Северным Ледовитым океаном…

×
Хотите знать, где у нерпы санаторий?

Читайте нас в Яндекс Дзен

Хочу!

Больше не показывать