A Godforsaken Place: an Unexplainable Wreck at the Krasny Yar Cape
A Godforsaken Place: an Unexplainable Wreck at the Krasny Yar Cape
© Photo: Key To Baikal
September, 09

A Godforsaken Place: an Unexplainable Wreck at the Krasny Yar Cape

The waters of the only sea lake on the planet have always required respectful attitude. Baikal does not fit into the framework of being “good or bad”. It is just indifferent to human lives and can easily take them away as a sacrifice…We will tell you a story about this in our new horror article.

A witness of one of the last large-scale tragedies - the wreck and unexplainable disappearance of the ship “Akademik Shokolsky” with its crew - was the Krasny Yar Cape located on the western coast of the lake between the Peschanaya Bay and the village of Buguldeika.

The Last Voyage of the “Akademik Shokolsky” Ship and Its Crew

The “Akademik Shokolsky” motor ship had a decent experience of sailing in the Baikal waters. It had worked at the Irkutsk Department of Meteorology and Environmental Monitoring for many years and delivered cargoes to meteorological stations and transported the employees of the meteorological station. A crew of seven people (six men and one female cook) consisted of young, collaborative, friendly people, and had gone through winds, storms, and icing under the guidance of an experienced captain with 30 years of naval experience. The ship set on its last voyage on the route Irkutsk - Davsha on August 1, 1983, leaving the city at 6 a.m. and heading towards Listvyanka. The entire crew was there; however, one of the sailors was replaced by Valery Rudakov, a performer of the musical comedy theater on vacation who asked to take him with the crew. Well, here we cannot but recall a saying claiming that “one cannot change his destiny”.

The Catastrophe

Фото

On August 2, at about 8:15 a.m., the ship departed from Peschanaya Bay and headed to Buguldeika. The weather was clearly getting worse. The sky was overcast with heavy black clouds, a strong wind began to raise waves; spray and water mist were falling on the ship.

The day of August 2 is not that simple itself. It is the Day of Elijah the Prophet; according to perception of Russians, he was a severe and formidable old man, an almighty master of rain, thunder, and lightning.

Near the Krasny Yar Cape, the northwest wind literally “popped out” of the mountain crevices, its speed grew up to 50 meters per second; the wind constantly changed its direction, its tornadoes created entire walls of water spray with the height of waves reaching three meters.

The details of the catastrophe are well known, because several people saw it from the coast. Nevertheless, they really could not do anything to help the dying crew.

While the ship moved in the direction of the wind it only rocked a little bit, but when it had to turn upwave, the waves began to harshly throw the ship from side to side, taking it to the wave crest and throwing it sharply down into the unruly waters. Water jets flooded both the deck and the wheelhouse glasses.

The captain tried hard to bring the ship to coast, where the wind was weaker. Continuous struggle with the waves played against the crew. The ship motions did not stop, and the coast was still unreachable. After the first sharp inclination of the ship to the left side, it managed to recover. The vessel was irresistibly carried away from the salvatory coast into the open Baikal. And then, a strong inclination, a turnover, and only the red bottom of the ship could be seen on the water. In 5 minutes, one person climbed on top of it, then two more people joined him. Probably, these were the crew members who were staying in the wheelhouse. The upturned vessel stayed afloat for about 20 - 25 minutes.

The witnesses described the terrible ending in almost the same words: “... there were constant vortices around the vessel, they often hid the vessel from our eyes”; “The ship was carried to the east, it disappeared among tornadoes and splashes”; “A tornado appeared, a wall of spray covered the ship and when the wall disappeared, the ship and people were gone”.

They say that when “Akademik Shokolsky” finally went under water, Baikal waves began to subside, as if satisfied with the sacrifice received by the lake.

Forever Lost

A few days after the tragedy, search and rescue works were carried out in that area both from the sea and from the air, from a helicopter. Search teams carefully examined the water area, but found nothing! They did not record the exact place of the shipwreck, did not find any remnants of the ship or a single body of crew members.

Only two floating lifebuoys were found immediately after the accident. The urban legend says that the crew was incredibly cheerful, loved jokes and pranks. Before the last voyage, all the male members of the crew shaved their heads for some reason. Besides, they took a garden bench from a city park at night; then they transported it in their arms across Irkutsk, surprising the citizens on the night streets. Later that very bench was washed ashore...

The location of the vessel has remained unknown until today.

A Dangerous Place

A Godforsaken Place: an Unexplainable Wreck at the Krasny Yar Cape

Travel agencies describe the benefits of recreation in the area of Krasny Yar with the use of superlatives. Of course! There is no automobile road leading to that place, which implies that there is a possibility of genuine close communion with nature. Besides, there is a shallow and warm bay where you can fish. The beach is covered with fine Baikal pebbles, the forest is rich in mushrooms and berries... But all these advantages can be truly appreciated on a calm sunny day.

It is difficult to predict the weather here. A thick fog can suddenly descend from the mountains: local compare it with jelly; and the winds blow from the mountain gorges, including the local “gornyak” (mountainous) wind that is especially severe. Some time ago timber was transported along Baikal by rafts. It has been noted that the rafts most often wrecked precisely at the Krasny Yar Cape.

The Attempts to Explain What Happened

A.D. Karnyshev, a well-known connoisseur of Lake Baikal, the author of the book titled “Mysterious, Diverse and Multilingual Baikal” expressed a hypothesis about the attitude of the Baikal element to taking victims. This is especially characteristic of the area near Buguldeika, where, according to one of the Canadian archaeologists conducting excavations at that site, they found the evidence confirming that an apocalypse that destroyed all local residents occurred on the territory of Baikal 5000 years ago.

However, if we disregard the mystical version and take factual data into account, including documentary sources, the situation is not becoming clearer.

The weather in the area of Krasny Yar began to deteriorate already on August 1, but for some reason no meteorological message was delivered. Investigative actions have also failed to explain anything. The decree on the termination of the criminal case on the death of the crew of the ship says: “the ship “Akademik Shokolsky”... going near Krasny Yar on the western coast of Lake Baikal entered the zone of activity of an unpredictable, extremely rare local dangerous phenomenon with the formation of tornadoes and a wind speed significantly exceeding the limits of this ship when moving downwind ... as a result, ship turned over and sank”.

Tell friends
Related articles
A Godforsaken Place: an Unexplainable Wreck at the Krasny Yar Cape

We continue to acquaint you with the outstanding villages of Lake Baikal. This article will be dedicated to the village of Kachug. This place was inhabited by people many thousands of years ago. “Key to Baikal” will tell you about the traces left here by the ancient people and why it is better to come here in September.

A Godforsaken Place: an Unexplainable Wreck at the Krasny Yar Cape

National costume is a code for modern people. It helps to perceive and understand the past of a nationality, its traditions and features of self-actualization. Let alone the special energy conveyed by hand-made things. “Key to Baikal” tells you about the peculiarities of the costume of the ancient people who lived around Lake Baikal and about the way the lake influenced their fashion...

A Godforsaken Place: an Unexplainable Wreck at the Krasny Yar Cape

A dinner or a lunch for the ancient peoples of Lake Baikal was not just a meal, but an entire rite with its own rules and traditions. “Key to Baikal” will tell you how to cook Tungus-style meat and how the eating habits of the ancient people of the lake changed depending on the season.

A Godforsaken Place: an Unexplainable Wreck at the Krasny Yar Cape

Our section “The Lives of Great People of Baikal” tells about the people indissolubly tied to the history of Baikal and the entire region. This time we will talk about the native of Irkutsk whose name is undeservedly forgotten today... We are speaking about Anton Losev, an architect, a surveyor, a geographer and a map-maker of Lake Baikal.

Гиблое место: необъяснимое крушение у мыса Красный Яр
Гиблое место: необъяснимое крушение у мыса Красный Яр
© Фото: Первый Байкальский

Гиблое место: необъяснимое крушение у мыса Красный Яр

Воды единственного на планете озера-моря всегда требовали к себе почтения. Байкал не вписывается в рамки «добрый или злой». Ему безразлична человеческая жизнь, которую он легко забирает в жертву… Именно о такой истории пойдет речь в нашей новой страшилке.

Свидетелем одной из последних масштабных трагедий – гибели и бесследной пропажи, вместе с экипажем, теплохода «Академик Шокальский» – стал мыс Красный Яр, расположенный на западном побережье озера между бухтой Песчаной и поселком Бугульдейка.

Последний рейс «Академика Шокальского» и его экипажа

Теплоход «Академик Шокальский» не был новичком в байкальских водах. Работая в Иркутском управлении по метеорологии и контролю природной среды, он много лет обеспечивал грузами метеостанции и перевозил сотрудников метеослужбы. Команда из семи человек (шесть мужчин и одна женщина-кок) была молодой, сплоченной, дружной и под руководством опытного капитана, имевшего 30-летний флотский опыт, прошла вместе и ветра, и штормы, и обледенения. В последний рейс по маршруту Иркутск – Давша судно отправилось 1 августа 1983 года, в 18:00 покинув город и выдвинувшись в сторону Листвянки. Экипаж был в сборе, правда, вместо одного из матросов на его место попросился ушедший в отпуск артист театра музыкальной комедии Валерий Рудаков. Ну как тут не вспомнить поговорку про «кому что на роду написано»…

Катастрофа

Фото

2 августа около 8 часов 15 минут теплоход снялся со стоянки в бухте Песчаной и пошел в сторону Бугульдейки. Погода явно портилась. Небо закрыли тяжелые черные тучи, крепчающий ветер начал поднимать волны, брызги и водяная пыль поливали корабль.

И сам день 2 августа был очень непростой. День Ильи-пророка, который в восприятии русского человека был суровым и грозным старцем, всемогущим распорядителем дождя, грома, молнии. 

В районе Красного Яра северо-западный ветер буквально «выскочил» из горных расщелин, усилился до 50 метров в секунду, постоянно менял направление, его смерчи создавали уже целые стены брызг, а волны достигали трех метров.

Подробности катастрофы хорошо известны, так как с берега ее видели несколько человек. Видели, но ничего реально не могли сделать, чтобы помочь погибающему экипажу.

Пока теплоход двигался «под ветер», его лишь немного качало, но когда пришлось пойти против волн, корабль начало сильно бросать, поднимая на гребень волны и резко кидая вниз, на бурлящую воду. Ее струи заливали и палубу, и стекла рулевой рубки.

Капитан стремился вывести корабль к берегу, где сила ветра была все-таки слабее. Непрерывная борьба с волнами была не в пользу человека. Качка не унималась, а берег по-прежнему был пока недостижим. После первого резкого, на левый бок, крена судно сумело выправиться. Его неудержимо несло от спасительного побережья в открытый Байкал. А затем – сильный крен, переворот, и вот на воде уже видно красное днище. Минут че­рез 5 на него вскарабкался один человек, затем еще два. Наверное, это были те члены экипажа, которые находились в рубке. Перевернутое судно продержалось на плаву около 20 – 25 минут.

Страшный финал свидетели описывали почти одинаковыми словами: «…около судна пос­тоянно крутило вихри, они часто скрывали судно»; «судно несло на восток, оно исчезло среди смерчей и брызг»; «возник смерч, стена брызг накрыла судно, и когда стена пропала, не было ни судна, ни людей».

Рассказывают, что, когда «Академик Шокальский» окончательно ушел под воду, Байкал, как будто удовлетворившись полученной платой, начал стихать.

Исчез навсегда

Несколько дней после трагедии в этом районе, как с моря, так и с воздуха, с вертолета, велись поисково-спасательные работы. Поисковые группы внимательно обследовали акваторию, но не нашли ничего! Не зафиксировали ни точного места гибели корабля, не обнаружили никаких остатков теплохода и ни одного тела членов экипажа.

Лишь сразу после катастрофы нашли два плавающих спасательных круга. Городская легенда гласит: экипаж был невероятно веселый, любил шутки и розыгрыши. Перед последним рейсом вся мужская часть команды почему-то подстриглась налысо. А еще ночью, из какого-то городского парка утащили садовую скамейку, которую транспортировали на руках по Иркутску, вызывая недоумение у припозднившихся горожан. Именно эту скамейку и вынесло на берег…

Местонахождение судна неизвестно по сей день.

Опасное место

Гиблое место: необъяснимое крушение у мыса Красный ЯрТуристические агентства в превосходных степенях описывают прелести отдыха в районе Красного Яра. Еще бы! Автомобильной дороги нет, а значит, есть возможность подлинного единения с природой. Плюс неглубокий и теплый залив, в котором можно рыбачить. Пляж, посыпанный мелкой байкальской галькой, лес с большим количеством грибов и ягод… Но все эти достоинства можно осознать только в хороший солнечный день.

Здесь сложно спрогнозировать погоду. С гор внезапно спускается густой туман, который жители сравнивают с киселем, а из горных ущелий дуют ветра, среди которых особую ярость демонстрирует местный горняк. Раньше лес по Байкалу транспортировали плотами. Замечено, что наиболее часто они разбивались именно у Красного Яра.

Попытки объяснить произошедшее

Карнышев А.Д., известный знаток Байкала, автор книги «Байкал таинственный, многоликий и разноязыкий» высказал гипотезу об ориентации байкальской стихии на принятие жертв. Это особенно характерно для района вблизи Бугульдейки, где, по мнению одного из канадских археологов, ведущего в этом месте раскопки, найдены свидетельства, подтверждающие, что около 5000 лет назад на байкальской территории произошел апокалипсис, уничтоживший всех жителей.

Но если абстрагироваться от мистической версии и перейти к сухим данным, в том числе документальным, ясности не прибавляется.

Погода в районе Красного Яра начала ухудшаться уже 1 августа, но никакого метеосообщения об этом почему-то так и не последовало. Ничего объяснить не сумели и следственные действия. В постановлении о прекращении уголовного дела по факту гибели экипажа теплохода было записано: теплоход «Академика Шокольского» «…в районе Красного Яра у запад­ного берега озера Байкал попал в зону действия непрогнозируемого, крайне редкого локального опас­ного явления с образованием смерчей и скоростью ветра, значительно превышающей ограничения для данного судна по ветру… в результате кото­рого судно перевернулось и за­тонуло».

РАССКАЗАТЬ ДРУЗЬЯМ
Читайте также
Гиблое место: необъяснимое крушение у мыса Красный Яр

Наш новый материал из рубрики «ЖЗЛ Байкала» — о «самом лохматом сотруднике заповедной системы». Именно так называл себя Семен Устинов.

Гиблое место: необъяснимое крушение у мыса Красный Яр

Мы продолжаем знакомить вас с необычными деревнями Байкала. Героем этой статьи станет поселок Качуг. Это место, которое было населено людьми многие тысячи лет назад. Первый Байкальский расскажет, какие следы здесь оставил древний человек и почему сюда лучше приезжать в сентябре.

Гиблое место: необъяснимое крушение у мыса Красный Яр

Национальный костюм — это код для современного человека. Он помогает почувствовать и понять прошлое народа, его традиции и особенности самосознания. Не говоря уже об особой энергетике, которую передает вещь, изготовленная вручную. Первый Байкальский рассказывает об особенностях костюма древних жителей Байкала и как озеро влияло на моду…

Гиблое место: необъяснимое крушение у мыса Красный Яр

Ужин или обед для древних народов Байкала — это не просто прием пищи, а целый обряд со своими правилами и традициями. О том, как приготовить мясо по-тунгусски и как менялись обычаи питания древних людей озера в зависимости от времени года, рассказываем на Первом Байкальском.

×
Хотите знать, где у нерпы санаторий?

Читайте нас в Яндекс Дзен

Хочу!

Больше не показывать