© Photo credit: www.depositphotos.com

Secrets of Winter Fishing on Lake Baikal

Winter on Lake Baikal is a time when you can enjoy a quiet vacation without the crowds of tourists and feel, at last, the real magic of the lake.

Winter at Baikal is not only walking on ice, dog sledding or descending from the mountains on skis, but it is also time for first-class fishing. Experienced fishermen say that ice fishing is something special and after you have tried it once, the desire to come back next winter will be irresistible.

The season of winter fishing on Lake Baikal opens in mid-December, when the thickness of the ice near the shore reaches 10 - 15 cm, and lasts until the end of April. In some especially cold years, ice fishing on Lake Baikal can be practiced even in May, when the rest of Russia already experiences fishing on open lakes, battling with mosquitoes and have picnics on the green grass.

As for the catch, there are more than 50 species of fish in the lake, so you will not leave without fish, though you will have to sit for an hour or two in the icy wind. Major trophies are, of course, omul and grayling.
In the coastal area from December to May, you can find pike, perch, dace and roach. Whitefish and omul are deep fishes, which are easier to catch in January-April, and grayling - in December and May.

If you are lucky, in the winter on Lake Baikal, you can catch a giant fish– a taimen. The length of this fish sometimes reaches two meters, and it weighs about 80 kg.
The largest representative from the watery world of Lake Baikal is the sturgeon. Its dimensions: 1.4 -1.8 m in length and a weight of 100-130 kg. However, you must remember that sturgeon is listed in the Red Book, so catching this fish is prohibited. The most popular trophies of fisherman on Lake Baikal are considered to be perch and its eternal companion the roach which are not ubiquitous and can be found mainly in the small grassy bays, also known as sors. That is why this fish is called "soroga".  

The most popular places for winter fishing among Baikal fishermen are shallow places on the East Coast of the lake - Baikal sor, Gulf Proval, Arangatuy lake, the delta of the Selenga River and Chivyrkuisky Bay. The people of Irkutsk like the bays of the Small Sea, which spill between the coast and the largest island, Olkhon.

The secrets of Baikal’s experienced fishermen are as follows: during the beginning of the ice season the fish stay in shallow water near the shore or among the reeds in the inflows, and actively feed on almost any bait. With increasing thickness of the ice, they go deeper into the depths. Schools of fish are constantly moving in searching of convenient places to stay at, and there comes a time for fishermen when "the fish was yesterday and tomorrow." Therefore, in December and January they have to actively move over long distances, and not because of the frost.

Searching for late winter fish, of course, has a certain method. While newcomers from the cities drill through the ice in different directions, focusing on depth, the experienced local fishermen busily check sandbars and channels for fish.

By March biting becomes steady, and the area for searching for fish expands significantly. In the spring, fish tends to go to the depths and the deep shelves. Spawning fish collect in schools in April, and as the weather is warm, the fishermen have their best days.

As for the professional tool of the fisherman, the fishing rod, local fishermen, without further ado, cut them right out of birch branches, reeling up fishing line through notches at the butt of the branch and passing it through the shortened knots towards the beckoning flexible tip.

Gammarus are used as the traditional bait for fishing on Lake Baikal. First, the fisherman drills 5-6 holes, each of which is abundantly filled with a handful of bait. The bait slowly sinks to the bottom. If you want to have a serious catch, a lot of gammarus will be needed, because one handful is only enough for about half an hour. Amphipod crustaceans like Gammarus attracts perch and pike when they are alive and active and a when they are dead they attract Siberian roach and small ide fish.

It is important on the lake to be careful about the place where you decide to go fishing. The weather on Lake Baikal can be very unpredictable: five minutes ago it can be absolutely windless, and then, suddenly, you're running around the ice, collecting your bait and trying to catch your hat. Baikal winds come unexpectedly and can be very severe. Also remember that at low temperatures even a mild breeze greatly increases the power of frost. So be careful about your equipment and do not neglect to wear thermal underwear.

It is incredible, but the second natural phenomenon of the Baikal winter, which brings many difficulties to the fishermen, is the bright sun. Siberia’s winter sun is something special and cannot compare to the few rays which could be seen in the winter somewhere in the Moscow suburbs.

In February, after a day on the ice, a person acquires a crimson-red hue, and in April you can easily get sunburn of 2nd degree, so before going on the ice you should put on some sunscreen lotion, and take care to wear headgear with some kind of visor and fish with your back to the sun.

Winter fishing on the lake is undoubtedly not a simple past-time, but definitely such a fishing trip is hard to forget and even harder to resist the temptation to try your luck on the wide expanses of the Baikal again.  

Tell friends
Related articles

The route Moscow - Beijing is becoming increasingly popular; more and more tourists choose it to see the Great Lake. “Key to Baikal” will tell you about one of the most beautiful sections of this route stretching between Irkutsk and Ulan-Ude.


Winter will never again be a boring and dull season if you start skiing or snowboarding. The first snow will be a real joy and a symbol of a new long-awaited season. So that to help you understand the details of skiing/snowboarding, we have come up with the answers to the most popular questions on this topic.


Baikal in winter is a separate subject, a separate universe. The lands around the lake are also very special in winter, so during the trip to the “Glorious Sea” one should necessarily visit several places featured by “Key to Baikal” in this article.


If you think that the Baikal region is terribly cold, gray and uninteresting in winter, you are completely wrong. The place is beautiful at any season of the year. And even during the severe frosts Baikal has something to surprise you with.

pic
pic
© Фото: www.depositphotos.com

Секреты зимней рыбалки на Байкале

Зима на Байкале — это то самое время, когда можно наслаждаться тихим отдыхом без толп туристов и почувствовать, наконец, настоящую магию озера.

Зимний Байкал  это не только прогулки по льду, катание на собачьих упряжках или спуск с гор на лыжах, но еще и первоклассная рыбалка. Опытные рыбаки скажут, что подледная рыбалка это нечто особенное и, попробовав раз, желание вернуться сюда следующей зимой будет непреодолимым.

Сезон зимней рыбалки на Байкале открывается с середины декабря, когда толщина льда у берега достигает 10-15 см., и длится до конца апреля. В некоторые особенно холодные года подледной рыбалкой на Байкале можно заниматься даже в мае, когда вся остальная Россия уже вовсю рыбачит на открытых озерах, сражается с комарами и устраивает пикники на зеленой траве.

Что касается улова, то в Байкале водится свыше 50 видов рыбы, поэтому без добычи точно не уйдете, хоть и придется посидеть часок-другой на ледяном ветру. Главные трофеи — это, конечно, омуль и хариус. В прибрежной зоне с декабря по май можно повстречать щуку, окуня, ельца и сорогу. Сиг с омулем — это глубинные рыбы, которых лучше ловить в январе-апреле, а хариуса — в декабре-мае.
Фотография
Фото

Если вы везунчик, то зимой на Байкале вы можете выловить настоящего гиганта – тайменя. В длину эта рыба достигает иногда двух метров, а весит около 80 кг. Самый крупный представитель водного мира Байкала – осетр. Его габариты: 1,4 -1,8 м. длины и 100-130 кг. Веса. Однако помните, что осетр занесен в Красную книгу, поэтому ловля этой рыбы запрещена. Самыми популярными трофеями рыбака на Байкале считаются окунь и его вечная спутница плотва, которые распространены не повсеместно, а водятся в основном в мелких травянистых заливах, так называемых сорах. Именно поэтому эту рыбу называют «соровой».  

Самыми популярными местами для зимней ловли среди байкальских рыбаков считаются мелководные места на Восточном побережье озера - Байкальский сор, залив Провал, озеро Арангатуй, дельта реки Селенги и Чивыркуйский залив. Иркутяне любят заливы Малого моря, которое разлилось между побережьем и самым большим озером Байкала Ольхоном.

Секреты опытных байкальских рыболовов гласят: по перволедью рыба стоит на мелководье у берега или среди камыша в притоках, активно кормится и идет почти на любую приманку. С увеличением толщины льда она уходит на глубину. Тогда уже стаи рыб постоянно перемещаются в поисках удобных для стоянок мест, и для рыболовов наступают времена, когда «рыба была вчера и завтра». Поэтому в декабре-январе им приходится активно передвигаться на большие расстояния, причем вовсе не из-за мороза.

Поиск рыбы поздней зимой, конечно же, подчинен определенному алгоритму. Если новички из города буравят лед в различных направлениях, ориентируясь на глубину, то ученые местные рыболовы деловито проверяют на наличие рыбы «лопатки» и «прорвы». «Лопатками» здесь называют песчаные отмели, расположенные вдоль подводного продолжения русла впадающей в сор реки или рукава Селенги, а «прорвами» - промывы в песчаных косах, отгораживающих соры от Байкала.

К марту клев стабилизируется, и территория для поиска рыбы значительно расширяется. Весной бель тяготеет к глубине и к глубинным бровкам. В апреле рыба собирается в нерестовые стаи, а поскольку стоит теплая погода, то для удильщиков наступают самые благодатные дни.

Что касается профессионального инструмента рыбака – удочки, то местные рыболовы, не мудрствуя лукаво, вырезают их прямо из березовых веток, наматывая леску через пропил в комле на укороченные сучки и пропуская ее через кивок.

Традиционной прикормкой на байкальской рыбалке является бормаш - рачок-бокоплав. Сперва рыболов сверлит 5-6 лунок, каждую из которых обильно «заправляет» горстью бормаша, который потихоньку опускается на дно. Если вы хотите серьезной добычи, то бормаша потребуется много, потому что одной горсти хватает примерно на полчаса. На живого, активного бормаша собираются окунь и щука, на мертвого - сорога и подъязок.

Немаловажным на Байкале будет позаботиться о месте, где вы решили устроить рыбалку. Байкальская погода может быть весьма непредсказуемой: еще пять минут назад было совершенно безветренно, и вот вы уже бегаете по льду, собирая свою наживку и пытаясь поймать шапку. Байкальские ветра приходят неожиданно и могут быть очень суровыми. Также помните, что при отрицательных температурах даже слабый ветер многократно увеличивает силу мороза. Поэтому позаботьтесь о своей экипировке и не пренебрегайте термобельем.

Фото
Невероятно, но второе природное явление зимнего Байкала, которое доставляет множество трудностей рыбакам – яркое солнце. Сибирское зимнее солнце это нечто особенное и не сравнивайте его с редкими лучами, которые могли видеть зимой где-нибудь в Подмосковье. 
 

Уже в феврале после дня, проведенного на льду, лицо приобретает пунцово-красный оттенок, а в апреле можно запросто получить солнечный ожог 2-й степени, поэтому перед выходом на лед стоит воспользоваться кремом с солнцезащитным фактором, иметь на головном уборе козырек и рыбачить спиной к солнцу.

Зимняя рыбалка на Байкале несомненно занятие не из простых, но совершенно точно такую рыбалку будет трудно забыть и еще труднее будет устоять и вновь не попытать счастье на широких байкальских просторах. 

РАССКАЗАТЬ ДРУЗЬЯМ
Читайте также
pic

Байкал интересен со всех ракурсов, но особенные ощущения возникают, когда ты словно становишься его частью, оказываешься посреди вод. «Первый Байкальский» расскажет о самых главных водных маршрутах Священного моря.

pic

Наши читатели Павел и Алина Якушевы уже не первый год участвуют в ледовых переходах по льду Байкала. В этом году Павел поделился с нами рассказом и фотографиями о том, как прошла «Встреча с Байкалом – 2018» и как опоздание на электричку позволило открыть для себя КБЖД.

pic

На Байкал едут туристы и фотографы со всего мира. Что же все-таки фотографировать зимой на Байкале и, главное, как?

pic

По данным статистики, два последних года на Байкал приезжало по миллиону туристов. Отдых на Ольхоне становится не только популярнее, но и стремительно расширяет географию - сюда едут буквально со всего мира. Мы задумались - а когда на острове впервые появились туристы? Кто они были? Почему Ольхон стал так популярен?