pic
pic
© Photo credit: www.360minutes.ru
December, 15, 2016

360 minutes for Baikal

The Baikal Lake is one of the leading eco-tourism centers in our country. According to various sources each year from 500 thousand to 1 million tourists visit the lake. It means that its shores are inevitably littered, sometimes unacceptably much for a world-famous nature preserve. However there is no organization, which would be directly responsible for the cleanliness of coastal areas. What to do with the garbage?

Several years ago, a group of «En + Group» companies took the initiative into their hands. These enterprises, whose main industrial production comes from Eastern Siberia, have organized and sponsored a volunteer project, "360 minutes for Baikal". At the beginning, the project gathered dozens of people and in subsequent years there were hundreds and thousands of caring people coming from different regions in Russia. These people have decided to restore the purity of the lake shores through their shared efforts.

It all started in 2011. A hundred volunteers from the «En+ Group» staff cleared dumps at Cape Ulirba, which is located in the southern part of the Small Sea. In the six hours allotted for the action almost 500 bags of garbage were collected and taken to the landfill in Elantsy. 

So a new tradition was created: in early September, when the tourist season ends, volunteers gather together, and for six hours they clean up garbage on the shores of Lake Baikal.

Every year, this event unites more and more participants. People come not only from different parts of Russia, but also from other countries. Over five years, the "360 minutes for Baikal" has turned from a one-day effort, into an ecological marathon of events, which run throughout the summer. These events include scientific and instructional lectures, excursions, competitions and a lot of informative and educational programs.
The 2015 Jubilee Marathon was attended by more than five thousand volunteers. Among them were personnel from "EvroSibEnergo", volunteers of the educational project "Heart of the Baikal-2015", and villagers and the tourists from the shore of the lake. They were invited to participate in the action and were provided with supplies.

Фотография

In the 53 points of the coastal zone, activists gathered around ten thousand bags of garbage, installed signs urging people not to litter and paved new ecotrails. The organizers updated a specially created online map of the coast marking contamination during the summer. Dirty places on it gradually changed color: black dots turned into green as the territory was cleaned up. In the same year, "360 minutes for Baikal" was awarded with the national prize in the field of ecology "ERAECO", a diploma of the National Program "Best Social Projects of Russia" and the prize "Silver Archer - Siberia" in the category "Social Communications".

The project showed even more impressive results in this year (2016). 12 thousand people responded to the call to participate in a collective cleaning. The action was supported by famous people like the governor of the Irkutsk region, Sergey Levchenko, scientist-zoologist, Nikolai Drozdov, TV presenter Alexander Pushnoy, singer Glukoza and others.  

Фото
But it is more important that on the eve of the 100th anniversary of the conservation system in Russia, actions were not limited by the shores of the lake, but were also supplemented with the territories of "Pillars" in Krasnoyarsk and the Baikal biosphere, in Khakas and Sikhote-Alin parks.
 

"360 minutes" became the biggest all-Russian ecological marathon: the actions took place at 126 points of the five regions in the country. The total quantity of collected bags of garbage was 27 000, with the volume of one bag being hundred liters, which is equal, in total, to 114 "KAMAZ" trucks. Robots made their own contribution to the cleaning as well, they were specifically designed by young designers from Irkutsk - participants of the "Robotics: Engineering and technical personnel of innovative Russia" program. Tourist facilities and kilometers of nature trails have been restored in the preserves, dozens of square meters of rock inscriptions were erased, tons of construction waste were exported out of the protected area and hundreds of trees were planted. In addition, an expedition was organized in June, where the volunteers removed two kilometers of fishing nets and improvised traps, thrown by poachers into the lake.

The action began by "En + Group" is an invaluable help to the Baikal region. Thousands of volunteers every year clean the shore of Lake Baikal removing the garbage and keeping the lake in a decent condition. From a small local event, an act of goodwill gradually acquired the status of a large-scale Russian ecological marathon. By participating in it, people elevated nature areas in different parts of the country and showed an example of respect for the environment. Organizers of "360 minutes" are not satisfied with what has already been achieved: the project is going to go on federal level next year, and after January 9, 2017 events in ten protected areas of the country will be held.

Tell friends
Related articles
pic

The uniqueness of Baikal cannot but excite interest of researchers from different regions of Russia and countries around the world. Our lake is a fragile ecosystem; preserving and studying it means saving 20% of all fresh water resources of the planet and the unique species diversity of living organisms. So, the attention paid to Baikal by such well-known and respected institutions as Lomonosov Moscow State University that has always been closely associated with Lake Baikal, is quite understandable.

pic

The first season of the “Baikal Project” was launched in 2002. Today its priority is the construction of bridges and ecological trails on the reserved territories of Lake Baikal. During this time the participants have already built more than a dozen bridges which have saved many human lives.

pic

In April Irkutsk hosted the first open meeting of the “Friends of Baikal” Association which will unite everyone who is not indifferent to the problems of Lake Baikal.

pic

Many environmental volunteer activities are held at Baikal annually. There will be even more such programs in this season, because the year 2017 has been declared the Year of Ecology in Russia.

pic
pic
© Фото: www.360minutes.ru
15 декабря

360 минут ради Байкала

Байкал – один из ведущих центров экотуризма в нашей стране. По разным данным каждый год озеро посещают от 500 тысяч до миллиона туристов. Это означает, что его берега неизбежно бывают замусорены, местами недопустимо сильно для всемирно известных природных мест. При этом организации, которая напрямую отвечала бы за чистоту прибрежных территорий, нет. Что же делать с мусором?

Несколько лет назад инициативу в свою руки взяла группа компаний «En+ Group». Предприятия, чьи основные индустриальные производства расположены в Восточной Сибири, организовали и спонсировали волонтерский проект «360 минут ради Байкала», который собрал в начале десятки, а в последующие годы – сотни и тысячи неравнодушных людей из разных регионов России. Общими силами они решили восстановить чистоту побережий Байкала.

Все началось в 2011 году. Сотня добровольцев из числа сотрудников «En+ Group» очистила стихийную свалку на мысе Улирба, что находится в южной части Малого моря. За шесть часов, отведенных на акцию, было собрано почти 500 мешков с мусором, которые вывезли на полигон бытовых отходов в Еланцах. 

Так появилась традиция: в начале сентября, когда кончается туристический сезон, собираться и в течение шести часов убирать мусор на берегах озера Байкал.

С каждым годом к мероприятию присоединялось все больше участников. Люди приезжали не только с разных уголков России, но и из других стран. Из акции одного дня за пять лет «360 минут ради Байкала» превратилась в экомарафон мероприятий, которые идут всё лето: научно- просветительские лекции, экскурсии, конкурсы и множество информационно-образовательных программ.
В юбилейном марафоне 2015 года участвовали уже более пяти тысяч волонтеров. Среди них были сотрудники «ЕвроСибЭнерго», волонтёры из образовательного проекта «Сердце Байкала-2015», жители посёлков и отдыхающие на берегу туристы, которым предлагали участвовать в акции и выдавали инвентарь. 
Фотография

В 53-х точках прибрежной зоны активисты собрали около десяти тысяч мешков с мусором, установили таблички с призывом не мусорить и проложили новые экотропы. Всё лето организаторы обновляли специально созданную онлайн-карту загрязнения побережья. Загрязнённые места на ней постепенно меняли цвет: по мере проведения уборок чёрные точки превращались в зелёные. В том же году «360 минут ради Байкала» были награждены Ежегодной Национальной премией в области экологии «ERAECO», дипломом Национальной программы «Лучшие социальные проекты России» и премией «Серебряный лучник- Сибирь» в номинации «Социальные коммуникации».

Проект показал еще более впечатляющие результаты в нынешнем 2016 году. На призыв поучаствовать в коллективной уборке откликнулись 12 тысяч человек. Акцию поддержали такие известные люди как губернатор Иркутской области Сергей Левченко, учёный-зоолог Николай Дроздов, телеведущий Александр Пушной, певица Глюкоза и другие. 

Фото
Но, что важнее, в преддверии 100-летия заповедной системы России места проведения акций не ограничились берегами Байкала, а дополнились территориями «Столбов» в Красноярске, а также Байкальского биосферного, Хакасского, Сихотэ-Алинского заповедников.
 

«360 минут» стали самым масштабным всероссийским экомарафоном: акции проходили в 126 точках пяти регионов страны. Всего за один день было собрано 27 тысяч мешков с мусором объемом сто литров каждый, что равно 114 «КамАЗам». Свой вклад в уборку сделали и роботы, которых специально собрали юные конструкторы из Иркутска – участники программы «Робототехника: инженерно-технические кадры инновационной России». В заповедниках были восстановлены объекты туристической инфраструктуры, километры экологических троп, счищены десятки квадратных метров наскальных надписей, вывезены тонны строительного мусора и высажены сотни деревьев. Кроме этого, в июне была организована экспедиция, в результате которой волонтеры извлекли из вод Байкала два километра сетей и самоловов, брошенных браконьерами.

Дело, начатое «En+ Group», - это неоценимая помощь всему Прибайкалью. Тысячи добровольцев каждый год очищают берега Байкала от мусора, сохраняя великое озеро в надлежащем виде. Из небольшого локального акта доброй воли мероприятие постепенно приобрело статус самого масштабного экомарафона России. Участвуя в нем, люди облагораживают природные места в разных уголках страны и показывают пример бережного отношения к окружающей среде. Организаторы «360 минут» не собираются останавливаться на достигнутом: в следующем году проект становиться федеральным, а уже с 9 января 2017 года пройдут акции на десяти заповедных территориях страны.

РАССКАЗАТЬ ДРУЗЬЯМ
Читайте также
pic

Автор «Первого Байкальского» написала о том, как Байкал стал любимым скаутским летним полигоном России и почему о защите озера и его территории стали задумываться ещё 100 лет назад.

pic

Неповторимость Байкала не может не вызывать интерес у исследователей из разных регионов России и стран мира. Наше Озеро – такая хрупкая экосистема, сбережение и изучение которой означает спасение 20 % запасов пресной воды планеты и уникального видового разнообразия живых организмов. Поэтому вполне объяснимо внимание к Байкалу со стороны известнейших и уважаемых учреждений, таких, например, как Московский государственный университет им. М.В. Ломоносова, который всегда был тесно связан с Байкалом.

pic

Первый сезон «Байкальского проекта» стартовал в 2002 году. Сегодня его приоритетом стало строительство мостов и экологических троп на заповедных землях Байкала. За это время участники построили уже свыше десятка мостов, которые не раз спасали человеческие жизни.