Baikal Ecosystem: from a Disaster to the Rescue

Baikal Ecosystem: from a Disaster to the Rescue

© Фото: www.depositphotos.com
This figure is well-known: Baikal’s age is about 25 million years. It is very difficult to conceive such a large amount of time. According to various sources, it is one thousand times longer than the period of time the man has lived on the Earth. So even by then Baikal had existed for millions of years! At the same time its global resources are virtually inexhaustible.

Let us take a famous example: if we assume that no rivers any longer run into the Lake which, by the way, remains the only source of fresh water on the planet, the amount of water in Lake Baikal will be enough for approximately 6 thousand years if we take one and a half liters of water per day per person! This fact is rather impressive.

The discussion of the way the ecosystem of the Lake was changing is possible only basing on the researches reconstructing the past of the great Lake. You should as well take into account anthropogenic changes with their peak falling to the last century, alongside with the progress development.

  • In order to understand this issue, let us look at several more indicative figures.
     

Angara takes about 60 cubic kilometers of water out of the Lake per year. The same amount of water flows into the lake through tributaries. At that, half of them (approximately 30 cubic kilometers of water) are brought by Selenga.

Complete substitution of the lake waters by those of its tributaries takes approximately 400 years. During ten years the water from the surface penetrates to a depth of about 300 metres. This means that, in a sense, you can talk about relative sustainability of the ecosystem on a scale of life length of several generations of people.

Фото

The researches of the dated sediments of Lake Baikal showed that the condition of the Lake’s ecosystem had changed significantly 10-15 thousand years ago, after global warming at the end of the Pleistocene. Scientists have already found out that there had been no diatoms in Baikal approximately 18 thousand years ago, when the Earth was experiencing the maximum global glaciation. These are single-celled and colonial algae cells having a “shell” consisting of silicon dioxide. Namely diatoms are one of the most remarkable signs and sensitive indicators of natural waters quality. 

They move and evolve all the time: some species disappear, others appear. Especially active changes occur when water gets overacidified, due to the man’s actions. For example, upon infulx of excess fertilizers from catchment areas: the more active agriculture development is, the faster diatoms differentiate. A thorough analysis of the diatoms from the dated sediments of Lake Baikal has shown that the qualitative composition of diatoms remained absolutely unchanged and that the ratio of different species counts barely changed in Lake Baikal during the industrial revolution, in the period from the beginning to the end of the 20th century, during the time of rapid economic development of Siberia.

  • Why does this happen? Because the man intervenes into the Lake’s ecosystem even more actively.

Lake Baikal is not simply a reservoir of pure water, but a real natural factory with real recycling and conversion of all foreign matters entering the Lake. At the same time recent researches prove: some specific substances in huge amounts enter Baikal all the time. For example, methane which is formed from buried organic matter in the Baikal Lake’s sediments. Solid compounds of methane with water - methane hydrates - are found in significant amounts on the vast areas of the bottom. The supplies of methane at the Lake’s bottom are comparable with the reserves of Kovykta gas field. In some fractures warmed deep water enters hydrate layers, that’s why the hydrates are destroyed, therefore a lot of methane bubble “torches” rush from the bottom to the surface. Sometimes their height reaches several hundred meters. Geophysicists found many methane “torches” of this kind in Baikal.

Besides, remarkable natural oil shows were found in Lake Baikal - small spots of oil constantly float up to the surface in several sites of the water area and form iridescent films. In summer of 2005 such an oil show was found not far from the Barguzinsky bay. According to preliminary estimates, the amount of Baikal oil makes up about 4 tons per year. But it quickly gets destroyed by water microorganisms, and the water of Baikal stays pure already at a short distance from an oil show.

A large amount of foreign matters of Baikal are not related to the man and enter the Lake from the Selenga River. The researchers discovered: these substances are intensively processed in the so-called “barrier zones” – on the narrow stretches of the water area emerging in the places where the river’s and the lake’s waters mix under the influence of physical and biological factors which include a rapid change in the velocity of currents, temperature and phytoplankton growth, alongside with the work of microorganisms and deposition of suspended solid matter.

In a word, limnologists claim: the condition of the waters of Lake Baikal is not equilibrium, but stationary. 

The influx of foreign matters and their processing by the ecosystem of Lake Baikal are well balanced. Thanks to this, the concentration of main solid matters dissolved in the Lake is virtually constant at all depths and remains the same in the Northern, Middle and Southern basins of Lake Baikal.

This means that the Lake is self-regulated, which makes it possible to be optimistic about its future. However, human influence has still had its effect – far from beneficial - on Lake Baikal over last century.

Recent studies have shown: rivers running into the Lake in the vicinity of Listvyanka and Severobaikalsk contain coliform bacterium, its concentration is in some cases 120 times higher than the permissible level. The man is also guilty that nitrogen and phosphorus come into the water with the waste, these agents make up a nutritious environment for the sinister spirogyra – it is the name of an ordinary seaweed which has been heard of by everyone who is not indifferent to the preservation of the ecological environment of the “glorious sea”. Tons of spirogyra rot on Baikal beaches, alongside with this, the unique Baikal sponge dies, which gives some Baikal researchers a reason to talk about the Lake being on the verge of an environmental disaster.

In summer of 2010 limnologists first noticed the picture which is abnormal for Baikal: the abundance of filamentous algae that have been rare until very recently. And only a year later this atypical vegetation blossomed in the bays along the coastline displacing the endemic Baikal sponge. More than a dozen research expeditions have been held since that time, basing on them, limnologists have come to disappointing conclusions: spirogyra reproduces at an exponential rate and today it vegetates almost along the entire coastline.

In addition, spirogyra is now gradually moving to greater depths, where it creates a biomass comparable to that of macrophytes which are innate for Baikal. Due to such rapid growth of algae, for example, the spawning of the Baikal sculpins was threatened: the fish were simply unable to get to their nesting sites during the spawning period.

Фото

In addition, spirogyra is now gradually moving to greater depths, where it creates a biomass comparable to that of macrophytes which are innate for Baikal. Due to such rapid growth of algae, for example, the spawning of the Baikal sculpins was threatened: the fish were simply unable to get to their nesting sites during the spawning period.
The death of the Baikal sponge which is one of the most famous endemics of the Lake has acquired the scale of a disaster. These are Baikal centenarians (the age of many sponges amounts to 150-200 years). Because of the above-mentioned changes, the sponges become sick, deform and gradually die. Today Lake Baikal already has places where no Baikal sponges live. 

Scientists have already discovered seven varieties of sponges’ diseases. And yet the reason that provoked the epidemic still has not been found.

In an attempt to find the answers to such difficult questions, scientists occasionally discovered other man-induced problems of the Lake. Thus, in 2010 toxic species of cyanobacteria were first registered in the area of Maloe More (“Small Sea”) and in the Barguzinsky bay. In 2015 scientists took samples directly from the sick sponge which can be met in bays. Molecular-genetic analysis showed that the samples contained saxitoxin belonging to the group of toxins with a paralytic effect. A high dose of the substance can paralyze respiratory muscles. The problem of concentration of saxitoxin in the Baikal water has not been solved for today. The researches are not yet finished. But the main answer is already evident: the man is one of the causes of the Lake’s environmental problems.

Spirogyra is abundant at the location of household sewage near Severobaikalsk. At the same time literally two steps above the place of sewage the section of the Baikal coast is absolutely divine and pure. By the way, the analysis of the composition of urban sewage of Severobaikalsk showed that up to 6 tonnes of mineral nitrogen had entered the Lake during four years; as it is known, the substance is the main nutrient of the above-mentioned spirogyra.

An increased concentration of phosphorus and nitrogen compounds was found in the water on the Southern shore of the Lake, in Listvyanka... It turns out that the man encircled Baikal, actively destroying ecological balance of the Lake both from the North and from the South. What can we say about the numerous tourists who make their contribution to the ecological imbalance?

It may seem: what harm can a tourist do to the Lake which is 25 million years old?

A separate tourist cannot do this. But in the summer season of 2014 more than 800 thousand tourists were registered at the ferry line leading to the island of Olkhon. It is only one summer, and we take only registered tourists.

This comes despite the fact that the main production (namely pulping) on the Baikal pulp and paper factory has been terminated since the autumn of 2013; this factory was considered the main polluter of the Baikal waters for nearly half a century.

There is a popular opinion: Baikal will see all us out. You cannot argue with this. But the dying Baikal sponge, stinking Spirogyra, the coastline – when you see all that, it is hard to believe that this Lake can be regarded as the purest one in the world. And the main thing is not to be considered pure, but to be actually clean.
Otherwise all these rousing flashy familiar figures of pride for Baykal are to be left to descendants as statistical samples of the past, not the present.
Фотография

Of course, the Lake does not care about the man who is so small on the scale of eternity passing on the shores of the Lake, almost unnoticeable. But the man should care about the Lake. We are a part of the Earth’s ecosystem ourselves. And as far as we live in the era of Lake Baikal and near it, we are responsible for it. The way it is responsible for us. This is symbiosis, a mutually beneficial co-existence of different elements of a single system.

And in this sense people and Lake Baikal have equal rights.

Tell friends
Related articles
pic

The struggle for the preservation the population of the Baikal omul continues with varying success and unclear results. “Key to Baikal” found it out whether a fundamental decision has been made on this issue and whether it is really worthwhile to introduce restrictions on catching the most popular Baikal fish.

pic

“The spring has passed, the summer has come; forests are burning somewhere again”. This simple Russian childish poem precisely describes the situation with forest fires that occurs in the Baikal region every year. What to expect this year, how the elements are monitored, supervised and controlled, - all this was told to “Key to Baikal” by Mikhail Yablokov, the Director of the “Reserved Baikal” FSBI that united the Baikal-Lena Reserve and the Pribaikalsky National Park.

pic

The 5th of June is the World Environment Day. Various campaigns and events symbolizing the unity of man with nature will be held in each country today. But you should take care of the environment not only on holidays.

pic

“Spirogyra is killing Baikal!”, “An ecological disaster is approaching!”, “Baikal is in deadly danger!” – there are a lot of similar headings on the pages of hundreds of newspapers and websites. If we do not take any measures, the humanity will face a real ecological disaster.

Байкальская экосистема: от катастрофы к спасению

Байкальская экосистема: от катастрофы к спасению

© Фото: www.depositphotos.com
Известная цифра: Байкалу – порядка 25 миллионов лет. Представить себе такую толщу времен очень трудно. По разным данным это в тысячу раз дольше, чем на Земле объявился человек. То есть уже тогда Байкал существовал миллионы лет! При этом его глобальный ресурс практически неисчерпаем.

Известный пример: если предположить, что реки перестали впадать в озеро, которое к тому же осталось единственным источником пресной воды на планете, при расчете полтора литра воды в сутки на одного человека – байкальской воды хватит примерно на 6 тысяч лет! Впечатляет.

Говорить о том, как менялась экосистема озера, можно лишь опираясь на научные исследования, которые реконструируют прошлое великого озера. А также принимая во внимания антропогенные изменения, пик которых, с развитием прогресса пришелся  на последнее столетие.

  • Чтобы разобраться в этом вопросе, еще немного показательных цифр.
     

В год Ангара выносит из озера примерно 60 кубических километров воды. Столько же в воду поступает, через притоки. При этом половина (около 30 кубических километров воды) приносит Селенга.

Полное замещение вод озера водами притоков происходит примерно за 400 лет. За десять лет вода с поверхности проникает на глубину примерно в 300 метров. То есть, в некотором смысле, можно говорить об условном постоянстве экосистемы в масштабе продолжительности жизни нескольких поколений людей.

Фото

Исследования датированных осадков Байкала показали, что состояние экосистемы озера существенно изменилось 10–15 тысяч лет назад, после глобального потепления в конце плейстоцена. Ученые уже установили, что примерно 18 тысяч лет назад, когда на Землю пришелся максимум глобального оледенения, на Байкале не было диатомовых водорослей. Это одноклеточные и колониальные водоросли, у клеток которых есть своеобразный «панцирь», состоящий из диоксида кремния. Именно диатомеи – один из самых ярких показателей и чувствительных индикаторов качества природных вод. 

Они все время в движении и развитии: одни виды исчезают, другие появляются. Особенно активно изменяются когда вода, «благодаря» человеку, закисляется. Например, при поступлении избытка удобрений из водосбора: чем активнее развивается сельское хозяйство, тем быстрее видоизменяются диатомовые водоросли. Тщательный диатомовый анализ датированных осадков Байкала показал, что во время промышленной революции, в период с начала и до конца ХХ века, когда происходило бурное экономическое развитие Сибири, в Байкале совсем не изменился качественный состав диатомей и практически не изменились соотношения численности разных видов.

  • Почему так происходит? Ведь человек вмешивается в экосистему озера все активнее. 
     

Озеро Байкал - это не просто хранилище чистой воды, а самая настоящая природная фабрика, на которой происходит настоящая переработка и преобразование всех, поступающих в озеро примесей. При том, что исследования последних лет свидетельствуют: некоторые специфичные вещества постоянно поступают в Байкал в огромных количествах. Например, метан, который образуется из захороненного органического вещества в осадках Байкала. Твердые соединения метана с водой – гидраты метана – найдены в значительных количествах на больших участках площади дна. Запас метана на дне озера сопоставим с запасами Ковыктинского газового месторождения. В некоторых разломах в слои гидратов поступает подогретая глубинная вода, из-за этого гидраты разрушаются, и со дна на поверхность устремляются факелы пузырьков метана. Иногда их высота достигает несколько сотен метров. Геофизики обнаружили на Байкале множество таких метановых факелов.

Кроме того, в Байкале обнаружены значительные природные нефтепроявления – на нескольких участках акватории небольшие пятна нефти постоянно всплывают на поверхность и образуют радужные пленки. Летом 2005 года обнаружено такое нефтепроявление недалеко от Баргузинского залива. По предварительным оценкам количество байкальской нефти составляет порядка 4 тонн в год. Но и она быстро разрушается водными микроорганизмами, и вода Байкала уже на небольшом расстоянии от нефтепроявлений остается чистой.

Большое количество чужеродных для Байкала примесей, к которым человек не имеет никакого отношения, поступает в озеро с водами реки Селенги. Исследователи установили: эти вещества интенсивно перерабатываются в так называемых «барьерных зонах» – на узких участках акватории, формирующихся в области смешивания речных и озерных вод под действием физических и биологических факторов, среди которых и резкое изменение скорости течений, и температура, и рост фитопланктона вместе с работой микроорганизмов, и осаждения твердой взвеси…

лимнологи утверждают: состояние вод Байкала является не равновесным, а стационарным. Поступление примесей и их переработка экосистемой Байкала хорошо сбалансированы. 

Концентрация главных растворенных веществ в озере практически постоянна на всех глубинах и одинакова в Северной, Средней и Южной котловинах Байкала. То есть – озеро саморегулируется, что позволяет с оптимизмом смотреть в его будущее. Однако влияние человека за последнее столетие все же оказало на Байкал свое не самое благотворное воздействие.

Исследования последних лет показали: реки, впадающие в озеро в районе Листвянки и Северобайкальска, содержат кишечную палочку, которой в некоторых случаях – в 120 раз выше предельно допустимой нормы. Человек повинен и в том, что со стоками в воду поступают азот и фосфор, которые являются питательной средой для зловещей спирогиры – это имя обыкновенной водоросли-сорняка с некоторых пор на слуху у всех, кто не равнодушен к сохранению экологической обстановки «славного моря».

Тонны спирогиры гниют на байкальских пляжах, а вместе с ней умирает и уникальная байкальская губка

Это в среде некоторых байкальских исследователей дает повод говорить о том, что озеро находится на пороге экологической катастрофы.

Летом 2010 года лимнологи впервые обратили внимание на нехарактерную для Байкала картину – обилие нитчатых водорослей, которые еще совсем недавно были редкостью. И уже спустя всего лишь год эта нетипичная растительность цвела в заливах вдоль береговой линии пышным цветом, активно вытесняя эндемичную байкальскую губку. С тех пор было проведено больше десятка исследовательских экспедиций, на основании которых лимнологи делают неутешительные выводы: 

спирогира размножается в геометрической прогрессии и сегодня она разрослась практически по всей береговой линии.

Кроме того, спирогира сейчас постепенно продвигается на большие глубины, где создаёт биомассу, сравнимую с биомассой естественных для Байкала макрофитов. Из-за столь бурного роста водоросли под угрозой оказалось, например, нерестилище байкальского бычка-желтокрылки: рыба в период нереста просто не смогла пробраться к своим гнездовым площадкам.

Фото

Масштабы катастрофы приобрела и гибель байкальской губки – одного из самых известных эндемиков озера. Это байкальские долгожители: возраст многих губок – 150-200 лет.
В силу вышеперечисленных изменений, губки заболевают, деформируются и постепенно умирают.
Сегодня на Байкале уже встречаются участки, где байкальской губки больше не осталось. Ученые уже обнаружили семь разновидностей болезней губок. И тем не менее причину, спровоцировавшую эпидемию, обнаружить до сих пор не удалось.

В попытке найти ответы на столь непростые вопросы ученые попутно обнаружили другие проблемы озера, которые носят антропогенный характер. Так в 2010 году в районе Малого моря и в Баргузинском заливе впервые были зарегистрированы токсичные виды цианобактерий. В 2015 году учёные взяли пробы непосредственно с больной губки, которая встречается в заливах. Молекулярно-генетический анализ показал, что пробы содержат сакситоксин, который входит в группу токсинов паралитического воздействия. Высокая доза способна вызвать паралич дыхательных мышц. Какова сегодня концентрация сакситоксина в байкальской воде – вопрос на сегодняшний день открытый. Исследования еще не завершены. Но главный ответ уже очевиден: человек – одна из причин экологических проблем озера.

Именно в месте сброса бытовых стоков в районе Северобайкальска буйствует спирогира. В то время как буквально в двух шагах выше места сброса нечистот участок байкальского побережья абсолютно девствен и чист. К слову, анализ состава северобайкальской городской канализации показал, что в озеро на протяжении четырех лет попало до 6 тонн минерального азота, что является главной питательной средой вышеупомянутой спирогиры.

А на южном берегу озера, в Листвянке, обнаружили в воде повышенную концентрацию фосфора и соединений азота… Получается, что человек взял Байкал в кольцо, активно разрушая экологические балансы озера и с севера, и с юга. Что же говорить о многочисленных туристах, которые вносят свою «лепту» в дело экологического дисбаланса.

Казалось бы: ну какой вред может принести один-единственный турист озеру, которому 25 миллионов лет?

Один – не может. Но в летний сезон 2014 года на паромной переправе к острову Ольхон было зарегистрировано более 800 тысяч туристов. Это только летом и только зарегистрированных.

И это при том, что с осени 2013 года прекращено основное производство (а именно – варка целлюлозы) на Байкальском целлюлозно-бумажном комбинате, который без малого полвека считался главным загрязнителем байкальских вод.

Известно мнение: Байкал еще нас всех переживет. С этим, конечно, не поспоришь. Но – вымирающая байкальская губка, зловонная спирогира, береговая линия, глядя на которую сложно поверить – разве такое озеро может считаться самым чистым в мире?! И вопрос не в том, чтобы «считаться», а – быть по факту. В противном случае все эти бравурно-показательные и столь привычные нам цифры гордости за Байкал придется оставить потомкам в виде статистических примеров прошлого, но никак не настоящего.
Фотография

Безусловно, озеру нет дела до человека, который в масштабах вечности, текущей на берегах озера, настолько мелок, что почти незаметен. Но Человеку – должно быть дело до Озера. Мы сами – часть экосистемы Земли. И коль скоро нам довелось жить в эпоху Байкала и рядом с ним – значит и мы несем за него ответственность. Как и он за нас. Это и есть – симбиоз, взаимовыгодное сосуществование разных элементов единой системы.

И в этом смысле, мы с Байкалом – равноправны.

РАССКАЗАТЬ ДРУЗЬЯМ
Читайте также
pic

Борьба за сохранение популяции байкальского омуля продолжается с переменным успехом и невнятными результатами. «Первый Байкальский» разобрался, принято ли принципиальное решение по этому вопросу и действительно ли стоит вводить ограничения на вылов самой популярной байкальской рыбы.

pic

Прошла весна, настало лето, опять леса горят уж где-то. Этим незамысловатым детским стишком исчерпывающе описывается ситуация, которая в Прибайкалье каждый год складывается с лесными пожарами. О том, чего ждать в этом году, как стихия мониторится, контролируется и управляется, «Первому Байкальскому» рассказал Михаил Яблоков, директор ФГБУ «Заповедное Прибайкалье», объединившее Байкало-Ленский заповедник, Прибайкальский национальный парк и заказники «Тофаларский» и «Красный яр».

pic

5 июня — Всемирный день охраны окружающей среды. Сегодня в каждой стране пройдут различные акции и мероприятия, символизирующие единение человека с природой. Но заботиться об экологии нужно не только по праздникам.

pic

«Спирогира убивает Байкал!», «Близится экологическая катастрофа!», «Байкал в смертельной опасности!» — подобными заголовками пестрят страницы сотен газет и сайтов. Если не принять меры, человечеству грозит настоящая экологическая катастрофа.