pic
pic
© Photo credit: www.baikal-info.ru
November, 20, 2016 #история #культура

Main Trades of the Region

Nordic peoples have hunted and fished for centuries. These activities have a special place in the way of life of the inhabitants of the Baikal region.

Hunt

Hunting animals has always been a vital activity: in addition to production of food and remedies (deer musk, red deer antlers, bear bile, seal fat), people used skins to sew clothes, shoes, bedding, and covering for their homes. Furs were also used as a valuable currency for exchange and trade.

The rich nature of the lake contributed to hunting. The rich fauna has its own peculiarities - for example, hunting of the Baikal seal which can only be found in this lake, and some species of birds. Seal is a very clever animal. Inexperienced hunters could drown trying to catch the agile creature.

The Buryats, who have inhabited the shores of Lake Baikal since the ancient times, preferred collective hunting. Everyone had a role to play, but the experienced leader always supervised the entire process.

Animals were driven to the center of the raid. They hunted various animals and game in a similar fashion. Their neighbors, the Evenks, preferred individual hunting.

Aside from hunting, one of the most ancient trades was fishing. Rich in the variety and quantity, the fish of Baikal and the rivers flowing into it could be caught with even the most primitive of tools.

 Archaeological excavations have confirmed that the ancient peoples pursued fishing. Scientists have discovered a variety of fishing gear. It turned out that the tribes not just fished from the shore using harpoons, but also set fishing nets woven from the hair and tendons of animals. Fishing served to provide food and fish oil. They mostly caught cisco, whitefish, grayling, taimen, sturgeon, burbot, perch, pike, roach, crucian carp, bullhead, catfish, carp, and bream.

Agriculture

Another vital activity was agriculture. Although conditions for the cultivation of grain were not the best, agriculture was still a very important trade. Scientists have found a lot of evidence that the ancient peoples of the Baikal region actively used grain products for food.

The Buryats mostly planted millet but also used oats, barley, rye, and other crops. They also developed an irrigation system: they built canals from mountain streams to their arable lands. The Russians quickly adopted their method of irrigation.

Needlework

Фото

The harsh nature dictated the rules of life, but creativity found a way to express itself even in such conditions. The remoteness of the region forced the people to learn to create tools, treat skins, do bench work and cooperage, and make utensils. They made canvas and used it to sew clothes. It should be noted that Russia was famous for its high quality fabrics – for their smoothness, softness and whiteness. The Russian fabrics were superior to foreign goods in quality and texture.

Needlewomen embroidered the clothes, sewing intricate patterns into the fabric. Fabrics woven into checks were more popular than those woven into stripes. Tablecloths were decorated with particularly bright and elegant patterns. They were woven from five or six colors picked in a way that would make them blend well with each other. The colors used were usually red, blue, green, brown, yellow, and purple. The edges were often decorated with colored tassels.

Woven wall towels were also bright - they were usually hung near icons. The skill of needlewomen brought coziness and beauty into a house.

Pottery and Birchbark Craft

One of the most necessary trades was pottery. And people gave special attention to it. The Old Believers divided dishes into “clean” and “unclean”, “lenten” and “ferial”, and healers used pots with a certain shape – a different pot for each disease.

Фото
Pottery was stored on special shelves – the variety was enormous: for soup, porridge, sour cream, or for boiling milk, milk jugs, cups and bowls. Each of them had its own purpose.
 

Another ancient craft was weaving. At the end of XIX - early XX century, woven household items became almost a necessity. Baskets, furniture, carriages were in great demand. Items were woven from thin vines and painted in different colors or decorated with silver and gilding.

But the main trade of the residents of the Siberian region was birchbark craft. Birchbark was valued for its durability and ability to resist rot. It was used to make waterproof shoes, trim boats, make containers for storing milk or kvass so it would not go sour and remained cold even in hot weather. Products made of birch bark became not just household items, but also works of folk art.

Tell friends
Related articles
pic

According the culture of many ancient peoples, man is a drop of the rain in comparison to the nature, but not its king. Nature is the supreme intelligence, where Baikal and everything connected with it has been revered, guarded and even deified for centuries.

pic

People traveling to Lake Baikal (especially to the areas which are sacred for the Buryats) often have to encounter distrustful views of the local population, and this can be explained by the fact that the entry to some places it is strictly prohibited for women.

pic

The expression “Baikal is a mystical place of power” has became an axiom. Baikal keeps many mysteries and miracles, interesting legends and fairy-tales. The atmosphere of the lake is impregnated with paranormal and abnormal phenomena: the attempts to describe them have been made by the indigenous inhabitants of Baikal region with the help of folk art for many centuries. There are also a number of quite “young” legends which include a story about mysterious (witch) circles.

pic

Myths, legends and songs have been composed about the ancient lake since hundreds and dozens of years ago. The article will feature the most popular and well-known songs about Baikal.

pic
pic
© Фото: baikal-info.ru, предметы из коллекции этнографа Л. Мельниковой
20 ноября

Главные промыслы региона

Северные народы испокон веков промышляли охотой и рыбой. Это занятие занимало особое место в укладе жизни и у обитателей Прибайкалья.

Охота

Добыча животных – жизненно необходимое занятие: помимо пропитания и изготовления лекарственных средств (кабарожий мускус, панты изюбря, медвежья желчь, жир нерпы) из шкур шили одежду, обувь, принадлежности для постели, укрывали жилище. К тому же пушнину использовали, как ценную валюту для обмена и торговли.

Богатая природа Байкала способствовала формированию охотничьего промысла. Богатая фауна вносила свои особенности – например, добыча байкальской нерпы, обитающей только на этом озере, некоторых видов птиц. Нерпа – очень хитрый зверь. Неопытный охотник мог утонуть, пытаясь отловить проворное животное.

Буряты, издревле обитающие у берегов Байкала, предпочитала коллективную охоту. У каждого была своя роль, но опытный вожак обязательно руководил всем процессом. 

Зверей гнали к центру облавы. При подобном способе добывались совершено различные животные и дичь. Их соседи – эвенки, напротив, предпочитали индивидуальную охоту.

Наряду с охотой – одним из наиболее древних промыслов было рыболовство. Богатый на разнообразие и количество рыбы Байкал и впадающие в него реки позволяли ловить ее даже самыми примитивными орудиями. Археологические раскопки подтвердили, что древние народы занимались рыбной ловлей. Ученые обнаружили различные рыболовные снасти. Выяснилось, что племена ловили рыбу не только с берега, используя гарпуны, но и расставляли сети, сплетенные из волос животных и сухожилий. Рыболовство служило для пропитания и добычи рыбьего жира. Ловили, в основном, омуля, сига, хариуса, таймень, осетра, налима, окуня, щуку, плотву, карася, бычка, сома, сазана и леща.

Земледелие

Еще один жизненно необходимый промысел – земледелие. Хотя условия для выращивания зерна были не самыми лучшими, но сельское хозяйство было весьма важным ремеслом. Ученые обнаружили множество свидетельств тому, что древние народы Прибайкалья активно употребляли в пищу хлебные изделия.

Буряты, в основном сеяли просо, но не обходились и без овса, ячменя, ржи и других культур. Кстати они разработали систему ирригации – проводили к своим пашням горные речки. Русские довольно быстро переняли у них искусство орошения.

Рукоделие

Фото

Суровая природа диктовала свои правила жизни, но творческое начало пробивалось даже в таких условиях. Отдаленность региона вынуждала людей самим делать себе орудия труда, обрабатывать кожу, заниматься слесарным и бондарным делом, делать посуду. Они сами изготовляли холсты, из которых шили одежду. Надо отметить, что в России славилось высокое качество тканей – их ровность, мягкость и белоснежность. А по добротности и плотности российские ткани превосходили по качеству иностранные образцы.

Рукодельницы расшивали готовую одежду. Они создавали так называемые пестряди и узорные брани с разнообразными рисунками. Но особо ценились пестряди вытканные не в полоску, а в клетку. Яркостью и изящностью рисунка отличались брани – скатерти для стола. Для их изготовления подбиралось обычно около пяти-шести цветов, подобранных таким образом, чтобы они мягко сочетались между собой. Обычно использовали красный, синий, зеленый, коричневый, желтый и лиловый. Края брани часто украшали цветными кисточками.

Яркостью отличались и вышитые стеновые полотенца – их вешали обычно около икон. Мастерство рукодельниц вносило уют и красоту в суровые жилища.

Гончарное и берестяное мастерство

Одним из самых необходимых промыслов было гончарное ремесло. Ему уделялось особе внимание. Староверы делили посуду на чистую и нечистую, постную и скоромную, а знахари для лекарств использовали горшки определённой формы – для каждого недуга своя.

Фото
В избах для хранения глиняной посуды отводились отдельные полки – разнообразие видов было огромным: для варки щей, для каши, для сметаны или для кипячения молока, молочники, просто чашки и миски. У каждой емкости было свое предназначение.
 

Еще одно древнейшее занятие – плетение. В конце XIX – начале XX века плетённые предметы обихода стали чуть ли не предметом первой необходимости. Большим спросом пользовались корзины, мебель, коляски. Плели изделия из тонкой лозы, а затем покрывали различными красками, а порой даже серебром и позолотой.

Но для жителей сибирских регионов основой был берестяной промысел. Долговечность бересты и ее способность не поддаваться гниению были по достоинству оценены. Из нее изготавливали влагостойкую обувь, обшивали лодки, делали емкости для хранения молока и кваса, в которых они не кисли и даже в жару оставались холодными. Изделия из бересты стали не просто предметами быта, но и произведениями народного искусства.

РАССКАЗАТЬ ДРУЗЬЯМ
Читайте также
pic

Рассказ о Кобыльей голове — одна из самых загадочных и страшных легенд Байкала, которую любят рассказывать пастухи с острова Ольхон, где и случилась эта странная история...

pic

Байкал представляет огромный интерес для исследователей из разных областей науки. Священное озеро воспевают в своих произведениях поэты, прозаики и композиторы. Кинорежиссеры тоже не отстают и дарят зрителям прекрасные картины, главный герой которых — легендарный Байкал.

pic

Одним из самых интересных сел, расположенных близ Байкала, без сомнения, является Тарбагатай. Здесь уже третий век живут и сохраняют свои традиции сосланные в Сибирь старообрядцы...

pic

В большом разнообразии рыбных и мясных кушаний сибирской кухни каждый турист найдет что-то свое, любимое, а обилие блюд и рецептов никого не оставит равнодушным.