pic
pic
© Photo: Key to Baikal
June, 24

What Is the Most Unusual Waterfall of Baikal Famous For?

Heads up, ecotourists! We have found the perfect (and unique) place for you to visit on the lake! The waterfall on the Bezymyannaya River is a unique natural monument of Baikal, and the bay where it is situated is a textbook example of the consequences of glacial action on the Baikal Range.

Ecotourism, among all other things, is also a chance to see the unique natural riches of the Father Baikal and its coastal areas. These include the waterfall on the Bezymyannaya River: the waterfall was recognized a natural monument of regional significance in December 2018 for the sake of preserving, exploring and maintaining this irreplaceable geological, geomorphological and hydrological natural complex in an unchanged condition.

How a Waterfall Is Formed

A waterfall is a miracle that can impress everyone. It is no coincidence that these amazing natural phenomena appeared in the Baikal region, because they are the results of an earthquake, a soil shear, volcanic activity, etc.

In general, a waterfall is a flow of water falling from a steep ledge that crosses a river bed. It is formed in those places where rocks are especially strong or tectonic rises and descents exist. At the same time, unlike a rapid, a waterfall should have a height exceeding one meter.

There are various types of waterfalls, but the one located on the Bezymyannaya River is a so-called cascade waterfall. The word “cascade” is derived from the Italian “la cascata, una cascata”, which is actually translated as “a waterfall”. There is also the French version: “une cascade” that is, “to rapidly fall down”.

The cascade type of waterfalls means “leaps” of the water jet from one surface to another, in our case - on the ledges of solid rocks.

Where Does the Waterfall Live?

The natural monument is located in Olkhonsky district of Irkutsk Oblast, on the Bezymyannaya River, between the capes of Zavorotny and Yuzhnu Kedrovy, near the Zasechnaya Bay. This is the south-western side of the topmost belt of the Baikal Range (altitude of about 1,200-1,500 meters), 3 km away from the coast of Baikal.

By the way, these capes themselves are excellent for ecological tourism; moreover an extremely interesting Zavorotnaya Bay is located there. As Fedor Drizhenko wrote in his essays, “the Zavorotny Cape is formed by a wide disintegration of two significant highlands... The coastal strip nearest to the lake is lowland and consists of deposits of mountain streams, coarse sand and flat stones. The gentle slopes are covered with mixed forests almost to the coast. The Severny Kedrovy, Sredny Kedrovy and Yuzhny Kedrovy Capes are essentially rocky coastal cusps named after the cedar forest growing on their internal slopes (in Buryat they are called “khashte”, which means “cedar”)”.

The Zavorotnaya Bay is actually of artificial origin; it emerged due to the confluence of the coastal lake with Baikal: after the construction of the Irkutsk hydropower plant, the water level rose here. The bay itself and the waters of Baikal are separated by a 800-meter narrow stone spit, and the bottom of the Zavorotnaya Bay was deepened to 6 meters for the convenience of ships entering the bay. The bay is considered an excellent hiding place from free Baikal winds and violent storms. The Zavorotnaya Bay is a marvelous spot of Baikal nature, sheltered from the weather, perfectly suitable for navigation, rich in fish, game, wild plants. Ultimately, all this “wealth” is accompanied by the almost complete absence of people!

It is rather difficult to reach Zavorotnaya Bay: by water (in summer) or by car (on the winter ice), or by helicopter.

The Zasechnaya Bay is known for the fact that on June 26, 1880, I.D. Chersky made a mark (notch) at one-meter height above the level of Baikal: it is considered to be a real monument of the history of science.

It Is the Only One of Its Kind on Baikal

Фото

Our cascade waterfall reaches the 350-meter mark and produces a huge impression thanks to its three steps, each of them up to 30 meters high. It is an example of a rare combination of small waterfalls with rapid flows. This is the only big waterfall of this kind on Lake Baikal: it is perfectly visible from the water area of the lake at a distance of several kilometers.

Those who have been lucky to see this natural miracle first-hand do not hide their emotions: “We were amazed and delighted to see the goal of our trip - the cascade, from a distance it seemed to consist of two splendid waterfalls. <...> As though enchanted, we looked at a colorful picture of a trough valley deeply protruding to the Baikal Range (a valley in a glacial area with a U-shaped transverse profile, a wide bottom and steep concave sides). It seemed that nature have taken care about the way of presenting the most valuable things: everyone standing below could not help staring at the silver ribbon of a waterfall from any point of the valley. The upper waterfall located nearby disappeared behind the bend of the relief; only when we approached it through rather tricky rockslides, we saw that both of them were connected by a deep canyon where we could not even see the river”.

The valley of the Bezymyannaya River is considered e a textbook example of the effects of glacial action on the Baikal Range: the rocks made up of bedrock coming to the surface, smoothed and polished by the movement of the glacier; clusters of coarsely fragmented material that was formed after the rocks were chopped off by the glacier and carried downwards, and apparently, the glacial lakes at the top. Nevertheless, we can observe the diversity of flora there: thickets of dwarf pines, dwarf birches, willows, larches, fir trees, subalpine meadows...

That is why the protected area includes not only the waterfall itself, but an entire area of ​​about 7.9 hectares.

The official documents define the value of this regional natural monument in the following way: “The waterfall possesses significant recreational value and strong aesthetic potential”.

Tell friends
Related articles
pic

Few people know that Baikal not only enriches your spirit but also makes people more resistant to diseases. On the Immunity Day traditionally celebrated on March 1, “Key to Baikal” tells you how to visit Lake Baikal and forget about diseases forever!

pic

The Baikal trees are the guards of the most amazing lake on the planet. Forests play a crucial role in the ecosystem. And it is our common duty to preserve this valuable natural heritage.

pic

Baikal and its unique ecosystem annually attract scientists and researchers to these places. People come there to familiarize themselves this place and find new solutions that will help to save it. Expeditions to Lake Baikal have become an important part of the Lake’s life. We’ll tell you about the most interesting of them.

pic

The season of “quiet hunt” is in full swing now: forests will make mushroom pickers happy with their treasures from early August until late autumn Siberian.

pic
pic
© Фото: Первый Байкальский
24 июня #экотуризм

Чем знаменит самый необычный водопад Байкала

Внимание, экотуристы! Мы нашли для вас идеальное (и уникальное) место для посещения на озере! Водопад на реке Безымянной является уникальным памятником природы Байкала, а бухта, в которой он расположен, — хрестоматийный пример последствий ледниковой деятельности на Байкальском хребте.

Экологический туризм – это и шанс увидеть неповторимые природные объекты, которыми так богат батюшка-Байкал, и его прибрежные зоны. Среди них – и водопад не реке Безымянной, признанный в декабре 2018 года памятником природы регионального значения ради сохранения, изучения и поддержания в неизмененном состоянии этого невосполнимого геолого-геоморфологического и гидрологического природного комплекса.

Как образуется водопад

Водопад – это чудо, которое впечатлит любого. Эти удивительные явления неслучайно появились в Прибайкалье, ведь они – результат землетрясения, сдвига грунта, вулканической деятельности и т.п.

Вообще водопад – это крутое падение воды с уступа, пересекающего речное русло. Он образуется в тех местах, где выходят особенно крепкие породы или существуют тектонические подъемы и опускания. Причем, в отличие от порога, высота падения воды должна быть больше метра.

Известны различные виды водопадов, но тот, что на реке Безымянной, – так называемый каскадный. Само слово «каскад» – от итальянского la cascata, una cascata, что, собственно, и переводится как «водопад». Есть и французский вариант – une cascade, то есть «стремительно падать вниз».

Каскадный тип водопада представляет собой «прыжки» водной струи с одной поверхности на другую, в нашем случае – по уступам твердых горных пород.

Где живет водопад?

Расположен памятник природы в Ольхонском районе Иркутской области, на речке Безымянной, между мысами Заворотный и Южный Кедровый, около губы Засечной. Это юго-западная сторона вершинного пояса Байкальского хребта (высота около 1200 – 1500 метров), в 3 км от берега Байкала.

Кстати, сами эти мысы, а есть там и крайне интересная бухта Заворотная, – прекрасные объекты для экологического туризма. Как писал в своих очерках Федор Дриженко, «заворотный мыс образовался широким распадком двух значительных возвышенностей… Ближайшая к озеру береговая полоса низменна и состоит из выносов горных потоков, из крупного песка и накатника. Пологие скаты покрыты мешаным лесом почти до самого берега. Мысы Кедровый Северный, Средний и Южный – не что иное, как каменистые береговые выступы, получившие свое название от растущего на их внутренних скатах кадровика (по-бурятски они называются «хаштэ», что значит «кедровый»)».

Бухта Заворотная – фактически искусственного происхождения, возникшая из-за слияния прибрежного озера с Байкалом: после строительства Иркутской гидроэлектростанции здесь поднялся уровень воды. Саму бухту и воды Байкала разделяет 800-метровая неширокая каменистая коса, а для удобства захода судов дно Заворотной углубили до 6 метров. Бухта считается прекрасным убежищем от вольных байкальских ветров и сильных штормов. Заворотная – дивный уголок байкальской природы, закрытый от непогоды, прекрасно приспособленный для судоходства, богатый рыбой, дичью, дикоросами. Самое главное, все это «богатство» – при практически полном отсутствии людей!

До Заворотной довольно сложно доехать – или водой (летом), или на машине по зимнему льду, или вертолетом.

Губа Засечная же известна тем, что 26 июня 1880 года И.Д. Черский сделал на высоте одного метра над уровнем Байкала отметку (засечку), которая считается вещественным памятником истории науки.

На Байкале он такой один

Фото

Наш каскадный водопад, в общем достигающий 350-метровой отметки, производит потрясающее впечатление благодаря трем имеющимся ступеням высотой до 30 метров. Он – пример редкого сочетания небольших по высоте водопадов с быстротоками. Это единственный такой крупный водопад на Байкале, прекрасно видимый собственно с акватории озера на расстоянии нескольких километров.

Счастливчики, воочию рассмотревшие это природное чудо, не скрывают эмоций: «С изумлением и восторгом увидели то, зачем шли, – каскад, как показалось издалека, из двух великолепных водопадов. <…> Словно завороженные, рассматривали мы красочную картину глубоко врезанной в Байкальский хребет троговой долины (долина в ледниковой области с U-образным поперечным профилем, широким дном и крутыми вогнутыми бортами). Природа словно специально продумала, как преподнести самое ценное: снизу, с любой точки долины, взгляд устремлялся к серебряной ленточке водопада. Вблизи верхний водопад скрылся за изгибом рельефа, и лишь приблизившись к нему по довольно трудным осыпям, мы увидели, что оба они соединены глубоким каньоном, в котором не удалось даже разглядеть речки».

Долина реки Безымянной считается хрестоматийным примером последствий ледниковой деятельности на Байкальском хребте: скалы, сложенные из выступающих на поверхность коренных пород, сглаженные и отполированные движением ледника, скопления грубообломочного материала, который образовался после скалывания ледником горных пород и транспортировки их вниз,  и, по всей видимости, ледниковыми озерами в верхней части. И, тем не менее, здесь наблюдается и многообразие растительного мира – заросли кедрового стланика, кустарниковые березы, ивы, лиственницы, пихты, субальпийские луга…

Поэтому охраняемая зона – это не только сам водопад, но территория площадью около 7,9 га.

В официальных документах ценность этого регионального памятника природы определена следующим образом: «Водопад имеет значительное рекреационное значение и высокий эстетический потенциал».

РАССКАЗАТЬ ДРУЗЬЯМ
Читайте также
pic

Мало кто знает, что Байкал не только обогащает духовно, но и делает человека менее восприимчивым к болезням.

pic

Байкал и его уникальная экосистема ежегодно привлекают ученых и исследователей. Они приезжают сюда, чтобы узнать этот край и найти новые решения, которые помогут его сохранить. Экспедиции на Байкал стали важной частью жизни озера. Рассказываем о самых интересных из них.

pic

Сезон «тихой охоты» в разгаре: с начала августа и до поздней осени сибирские леса порадуют грибников своими сокровищами.

pic

Рассказываем интереснейшую историю о том, как дореволюционный Иркутск стал центром велосипедного спорта Сибири, а также о возможностях современного уникального «экстрима» байкальских дорог.

×
Хотите знать, где у нерпы санаторий?

Читайте нас в Яндекс Дзен

Хочу!

Больше не показывать