An Unusual Seagull: a Sad Fairy Tale with a Happy Ending
An Unusual Seagull: a Sad Fairy Tale with a Happy Ending
© Photo: Key to Baikal
July, 10

An Unusual Seagull: a Sad Fairy Tale with a Happy Ending

Today we will tell you an unusual horror story: a sad story from the coast of Lake Baikal, as it turned out, the ending was good. You are welcome the story of an unusual seagull passed by Buryat folklore from generation to generation...

Buryat folklore contains the very spirit of this people and its character. Fairy tales are especially interesting: their origin can be found deep in the history of national life. They reflect the inseparable harmonious connection of Buryats with the surrounding nature, their faith in humanity.

Buryat folk tales often include miraculous objects, for example, a magic stone capable of changing the weather, or the water of life animating the dead. And no matter how terrible or sad a fairy tale is, it always has the main idea: any kind of evil, even though it may seem attractive, will always be defeated by goodness, mercy, quick wit, generosity, and wisdom.

Namely this unique organic interconnection of the two worlds - the world of people and the world of nature - predetermined the unique “natural” philosophy of the world perception of Buryats that is very vividly manifested in national fairy tales.

A Tale of a Buryat Storyteller (“Ontokhoshin”)

This happened at Baikal long ago. Autumn was unusually cold and windy that year, so all the birds flew to the south very early. Then a stormy hurricane captured Baikal, bringing an unusual bird to the Baikal coast.

This is how people learned to know about this: there was a yurt of the old man called Shono on the coast: he was awakened by a loud cry of despair uttered by a seagull. The old man had never heard such a cry before: it was too sad and bitter. Shono decided to go to the coast and see who was crying this way. And he saw the following: an unusual and very large strange gull uncommon for those places was flying over the waters of Baikal; he saw no birds of this kind in that place before. As a matter of fact, this gull was brought by a strong hurricane from the north.

Shono did not understand that the bird was afflicted by a great sorrow. And he hurried to return home as soon as possible.

Thus, the strange gull settled on Baikal. And even though it had enough fish here, it missed her home, the Arctic Ocean. She wanted to come back very much. Indeed, it was an ice gull and lived its entire life on the ocean shore. And it missed its native place so much that it screamed with such a despair that everyone who heard it started to feel sorrow as well. Soon all of the fishermen of the Sacred Sea, all the hunters of the Baikal taiga and mountains got to know about the heart-piercing cries of the bird, and even the shamans turned their close attention to this seagull. Due to its extraordinarily large size, people gave the gull a nickname: “An Unusual Seagull”, a vagabond seagull.

 And the shamans became afraid of her and told everyone that this unfortunate bird was an evil spirit, a cruel little prophet of the future misfortunes and disasters that it was about to bring.

Although Baikal was rich in fish, spacious and free, the Unusual Seagull dreamed of bright rainbow flashes of the distant northern lights, strong polar snowfall, howling snowstorm, barking and running blue foxes, the mighty tides of the cold ocean waves and formidable whirring of wandering icy mountains.

By all means the seagull tried to return to her homeland. But terrible and strong winds rushed at Baikal for a long time, which did not allow the seagull to fly far away, the winds repeatedly carried the bird back to the Baikal Mountains. And finally she decided to take the last attempt - mustered up its last strength and soared into the sky. She screamed in the way she never did before: sadly, harshly, with deep despair...

The old man Shono could not stand that cry: he ran to the coast, took a gun and fired at the Unusual Seagull. The shot hit the goal, the seagull fell down like a stone, onto the coastal sand, blood spilled all around it; it seemed that the bird fell silent forever...

Shono approached the seagull, looked at it, and then he was surprised and frightened. His heart was suddenly broken. He saw pure tears in the eyes of the seagull, and bright flashes of cold northern lights on its eyelids. And then old Shono realized that he had made a big mistake by killing the innocent bird.

He stood looking at the bird for a long time, feeling pity for the poor creature and not knowing what to do next; then he decided to somehow correct his mistake. He remembered about a place on the coast of Baikal with miraculous hot healing springs. As old people told, these springs came up from the depths of the Earth along the waterways connecting Baikal with the Arctic Ocean, and the water was heated under the ground. He hoped that maybe the water of the native ocean of the bird could revive it.

He put the seagull in the boat and rowed directly to that wonderful place. There he scooped up a wooden spoon of water from the spring and poured it over a dead bird. Surprisingly enough and to Shono’s delight, the water could really reanimate living creatures. Just before the eyes of the old man, the seagull’s wound healed, the bird moved and rapidly soared to the sky. And no one could stop it – the Unusual Seagull raised high, flew to the north, overcame all the headwinds and vanished out of sight.

Many years have already passed, but, this wise and suspenseful tale is passed from generation to generation on the coast of Lake Baikal: it excites the soul and makes one think about the moral courage, devotion to one’s home and the consequences of human actions.

Tell friends
Related articles
An Unusual Seagull: a Sad Fairy Tale with a Happy Ending

November 6 is the Marooned Without a Compass Day. In fact, this device invented in China during the Song Dynasty and reinvented again in Europe in the 12th-13th centuries was not known to the original inhabitants of the Baikal coast - Evenks (Tungues) and Buryats. Still, they managed to do well without compass, and many of the skills useful for this area have been preserved until today.

An Unusual Seagull: a Sad Fairy Tale with a Happy Ending

Buryat ornamental patterns and figures convey ancient sacred symbolism. They express the beliefs and lifestyle of the most ancient people of Lake Baikal.

An Unusual Seagull: a Sad Fairy Tale with a Happy Ending

A large number of traditional common views of shamanists about the soul of Lake Baikal, its character, disposition that have persisted until today appeared in ancient times. A legend about the bottomlessness of Baikal accompanied by the idea of underground merger of Lake Baikal with the Arctic Ocean has existed since the Stone Age...

An Unusual Seagull: a Sad Fairy Tale with a Happy Ending

Our new article from the section “Lives of Great People” is dedicated to “the shaggiest employee of the reserve system”. That is what Semyon Ustinov called himself.

Чайка-Необычайка: грустная сказка с хэппи-эндом
Чайка-Необычайка: грустная сказка с хэппи-эндом
© Фото: Первый Байкальский

Чайка-Необычайка: грустная сказка с хэппи-эндом

Сегодня у нас необычная страшилка: грустная история с берегов Байкала, у которой случился хороший конец...

В бурятском фольклоре – весь дух этого народа и его характер. Особенно интересны сказки, истоки которых уходят в глубины народного бытия. Они отражают неразрывную гармоничную связь с окружающей природой, веру в человечность.

В народных бурятских сказках присутствуют чудотворные предметы, например волшебный камень, способный изменить погоду, или живая вода, оживляющая мертвых. И какой бы страшной или печальной ни была сказка, в ней всегда выдерживается основная мысль: любое зло, даже способное принимать привлекательный образ, будет всегда побеждено добром, милосердием, сообразительностью, великодушием, умом.

Именно такая уникальная органичная взаимосвязь двух миров – мира человека и мира природы – предопределила неповторимую «природную» философию бурятского мироощущения, проявившуюся очень ярко в национальных сказках.

Повествование бурятского онтохошина (сказочника)

Давным-давно это на Байкале было. Осень в тот год была необычайно холодной и ветряной, и все птицы давно уже улетели на юг. И налетел тогда на Байкал бурный шторм-ураган, занес на байкальские берега необычную птицу.

А узнали о ней вот как – на берегу находилась юрта старика Шоно, которого разбудил истошный и громкий крик чайки. Крика такого он никогда раньше не слышал: слишком уж тоскливым и горьким он был. Решил Шоно выйти на берег и посмотреть, кто это так кричит. И перед его взором открылась такая картина – над водами Байкала летела необычная и очень большая диковинная чайка, каких в этих краях не бывает, и такую раньше он никогда не видывал. А занесло эту чайку с севера сильным ураганом.

Где Шоно было понять, что птицу постигло большое горе. И он заспешил поскорее уйти домой.

Поселилась диковинная чайка на Байкале. И хоть было ей здесь рыбы вдоволь, скучала она по своему дому – Ледовитому океану. Сильно ей хотелось вернуться обратно. Ведь была она полярной чайкой, всю жизнь прожившей на берегах океана. И так она скучала по родному дому, что кричала так истошно, что у всех, кто слышал это, в сердце поселялась тоска. Вскоре узнали по ее щемящим крикам о ней все рыбаки Священного моря, все охотники байкальской тайги и гор, и даже шаманы обратили на нее свое пристальное внимание. За необычайную величину прозвали ее Чайка-Необычайка, залётная чайка.

А шаманы стали ее бояться и объявили всем, что эта злополучная птица – нечистая сила, жестокосердая вещунья грядущих бед и несчастий, которые принесла она с собой.

И, несмотря на то, что на Байкале-море, богатом рыбой, было просторно и привольно, Чайке-Необычайке грезились огненно-радужные всполохи далекого северного сияния, полярный глухой снегопад, завывание пурги, лай и бег голубых песцов, могучий прибой студеных волн океана и грозное шуршание блуждающих ледяных гор.

Всеми силами стремилась Чайка-Необычайка вернуться на свою родину. Но долго на Байкале лютовали страшные и сильные ветры, которые не позволяли чайке улететь далеко, уносили они ее неоднократно за байкальские горы. И вот решила она сделать последний рывок – собралась с оставшимися силами и поднялась в небо. Кричала она, как ни кричала еще никогда: печально, надрывно, истошно….

Вот этого-то крика и не вынес старик Шоно: выбежал он на берег, взял ружье и выстрелил в Чайку-Необычайку. От выстрела чайка камнем полетела вниз, упала на прибрежный на песок, вокруг нее разлилась кровь, и замолкла она, как тогда казалось – навсегда…

Старик Шоно подошел к чайке, посмотрел на нее – и тут удивился и испугался он. Сердце у него вдруг оборвалось. Увидел он в глазах чайки чистые родниковые слезы, а на оболочках ее глаз – яркие всполохи холодного северного сияния. И тут понял старик Шоно, что совершил он большую ошибку, убив невинную птицу.

Долго стоял он над ней, жалея ее и не зная, что делать дальше, а потом решил он как-то исправить свою ошибку. Вспомнил, что есть на берегу Байкала такое место, откуда бьют чудесные горячие целебные ключи. А поднимаются они из глубин земли по ходам, которые, как утверждают старые люди, соединяют Байкал с Ледовитым океаном, под землей вода и нагревается. Может, вода родного океана оживит чайку.

Положил он ее в лодку и поплыл прямо к заветному месту. Там набрал он из источника воды в деревянную ложку, окатил мертвую птицу. И, на удивление и радость Шоно, вода и правда оказалась живительной. На глазах старика рана у чайки затянулась, птица зашевелилась и поднялась стремительно в небо. И уже никто не мог ее остановить – высоко-высоко поднялась Чайка-Необычайка, полетела на север, преодолела все встречные ветра и скрылась из вида.

Прошли годы, но из поколения в поколение передается на берегах Байкала эта мудрая тревожная сказка, бередящая душу и заставляющая задуматься о силе духа, преданности родному дому и цене человеческого поступка.

РАССКАЗАТЬ ДРУЗЬЯМ
Читайте также
Чайка-Необычайка: грустная сказка с хэппи-эндом

Рассказываем, какой омуль предпочитают коренные байкальцы, и учим готовить рыбу… «с душком». Да-да, вы не ошиблись, именно этому рецепту научились древние буряты у… медведя.

Чайка-Необычайка: грустная сказка с хэппи-эндом

Готовы пощекотать нервы? Мы решили заглянуть в прошлое и узнать, кто такие черные шаманы Байкала и при чем здесь «духи-людоеды»…

Чайка-Необычайка: грустная сказка с хэппи-эндом

Изобретенный в Китае при династии Сун и вновь придуманный в Европе в XII – XIII веках, компас не был известен аборигенам байкальских берегов — эвенкам (тунгусам) и бурятам. Но они умудрялись прекрасно обходиться и без него...

Чайка-Необычайка: грустная сказка с хэппи-эндом

Бурятские орнаменты и узоры несут в себе древнюю сакральную символику. Они рассказывают о верованиях и образе жизни древнейших людей Байкала.

×
Хотите знать, где у нерпы санаторий?

Читайте нас в Яндекс Дзен

Хочу!

Больше не показывать