Gleb Vereshchagin: a Man and a Ship
Gleb Vereshchagin: a Man and a Ship
© Фото: Первый Байкальский
April, 14

Gleb Vereshchagin: a Man and a Ship

It is hard to find a scientist who would have done as much for Baikal as Vereshchagin. We continue to acquaint you with the outstanding people of Baikal.

Gleb Yurievich Vereshchagin is an iconic figure for Baikal. He is rightly considered one of the most famous researchers of the Great Lake. The greatest hydrobiologist, limnologist, a talented scientist and organizer who became the first director of the Baikal Limnological Station, Gleb Yurievich was recognized an unsurpassed expert in the field of combining theoretical knowledge with the possibilities of practical use of the lake’s potential, its natural wealth.

All the memories dedicated to Gleb Yuryevich tell about his incredible working capacity, responsibility, ability to make decisions, deepest integrity, enthusiasm for his favorite work, devotion to science.

Spellbound by Baikal

Gleb Vereshchagin: a Man and a Ship

Gleb Vereshchagin was lucky to be born (1889) in a family where education and curiosity were appreciated. Financial situation of the faimly allowed Vereshchagin to spend summer holidays at the cottage in Belovezhskaya Pushcha. Even then, the boy’s parents paid attention to Gleb's enthusiasm for the surrounding nature, the desire to know about it. They had to buy their son a microscope, and Gleb no longer parted with this device.

After Gleb graduated from the Warsaw Gymnasium in 1908, he became a student of the Faculty of Mathematics and Physics at the University of Warsaw: he chose a natural department and became interested in hydrology from the beginning of his studies.

Baikal is really a mystical lake. It is interesting why a person born at the other end of the empire, in the province of Tambov, who obtained higher education, moved to the west, got so crazy abouot the mysterious lake and remained closely associated with Baikal until his death. It is believed that the reason was “a mere accident”. According to the memoirs of the famous zoologist S.G. Lepneva as of the winter of 1912, Gleb Yurievich got acquainted with Benedykt Ivanovich Dybowski who came to Warsaw. “Their meeting was truly momentous and their friendship lasted until the end of their days. May be these fascinating lectures of an exiled scientist about the magnificent lake excited the vivid imagination of young Vereshchagin and his desire to solve the riddle of Baikal?”

After graduating from university in 1913, Gleb Yurievich quickly moved to the center of the empire, taking up the position of a Junior Zoologist at the Zoological Museum of the Academy of Sciences. According to the scientific tradition of that time, young researchers had to engage in theoretical activities, gaining theoretical knowledge. At the same Vereshchagin wanted to work in the field, participate in the expeditions to Lake Baikal. In 1916 his dream came true, and his connection with Baikal was never broken again.

Participation in the Expedition of V.Ch. Dorogostaysky

 

In 1916, the Academy of Sciences decided to send an expedition to Lake Baikal, and the young scientist managed to become its member, despite the enormous difficulty. The researchers descended to the riverbank at the source of Angara, near the mouth of the Kamenushka River. The main goal was to find a place for installing a permanent station for lake exploration. But they had very little time - two months; so Gleb Yuryevich managed to travel around Lake Baikal on a steamer only two times; he visited the adjacent lakes and collected samples of flora and fauna.

The revolution and subsequent events of the Civil War interrupted this work for some time, the station was transferred to the University and was no longer subordinated to the Academy of Sciences; however, since 1925 Gleb Yurievich has been working as a Scientific Secretary of the Committee for the Study of Baikal of the Academy of Sciences.

“Not a Man, but a Storm!”

Working in this capacity, G.Yu. Vereshchagin prepared a plan for five expedition seasons. The result should have been the creation of a permanent research station on Lake Baikal. Arriving at the place of destination, Gleb Yurievich demonstrated excellent organizational skills and his talent to gather people around himself, carried out works on preparation for the meeting of the expedition, equipment acceptance, and procurement of current activities... It is believed that the expedition was launched on May 25, 1925. The conditions for its conduct were extremely difficult; they only had a small boat called “Chaika”. But the results of labor were striking.

From 1925 to 1928, the expedition managed to accomplish the following things:

- recorded regularities of temperature distribution at all depth levels of the lake;
- obtained information about the bottom relief at great depths;
- obtained data on sediments;
- investigated the structure of the coastline;
- collected the first materials on the chemical regime of the Baikal tributaries, especially the Selenga River;
- described unknown species of organisms.

Interest in the opportunities of Lake Baikal had grown. And in 1928 the Presidium of the USSR Academy of Sciences reorganized the Baikal Expedition into a new stationary institution - Baikal Biological Station, and at first Gleb Yuriyevich was appointed its Head, later, in 1930, he was elected Director of the Station that was later renamed as “limnological station”. He had kept this position until 1944. In 1961, the station was transformed into the famous Limnological Institute of the Siberian Branch of the USSR Academy of Sciences.

Research works of Gleb Yurievich were of economic importance and practical nature, so a number of industrial management structures, water and fishing protective organizations actively used the information about the chemical, wind and ice regimes of Baikal.

In the years of the Great Patriotic War, Gleb Yurievich began to treat his work with even greater enthusiasm, understanding its importance for the defense of the country. The staff of the Station mastered the skills of catching and processing small fish. They invented and created a special fat stove for burbot and Baikal oilfish, thanks to which a wonderful wound-healing material was extracted. The ice cover of the lake was thoroughly studied; they even say that the Ladoga “road of life” was being tested on Baikal.

The purely scientific interests of Gleb Yurievich were incredibly broad, they concerned different fields of knowledge. He clearly defined the goal of his biological research:  clarification of the origin and history of the fauna of the lake. He clearly defended the point of view about the marine origin of the main part of the endemic fauna and flora. Vereshchagin was  the first to substantiate the unique characteristics of the deep waters of Baikal, namely:

 - the density of the bottom layers of water is greater than the normal density of fresh water;

- the water masses of the lake are divided into two depth zones: the upper zone characterized by temperature changes of water throughout the year, and the lower zone characterized by the permanent temperature regime.

Gleb Yurievich died suddenly, on February 5, 1944. He was buried in Listvyanka, on the coast of the lake that never let him go until the end of his life. However, even nowadays Gleb Yurievich Vereshchagin regularly “travels” through the waters of Baikal - a research vessel was named after the great scientist.

Tell friends
Related articles
Gleb Vereshchagin: a Man and a Ship

He was able to truly love a land that forgives no mistakes, but makes you learn what you are capable of. This land makes you real. “Key to Baikal” tells you the story of Richard Maack - a teacher who fell in love with Siberia, who could become a great scientist and discoverer and nearly sacrificed his life for it.

Gleb Vereshchagin: a Man and a Ship

We tell you about the way the indigenous people of Baikal prefer to eat omul, and teach you to cook fish with a “high flavor”. Yes, you get it right, we mean it, and the ancient Buryats borrowed this recipe from...bears.

Gleb Vereshchagin: a Man and a Ship

Are you ready for a thrill? We decided to take a look into the past and learn to know about the black shamans of Lake Baikal and “cannibalistic spirits” connected with those...

Gleb Vereshchagin: a Man and a Ship

November 6 is the Marooned Without a Compass Day. In fact, this device invented in China during the Song Dynasty and reinvented again in Europe in the 12th-13th centuries was not known to the original inhabitants of the Baikal coast - Evenks (Tungues) and Buryats. Still, they managed to do well without compass, and many of the skills useful for this area have been preserved until today.

Глеб Верещагин: человек и пароход
© Фото: Первый Байкальский

Глеб Верещагин: человек и пароход

Трудно найти ученого, который сделал для Байкала так же много, как Верещагин. К 133-летию лимнолога — его история любви c Великим Озером

Глеб Юрьевич Верещагин – фигура для Байкала знаковая. Он по праву считается одним из известнейших исследователей Великого Озера. Крупнейший гидробиолог, лимнолог, талантливый ученый-организатор, ставший первым директором Байкальской лимнологической станции, Глеб Юрьевич признавался как непревзойденный специалист в сфере соединения теоретических знаний с возможностями практического использования потенциала озера, его богатейшего природного изобилия.

Во всех воспоминаниях, посвященных Глебу Юрьевичу, говорится о его невероятной трудоспособности, ответственности, умении принимать решения, глубочайшей порядочности, увлеченности любимым делом, преданности науке.

Очарованный Байкалом

Глеб Верещагин: человек и пароходГлебу Верещагину повезло родиться в семье (14 апреля 1889 года), где ценились образование и любознательность. Материальные возможности позволяли Верещагиным проводить летние каникулы на даче в Беловежской пуще. Уже тогда родители обратили внимание на увлеченность Глеба окружающей природой, стремление познать ее. Пришлось купить сыну микроскоп, с которым он больше не расставался.

После окончания в 1908 году Варшавской гимназии Глеб стал студентом физико-математического факультета Варшавского университета, где, избрав естественное отделение, с начала учебы заинтересовался гидрологией.

Байкал – в самом деле мистическое озеро. Как человек, родившийся на другом конце империи, в Тамбовской губернии, получавший высшее образование еще западнее, мог так увлечься таинственным озером, что остался прочно связанным с ним вплоть до самой смерти? Полагают, что виной всему «его величество случай». По воспоминаниям известного зоолога С.Г. Лепневой, зимой 1912 года произошло личное знакомство Глеба Юрьевича с Бенедиктом Ивановичем Дыбовским, приехавшим в Варшаву. «Знакомство было поистине судьбоносным и продолжалось до конца дней. Не на этих ли увлекательных лекциях ученого-изгнанника возникло в живом воображении молодого Верещагина величественное озеро и зародилось стремление разрешить загадку Байкала?»

После окончания в 1913 году университета Глеб Юрьевич очень быстро перебрался в центр империи, заняв должность младшего зоолога Зоологического музея Академии наук. По научной традиции того времени, молодые исследователи должны были заниматься кабинетной деятельностью, получая теоретические знания. А Верещагин стремился к «живой» работе, к участию в экспедиции на Байкал. И в 1916 году его мечта сбылась, а связь с Байкалом уже никогда не прерывалась.

Участие в экспедиции В.Ч. Дорогостайского

В 1916 году Академия наук решила отправить на Байкал экспедицию, и молодой ученый с невероятным трудом сумел стать ее участником. Исследователи сошли на берег в истоке Ангары, около устья речки Каменушки. Основная цель – найти место для установки постоянной станции по изучению озера. Но время было очень ограничено: за два месяца Глеб Юрьевич сумел только два раза проехать по Байкалу на пароходе, побывать на прилегающих озерах да собрать образцы флоры и фауны.

Революция и последующие события Гражданской войны ненадолго прервали эту работу, станция была передана Университету и вышла из ведения Академии наук, но уже с 1925 года Глеб Юрьевич трудится в роли ученого секретаря Комиссии Академии наук по изучению озера Байкал.

«Не человек, но буря!»

В этой роли Г.Ю. Верещагин подготовил план на пять экспедиционных сезонов. Итогом должно было стать создание постоянной научной станции на Байкале. Приехав на место, Глеб Юрьевич, проявив невероятные организаторские способности и талант сплачивать вокруг себя людей, провел работу по подготовке встречи членов экспедиции, приемке оборудования, обеспечению текущей деятельности… Считается, что 25 мая 1925 года был дан старт экспедиции. Условия ее проведения были крайне нелегкими, из плавсредств – только небольшой катер «Чайка». Но результаты труда потрясают.

С 1925 по 1928 годы экспедицией:

– зафиксированы закономерности распределения температур на всех глубинах озера;
– добыта информация о рельефе дна на больших глубинах;
– получены данные о донных отложениях;
– исследовалась структура береговой линии;
– собраны первые материалы о химическом режиме притоков Байкала, особенно реки Селенги;
– охарактеризованы неизвестные виды организмов.

Интерес к возможностям Байкала увеличивался. И Президиум Академии наук СССР в 1928 году провел реорганизацию Байкальской экспедиции в новое стационарное заведение – Байкальскую биологическую станцию, где Глеб Юрьевич сначала был назначен ее заведующим, а в 1930 году избран директором станции, позже переименованной в лимнологическую. На этом посту он оставался до 1944 года. В 1961 году станция преобразовалась в знаменитый Лимнологический институт СО АН СССР.

Научные изыскания Глеба Юрьевича имели народохозяйственное значение, носили практический характер, и ряд промышленных управленческих структур, водных и рыбодобывающих организаций активно использовали сведения по химическому, ветровому и ледовому режиму Байкала.

В годы Великой Отечественной войны Глеб Юрьевич с еще большим энтузиазмом стал относиться к работе, понимая ее значение для обороны страны. Овладели навыками добычи и переработки частиковых рыб. Изобрели и создали специальную жиротопку для налима и голомянки, благодаря которой добывался спасительный ранозаживляющий материал. Углубленно исследовался ледяной покров озера, и говорят даже, что Ладожская «дорога жизни» проходила испытания на Байкале.

Именем лимнолога названо научно-исследовательское судно

Сугубо научные интересы Глеба Юрьевича были невероятно широки и затрагивали смежные отрасли знаний. В своих биологических исследованиях он четко определял цель – выяснение зарождения и истории фауны озера. Он однозначно отстаивал точку зрения о морском происхождении основной части эндемичной фауны и флоры. Верещагин впервые обосновал уникальную специфику глубинных вод Байкала, где:

 – плотность придонных слоев воды больше обычной плотности пресной воды;

– водные массы озера делятся на две глубинные зоны: верхнюю, характеризующуюся температурными изменениями воды на протяжении года, и нижнюю, отличающуюся постоянством температурного режима. 

Умер Глеб Юрьевич внезапно, 5 февраля 1944 года. Похоронен в Листвянке, на берегу озера, которое не отпустило его до конца жизни. Но и сегодня Глеб Юрьевич Верещагин регулярно «выходит» в воды Байкала. Его именем названо научно-исследовательское судно.

 

РАССКАЗАТЬ ДРУЗЬЯМ
Читайте также
Глеб Верещагин: человек и пароход

Гастрономические традиции сибиряков могут удивить даже искушенного гурмана. Рассказываем, где в пирог кладут рыбу с чешуей, какой аналог суши придумали на Байкале и какую закуску любой якут сможет приготовить за 5 минут.

Глеб Верещагин: человек и пароход

Иркутск постоянно преображается. Его архитектура бережно адаптируется под современные реалии не только благодаря властям, но и бизнесу. Один из последних примеров – здание «Востсибугля». Оказывается, после реконструкции здесь появится еще один этаж. Мы решили разобраться, насколько подобная практика свойственна для города.

Глеб Верещагин: человек и пароход

Авторы проекта «Энергия преобразований» отыскали потомков создателя Курбатовских бань и поговорили с ними

Глеб Верещагин: человек и пароход

По пути на Байкал часто можно видеть людей, которые брызгают молоком в разные стороны или завязывают ленты на столбах. Здесь, на Байкале, это называется «бурханить» – то есть задабривать духов места. Кому можно и кому нельзя проводить этот ритуал, какие существуют правила и почему «бурханить» – не совсем подходящее для этого слово? Разбираемся с шаманом Виталием Балтаевым. 

Глеб Верещагин: человек и пароход