pic
pic
© Photo credit: www.depositphotos.com
November, 20, 2016

Sacred Places of Baikal

Baikal has been surrounded by mysteries and legends since ancient times. Tourists called the Lake “The Place of Power”; and it really radiates a special energy that is perceived by everyone who comes here.

The mysterious rocks, caves and burial mounds: Lake Baikal definitely has places where you can touch the mystery of the Lake and experience its great ancient power. Going on a trip, do not forget to come and see at least one of them.

Shaman Stone
 
Фото


Baikal has many places of natural origin which are associated with the faith of the local population in shamanic spirits, for shamanism is a huge part of the local culture.
One of the most important sacred places of Baikal is the mysterious Shaman Stone, which has become the most popular tourist attraction. You cannot miss seeing it, because there is a belief that Shaman Stone is the very place where Angara ends and Baikal begins.

Shaman Stone is a rock which stands at the source of the Angara River and rises above the water by 1-1. 5 m in case of good weather. However, a real rock mass is hidden under the water, thanks to this fact the Angara River does not freeze in winter. Locals will surely tell you the legend about the way Shaman Stone appeared at this place: 

it is the very stone that the Father Baikal used for blocking the path of his capricious and beautiful daughter Angara who secretly ran away to handsome Yenisei.

In ancient times Shaman Stone was attributed a miraculous power. According to a legend, the Master of Angara lived here – the Buryat God Ama Sagaan noiona. Shamans carried out important rites here, prayed and gave oaths. Another cruel custom is associated with this very place: criminals were tied to the stone and left for a night, if they managed to survive, the sentenced persons received forgiveness; but if Baikal waters washed the criminals away, then they were acknowledged really guilty and the great Lake punished them.

Ryty Cape
 
Фото

The cape on the north-western shore of Lake Baikal is called Ryty Cape (“digged cape”). This place is sacred for locals; and it is forbidden to visit it. No car road leads there, local boats and ships refuse to stop at those shores, especially to tread on this land.
Locals enforced a taboo on visiting this island; the ban has survived until today. Shamans believe that the most severe gods live here sending deadly winds and casting spells on all those who disturb their peace.

Some believe that an ancient city once stood in that place, which is evidenced by an artificial stone wall. Others talk about an increased radiation background. Locals are sure to tell you thousands of stories about people who suffered in different centuries because they tried to land on the shore of that mysterious island, and that they all died or were killed under weird circumstances. In addition, it is above the Ryty Cape where people repeatedly saw UFOs and mysterious flashes resembling spaceships.

Khoboy Cape
 

Khoboy Cape means “fang” or “molar” in Buryat language. Khoboy is the northernmost cape on the island of Olkhon; and the rock resembles a woman’s profile if you look at it from the sea. 

Фото
A local legend says that this profile belonged to a Buryat woman turned to stone by gods for she had been envious of her husband.
Another legend tells of a dragon which flying over the sacred Lake, dropped its fang that went deep into the land and turned into a rock. 
 

Some scientists believe that this saga is associated with the memories of the fall of some cosmic body (possibly a small meteorite) that happened many thousands of years ago. Locals assure that sometimes one can meet the spirits of one’s dead ancestors or see one’s own previous incarnations. Today the Cape is chosen for various meditations by different spiritual schools who want to experience unity with nature and feel ancient energies.

The place is also characterized by a polyphonic echo which is reflected from the monolithic rock. In winter you can shoot stunning photos of snowy grottos filled with huge icicles and landwashes of frozen water.

Shamanka
 

Shamanka Rock on the Burkhan Cape is one of the most mysterious places of Baikal. It consists of white marble, granite and quartz and was formerly called “Temple Stone”. Pagan priests conducted the rites associated with the purification of the ancestral karma and removing curses in this place.

The famous Russian explorer Vladimir Obruchev wrote that this place evoked a superstitious horror of all Buryats living in the Baikal region. A small cave with a approximately 12 meters long and up to 4.5 meters wide passes through the Shamanka Rock, only a shaman had the right to approach this cave. If some ordinary people definitely needed to go into the cave, the horses’ hooves were tied with felt skin so that not to disturb the calm of the Master of Baikal who lived there. Of course, women going into the cave were out of the question, they had to bypass the rock two versts (2.13 km) away.
Фотография

Generally, all sacred places of Baikal have special spots for peace-offering to local spirits called “obo”. These are usually posts, mounds of stones or trees where, according to the tradition, you should tie a ribbon or leave a coin and, of course, make a wish which will come true.

Tell friends
Related articles
pic

One of the most interesting settlements located near Lake Baikal is undoubtedly the one called Tarbagatai. The Russian Old Believers exiled to Sibera have been living here for three centuries in a row.

pic

Gourmet features of the cuisine of the Baikal peoples are due, first and foremost, to their main crafts: hunting and fishing. The Siberian cuisine has a wide variety of fish and meat dishes; each tourist will find something of his or her own, a favorite dish; and the abundance of dishes and recipes won’t leave anybody indifferent.

pic

The traditional religions of the indigenous peoples represent a rather versatile set of myths, beliefs in spirits, magic, totems, etc. Buryats living in the Baikal Region also revered the spirits of rivers, lakes, forests, had a well-developed mythology.

pic

Despite the severe climate and difficult temper, the peoples of Lake Baikal are very hospitable, and their folk traditions are full of love to nature and romantic traditions. A mysterious lake which has not yet disclosed all its secrets to scientists attracts ordinary tourists and researchers, as well as fans of shamanism and esoterics. And any of them will be welcomed with honors.

pic
pic
© Фото: www.depositphotos.com
20 ноября

Сакральные места Байкала

Байкал с древних времен был окружен тайнами и легендами. Место силы — так туристы называют озеро, и правда излучающее особую энергию, которую ощущает на себе каждый, кто приезжает сюда.

Загадочные скалы, пещеры и курганы - на Байкале определенно есть места, куда стоит попасть, чтобы прикоснуться к тайне озера и испытать на себе его великую древнюю силу. Отправляясь в путешествие не забудьте увидеть хотя бы одно из них.

Шаман-камень
 
Фото

На Байкале много мест природного происхождения, которые связаны с верой местного населения в шаманских духов, ведь шаманизм – огромная часть местной культуры. Одним из самых главных сакральных места Байкала является таинственный Шаман-камень, который стал самым популярным туристическим объектом туристов. Пропустить его невозможно, потому что считается, что именно с Шаманского камня заканчивается Ангара и начинается Байкал.

Шаман-камень - это скала, которая стоит у истока реки Ангара и в хорошую погоду возвышается над водой на 1-1,5 метра. Однако под водой кроется самый настоящий скальный массив, благодаря которому река Ангара не замерзает зимой. Местные обязательно расскажут вам легенду о том, как шаман-камень появился на этом месте: 

это тот самый камень, которым старик Байкал пытался преградить путь своей своенравной и прекрасной дочери Ангаре, тайно убегавшей к красавцу Енисею.

В древности Шаманский камень наделяли чудодейственной силой. По преданию это было место обитания хозяина Ангары – бурятского бога Ама Сагаан нойона. Здесь шаманы проводили особо важные обряды, молились и давали клятвы. С этим же местом связан другой жестокий обычай: преступников привязывали к камню и оставляли на ночь, если удавалось выжить, то осужденный получал прощение, если же воды Байкала его смывали, - значит он был виновен и великое озеро наказало его.

Мыс-Рытый
 
Фото

Мыс на северо-западном берегу озера Байкал получил название Мыс-Рытый. Для местного населения это место является священным и запретным для посещений. На него не ведет ни одна автомобильная дорога, местные лодки и катера отказываются останавливаться у его берегов и тем более ступать на его землю. Местные наложили табу на посещение этого острова и запрет этот сохраняется и по сей день. Шаманы верят, что именно здесь живут самые суровые боги, посылающие смертоносные ветра и наводящие порчу на всех, кто нарушит их покой.

Некоторые считают, что на этом месте когда-то был древний город, о чем свидетельствует искусственная каменная стена. Другие говорят о повышенном радиоактивном фоне. Местные наверняка расскажут вам тысячи историй о том, как пострадали люди, которые в разные века пытались высадиться на берег этого загадочного острова и о том, что все они умерли или погибли при странных обстоятельствах. Кроме того, именно над мысом Рытый неоднократно наблюдали НЛО и загадочные вспышки, похожие на космические корабли.

Мыс Хобой
 

С бурятского мыс Хобой переводится как «клык» или «коренной зуб». Хобой – самый северный мыс на острове Ольхон и со стороны моря скала похожа на женский профиль.

Фото
Местная легенда гласит, что это профиль бурятки, которую боги превратили в камень за то, что она позавидовала своему мужу.
Другая легенда рассказывает о драконе, который, пролетая над священным озером, обронил свой клык, который ушел глубоко под землю и превратился в скалу. 
 

Некоторые ученые считают, что это предание связано с воспоминаниями о падении некоего космического тела (возможно, небольшого метеорита), случившемся много тысяч лет тому назад. Местные жители уверяют, что иногда здесь можно встретить духов своих умерших предков или увидеть собственные прежние воплощения. Сегодня мыс выбирают для медитаций различные духовные школы, чтобы ощутить единение с природой и почувствовать древние энергии.

Место также примечательно многоголосым эхом, которое отражается от монолитной скалы. Зимой здесь можно сделать потрясающие снимки снежных гротов, которые заполнены огромными сосульками и наплесками замерзшей воды. 

Шаманка
 

Одно из самых загадочных байкальских мест - скала Шаманка на мысе Бурхан. Состоящая из белого мрамора, гранита и кварца, эта скала ранее именовалась как «камень-храм». Именно здесь языческие жрецы проводили ритуалы, связанные с очищением родовой кармы и снятием проклятий.

Известный российский исследователь Владимир Обручев писал, что это место вызывает суеверный ужас у всех прибайкальских бурят. Через Шаманку насквозь проходит небольшая пещера длиной примерно 12 метров и шириной до 4,5 метров, к которой имел право приближаться только шаман. Если же кому-то из обычного народа непременно требовалось пройти в пещеру, то копыта коней обматывали войлоком и кожей, чтобы не потревожить цоканьем покой хозяина Байкала, который живет именно здесь. 
Фотография

Само собой, что о том, чтобы проникнуть в пещеру женщинам не могло быть и речи, - они должны были обходить скалу за две версты.

Как правило, во всех сакральных местах Байкала находится особые места для задабривания местных духов, которые называют обо. Обычно это столбы, насыпи камней, или деревья где принято завязывать ленточку или оставить монетку и, конечно же, загадывать желание, которое непременно сбудется.

РАССКАЗАТЬ ДРУЗЬЯМ
Читайте также
pic

Рассказ о Кобыльей голове — одна из самых загадочных и страшных легенд Байкала, которую любят рассказывать пастухи с острова Ольхон, где и случилась эта странная история...

pic

Байкал представляет огромный интерес для исследователей из разных областей науки. Священное озеро воспевают в своих произведениях поэты, прозаики и композиторы. Кинорежиссеры тоже не отстают и дарят зрителям прекрасные картины, главный герой которых — легендарный Байкал.

pic

Одним из самых интересных сел, расположенных близ Байкала, без сомнения, является Тарбагатай. Здесь уже третий век живут и сохраняют свои традиции сосланные в Сибирь старообрядцы...

pic

В большом разнообразии рыбных и мясных кушаний сибирской кухни каждый турист найдет что-то свое, любимое, а обилие блюд и рецептов никого не оставит равнодушным.