Kachug - the Home of the First People
© Photo: Key To Baikal
September, 27

Kachug - the Home of the First People

We continue to acquaint you with the outstanding villages of Lake Baikal. This article will be dedicated to the village of Kachug. This place was inhabited by people many thousands of years ago. “Key to Baikal” will tell you about the traces left here by the ancient people and why it is better to come here in September.

The urban-type settlement of Kachug was founded by Russian explorers in 1686, and its name is derived from the Evenki “kocho” - a bend, a river bend, a cape. It is true that the Lena River passing through the village makes a bend in this place, turning from the west to the north. The name of the river is also of Evenki origin - Eluene (“Big River”), in Russian it was transformed into “Lena”.

Lena originates in the mountains only 10 kilometers away from Lake Baikal. Kachug is located farther from the lake, 115 kilometers away, and navigation on this great Siberian river begins in this village.

Shishkin Petroglyphs

The main attraction making Kachug worth visiting – Shishkin petroglyphs – are also situated along Lena River. An enormous (about 2 km) monument of world culture was discovered during the Great Northern Expeditions of the 18th century.

The monument is a rocky massif stretching along the Lena River, covered with paintings of ancient people (also known as petroglyphs). The artists of the past depicted everything they saw: their fellow tribesmen, animals, nature, various scenes from their lives, as well as various symbols and signs that are not completely clear at first glance. The petroglyphs include the images of people with tails and animal heads, as well as entire pictures with a large number of characters.

Petroglyphs gained global fame only in the middle of the 20th century, after the publication of the most part of materials by academician A.P. Okladnikov. Already at the end of last century, 1762 images on 298 rock mass planes were scanned with the use of new scientific technologies.

According to local beliefs, the petroglyphs are protected by a deity called Khara-Azhirai - the Master of the great Siberian river. Its enormous head in a combat helmet is hanging above the central part of the ancient monument. Some time ago, a traveler passing through this place was obliged to appease the formidable spirit by offering a sacrifice.

The oldest paintings date back to the late Neolithic period (IV millennium BC): these are large figures of animals - deer, moose, wild boars. Only a few of these paintings survived.

The next group of petroglyphs is represented by the paintings related to the Bronze Age (III – early I millennia BC): these are the images of Baikal ringed seals, bears, deer, bulls, strange mythical animals. Some of them are colored with burgundy ocher - thus they can be easily recognized.

There are very few paintings of the Iron Age period (I millennium BC). These are mainly the images of deer and moose.

The images of the era of the early Middle Ages (I millennium BC) are the most numerous, made with the use of the wiping technique: horses, wild boars, moose, camels, birds, people in short and long clothes.

The paintings of the late Middle Ages (the first half of II millennium AD) are performed with thin scratching lines and light wiping, these are the images of wild animals, horsemen, signs, dwellings, trees, and even domestic camels uncharacteristic of that area.

The latest paintings, dated by the 17th-19th centuries, depict churches, Christian crosses, ships, which is clearly associated with the arrival of Russian explorers.

It is better to look at the paintings of ancient and other people with your own eyes as a part of an excursion group. The guide will show you the most interesting places of the giant monument and explain the origin of unusual paintings.

Unfortunately, the works of the so-called modern “artists” can also be seen there: you can find such inscriptions as “Tolya was there” or “Tagil 2015”. However, the monument is protected, and such vandalism is less common now.

The Lands of Ancestors

One of the petroglyphs - a horseman with a banner - is now a symbol of the Republic of Sakha (Yakutia). It is no accident: there is a belief that the ancestors of the Yakuts - Kurykans  - lived in the area of ​​Kachug and to the south of it.

It is assumed that some of the Kurykans remained there, merged with the Mongol tribes, and gave birth to the Buryats. Another part of Kurykans went down the Lena River and acquired their homeland in the Tuimaada valley where modern Yakutsk is located.

What were the reasons for this migration? Perhaps, this was due to the arrival of the Mongols, but there is no clarity in this issue. The last wave of migration of the ancestors of the Yakuts occurred in XIV - XV centuries, when the Mongol empire was already disintegrated.

Now the area of Kachug is inhabited by Buryats, Russians and Evenks. These peoples came here a very long time ago, but they all seem to be like guests here, taking into account the age of local petroglyphs.

Kachugsky district is the birthplace of two prominent people: a remarkable historian, ethnographer and anthropologist Afanasii Shchapov and Innocent, Metropolitan of Moscow and Kolomensk (Veniaminov) were born in the village of Anga, 10 kilometers away from Kachug. A cultural center was even built in honor of the Metropolitan: it is worth visiting. Innocent is considered one of the founders of Blagoveshchensk, the creator of the Aleut alphabet and researcher of Russian America and the Far East.

Cones, Traveling and Dwellings

They also extract pine nuts in Kachug! These are listed among the best pine nuts in Siberia. So, if you come here in September, there is a chance to enjoy the useful gifts of the taiga and buy them for future use at a low price.

You can get to Kachug by public or private transport from Irkutsk. A travel takes about three hours.

Although Kachug is not spoiled by the tourists’ interest, it is easy to find a place to stay overnight there.

Tell friends
Related articles
Kachug - the Home of the First People

The Professor of Irkutsk State University, Doctor of Biological Sciences Fedor Eduardovich Reimers spent his entire life working on plant physiology. He began as a simple teacher, later becoming a Director of the Siberian Institute of Plant Physiology and Biochemistry and a corresponding member of the Academy of Sciences of the USSR.

Kachug - the Home of the First People

Christmas days have come: it’s time to burn candles and ask Gogol’s spirit about daily issues. Key to Baikal informs you about the rite of fortune-telling that existed on Baikal a couple of centu-ries ago.

Kachug - the Home of the First People

Not only Siberian peoples considered the bear to be the Master of the Taiga, but namely Siberians turned their attitude to the bear into a cult. Moreover, this cult played an important role in the rites of hunting magic and everyday life.

Kachug - the Home of the First People

It turns out that elderly people did not always enjoy the care and respect of their relatives and tribesmen. An old woman who was doomed to die of hunger not to be a burden for her tribe was fed the best meal for the last time and dressed in white clothes, like for a wedding...

Качуг — дом первых людей
Качуг — дом первых людей
© Фото: Первый Байкальский

Качуг — дом первых людей

Мы продолжаем знакомить вас с необычными деревнями Байкала. Героем этой статьи станет поселок Качуг. Это место, которое было населено людьми многие тысячи лет назад. Первый Байкальский расскажет, какие следы здесь оставил древний человек и почему сюда лучше приезжать в сентябре.

Поселок городского типа Качуг основан русскими первопроходцами в 1686 году, а его название произошло от эвенкийского кочо – излучина, изгиб реки, мыс. Действительно, проходящая через поселок река Лена в этом месте делает изгиб, поворачивая с западного направления на север. Название реки тоже имеет эвенкийское происхождение – Елюенэ (Большая река), в русском языке оно трансформировалось в «Лена».

Лена берет свое начало в горах всего в 10 километрах от Байкала. Качуг находится подальше от озера, в 115 километрах, и именно в этом поселке начинается судоходство на этой великой сибирской реке.

Шишкинские писаницы

Вдоль Лены находится и главная достопримечательность, ради которой стоит посетить Качуг, – это Шишкинские писаницы. Колоссальный по размеру (около 2 км) памятник мировой культуры был открыт во время Великих северных экспедиций XVIII века.

Памятник представляет собой вытянувшийся вдоль реки Лены скальный массив, покрытый рисунками древних людей (петроглифами или писаницами). Художники прошлого изображали все, что попадалось на глаза: своих соплеменников, животных, природу, различные сцены из своей жизни, а также различные символы и знаки, которые не совсем понятны на первый взгляд. Среди петроглифов встречаются изображения людей с хвостами и звериными головами, есть и целые картины с большим количеством персонажей.

Мировую известность петроглифы приобрели только в середине XX в. после публикации большей части материалов академиком А. П. Окладниковым. Уже в конце прошлого века, с применением новых научных методик было отсканировано 1762 изображения на 298 плоскостях скального массива.

Согласно местным поверьям, писаницы охраняет божество по имени Хара- Ажирай – хозяин великой сибирской реки. Его гигантская голова в боевом шлеме нависает над центральной частью древнего памятника. Когда-то, проходя через это место, путник обязан был умилостивить сурового духа, совершив жертвоприношение.

Древнейшие рисунки относятся ко времени позднего неолита (IV тыс. до н.э.), это крупные фигуры животных: оленей, лосей, кабанов. Их сохранилось незначительное число.

Следующую группу петроглифов представляют рисунки, относящиеся к эпохе бронзы (III – начало I тыс. до н.э.): это изображения байкальских нерп, медведей, оленей, быков, странных мифических животных. Часть из них окрашена бордовой охрой, благодаря чему их можно легко опознать.

Довольно мало осталось рисунков периода железного века (I тыс. до н.э.). В основном это изображения оленей и лосей.

Наиболее многочисленны изображения эпохи раннего средневековья (I тыс. н.в.), выполненные в технике протира: лошади, кабаны, лоси, верблюды, птицы, люди в коротких и длинных одеждах.

Рисунки позднего средневековья (пер. половина II тыс. н.э.) выполнены тонкими царапанными линиями и легким протиром и передают образы диких животных, всадников, знаков, жилищ, деревьев и даже домашних верблюдов, нехарактерных для этой местности.

Самые поздние рисунки, которые датируются XVII – XIX вв., изображают церкви, христианские кресты, корабли, что явно связано с приходом сюда русских первопроходцев.  

Увидеть своими глазами рисунки древних и не очень людей лучше в составе экскурсионной группы. Экскурсовод покажет самые интересные места гигантского памятника и объяснит происхождение необычных рисунков.

К сожалению, не обходится и без творчества современных «художников», поэтому на Шишкинских писаницах можно встретить надписи вроде «Здесь был Толя» или «Тагил 2015». Однако памятник охраняется, и сейчас такой вандализм встречается реже.

Земли предков

Один из петроглифов – всадник со знаменем – сейчас является символом Республики Саха (Якутия). Это неспроста. Считается, что в районе Качуга и южнее проживали предки якутов – курыкане.

Предполагается, что часть курыкан осталась и, слившись с монгольскими племенами, дала начало бурятам. Другая же отправилась ниже по Лене и обрела родину в долине Туймаада, где находится современный Якутск.

Каковы были причины этой миграции? Возможно, из-за прихода монголов, но до конца это не ясно. Последняя волна миграции предков якутов пришлась на XIV – XV века, когда Монгольская империя уже распалась.

Сейчас в районе Качуга живут буряты, русские и эвенки. Эти народы пришли сюда очень давно, но и они здесь как будто гости, если учесть давность местных петроглифов.

Качугский район – родина двух выдающихся людей. В селе Анга, в 10 километрах от Качуга, родились замечательный историк, этнограф и антрополог Афанасий Щапов и Митрополит Московский и Коломенский Иннокентий (Вениаминов). В честь последнего даже был построен культурный центр, который стоит посетить. Этот человек считается одним из основателей Благовещенска, создателем алеутского алфавита и исследователем Русской Америки и Дальнего Востока.

Шишки, проезд и жилье

А еще в Качуге добывают кедровые орехи! Одни из лучших в Сибири. Так что, если вы оказались там в сентябре, есть шанс полакомиться полезными дарами тайги и купить их впрок за недорого.

Добраться до Качуга можно на общественном или личном транспорте из Иркутска. Дорога занимает около трех часов.

Хотя Качуг и не сильно избалован интересом туристов, в нем несложно найти ночлег.

РАССКАЗАТЬ ДРУЗЬЯМ
Читайте также
Качуг — дом первых людей

Готовы пощекотать нервы? Мы решили заглянуть в прошлое и узнать, кто такие черные шаманы Байкала и при чем здесь «духи-людоеды»…

Качуг — дом первых людей

Изобретенный в Китае при династии Сун и вновь придуманный в Европе в XII – XIII веках, компас не был известен аборигенам байкальских берегов — эвенкам (тунгусам) и бурятам. Но они умудрялись прекрасно обходиться и без него...

Качуг — дом первых людей

Бурятские орнаменты и узоры несут в себе древнюю сакральную символику. Они рассказывают о верованиях и образе жизни древнейших людей Байкала.

Качуг — дом первых людей

Из каменного века пришло предание о бездонности Байкала, к которому присоединилось и представление о подземном слиянии Байкала с Северным Ледовитым океаном…

×
Хотите знать, где у нерпы санаторий?

Читайте нас в Яндекс Дзен

Хочу!

Больше не показывать