pic
pic
© Photo credit: www.360minutes.ru

Who Will Save Baikal from Waste

The problem of recycling industrial and household waste in our days is becoming more acute due to the fact that the volumes of waste are increasing, while the recycling rate is incomparably slow.

As a result, the entire planet has accumulated billions of tons of solid waste to be recycled and neutralized.

Russia, like the rest of the world, faces the challenge of preserving both the nature as a whole and its individual unique objects.

The ecological situation around Lake Baikal generates a lot of discussion and criticism. The lake is threatened by many problems: in addition to industrial enterprises polluting its waters, and poachers hunting the rare Baikal endemics and illegally cutting down the forest, tourists leave their own mark on Baikal. 

According to various sources, the lake is visited by 500 thousand to a million people each year, and this number is constantly growing.

Tourist sites inevitably become littered with garbage. There is no organization that is directly responsible for keeping the coastal areas clean. And with the increasing flow of tourists, garbage becomes an increasing problem.

However, it is possible to correct the situation through joint efforts of concerned citizens. It became clear when teams of volunteers were formed to clean up the area.

The problem was first discussed by Greenpeace activists. In 2001 and 2002, the organization held international events on Lake Baikal. In just a couple of months, participants collected a total of about 6.5 thousand bags of sorted waste by type of waste, and more than 14 tons of scrap metal. It was also found that most of the tourists and locals leave plastic bottles and utensils behind, which is 35% of the collected waste. 15% - glass bottles, 15% - cellophane, 5% - cans, 5% - paper. Most of the collected waste was sent for recycling. The Baikal events of Greenpeace became a good example for the companies and organizations of Irkutsk. Some travel companies began to collect and remove garbage on their own.

The idea behind ​​the annual Clean Coast project is reduction and prevention of pollution, conservation of ecosystems of coastal areas of the lake, and encouragement of responsible attitude to the environment. In 2014, about 340 cubic meters (4000 bags) of garbage were collected and transported to a solid waste landfill just over two weeks.

Фото

“360 Minutes" is the biggest all-Russian ecological marathon. Each year, volunteers collect garbage and clean up the protected areas for 6 hours with the purpose of conserving natural scenic places. Over the five years of ecological marathon, volunteers collected more than 3 thousand tons of garbage. After the event, the waste is disposed of and partially recycled. In 2016, new types of work for volunteers were added. For example, activists used a tractor and a truck with a crane to remove heavy metal and concrete structures near the visitor center of the Baikal Nature Reserve.

Unfortunately, in today's Russia, industries involved in the disposal and recycling of solid waste are given far less attention than in Soviet times. There are 50 waste sorting facilities, 10 waste incineration and 243 waste recycling plants in the territory of the country. This is clearly not enough to be able to cope with grand volume of solid waste generated in the country.

The root of the problem of recycling waste in Russia is not the constant increase in the volume of solid waste, but rather the inability to properly dispose of it. 

Data from Russian Technologies shows that at least 40% of all accumulated waste in Russia is a valuable raw material for recycling. However, only about 7-8% of household waste is recycled, while the rest is simply transported to landfills.

Today, investment in waste processing is a very promising type of business, as demand for secondary raw materials obtained through recycling is quite high. The infrastructure is underdeveloped, therefore each new waste processing plant in Russia will have a good return on the investment.

The Irkutsk region with its rich natural resources that include the deepest and cleanest lake in the world has a distinct need for new facilities that handle solid waste. There is a bit of progress in the area already - a waste recycling plant will be built in the Baikal region, and the construction will be handled by Rostec. There is also a project for a waste recycling facility in Angarsk Technopark.

Tell friends
Related articles
pic

The summer period of the fifth year of work of the “Baikal Expedition” public scientific project is coming to an end. Thanks to this social movement, as well as the union of social activists and scientists, it was possible to make harmful spirogyra alga well-known around the world.

pic

Poaching, wastewater, unorganized tourism, the lack of information and resources on finding interesting projects that can involve any resident of the region or a visitor of the Great Lake. “Friends of Baikal” Association has been created to solve these problems. Our infographics will tell you about the main projects of the association, as well as about the way one can become its participant.

pic

The author of “Key to Baikal” has written about the way how Baikal became the favorite summer ground of scouts in Russia and about how to protect the lake, as well as about the territories that were primarily conceived as the scouts’ ground already 100 years ago.

pic

The uniqueness of Baikal cannot but excite interest of researchers from different regions of Russia and countries around the world. Our lake is a fragile ecosystem; preserving and studying it means saving 20% of all fresh water resources of the planet and the unique species diversity of living organisms. So, the attention paid to Baikal by such well-known and respected institutions as Lomonosov Moscow State University that has always been closely associated with Lake Baikal, is quite understandable.

pic
pic
© Фото: www.360minutes.ru
15 декабря

Кто спасает Байкал от мусора

Проблема утилизации промышленных и бытовых отходов в наши дни приобретает все более острый характер из-за того, что объемы мусора постоянно растут, в то время как темпы его переработки несопоставимо малы. Как результат: по всей планете накоплены миллиарды тонн различных твердых отходов, которые необходимо переработать и обезвредить.

Перед Россией, как и перед всем миром, сегодня стоит задача сохранения как природы в целом, так и ее отдельных уникальных объектов.

Экологическая ситуация вокруг озера Байкал вызывает много дискуссий и критики. Озеру угрожает немало проблем: кроме промышленных предприятий, загрязняющих его акваторию, и браконьеров, которые охотятся на редких байкальских эндемиков и незаконно вырубают леса, свой след на Байкале оставляют туристы.

По разным данным каждый год озеро посещает от 500 тысяч до миллиона человек, и эта цифра постоянно растет.

На местах туристских стоянок неизбежно остается мусор. Организации, которая напрямую отвечала бы за чистоту прибрежных территорий, нет. А с увеличением потока туристов в разы больше становится и мусора.

Однако ситуацию вполне возможно исправить общими усилиями неравнодушных граждан. Это стало понятно, когда появились общественные движения волонтеров, восстанавливающих чистоту Байкала.

Впервые о масштабах проблемы заговорили активисты Гринписа. В 2001 и 2002 годах организация проводила международные мероприятия на Байкале. Участники всего за пару месяцев собрали в общей сложности около 6, 5 тысяч мешков рассортированного по видам отходов мусора, более 14 тонн металлолома. Выяснилось также, что чаще всего туристы или местные жители оставляют на побережье пластиковые бутылки и посуду, что составляет 35% от всего собранного мусора. 15% — стеклянные бутылки, 15% — целлофан, 5% — металлические банки, 5% — бумага. Большая часть собранных отходов была отправлена на переработку. Байкальские акции Гринписа стали хорошим примером для местных иркутских компаний и организаций. Некоторые туристические фирмы своими силами стали собирать и вывозить мусор.

Основная идея ежегодного проекта «Чистые Берега» —снижение и профилактика загрязнений, сохранение экосистем прибрежных территорий озера, формирование у местных жителей и туристов ответственного отношения к окружающей среде. В 2014 году за две недели было собрано и вывезено на полигон твердых бытовых отходов почти 340 кубометров (4 тысячи мешков) мусора.

Фото

«360 минут» — самый масштабный всероссийский экомарафон. Каждый год волонтёры акции шесть часов занимаются уборкой мусора и благоустройством заповедных территорий для сохранения живописных природных мест. За пять лет добровольцы экомарафона собрали более 3 тысяч тонн мусора. После акции он утилизирован и частично переработан. В 2016 году увеличилось число видов работ, которыми занимались волонтёры. Например, неподалёку от визит-центра Байкальского заповедника с помощью трактора и грузовика с краном активисты убрали тяжеловесные металлические и бетонные конструкции.

К сожалению, в современной России отраслям промышленности, которые занимаются утилизацией и переработкой твердых отходов, уделяется гораздо меньше внимания, чем в советское время. На территории страны сегодня работают 50 мусоросортировочных комплексов, 10 мусоросжигательных и 243 мусороперерабатывающих завода. Этого явно мало для того, чтобы суметь справиться с грандиозными объемами ТБО, образующимися в стране.

Корень проблемы утилизации мусора в России заключается не в постоянном увеличении объемов твердых бытовых отходов, а скорее, в неумении ими грамотно распорядиться.

Данные компании «Ростехнологии» свидетельствуют: не менее 40 % от всего накопившегося в России мусора представляет собой ценное сырье для вторичного использования. Однако в переработку поступает всего лишь около 7—8 % бытовых отходов, а остальное просто вывозится на полигоны.

Сегодня инвестиции в мусоропереработку весьма перспективный вид бизнеса, поскольку спрос спроса на вторичное сырье, получаемое на мусороперерабатывающих заводах, достаточно высок. Направление слабо развито, следовательно, каждое новое мусороперерабатывающее предприятие в России будет иметь хорошую окупаемость: примерно от двух до пяти лет.

Иркутской области, как региону богатому природными ресурсами, главный из которых – самое глубокое и чистое в мире озеро, - особенно необходимы новые предприятия, работающие с ТБО. Небольшие подвижки в данной сфере уже есть. В Прибайкалье планируется построить мусороперерабатывающий завод, строительством займется  корпорация «Ростех». Также готов проект организации вторичной переработки мусора в Ангарском технопарке.

РАССКАЗАТЬ ДРУЗЬЯМ
Читайте также
pic

Автор «Первого Байкальского» написала о том, как Байкал стал любимым скаутским летним полигоном России и почему о защите озера и его территории стали задумываться ещё 100 лет назад.

pic

Неповторимость Байкала не может не вызывать интерес у исследователей из разных регионов России и стран мира. Наше Озеро – такая хрупкая экосистема, сбережение и изучение которой означает спасение 20 % запасов пресной воды планеты и уникального видового разнообразия живых организмов. Поэтому вполне объяснимо внимание к Байкалу со стороны известнейших и уважаемых учреждений, таких, например, как Московский государственный университет им. М.В. Ломоносова, который всегда был тесно связан с Байкалом.

pic

Первый сезон «Байкальского проекта» стартовал в 2002 году. Сегодня его приоритетом стало строительство мостов и экологических троп на заповедных землях Байкала. За это время участники построили уже свыше десятка мостов, которые не раз спасали человеческие жизни.